web analytics

Daily Review 04/04/2018

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, April 4th, 2018 - 53 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:


Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

53 comments on “Daily Review 04/04/2018 ”

  1. james 1

    I think you read it wrong.

    There was a nationwide tax suggested AS WELL as an Regional tax in Auckland.

    Dont live in Auckland – you ‘only’ pay the nationwide one (assuming it goes thru).

    Im sure a lot of low income workers will love the 10% additional cost of fuel.

    • timeforacupoftea 1.1

      I think I have.
      I was listening to radiolive and being ambushed by the telephone.

      I see what you are saying james RE: low income workers will love the 10% additional cost of fuel.

      $10 to $15 extra per fill.
      Transport Minister Phil Twyford has released the Government’s plans for land transport, which includes a nationwide fuel tax.

      He said Aucklanders could face an extra $10 to $15 at the fuel pump every time they fill up – “and in less than three years the rest of New Zealand could be paying that fuel tax too”.

      Ahhhgg just another TAX increases inflation increases wages all come out in the end for 90% of us doesn’t it.

  2. Ed 2

    New Zealand’s private household debt at 167% of gross income.
    China in a trade war with the US.

    The Titanic steams on.
    The band keeps playing.
    The ship is unsinkable.

    The icebergs lurk.

    What could possibly go wrong?

    • Bill 2.1

      Bad analogy Ed.

      If the Titanic had plowed straight into the berg, it wouldn’t have sunk. It was the attempt to avoid hitting the thing that was fatal.

    • Johnr 2.2

      Do you know if that is per household, or per income earner, or per population.

      If it’s per population that is catastrophic for a lot of people, given that a lot of us oldies are debt free and children up to school leaving age also won’t have debt.

  3. ianmac 3

    EQC have revealed that in spite of Brownlie’s claims of maybe 60-70 million spent on repairing the failed repairs ex Earthquake, the figure so far is $160 million not counting the cash payouts.
    Shocking
    After repeated requests over days Brownlie refused any response so tonight John phoned Brownlie. Short conversation then Brownlie hung up

    This big but so far apart from JC, silence. Tomorrow? Huh.
    http://www.radionz.co.nz/audio/player?audio_id=2018639043

    • Pete 3.1

      Too many of those interested in politics are too involved in orgasmic experiences about issues to do with Clare Curran to focus on important stuff.

      • James 3.1.1

        You don’t approve of what some people find interesting?

        I believe she stated that there were no documents passed in the meeting – which was an interesting question asked (since they normally know the answer before asking).

        Will be interesting (not to Pete) if this has more legs.

        • Pete 3.1.1.1

          Of course I understand people not finding Brownlee being a bit loose about $100 million interesting.

          It’s only one hundred million dollars (and counting apparently.) I reckon Curran was probably handing Hirschfeld $200 million. That’s way more interesting.

    • Ed 3.2

      The media is an enemy of democracy and the citizens in the western world.

      In the UK…….
      they get bombarded with lies about Russian spies.
      they get assaulted by smears about Jeremy Corbyn.
      They know nothing about the war in Yemen.

      In New Zealand…….
      we get bombarded with lies about Christchurch and Pike River .
      we get assaulted by smears about Nicky Hager, Mike Joy, Metiria Turei and David Cunliffe.
      We know nothing about the war in Afghanistan and Ukraine.

      In New Zealand…….
      they get bombarded with lies about Libya,Syria and Iraq.
      they get assaulted by smears about Nicolás Maduro and Fidel Castro.
      They know nothing about the war against the Palestinians.

      They fight for the plutocrats.

      The billionaires own the media.
      And they lie to us.

      https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6PlTDeTrELk

  4. Kat 4

    Over on Stuffall Jones is getting hammered…..again.
    https://www.stuff.co.nz/the-press/news/102829290/shane-jones-cant-recall-official-misgivings-about-west-coast-project-he-funded

    Like the Daily Review photo…….. 🙂

    • weka 4.1

      Is that UK?

      • Kat 4.1.1

        Looks like UK rooftops….

        I can only add that the Duplicity woman is now a complete idiot in my mind and this absolute garbage is going to come back and bite her: http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=12026155

        • monty 4.1.1.1

          Hi Kat be keen to hear why you think this garbage. The only thing I see that is wrong is the claim it has lost them 2020 election.

          Is the information about the increase in fuel excise/tax (whatever you want to call it) incorrect

          I may be wrong but this is a new excise/tax and will hurt the poor more than the welathy.

          • Kat 4.1.1.1.1

            It is not a “new” tax it is an increase in the existing excise levy to fund roading and transport a process that all govts have been operating under for fifty years or more.To continually beat this up as “new” tax is basic politicking and should remain the preserve of politicians not supposed non partisan members of the fourth estate.

            My suggestion to this Duplicity woman would be to become fully aware of govt policy and procedure and a lot wiser to keep her fingers off the keyboard and only appear stupid than to write that sort of nonsense and remove all doubt.

            • Monty 4.1.1.1.1.1

              An excise or excise tax is any duty on manufactured goods which is levied at the moment of manufacture, rather than at sale. This will get passed into the consumer and recovered and paid by the manufacturer. It’s just a different form of taxation but the end result is the same as a GST increase. You end up paying more.

              So would you call a increase in GST a new tax or a increase.

              I see it as a new tax on the poor who ultimately be the ones who suffer first and find harder to cover.

              I would have thought this should have been in the tax working group as it is a significant increase to household take home pay.

              • Kat

                Labour’s tax policy prior to the last election stated that alcohol, petrol, and tobacco levies will be adjusted as per normal Government practice.

                An increase in GST is an increase in an existing tax not a new tax.

                The govt has already announced getting rid of letting fees, putting $5.5 billion into low- and middle-income earners’ pockets, bringing in the winter energy payment for those who are on low fixed incomes and increased the minimum wage.

                • Monty

                  I don’t know the answer to this but when was the last time there was a increase in this size.

                  Plus you do realise the flow in effect to other goods and services that require transportation of products.

                  Those businesses will pass on the increase to the consumer. So it has a domino effect across pricing I can’t imagine progressive and foodstuffs absorbing a fuel increase on their delivery cost and not pass them on.

                  • Kat

                    The last National govt increased excise by 17cents and were considering a 10 to 20% increase in road user charges and excise before they were exited from the treasury bench. Think yourself lucky they are in opposition.

                    • Monty

                      Hi

                      Over what period was the increase.

                      A one off 17 cents or over the nine year period. Just so there is some context.

                      Was the 10 to 20 percent in the annual road user charges or petrol. If road user then you can’t compare apples and oranges when petrol that has a every day component.

                • James

                  The new regional fuel tax IS a new tax. Remember then needed to change legislation to all it (all over New Zealand and not just Auckland as they indicated)

                  • lprent

                    *sigh* One that they campaigned on…

                    Unlike National who campaigned on no new taxes and tax cuts in 2008 and then raised GST so they could transfer money from those who couldn’t afford it to those who didn’t need it.

                    Perhaps you need to raise your hypocrisy glasses and use your brain for something other than being a idiot parrot.

        • James 4.1.1.2

          She has a point – it is a new tax

          • Nom 4.1.1.2.1

            Is a new tax the same as an increase to an existing tax?

            I would argue there is a difference, though others may find the difference too subtle for whatever reason.

            • Monty 4.1.1.2.1.1

              Yes an interesting question.

              Each individual will view it differently and also differently based on the product.

              For example an increase on alcohol or tobacco would not cause too much unrest with the general population as not everyone smokes or drinks.

              But petrol and its cost affects everyone and will will everyone.

              Heck the cost of transiting goods to the supermarket will increase due to fuel cost and those once again will be passed on to the end consumer. You can’t escape it as companies will want to recover the fuel costs for goods.

              • Nom

                I agree that the end result is the same, and this is a very visible tax for most people.

                I was more pointing out the ‘new tax’ gotcha that some were trying to run with is a bit lame.

              • Draco T Bastard

                Heck the cost of transiting goods to the supermarket will increase due to fuel cost and those once again will be passed on to the end consumer. You can’t escape it as companies will want to recover the fuel costs for goods.

                Proving, once again, that the capitalists don’t pay for anything.

                • Monty

                  Unless you change reality then it’s going to happen.

                  So with your vast IQ and superiority over the rest of us (humour not a dig), what needs to happen when this increase in excise will hurt the most vulnerable.

                  Because through all the rethoric and call change that in reality won’t happen overnight how do you protect those people that will be affected now.

                  • McFlock

                    The size of the effect depends entirely on the proportion of goods prices that regional fuel taxes make up. Additionally there will be a lag between the fuel tax increase and the expiry of regular carriage contracts.

                    Short version: if the per unit increase is a sub-1c rounding error, there’s basically no practical increase flowing on to the domestic consumer even if the total increase is made up in high transaction numbers.

                    • Monty

                      Hi are you in the industry as I would be interested in your knowledge of the contracts. As I have seen from the freight industry most contracts contain a fuel clause or surcharge component to the pricing that makes it immediate.

                      The surcharge is added on top of the freight costs and will be recovered.

                    • McFlock

                      Nah not my field. Haulage might well be in the economically-envious position of being able to immediately pass on to their customers the full cost of and changes in their own running costs. Good for them.

                      And lag or no lag from the logistics companies, the point remains that if regional fuel costs are a relatively small fraction of the price of the good, and the fuel companies don’t initially wear a little bit of the increase to keep their market share, then the increase on a weekly shop would still end up being a fraction of that fraction.

                      The bigger cost to people would be the direct observation at the pump, even if fuel companies wear a bit initially.

            • james 4.1.1.2.1.2

              Im pretty sure that a Regional Fuel Tax is new.

              • Nom

                That is not what today’s announcement was about.

                The Auckland Regional Fuel tax also replaced a rate payer transport levy. A neutral tax switch?

    • Gabby 4.2

      He cares not a jotalot. Fiddlededee.

  5. UncookedSelachimorpha 5

    The Living Wage has increased to $20.55/h. Well done to all employers paying the living wage or better – and shame on all those who are paying less! Great words from the Living Wage employer quoted in the RNZ story:

    Mr Waldren said it made economic and social sense to pay that extra amount.

    “You just have to get on board and pay the living wage … they’ve got a concept of if staff are not earning the living wage … basically they’re subsidising your business with their standard of living,” he said.

    “Once you get that concept you can’t continue to pay under the living wage.”

    The government should be 100% on board with this one.

  6. AsleepWhileWalking 6

    I like that Stuff is giving a voice to heaps of homeless/renters.

    Comments are still discordant often with low or non existant empathy for the *choices* people have made and suggestions like move Taumaranui and get a job there. I’m not saying that this isn’t possible just considerably harder to do than the comment suggests.

    I view the comments section as a reasonable barometer of how much the public understands an issue even though it can be manipulated.

  7. David 7

    Palantir Technologies: A “CIA-backed startup”

    The WSWS has reported on the real pedigree of Cambridge Analytica’s parent company, the behavioural research and strategic communication company, SCL.

    Asked by the parliamentary select committee if there were other data companies operating similarly to Cambridge Analytica, Wylie specifically cited the data analysis giant Palantir Technologies.

    https://www.wsws.org/en/articles/2018/04/03/pala-a03.html

  8. Ed 8

    The lie is slowly being shown for what it is.

    Salisbury poisoning: UK experts cannot prove novichok nerve agent used on Skripals came from Russia, MoD says,

    Accusations and recriminations between Britain and Russia are set to escalate with the news that scientists at the Porton Down military research facility have been unable to establish exactly where the novichok nerve agent used to carry out the Skripal attack was manufactured.

    The admission comes the day before Moscow convenes an emergency meeting of the Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW) in The Hague in which it is expected to demand access to samples from the Salisbury poisoning for analysis by Russian scientists.

    Click here to see the whole Independent article.

    Craig Murray talks about Skripal case to George Galloway.

  9. Ed 9

    George Galloway.
    If you want to learn about what is going on in Britain, listen to him.
    Here is a flavour of the great orator.

  10. Monty 10

    I think in this case something like fuel is emotive and possibly not rational given we one of most expensive places for at pump price.

    This is something that effects everyone in the pocket and we don’t know what the effect to overall prices and inflation.

  11. timeforacupoftea 11

    When are the nurses getting a 20% wage increase, cause by God they will need it after paying fuel tax soon plus inflation on clothing, food and electricity will be up next.

    Ahhhh ! The Living Wage has increased to $20.55/h good sign Property Rates will rise for sure.

    Man oh man I love inflation.

    The new Reserve Bank Manager Adrian Orr will be pulling his hair out, bald by Xmas.

  12. Monty 12

    Had a good night last night. The consulate launch of the sevens have to admit I thought I would be in the dog box coming home at 4am out with some AB and sevens legends.

    My wonderful and semi perfect wife had paid her debt for a lost bet re the coalition lasting past Easter and their would be a by election and her national party would be back in.

    After a month of eating vegetarian which was delicious and changed our way eating moving forward she cooked one of my favourite meals.

    Came home to a slow cooked NZ lamb shoulder, roast tattys, asparagus, kumara and with Apple pie and custard.

    Ahh the taste of victory was perfect.

    • weka 12.1

      ha ha good bet and win.

      • Monty 12.1.1

        Exactly.

        We have have robust and open political discussions I also love that she is strong and respect her views.

        She supports national and I know why and I respect that and she respect my different voting views.

        • Ad 12.1.1.1

          She’s a keeper that one.

          • mac1 12.1.1.1.1

            Monty, I’m glad your marriage is better James K Baxter’s couple who live On Calvary Street “Where two old souls go slowly mad,/National Mum and Labour Dad.”

            Also a far better kitchen than this one where “Her polished oven spits with rage”.

            http://www.lead.org.au/lanv1n2/lanv1n2-11.html

            Best wishes that your marriage blooms and prospers, the “full monty”!

            • Whispering Kate 12.1.1.1.1.1

              “Where two old souls go slowly mad./National Mum and Labour Dad”. I do so love that line. It reminds me of Christmas time long ago in the 1950’s. My Grandparents on my Mother’s side were strictly Labour – rotten bosses and all the rest of it – and my Grandparents on my Dad’s side were strictly National – had a business and that meant something in those days or so they thought.

              On Christmas Day they had to be separated at the Christmas table and politics was strictly off the menu. Us kids would have a giggle as Mum’s Gran loved a tipple and Dad’s father was strictly tea total. So the two old girls would get up in the front room and partake of the sherry while we were at carols by candlelight in the park.

              When we got home the two grannies would in the kitchen tidying up or having a good go of it – giggly and half cut. Oh those were the days.

              My old Grandad said “there wouldn’t have ever been unions if it weren’t for rotten bosses” – it resonates today all these gone by.

  13. millsy 13

    Of course, no one talks about National’s desire to price the poor off Auckland’s motoways by putting up toll Gates and congestion charges.

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Tokelau Language Week reminds us to stay united and strong
    Staying strong in the face of challenges and being true to our heritage and languages are key to preserving our cultural identity and wellbeing, is the focus of the 2020 Tokelau Language Week. Minister for Pacific Peoples, Aupito William Sio, says this year’s theme, ‘Apoapo tau foe, i nā tāfea ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 days ago
  • NZ announces a third P-3 deployment in support of UN sanctions
    The Government has deployed a Royal New Zealand Air Force P-3K2 Orion (P-3) maritime patrol aircraft to support the implementation of United Nations Security Council (UNSC) resolutions imposing sanctions against North Korea, announced Minister of Foreign Affairs Winston Peters and Minister of Defence Ron Mark. “New Zealand has long supported ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    6 days ago
  • Pacific trade and development agreement a reality
    Pacific regional trade and development agreement PACER Plus will enter into force in 60 days now that the required eight countries have ratified it. Trade and Export Growth Minister David Parker welcomed the announcement that the Cook Islands is the eighth nation to ratify this landmark agreement. “The agreement represents ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Securing a pipeline of teachers
    The Government is changing its approach to teacher recruitment as COVID-19 travel restrictions continue, by boosting a range of initiatives to get more Kiwis into teaching. “When we came into Government, we were faced with a teacher supply crisis,” Education Minister Chris Hipkins said. “Over the past three years, we ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Border exceptions for a small number of international students with visas
    The Government has established a new category that will allow 250 international PhD and postgraduate students to enter New Zealand and continue their studies, in the latest set of border exceptions. “The health, safety and wellbeing of people in New Zealand remains the Government’s top priority. Tight border restrictions remain ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • First COVID-19 vaccine purchase agreement signed
    The Government has signed an agreement to purchase 1.5 million COVID-19 vaccines – enough for 750,000 people – from Pfizer and BioNTech, subject to the vaccine successfully completing all clinical trials and passing regulatory approvals in New Zealand, say Research, Science and Innovation Minister Megan Woods and Health Minister Chris Hipkins. ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • International statement – End-to-end encryption and public safety
    We, the undersigned, support strong encryption, which plays a crucial role in protecting personal data, privacy, intellectual property, trade secrets and cyber security.  It also serves a vital purpose in repressive states to protect journalists, human rights defenders and other vulnerable people, as stated in the 2017 resolution of the ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Ministry of Defence Biodefence Assessment released
    The Ministry of Defence has today released a Defence Assessment examining Defence’s role across the spectrum of biological hazards and threats facing New Zealand. Biodefence: Preparing for a New Era of Biological Hazards and Threats looks at how the NZDF supports other agencies’ biodefence activities, and considers the context of ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • New Approaches to Economic Challenges: Confronting Planetary Emergencies: OECD 9 October 2020
    New Approaches to Economic Challenges: Confronting Planetary Emergencies: OECD 9 October 2020 Hon David Parker’s response following Thomas Piketty and Esther Duflo. Good morning, good afternoon, and good evening, wherever in the world you might be. I first acknowledge the excellent thought provoking speeches of Thomas Piketty and Esther ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Kaipara Moana restoration takes next step
    A Memorandum of Understanding has been signed today at Waihāua Marae between the Crown, local iwi and councils to protect, restore and enhance the mauri of Kaipara Moana in Northland. Environment Minister David Parker signed the document on behalf of the Crown along with representatives from Ngā Maunga Whakahī, Ngāti ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • New Zealand and Uruguay unite on reducing livestock production emissions
    Agriculture Minister Damien O’Connor and Uruguayan Minister of Livestock, Agriculture and Fisheries Carlos María Uriarte have welcomed the launch of a three-year project that will underpin sustainable livestock production in Uruguay, Argentina, and Costa Rica.  The project called ‘Innovation for pasture management’ is led by Uruguay’s National Institute of Agricultural ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • 3100 jobs created through marae upgrades
    Hundreds of marae throughout the country will be upgraded through investments from the Provincial Growth Fund’s refocused post COVID-19 funding to create jobs and put money into the pockets of local tradespeople and businesses, Regional Economic Development Minister Shane Jones and Māori Development Minister Nanaia Mahuta have announced. “A total ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Health volunteers recognised in annual awards
    Health Minister Chris Hipkins has announced 9 teams and 14 individuals are the recipients of this year’s Minister of Health Volunteer Awards.  “The health volunteer awards celebrate and recognise the thousands of dedicated health sector volunteers who give many hours of their time to help other New Zealanders,” Mr Hipkins ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Community COVID-19 Fund supports Pacific recovery
    The Minister for Pacific Peoples, Aupito William Sio says a total of 264 groups and individuals have successfully applied for the Pacific Aotearoa Community COVID-19 Recovery Fund, that will support Pacific communities drive their own COVID-19 recovery strategies, initiatives, and actions. “I am keen to see this Fund support Pacific ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Community benefits from Māori apprenticeships
    Up to 50 Māori apprentices in Wellington will receive paid training to build houses for their local communities, thanks to a $2.75 million investment from the Māori Trades and Training Fund, announced Employment Minister Willie Jackson today. “This funding will enable Ngāti Toa Rangatira Incorporated to provide its Ngā Kaimahi ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Training fund supports Māori jobseekers
    Rapidly growing sectors will benefit from a $990,000 Māori Trades and Training Fund investment which will see Wellington jobseekers supported into work, announced Employment Minister Willie Jackson today. “This funding will enable Sapphire Consultants Ltd. to help up to 45 Māori jobseekers into paid training initiatives over two years through ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Ruakura Inland Port development vital infrastructure for Waikato
    The Government is investing $40 million to develop an inland port at Ruakura which will become a freight super-hub and a future business, research and residential development for the Waikato, Urban Development and Transport Minister Phil Twyford, and Māori Development Minister Nanaia Mahuta announced today. The funding has been has ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • Appointments made to Defence Expert Review Group
    Defence Minister Ron Mark announced today the establishment of an Expert Review Group to review a number of aspects of the New Zealand Defence Force’s (NZDF) structure, information management and record-keeping processes.  The Expert Review Group’s work arises out of the first recommendation from the Report of the Government’s Inquiry ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • No active community cases of COVID-19
    There are no active community cases of COVID-19 remaining in the country after the last people from the recent outbreak have recovered from the virus, Health Minister Chris Hipkins said today. “This is a big milestone. New Zealanders have once again through their collective actions squashed the virus. The systems ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • Clean energy upgrade for more public buildings
    More public buildings will be supported by the Government to upgrade to run on clean energy, the Minister for Climate Change James Shaw announced today. Minister Shaw announced that Lincoln and Auckland universities will receive support through the Clean-Powered Public Service Fund to replace fossil fuel boilers. Southern, Taranaki, and ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • Schools back donations scheme for the second year
    More schools have opted in to the donations scheme for 2021, compared to 2020 when the scheme was introduced. “The families of more than 447,000 students will be better off next year, with 94% of eligible schools and kura opting into the scheme,” Education Minister Chris Hipkins said. “This is ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago