Daily Review 02/09/2016

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, September 2nd, 2016 - 15 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Talleys Iain Lees Galloway

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

15 comments on “Daily Review 02/09/2016”

  1. Quasimodo 1

    John Key is the strongest argument I know for reintroducing the checks and balances of an upper house discontinued in ’51 by people who set out to act as an an electoral suicide squad.

    We may soon be fighting suicide bombers in Iraq or Syria .. but we would do well to first have a hard look at our own back yard.

    • Draco T Bastard 1.1

      The US system is the strongest argument I know that proves how an upper house does absolutely nothing for the governance of a country except to make it even more unstable.

      • Quasimodo 1.1.1

        Where is the evidence for your proposition ?

        • Draco T Bastard 1.1.1.1

          Have you noticed that the US still passes bad laws? Patriot Act?
          Have you noticed that when both houses are aligned their administration flows quite smoothly including the passing of bad laws?
          Have you noticed that when both houses are on opposite sides even good laws don’t get through?
          Have you noticed that both their houses seem to be owned by the corporates?

          An upper house of parliament doesn’t do what you think it does.

          • Quasimodo 1.1.1.1.1

            None of your red herrings changes the history of 1951 which could gain new relevance should the Korean situation unfreeze in some unexpected way.

            My argument is based on separation of powers, formulated in ancient greece https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Separation_of_powers
            which lack thereof in this country has given John Key an easy ride.

            Your argument pivots on undefined ‘good’ and ‘bad’ laws so is unprovable.

            I would probably agree on ownership – but still defend the hard-won doctrine of checks and balances which this polity lacks.

            • Draco T Bastard 1.1.1.1.1.1

              Separation of powers has nothing to do with having two houses of parliament but the actual constitution. BTW, we actually do have separation of powers in NZ but it’s not as well defined as in the US constitution and our parliament is defined as the highest court in the land as they happen to make the laws – with no real restrictions on them which is, again, a constitutional matter.

              And, yes, we have a constitution as well but it’s made up of our laws rather than as a single document that defines what the laws of the land can and cannot do. An example is our BORA. It’s a constitutional law but parliament, in making laws, can ignore it as it’s not supreme law.

              • Quasimodo

                Sophistry. The oracle Wikipedia tells us
                “Separation of powers, therefore, refers to the division of responsibilities into distinct branches to limit any one branch from exercising the core functions of another. The intent is to prevent the concentration of power and provide for checks and balances.”
                .. which Aotearoa lacks.

                • Draco T Bastard

                  Not really. It’s not a black & white thing.

                  If I my stuff wasn’t packed I’d get a reference for that as well.

                  And still, separation of powers has nothing to do with having a dual house parliament.

              • Foreign waka

                So true, but would not be a actual written constitution.
                These are officially the only countries listed as democracies without written constitution:

                United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.
                Israel is generally considered democratic, but has no constitution.
                Canada explicitly follows UK model.
                New Zealand has no codified constitution.

                When no written constitution exists, the government is free to “interpret” it however the parties in power choose.
                Hmmm….. so what does this mean for NZ?

  2. Anne 2

    Sorry to hear that Bomber and Willie’s “Waatea Fifth Estate” presented their final show this evening. I didn’t watch all of them, but overall they attracted a wide variety of influential people from senior economists, union officials, politicians (including all the political leaders – bar JK) and some of our best investigative journalists. I have the impression they ran out of money and general resources. However Bomber advised they have applied for a NZ On Air grant so they can repeat the show next year – election year.

    I will be closely watching to see if they are successful. Given the high standard they achieved – technical problems aside – if NZ On Air turn them down, we can safely assume political bias and interference on the part of the govt.

    • b waghorn 2.1

      Yes he’s developed his style from the c7 show he did , a bit less shouty , it’s good.

    • Garibaldi 2.2

      I couldn’t agree more Anne. Bombers Friday show was the highlight of the media week for me. I would happily help fund him but their system wouldn’t accept my debit card. Will there be political interference in his application for funding? My bet is yes.

  3. whispering kate 3

    In today’s Herald I have seen that Pahiatua in the Wairarapa has declared an e-coli contamination in their town water supply and has advised the citizens to boil their drinking water and the council are now chlorinating the supply as well. Apparently some of the citizens have been boiling their water for a some time as the town has a history of contaminated water supply. I saw this in this morning’s online Herald but I notice its not there now, I wonder if it has been withdrawn for obvious reasons.

    How’s the Government going to explain this if further small towns on bore supply find themselves getting sick. So I suppose they will put it down to the birds pooping in the supply again, anything but to have to say the f word – and I mean farming livestock there.

  4. joe90 4

    Keeping America white.

    .@realDonaldTrump: "It's called America First … remember that!" We do! pic.twitter.com/kX3yeBdHiR— Col. Morris Davis (@ColMorrisDavis) September 1, 2016

    Trump Makes White Nationalist Proposal; Media Doesn't Notice https://t.co/ulXgiwN7u5 via @HuffPostPol pic.twitter.com/r7RjoDypI4— Joe Sonka (@joesonka) September 2, 2016

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Safety focus in improved drug driver testing
    Improving the safety of all road users is the focus of a new public consultation document on the issue of drug driver testing. Plans for public consultation on options to improve the drug driver testing process have been announced by ...
    7 days ago
  • Making it easier to get help from Police
    Police Minister Stuart Nash says calling a cop suddenly got a whole lot easier with the launch of a ground-breaking new service for non-emergency calls. “The single non-emergency number ‘ten-five’ is designed to provide better service for the public and ...
    1 week ago
  • More Police deployed to the regions
    Frontline Police numbers have been boosted with today’s deployment of 77 new officers to the regions. Police Minister Stuart Nash today congratulated the recruits of Wing 325 who graduated at a formal ceremony at the Royal New Zealand Police College. ...
    2 weeks ago