Daily Review 02/10/2018

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, October 2nd, 2018 - 43 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

43 comments on “Daily Review 02/10/2018”

  1. millsy 1

    I see in the papers today more tenant bashing articles, trying to present tenants as feral animals who would mindlessly trash the home provided to them by good hard working kiwis trying to save for their retirement and get ahead, probably in the light of very modest changes to tenancy rules that are proposed.

    • Chuck 1.1

      Some tenants are feral millsy. Venture out of your safe space and into the real world.

      Just as some landlords are not fit to be landlords…

    • Muttonbird 1.2

      Yes, another wave of punching down from the property class.

      I found this article interesting because the bitter old anonymous slumlord from Tauranga cited just one of the very modest reforms as presumably the prime reason for quitting, and he got it totally wrong. 90 days has always been the default for eviction and that is not being touched, sadly. I assume he referring to the 42 days which e’s probably been using illegally in the past. That is being reviewed and not before time.

      The real story in this article is the reasons give from Auckland where Harper properties nails the real reason for some selling up – because they’ve made a killing from capital gains in the last 10 years and now they are getting out. So much for the caring d-gooders we are led to believe all property investors are…

      https://www.radionz.co.nz/news/national/367762/proposed-regulations-prompt-some-landlords-to-sell

      …and still not mention of the other elephant in the room, the one thing which has really affected residential rental availability in the last 3 years – AirfuckingBnB.

    • Chuck 1.3

      “Our street has a mixture of privately-owned homes and Housing NZ ones but none of this was of much consequence – until Housing NZ moved in a new tenant three years ago.”

      https://www.stuff.co.nz/nelson-mail/news/107529652/the-nightmare-of-housing-nzs-sustainable-tenancies

  2. millsy 2

    The reality is, that landlords have been bleeding the people of NZ dry for years now, hiking rents for no other reason than to pay for another trip to Fiji, and throwing tenants out for frivolous reasons, with no respect for ‘quiet enjoyment of the tenancy’. And they lawyer up if the tenant decides to off set some of the exorbitant rents by letting out rooms on AirBnB.

    • RedLogix 2.2

      If you think your landlord is ripping you off, go out and buy a similar home for yourself.

      And why would a landlord toss out a perfectly good tenant for totally frivolous reasons?

      • Ad 2.2.1

        Personally speaking we’re been pretty fortunate as landlords.
        But my sister who is a semi-professional landlord has had her fair share of idiots who did major damage, and things ending in tribunals and whatnot.

        Personally I don’t want to get to the point where I can live off rentals – I have too much ego and not enough patience with people. I’d rather find another really hard infrastructure project. I think of landlord income as a useful supplement but never the main thing.

    • Naki man 2.3

      @millsy
      So you think it is ok to rent out someone else’s house on Air BnB
      without them knowing about it, fucking unbelievable.

      • millsy 2.3.1

        Given the fact that people are being bled dry in this country, then yes.

        • RedLogix 2.3.1.1

          Given that the landlord remains the owner of the property, and liable for rates, insurance and maintenance … then subletting without consent is completely outside the terms of your tenancy contract.

          As I said above millsy, if you think your landlord is ‘bleeding you dry’ then go out and buy your own home. I really wish you the best on this.

          • millsy 2.3.1.1.1

            I actually have. I also have been blessed with some pretty decent landlords, who have let me do things that they didn’t have to let me do. Though one did get pretty nasty when I told her I was leaving. Unfortunately others don’t have the same luxury I have.

      • millsy 2.3.2

        Mind you you think it’s OK to put your cowshit in our rivers. Tell me, how much $$$ are you making from poisoning our water.

  3. alwyn 3

    I find the photo at the start of this post very interesting.
    When even The Standard is giving up on Ardern as being useless the polls must really be bad.
    When is she going to be rolled?
    Or will she quietly quit “to spend more time with my family”.

    [You are being a dick it is an Australian photo – MS]

    • Even your trolling is weak and embarrassing. Give up you’re not in the least bit interesting – you’re a sexist idiot and they’re probably your good points. Sad.

    • Ad 3.2

      Alwyn, Ardern will probably be in power longer than you remain alive.

      She’s young enough to grow into the role and already is, has piles of taxpayer dollars to spend, economy is solid as a rock, and time enough tho deliver on even the hardest of campaign promises. Plus good coalition options.

      That’s all the hallmarks of a four term government.

    • AB 3.3

      Don’t worry Alwyn.
      I believe she’s getting a week of sleazy incoherence training to be more like John Key. You should be much more ‘comfortable’ with the result.

    • Gabby 3.4

      You tired of sucking on the public teat wally? Need burping?

    • millsy 3.5

      I can see that Jacinda is going to get the same sort of crap that Gillard got when she was running Australia. What is it with that? Still I guess at least it’s not like India and Pakistan, with their woman PM’s getting assassinated.

    • AsleepWhileWalking 3.6

      Well she is clearly going remain PM for the foreseeable future.

    • BM 3.7

      UN position will come up in late 2019.

      Be lots of Ardern bullshit about how she can achieve more for child poverdy at the UN, blah,blah. 🙄

      Then gone and thank fuck for that, the reign of New Zealand’s most incompetent, shallow and self-serving PM will be over.

  4. joe90 4

    A USN helming cock up away from some serious shit.

    China firmly opposes a US warship's entry into the waters around China's islands and reefs in the #SouthChinaSea, said Wu Qian, spokesperson from China's Ministry of National Defense on Tuesday. File photo: https://t.co/dQhhCVxnbi pic.twitter.com/PASFZBl6Xw— Global Times (@globaltimesnews) October 2, 2018

    Chinese warship sails within yards of US destroyer in 'unsafe' encounter https://t.co/GaQsl2irlc— The Guardian (@guardian) October 1, 2018

    • UncookedSelachimorpha 5.1

      Very interesting. To quote a paragraph that explains the principle:

      “The idea of “single sales factor apportionment” is to tax corporations based on where sales are made, not where profits are reported. So the share of a corporation’s total profit that the U.S. would tax would be based solely on the share of the corporation’s worldwide sales that occur in the U.S. If a company shows 10 percent of its sales occur in the U.S., then the U.S. taxes the company on 10 percent of its worldwide profits.”

      Sounds simple and effective.

      • KJT 5.1.1

        I would make it even simpler. Tax it on a deemed rate of profit the same as purely local companies make, on the same type of goods or services.

        Too hard to figure out actual profit, over several currencies and jurisdictions.

  5. Morrissey 6

    Compliment of the Year!

    A playwright who’s just been compared to Shakespeare could not be happier than this writer, i.e., moi, right now!

    https://www.kiwiblog.co.nz/2018/10/ross_on_leave.html/comment-page-1#comment-2323792

  6. JC 7

    Te Ika a Maui, (Maui’s dolphins), live only off the western coast of New Zealand’s North Island.

    There are currently just 10 to 12 mature females alive in the world!

    https://news.mongabay.com/2015/06/population-of-mauis-dolphins-slips-below-50/

    Tragically today, there is One less! …

    World’s rarest marine dolphin close to extinction.

    https://www.radionz.co.nz/news/national/367751/dead-dolphin-believed-to-be-rare-maui-dolphin

    https://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=11454791

    http://www.hectorsdolphins.com/news-releases.html

    Apologies about the “leak” …. But it’s doing my head in

  7. Sacha 8

    Look who has washed up in Auckland after escaping accountability for the CTV building collapse in Christchurch: https://www.stuff.co.nz/business/107546238/ctv-engineer-alan-reay-involved-in-troubleplagued-auckland-project

  8. joe90 9

    Alternative media’s boner for totalitarian thugs and their regimes puts journalists at risk.

    The Committee to Protect Journalists says a freelance journalist writing for the Guardian and Washington Post has been arrested and deported from Nicaragua after a “targeted online harassment campaign”.Last week, Carl David Goette-Luciak’s reporting of anti-government protests in Nicaragua was attacked by US journalist Max Blumenthal in an article published published on an American website called Mint Press and British left-wing site, The Canary.The Mint Press article was titled, “How an American Anthropologist Tied to US Regime-Change Proxies Became the MSM’s Man in Nicaragua”, while the Canary ran it under the headline, “Investigation slams Guardian cooperation with novice reporter linked to US regime-change machine“.Along with Blumenthal’s attack, Goette-Luciak was doxxed and targeted by Facebook and Twitter accounts in mid-September, the CPJ said. An online campaign reportedly accused him of an “attempt to destabilise the country and being a Central Intelligence Agency operative”.

    https://www.buzzfeed.com/markdistefano/carl-david-guelle-luciak-arrest?

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • New digital service to make business easy
    A new digital platform aims to make it easier for small businesses to access services from multiple government agencies, leaving them more time to focus on their own priorities. Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern and Minister for Small Business Stuart Nash ...
    11 hours ago
  • Million-dollar start to gun collection events
    Million-dollar start to gun collection events  Police Minister Stuart Nash says a solid start has been made to the gun buyback and amnesty after the first weekend of community collection events. “Gun owners will walk away with more than ...
    1 day ago
  • Praise after first firearms collection event
    Police Minister Stuart Nash has praised Police and gun owners after the first firearms collection event saw a busy turnout at Riccarton Racecourse in Christchurch. “Police officers and staff have put a tremendous effort into planning and logistics for the ...
    1 day ago
  • New Police constables deployed to regions
    Seventy-eight new Police constables are heading out to the regions following today’s graduation of a new recruit wing from the Royal New Zealand Police College. Police Minister Stuart Nash says the record high number of new Police officers being recruited, ...
    1 week ago