Daily Review 04/04/2018

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, April 4th, 2018 - 53 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:


Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

53 comments on “Daily Review 04/04/2018”

  1. james 1

    I think you read it wrong.

    There was a nationwide tax suggested AS WELL as an Regional tax in Auckland.

    Dont live in Auckland – you ‘only’ pay the nationwide one (assuming it goes thru).

    Im sure a lot of low income workers will love the 10% additional cost of fuel.

    • timeforacupoftea 1.1

      I think I have.
      I was listening to radiolive and being ambushed by the telephone.

      I see what you are saying james RE: low income workers will love the 10% additional cost of fuel.

      $10 to $15 extra per fill.
      Transport Minister Phil Twyford has released the Government’s plans for land transport, which includes a nationwide fuel tax.

      He said Aucklanders could face an extra $10 to $15 at the fuel pump every time they fill up – “and in less than three years the rest of New Zealand could be paying that fuel tax too”.

      Ahhhgg just another TAX increases inflation increases wages all come out in the end for 90% of us doesn’t it.

  2. Ed 2

    New Zealand’s private household debt at 167% of gross income.
    China in a trade war with the US.

    The Titanic steams on.
    The band keeps playing.
    The ship is unsinkable.

    The icebergs lurk.

    What could possibly go wrong?

    • Bill 2.1

      Bad analogy Ed.

      If the Titanic had plowed straight into the berg, it wouldn’t have sunk. It was the attempt to avoid hitting the thing that was fatal.

    • Johnr 2.2

      Do you know if that is per household, or per income earner, or per population.

      If it’s per population that is catastrophic for a lot of people, given that a lot of us oldies are debt free and children up to school leaving age also won’t have debt.

  3. ianmac 3

    EQC have revealed that in spite of Brownlie’s claims of maybe 60-70 million spent on repairing the failed repairs ex Earthquake, the figure so far is $160 million not counting the cash payouts.
    Shocking
    After repeated requests over days Brownlie refused any response so tonight John phoned Brownlie. Short conversation then Brownlie hung up

    This big but so far apart from JC, silence. Tomorrow? Huh.
    http://www.radionz.co.nz/audio/player?audio_id=2018639043

    • Pete 3.1

      Too many of those interested in politics are too involved in orgasmic experiences about issues to do with Clare Curran to focus on important stuff.

      • James 3.1.1

        You don’t approve of what some people find interesting?

        I believe she stated that there were no documents passed in the meeting – which was an interesting question asked (since they normally know the answer before asking).

        Will be interesting (not to Pete) if this has more legs.

        • Pete 3.1.1.1

          Of course I understand people not finding Brownlee being a bit loose about $100 million interesting.

          It’s only one hundred million dollars (and counting apparently.) I reckon Curran was probably handing Hirschfeld $200 million. That’s way more interesting.

    • Ed 3.2

      The media is an enemy of democracy and the citizens in the western world.

      In the UK…….
      they get bombarded with lies about Russian spies.
      they get assaulted by smears about Jeremy Corbyn.
      They know nothing about the war in Yemen.

      In New Zealand…….
      we get bombarded with lies about Christchurch and Pike River .
      we get assaulted by smears about Nicky Hager, Mike Joy, Metiria Turei and David Cunliffe.
      We know nothing about the war in Afghanistan and Ukraine.

      In New Zealand…….
      they get bombarded with lies about Libya,Syria and Iraq.
      they get assaulted by smears about Nicolás Maduro and Fidel Castro.
      They know nothing about the war against the Palestinians.

      They fight for the plutocrats.

      The billionaires own the media.
      And they lie to us.

  4. Kat 4

    Over on Stuffall Jones is getting hammered…..again.
    https://www.stuff.co.nz/the-press/news/102829290/shane-jones-cant-recall-official-misgivings-about-west-coast-project-he-funded

    Like the Daily Review photo…….. 🙂

    • weka 4.1

      Is that UK?

      • Kat 4.1.1

        Looks like UK rooftops….

        I can only add that the Duplicity woman is now a complete idiot in my mind and this absolute garbage is going to come back and bite her: http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=12026155

        • monty 4.1.1.1

          Hi Kat be keen to hear why you think this garbage. The only thing I see that is wrong is the claim it has lost them 2020 election.

          Is the information about the increase in fuel excise/tax (whatever you want to call it) incorrect

          I may be wrong but this is a new excise/tax and will hurt the poor more than the welathy.

          • Kat 4.1.1.1.1

            It is not a “new” tax it is an increase in the existing excise levy to fund roading and transport a process that all govts have been operating under for fifty years or more.To continually beat this up as “new” tax is basic politicking and should remain the preserve of politicians not supposed non partisan members of the fourth estate.

            My suggestion to this Duplicity woman would be to become fully aware of govt policy and procedure and a lot wiser to keep her fingers off the keyboard and only appear stupid than to write that sort of nonsense and remove all doubt.

            • Monty 4.1.1.1.1.1

              An excise or excise tax is any duty on manufactured goods which is levied at the moment of manufacture, rather than at sale. This will get passed into the consumer and recovered and paid by the manufacturer. It’s just a different form of taxation but the end result is the same as a GST increase. You end up paying more.

              So would you call a increase in GST a new tax or a increase.

              I see it as a new tax on the poor who ultimately be the ones who suffer first and find harder to cover.

              I would have thought this should have been in the tax working group as it is a significant increase to household take home pay.

              • Kat

                Labour’s tax policy prior to the last election stated that alcohol, petrol, and tobacco levies will be adjusted as per normal Government practice.

                An increase in GST is an increase in an existing tax not a new tax.

                The govt has already announced getting rid of letting fees, putting $5.5 billion into low- and middle-income earners’ pockets, bringing in the winter energy payment for those who are on low fixed incomes and increased the minimum wage.

                • Monty

                  I don’t know the answer to this but when was the last time there was a increase in this size.

                  Plus you do realise the flow in effect to other goods and services that require transportation of products.

                  Those businesses will pass on the increase to the consumer. So it has a domino effect across pricing I can’t imagine progressive and foodstuffs absorbing a fuel increase on their delivery cost and not pass them on.

                  • Kat

                    The last National govt increased excise by 17cents and were considering a 10 to 20% increase in road user charges and excise before they were exited from the treasury bench. Think yourself lucky they are in opposition.

                    • Monty

                      Hi

                      Over what period was the increase.

                      A one off 17 cents or over the nine year period. Just so there is some context.

                      Was the 10 to 20 percent in the annual road user charges or petrol. If road user then you can’t compare apples and oranges when petrol that has a every day component.

                • James

                  The new regional fuel tax IS a new tax. Remember then needed to change legislation to all it (all over New Zealand and not just Auckland as they indicated)

                  • lprent

                    *sigh* One that they campaigned on…

                    Unlike National who campaigned on no new taxes and tax cuts in 2008 and then raised GST so they could transfer money from those who couldn’t afford it to those who didn’t need it.

                    Perhaps you need to raise your hypocrisy glasses and use your brain for something other than being a idiot parrot.

        • James 4.1.1.2

          She has a point – it is a new tax

          • Nom 4.1.1.2.1

            Is a new tax the same as an increase to an existing tax?

            I would argue there is a difference, though others may find the difference too subtle for whatever reason.

            • Monty 4.1.1.2.1.1

              Yes an interesting question.

              Each individual will view it differently and also differently based on the product.

              For example an increase on alcohol or tobacco would not cause too much unrest with the general population as not everyone smokes or drinks.

              But petrol and its cost affects everyone and will will everyone.

              Heck the cost of transiting goods to the supermarket will increase due to fuel cost and those once again will be passed on to the end consumer. You can’t escape it as companies will want to recover the fuel costs for goods.

              • Nom

                I agree that the end result is the same, and this is a very visible tax for most people.

                I was more pointing out the ‘new tax’ gotcha that some were trying to run with is a bit lame.

              • Draco T Bastard

                Heck the cost of transiting goods to the supermarket will increase due to fuel cost and those once again will be passed on to the end consumer. You can’t escape it as companies will want to recover the fuel costs for goods.

                Proving, once again, that the capitalists don’t pay for anything.

                • Monty

                  Unless you change reality then it’s going to happen.

                  So with your vast IQ and superiority over the rest of us (humour not a dig), what needs to happen when this increase in excise will hurt the most vulnerable.

                  Because through all the rethoric and call change that in reality won’t happen overnight how do you protect those people that will be affected now.

                  • McFlock

                    The size of the effect depends entirely on the proportion of goods prices that regional fuel taxes make up. Additionally there will be a lag between the fuel tax increase and the expiry of regular carriage contracts.

                    Short version: if the per unit increase is a sub-1c rounding error, there’s basically no practical increase flowing on to the domestic consumer even if the total increase is made up in high transaction numbers.

                    • Monty

                      Hi are you in the industry as I would be interested in your knowledge of the contracts. As I have seen from the freight industry most contracts contain a fuel clause or surcharge component to the pricing that makes it immediate.

                      The surcharge is added on top of the freight costs and will be recovered.

                    • McFlock

                      Nah not my field. Haulage might well be in the economically-envious position of being able to immediately pass on to their customers the full cost of and changes in their own running costs. Good for them.

                      And lag or no lag from the logistics companies, the point remains that if regional fuel costs are a relatively small fraction of the price of the good, and the fuel companies don’t initially wear a little bit of the increase to keep their market share, then the increase on a weekly shop would still end up being a fraction of that fraction.

                      The bigger cost to people would be the direct observation at the pump, even if fuel companies wear a bit initially.

            • james 4.1.1.2.1.2

              Im pretty sure that a Regional Fuel Tax is new.

              • Nom

                That is not what today’s announcement was about.

                The Auckland Regional Fuel tax also replaced a rate payer transport levy. A neutral tax switch?

    • Gabby 4.2

      He cares not a jotalot. Fiddlededee.

  5. UncookedSelachimorpha 5

    The Living Wage has increased to $20.55/h. Well done to all employers paying the living wage or better – and shame on all those who are paying less! Great words from the Living Wage employer quoted in the RNZ story:

    Mr Waldren said it made economic and social sense to pay that extra amount.

    “You just have to get on board and pay the living wage … they’ve got a concept of if staff are not earning the living wage … basically they’re subsidising your business with their standard of living,” he said.

    “Once you get that concept you can’t continue to pay under the living wage.”

    The government should be 100% on board with this one.

  6. AsleepWhileWalking 6

    I like that Stuff is giving a voice to heaps of homeless/renters.

    Comments are still discordant often with low or non existant empathy for the *choices* people have made and suggestions like move Taumaranui and get a job there. I’m not saying that this isn’t possible just considerably harder to do than the comment suggests.

    I view the comments section as a reasonable barometer of how much the public understands an issue even though it can be manipulated.

  7. David 7

    Palantir Technologies: A “CIA-backed startup”

    The WSWS has reported on the real pedigree of Cambridge Analytica’s parent company, the behavioural research and strategic communication company, SCL.

    Asked by the parliamentary select committee if there were other data companies operating similarly to Cambridge Analytica, Wylie specifically cited the data analysis giant Palantir Technologies.

    https://www.wsws.org/en/articles/2018/04/03/pala-a03.html

  8. Ed 8

    The lie is slowly being shown for what it is.

    Salisbury poisoning: UK experts cannot prove novichok nerve agent used on Skripals came from Russia, MoD says,

    Accusations and recriminations between Britain and Russia are set to escalate with the news that scientists at the Porton Down military research facility have been unable to establish exactly where the novichok nerve agent used to carry out the Skripal attack was manufactured.

    The admission comes the day before Moscow convenes an emergency meeting of the Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW) in The Hague in which it is expected to demand access to samples from the Salisbury poisoning for analysis by Russian scientists.

    Click here to see the whole Independent article.

    Craig Murray talks about Skripal case to George Galloway.

  9. Ed 9

    George Galloway.
    If you want to learn about what is going on in Britain, listen to him.
    Here is a flavour of the great orator.

  10. Monty 10

    I think in this case something like fuel is emotive and possibly not rational given we one of most expensive places for at pump price.

    This is something that effects everyone in the pocket and we don’t know what the effect to overall prices and inflation.

  11. timeforacupoftea 11

    When are the nurses getting a 20% wage increase, cause by God they will need it after paying fuel tax soon plus inflation on clothing, food and electricity will be up next.

    Ahhhh ! The Living Wage has increased to $20.55/h good sign Property Rates will rise for sure.

    Man oh man I love inflation.

    The new Reserve Bank Manager Adrian Orr will be pulling his hair out, bald by Xmas.

  12. Monty 12

    Had a good night last night. The consulate launch of the sevens have to admit I thought I would be in the dog box coming home at 4am out with some AB and sevens legends.

    My wonderful and semi perfect wife had paid her debt for a lost bet re the coalition lasting past Easter and their would be a by election and her national party would be back in.

    After a month of eating vegetarian which was delicious and changed our way eating moving forward she cooked one of my favourite meals.

    Came home to a slow cooked NZ lamb shoulder, roast tattys, asparagus, kumara and with Apple pie and custard.

    Ahh the taste of victory was perfect.

    • weka 12.1

      ha ha good bet and win.

      • Monty 12.1.1

        Exactly.

        We have have robust and open political discussions I also love that she is strong and respect her views.

        She supports national and I know why and I respect that and she respect my different voting views.

        • Ad 12.1.1.1

          She’s a keeper that one.

          • mac1 12.1.1.1.1

            Monty, I’m glad your marriage is better James K Baxter’s couple who live On Calvary Street “Where two old souls go slowly mad,/National Mum and Labour Dad.”

            Also a far better kitchen than this one where “Her polished oven spits with rage”.

            http://www.lead.org.au/lanv1n2/lanv1n2-11.html

            Best wishes that your marriage blooms and prospers, the “full monty”!

            • Whispering Kate 12.1.1.1.1.1

              “Where two old souls go slowly mad./National Mum and Labour Dad”. I do so love that line. It reminds me of Christmas time long ago in the 1950’s. My Grandparents on my Mother’s side were strictly Labour – rotten bosses and all the rest of it – and my Grandparents on my Dad’s side were strictly National – had a business and that meant something in those days or so they thought.

              On Christmas Day they had to be separated at the Christmas table and politics was strictly off the menu. Us kids would have a giggle as Mum’s Gran loved a tipple and Dad’s father was strictly tea total. So the two old girls would get up in the front room and partake of the sherry while we were at carols by candlelight in the park.

              When we got home the two grannies would in the kitchen tidying up or having a good go of it – giggly and half cut. Oh those were the days.

              My old Grandad said “there wouldn’t have ever been unions if it weren’t for rotten bosses” – it resonates today all these gone by.

  13. millsy 13

    Of course, no one talks about National’s desire to price the poor off Auckland’s motoways by putting up toll Gates and congestion charges.

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Membership: Australia and New Zealand Electronic Invoicing Board
    The Governments of Australia and New Zealand have announced the membership of the Australia and New Zealand Electronic Invoicing Board (ANZEIB) today. This is an important step towards implementing e-Invoicing across both countries to help businesses save time and money ...
    1 week ago
  • An end to unnecessary secondary tax
    Workers who are paying too much tax because of incorrect secondary tax codes are in line for relief with the passage of legislation through Parliament late last night. The Taxation (Annual Rates for 2018-19, Modernising Tax Administration, and Remedial Matters) ...
    1 week ago
  • Chatham Islands pāua plan approved
    Efforts to reverse the decline in the Chatham Islands pāua fishery are the focus of a new plan jointly agreed between government, the local community and industry. Fisheries Minister Stuart Nash says the plan was developed by the PauaMAC4 Industry ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Bill introduced for synthetics crackdown
    The Police will get stronger powers of search and seizure to crackdown on synthetic drugs under new legislation, which makes the two main synthetics (5F-ADB and AMB-FUBINACA) Class A drugs. The Government has today introduced the Misuse of Drugs Amendment ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Blasphemous libel law repealed
    The archaic blasphemous libel offence will be repealed following the passing of the Crimes Amendment Bill today, says Justice Minister Andrew Little. ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Coalition Government lassos livestock rustling
    New rules to crack down on livestock rustling will come into force following the passing of the Crimes Amendment Bill says Justice Minister Andrew Little. ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Medieval law axed
    The ‘year and a day rule’ rule will be repealed following the passing of the Crimes Amendment Bill, says Justice Minister Andrew Little. ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Further steps to combat tax evasion
    Further steps to combat tax evasion Revenue Minister Stuart Nash has announced New Zealand is expanding its global ability to combat tax evasion by joining forces with authorities in 30 countries and jurisdictions. Cabinet has agreed to add another ...
    2 weeks ago