Daily Review – 01/09/2017

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, September 1st, 2017 - 57 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

57 comments on “Daily Review – 01/09/2017”

  1. Stuart Munro 1

    He’s gonna need that chainmail…

  2. The decrypter 2

    Too much NOTICE AND FEATURES. +100000

    • lprent 2.1

      Problem is that when we don’t have Notices and Features posts like Open Mike and Daily Review or reposts from other blogs then we have people starting to chat all over the conversation in the posts from authors. The moderators wind up landing on them hard. Which makes us grumpy.

      So suck it up and learn to love that we aren’t grumpy.

  3. Muttonbird 3

    John Banks a crook for the 4th or 5th time? I see a pattern here.

  4. Glenn 4

    From The Daily Mail

    Right-wingers tend to be less intelligent than left-wingers, and people with low childhood intelligence tend to grow up to have racist and anti-gay views, says a controversial new study.

    Conservative politics work almost as a ‘gateway’ into prejudice against others, say the Canadian academics.

    The paper analysed large UK studies which compared childhood intelligence with political views in adulthood across more than 15,000 people.

    The authors claim that people with low intelligence gravitate towards right-wing views because they make them feel safe.

    Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-2095549/Right-wingers-intelligent-left-wingers-says-controversial-study–conservative-politics-lead-people-racist.html#ixzz4rPBkBOr5
    Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook

    Must be true it’s in the reknown bastion of truth The Daily Mail and it’s on the internet. (sarc)

      • lprent 4.1.1

        Thank you for that. I was sniggering through out the description of the comments. They sounded so … familar. From 2012. Teasing excerpts follow.

        Now Mail Online has gone one step further by running a story that not only insults its own readers, but cruelly invites them to underline the insult by making fools of themselves. In what has to be a deliberate act of “trolling”, last Friday it carried a story headlined “Rightwingers are less intelligent than left wingers, says study”. In terms of enraging your core readership, this is the equivalent of Nuts magazine suddenly claiming only gay men masturbate to Hollyoaks babes.

        Followed by some of the most hilarious analysis that describes the daily gloop available from the sewer. And it ends with…

        On and on the comments went, turning a rather stark write-up of a daft-sounding study into a sublime piece of live online performance art. A chimps’ tea party of the damned. The Mail has long been a master at trolling lefties; now it’s mischievously turned on its own readers, and the results could only be funnier if the website came with free plastic lawn furniture for them to lob at the screen. You couldn’t make it up.

        Indeed.

  5. ScottGN 5

    Isn’t it amazing that all those pundits who’ve been telling us for so long that National is headed for a rare fourth term because there’s no groundswell for change are all now falling all over themselves to tell us Jacinda has tapped into a deep vein running through the electorate that’s hankering for change?

  6. eco Maori/kiwi 6

    Look at the David Tamihere case more contracted lairs on display this is how the criminal Justice system works. And It takes years to get to the truth and thousands of dollars what a sham.

    This is why I say to all our young Maori or Pacific males keep out of shit because as soon as you get a criminal charge you will have no Human rights or Privacy rights. So the police can use you as a scape goat and most people will believe the man whom upholds the law what a load of crap in every population you have good and bad Its just some organizations are good at displaying a farcical image of there members .
    And you no what is the most scandalous of this problem senior memebers of that organization no whats going on WTF.

    • AsleepWhileWalking 6.1

      Technically although you may have rights under the law it is exceptionally difficult to get anyone to listen regardless if ethnicity

      • eco Maori/kiwi 6.1.1

        +100 AsleepWhileWalking my post is to all our youth. I am just saying Maori and Pacific because I want them to get my warning. And they have a higher rate of incarceration. I do not mean to discriminate I’m just trying to educate our youth on how the system works if my statement keeps one boy out of jail I will be happy what ever race they are.

  7. Anne 7

    Some more reflection on Winston Peters and the case of the mysterious over-payments.

    It has crossed my mind that the cabinet ministers who were given a heads up on the situation just might have been telling the truth when they categorically denied they talked about the matter to anyone. I base these thoughts on the anonymous phone call received by Newshub a week or so ago. Is it not possible that the MSD files were hacked by someone looking for dirt on Winston Peters? That anonymous phone-call might have been made by the hacker or someone closely associated with them.

    It would be interesting to know whether there has been any attempt to trace the call to its source.

    • Muttonbird 7.1

      But the MSD heads have admitted they knew of and shared this information with the National Party as early as June. That’s when the information left MSD.

      Are you saying there was a completely different data hack outside of this?

      • Anne 7.1.1

        I’m suggesting that over and above the internal MSD discovery, someone beyond the MSD might have hacked into the files looking for the dirt on Peters. It may be a long shot but there would surely have been a whisper campaign among those ‘in the know’ and someone might have decided to obtain the information illegally for the purpose of discrediting him.

        Winston has made a lot of enemies over the years – especially among those with very deep pockets.

    • Pete 7.2

      You can call from the grassy knoll these days.

  8. Gabby 8

    Kelve needs a daily briefing and a minder. Just somebody who’s a dab hand with a pointy stick to keep him on script.

    • alwyn 8.1

      Leave the poor guy alone.
      He can’t help it if he can’t remember that nearly everything he has been told must be hidden from the voting public.
      He simply wants to demonstrate that he is in the loop. The problem is that that requires keeping all your lies consistent. For someone who worked for Blair or Clark that isn’t to hard but for the poor little chap from Northland it is more difficult.

      • … ” He can’t help it if he can’t remember that nearly everything he has been told must be hidden from the voting public ” …

        ———————————-

        You mean a bit like this ?

        The Donghua Liu Affair: Evidence of Collusion … – The Daily Blog
        https://thedailyblog.co.nz/…/the-donghua-liu-affair-evidence-of-collusion-between-th…

        Or when Key tried to justify GSCB misuse to enable Tim Grosser to spy on other country’s contenders for the top job at the World Trade Organization ?

        Or maybe the time Key was caught out about the XKEYSCORE program and mass surveillance , – or perhaps the time we all learned the GSCB spying on Kim Dotcom and 88 other New Zealanders was, in actual fact , … illegal.

        Dissecting the GCSB bill – Campbell Live (Kim Dotcom scandal …
        Video for Dissecting the GCSB bill – Campbell Live (Kim Dotcom scandal)▶ 16:11

        As it has come out even further recently with the courts finding that the GSCB had not disclosed ALL THE EVIDENCE and the timing of their illegal spying.

        And those are just a few examples of how your weedy defense of a corrupt National govt has behaved over its 9 year term , – by making the rules up as it went along to suit itself despite breaching legal parameters… and weakening our democracy.

        And here you are, … alwyn ,… pointing the finger at Kelvin Davis and Labour because ,- as they have already pointed out , – they are setting up a working group regards taxation, and as we all know… rwnj’s like you don’t give a damn about tax havens and corrupt governments , – so long as you get your little tax breaks .

        Perhaps you should have relocated to live in the Cook Islands a decade or so ago , – Fay / Richwhite would have loved you , – as ‘ Sir’ Albert Henry would have also…

    • Chris 8.2

      Please don’t let this guy become deputy pm. It’s clear Labour’s depth is lacking, but surely there’s someone better than Davis.

      • gsays 8.2.1

        He can stay dep leader of Labour, and have James Shaw as deputy prime minister.
        As others have eluded to, he displays leadership every time he opens his mouth.
        Fwiw, I would follow him.

        • alwyn 8.2.1.1

          I’m afraid you don’t understand the rules.
          The deputy-PM has to be an MP.
          The “Green” party are dead. Shaw isn’t going to be in Parliament and cannot therefore be in the job you are suggesting for him.
          Perhaps between 2017 and 2020 someone can organise a genuine Green Party. Somewhere where people like Kennedy Graham will be welcome instead of being called a traitor.

          • WILD KATIPO 8.2.1.1.1

            … ” The “Green” party are dead. Shaw isn’t going to be in Parliament and cannot therefore be in the job you are suggesting for him ” …

            So alwyn the psychic delivers the future from on high….

            Only in your dreams. And guess what ,… National are not going to be in government and that’s not just guessing or trying to use pseudo science to allege a scenario , – that’s just a fact based on numbers.

            • alwyn 8.2.1.1.1.1

              I’m tempted to ask what “numbers” you use to come up with that prediction.
              Mine are the very simple ones of the latest polls and the fact that the Green Party vote drops by quite a lot between the final polls and the election.
              Yours’ appear to be your own wishful thinking. Alternatively they are the sort of argument that is based on “All the people I know ….” You can readily argue that you think there is a good chance that Labour will be able to form a Government but not that that it is a certainty.

      • Pat 8.2.2

        two words…Paula Bennet

        • WILD KATIPO 8.2.2.1

          … ” two words…Paula Bennet ” …

          Here’s another two words : Yes please.

          We need a sideshow to keep us all amused and National out of govt for a very long , long time.

      • … ” Please don’t let this guy become deputy pm. It’s clear Labour’s depth is lacking, but surely there’s someone better than Davis ” …

        Spoken like a true short sighted narcissistic Nat.

        I presume you’re quite happy with New Zealanders being held without trial on Christmas Island in substandard conditions… Kelvin Davis wasn’t , and furthermore ,- unlike Key or English , – had balls enough to speak up about it.

  9. swordfish 9

    Latest Colmar Brunton Poll

    Headline – A majority of people would not be comfortable with Winston Peters taking a senior cabinet post in the next government

    Q = “Would you be comfortable with the leader of New Zealand First Winston Peters taking a senior cabinet position in the next government such as finance minister or deputy prime minister?”

    Yes 40%
    No 51%
    Don’t know 9%

    https://www.tvnz.co.nz/one-news/new-zealand/majority-kiwis-not-comfortable-winston-peters-taking-senior-role-in-government-1-news-poll

    • swordfish 9.1

      Compare with 2014 (albeit less specific questions)

      Colmar Brunton Poll (February 2014)

      Winston Peters

      •43% say he should be a Minister
      •43% say he should not

      3 News Reid Research (January 2014)

      Winston Peters

      •54% say John Key should work with Winston Peters (61% of Nat supporters)
      36% say he should rule him out (32% of Nat supporters)

      • swordfish 9.1.1

        Winston Peters – Changing Fortunes

        (UMR – Net Favourability Ratings)

        2008 Donation Scandal destroys Peters’ reputation

        In Jan 2008 , Peters enjoyed a small positive net-rating of + 2%
        But it went downhill very fast
        It flipped to negative in Feb 2008 minus 9%.
        By September 08, at the height of the donation scandal, his net- Favourability rating had plummeted to minus 57%.

        2012-13 Voter dissatisfaction with Govt + 2015 Northland win rehabilitates Peters’ reputation

        Fast Forward to 2011 & Peters was still heavily in negative territory
        Eg minus 30 in June 2011

        But the Public’s view of him rapidly improved through 2012-13
        moving into positive + 6 territory late 2013

        Briefly heading back into very mild negatives through 2014
        then soaring to new heights of popularity after his Northland by-election triumph (+ 21 & + 24 through mid-2015) even surpassing John Key

        Last Favourability figure available for Winnie + 6 Nov 2015

  10. Grey Area 10

    I can’t see today’s posts from Tracey or Blip on my Android phone. A couple of us reported this also about a week ago.

    • lprent 10.1

      I will have a look at it. It seems to be a caching issue with the software that is is used with the mobiles. It came a up a week ago.

      I actually have a clear weekend…, and I start on some pre-election time off next week.

  11. adam 11

    Gotta love Neil DeGrasse Tyson

    • CoroDale 11.1

      Yes yes yes, all very approximately correct. But a little bit too simple. The official UN position isn’t accurate, it an approximation after the consideration of veto rights etc.

      http://agriculturedefensecoalition.org/

      This lady is truly speaking before the UN.

      I’m still in NRW Germany and we have heaps of air traffic. (Back in NZ next week, boarder control permitting) On “clear” sunny days they fill the skies with a haze from the planes to control the heat. Just an eyes open truth.

      In the US it’s even more complex. Sure there is climate change, but when we dumb it down, we go political, not scientific objective. Many factors involved. Reducing industrial emissions is good, and reducing emissions from cows is also good, especially as a win-win for water quality. But lets not get too righteous on the detail. The Paris deal approved mitigation tech and we have seen changes here in the last few years already.

  12. CoroDale 12

    Sorry, just read the site details. Labour Movement…
    Oh, I thought it was just an independent journalism site, wandered who was doing the funding. Now I do feel a bit like a troll. But no bad intentions.

    Best wishes to the labour movement. I always support the underdog, but tables are due to turn so hang in there with the good work guys. Yeah, lots to do back in the physical world, so saying good bye.

    Peace, Love and Light,
    D

    • lprent 12.1

      With a very broad definition of “labour movement”. The site costs about $134 in direct costs per month to run. The funding pretty much comes from the voluntary contributions (see the donate button in the upper top left). All of the posts are by volunteers either here or reposted with permission from other sites. Moderation and any other support are voluntary. I supply the hardware – I’m a programmer so I have a lot of old gear 🙂

    • One Anonymous Bloke 12.2

      Don’t confuse the labour movement with the Labour Party.

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Membership: Australia and New Zealand Electronic Invoicing Board
    The Governments of Australia and New Zealand have announced the membership of the Australia and New Zealand Electronic Invoicing Board (ANZEIB) today. This is an important step towards implementing e-Invoicing across both countries to help businesses save time and money ...
    2 weeks ago
  • An end to unnecessary secondary tax
    Workers who are paying too much tax because of incorrect secondary tax codes are in line for relief with the passage of legislation through Parliament late last night. The Taxation (Annual Rates for 2018-19, Modernising Tax Administration, and Remedial Matters) ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Chatham Islands pāua plan approved
    Efforts to reverse the decline in the Chatham Islands pāua fishery are the focus of a new plan jointly agreed between government, the local community and industry. Fisheries Minister Stuart Nash says the plan was developed by the PauaMAC4 Industry ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Bill introduced for synthetics crackdown
    The Police will get stronger powers of search and seizure to crackdown on synthetic drugs under new legislation, which makes the two main synthetics (5F-ADB and AMB-FUBINACA) Class A drugs. The Government has today introduced the Misuse of Drugs Amendment ...
    3 weeks ago
  • Blasphemous libel law repealed
    The archaic blasphemous libel offence will be repealed following the passing of the Crimes Amendment Bill today, says Justice Minister Andrew Little. ...
    3 weeks ago
  • Coalition Government lassos livestock rustling
    New rules to crack down on livestock rustling will come into force following the passing of the Crimes Amendment Bill says Justice Minister Andrew Little. ...
    3 weeks ago
  • Medieval law axed
    The ‘year and a day rule’ rule will be repealed following the passing of the Crimes Amendment Bill, says Justice Minister Andrew Little. ...
    3 weeks ago
  • Further steps to combat tax evasion
    Further steps to combat tax evasion Revenue Minister Stuart Nash has announced New Zealand is expanding its global ability to combat tax evasion by joining forces with authorities in 30 countries and jurisdictions. Cabinet has agreed to add another ...
    3 weeks ago