web analytics

Daily Review 03/02/2017

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, February 3rd, 2017 - 39 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

(Graphic credit of the incredibly talented @Megapope and @Coleytangerina)

39 comments on “Daily Review 03/02/2017 ”

  1. Paul 1

    Do you need another reason to stop eating beef?
    Ractopamine

    Ractopamine is a feed additive to promote leanness in animals raised for their meat. Pharmacologically, it is a TAAR1 agonist and β adrenoreceptor agonist that stimulates β1 and β2 adrenergic receptors. It is the active ingredient in products known as Paylean for swine and Optaflexx for cattle, developed by Elanco Animal Health, a division of Eli Lilly and Company, for use in food animals for growth promotion.

    Ractopamine use has been banned in most countries, including the European Union, mainland China and Russia while 27 other countries, such as Japan, the United States, Canada, and South Korea, have deemed meat from livestock fed ractopamine safe for human consumption.

    The Russians understand its dangers

    Russia plans to temporarily ban imports of beef and beef products from New Zealand from February 6 after finding the feed additive ractopamine in some samples, Russia’s agriculture safety watchdog said in a statement on Thursday.

    The watchdog, known as Rosselkhoznadzor in Russian, said it was also considering banning fish imports from New Zealand due to traces of mercury in some supplies.

    Ractopamine, which is used to promote muscle growth, is prohibited for use in beef cattle in New Zealand, which promotes its reputation as a safe, natural producer in marketing its food products – particularly dairy – overseas.

    “New Zealand did not receive prior notification and officials are seeking further clarification about the announcement,” a spokesman for the Pacific nation’s Ministry for Primary Industries said in an email.

    If this has not persuaded you already….

    [link fixed – weka]

    • weka 1.1

      How to eat meat ethically

      Before she was a butcher, Meredith Leigh was a vegetarian. She was fascinated by plants and loved vegetables—how they grew, the way they tasted right out of the field, how they changed color and texture as they cooked.

      But during a trip to Vietnam in 2004—after Leigh had been a vegetarian for nine years and a vegan for two—a woman named Loi served her water buffalo. Aware that Loi had raised and slaughtered the animal herself, the act of eating it became an act of connecting, and Leigh began to consider the idea of ethical meat.

      “Eating gained new meaning,” she writes of that experience in The Ethical Meat Handbook: Complete Home Butchery, Charcuterie, and Cooking for the Conscious Omnivore. It was then, she says, “I began my journey into the meaningful consumption of animals.”

      Concerned that her previous choice to forego meat had had little effect on the systems by which animals are raised—and virtually no impact on the lives or deaths of those animals—Leigh started to identify with the concept of ethical meat.

      Leigh considers meat “ethical” if certain factors hold true: if the animal enjoys a good life and experiences a humane death, if the butcher uses each part of the body, and if the cook prepares or preserves the food to maximize its nutrition and taste. In talking about ethical meat, Leigh describes a system of relationships that involve exchanges of purpose and skill between animal, farmer, butcher, and cook.

      My emphasis.

      http://civileats.com/2016/05/27/how-a-former-vegetarian-became-a-butcher-and-ethical-meat-advocate/

      • Paul 1.1.1

        Many see no such thing as ethical meat…..

        The Organic and ‘Free-Range’ Myths

        Morrissey – Meat is Murder
        https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_FC1GRpYA-Q

        [link fixed – weka]

        • weka 1.1.1.1

          The website I linked to, while it encompasses organic and free-range is in fact a different thing. Organic and free-range are not necessarily ethical, although they generally are more ethical than conventional and many are very ethical depending on who the farmer is. This is why it’s good to know who grows your meat, because that’s where you have the most influence over the wellbeing of animals.

          People who think meat is murder are obviously not going to think it’s possible to eat meat ethically, but as pointed out, they’ve left the fate of animals to the corporates who will treat them very badly.

          As for using PETA as a source, let’s just pick one of their comments apart,

          Cows on organic farms often aren’t given antibiotics—even when they’re sick or when their udders become infected, something that happens often—because medicated animals lose their “organic” status.

          Here’s the NZ Biogro standard from the above link,

          f. BioGro’s requirement to treat
          Certified livestock producers must never allow diseased or severely infected stock to go untreated in order that it may be classed as certi ed. Any BioGro licensee, who is proven to be keeping, or selling, or have recently kept or sold, stock that would not comply with the Animal Welfare Act will face immediate loss of certi cation of the whole property.

          Not all ‘organic’ is the same. It pays to understand which certifications can be trusted and why. PETA could of course have pointed this out and helped meat eaters make better choices that ensure better welfare for animals, but it doesn’t because it’s a vegan propaganda machine and would rather promote dogma than effective animal welfare.

      • Gabby 1.1.2

        The russkies may have got some beef confused with one of their athletes.

    • weka 1.2

      NZ Biogro organic standards for animals,

      v. The following products must not be included in or added to feed, or in any other way be given to farm animals:
      • artificial colouring agents;
      • all types of excrements including droppings, dung or other manure are prohibited in the
      diet of all species;
      • farm animal by-products and abattoir waste products such as meat meal, bone meal,
      and blood products to ruminants;
      • feed, such as soy and rape seed meal, that has been subjected to solvent extraction,
      e.g. hexane, or the addition of other chemical agents;
      • genetically engineered organisms or products thereof;
      • preservatives, except when approved as a processing aid;
      • pure amino acids;
      • synthetic appetisers;
      • synthetic growth promoters or stimulants; or
      • urea and other synthetic nitrogen compounds.

      x. Hormones and growth promotants
      The use of substances to promote growth or production, (including antibiotics, coccidiostats and other arti cial aids for growth promotion purposes) and the use of hormones or similar substances to control reproduction, e.g. induction or synchronisation of oestrus, or for other purposes, is prohibited.

      y. Growth promotants
      Production stimulants, suppressants and growth promoters are prohibited.

      http://www.biogro.co.nz/s/Module_5_Livestock-y83j.pdf

  2. I must note that credit for the excellent Waitangi Day bingo board above goes to @Megapope and @Coleytangerina, two excellent human beings.

    [I am very embarrassed. Graphic now credited appropriately – MS]

  3. Paul 3

    George Monbiot always writes thought provoking articles.

    Visible text

    How corporate dark money is taking power on both sides of the Atlantic.
    https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2017/feb/02/corporate-dark-money-power-atlantic-lobbyists-brexit

    • weka 3.1

      what’s that first link suppose to be?

      • Paul 3.1.1

        The Guardian article.
        I was busy answering your point about meat and forgot to place text inside.

    • Carolyn_nth 3.2

      It kind of is depressing to read. Dark money and power, like a hydra, spreading its tentacles since WWII.

      It’s like, no matter what the left attempts to do, these shadow networks throw up their representatives.

      I have long wondered how it’s possible in NZ that disgraced, cabinet ministers return to power a few years down the tracks. The story of Liam Fox explains. Dark money and power are behind the scenes, manipulating, pulling the strings.

      Monbiot has claimed there is group working on a plan for a way forward for the left. Still waiting….?

      Only more bad news of the shadow powers, the hydra behind the scenes, pushing, leading, directing.

    • Pat 3.3

      “In April 1938, President Franklin Roosevelt sent the US Congress the following warning: “The liberty of a democracy is not safe if the people tolerate the growth of private power to a point where it becomes stronger than their democratic state itself. That, in its essence, is fascism.” It is a warning we would do well to remember.”

      sadly we are too late, FDR’s lesson was not heeded …..corporate power has been greater than the state itself for quite some time…..the kickback, when it comes will not be pleasant.

  4. Paul 4

    Philip Wollen : Animals Should Be Off The Menu

    Animals must be off the menu because tonight they are screaming in terror in the slaughterhouse, in crates, and cages. Vile ignoble gulags of despair.
    I heard the screams of my dying father as his body was ravaged by the cancer that killed him. And I realised I had heard these screams before.
    In the slaughterhouse, eyes stabbed out and tendons slashed, on the cattle ships to the Middle East and the dying mother whale as a Japanese harpoon explodes in her brain as she calls out to her calf.
    Their cries were the cries of my father.
    I discovered when we suffer, we suffer as equals.
    And in their capacity to suffer, a dog is a pig is a bear. . . . . . is a boy.
    Meat is the new asbestos – more murderous than tobacco……….

    Animal Rights is now the greatest Social Justice issue since the abolition of slavery.
    There are over 600 million vegetarians in the world.
    That is bigger than the US, England, France, Germany, Spain, Italy, Canada, Australia combined! If we were one nation we would be bigger than the 27 countries in the European Union!!
    Despite this massive footprint, we are still drowned out by the raucous huntin’, shootin’, killin’ cartels who believe that violence is the answer – when it shouldn’t even be a question.
    Meat is a killing industry – animals, us and our economies.
    Medicare has already bankrupted the US. They will need $8 trillion invested in Treasury bills just to pay the interest. It has precisely zero!!
    They could shut every school, army, navy, air force, and Marines, the FBI and CIA – and they still won’t be able to pay for it.
    Cornell and Harvard say’s that the optimum amount of meat for a healthy diet is precisely ZERO.

    Water is the new oil. Nations will soon be going to war for it.
    Underground aquifers that took millions of years to fill are running dry.
    It takes 50,000 litres of water to produce one kilo of beef.
    1 billion people today are hungry. 20 million people will die from malnutrition. Cutting meat by only 10% will feed 100 million people. Eliminating meat will end starvation forever.

    If everyone ate a Western diet, we would need 2 Planet Earths to feed them. We only have one. And she is dying.
    Greenhouse gas from livestock is 50% more than transport . . . . . planes, trains, trucks, cars, and ships.
    Poor countries sell their grain to the West while their own children starve in their arms. And we feed it to livestock. So we can eat a steak? Am I the only one who sees this as a crime? Every morsel of meat we eat is slapping the tear-stained face of a starving child. When I look into her eyes, should I be silent?
    The earth can produce enough for everyone’s need. But not enough for everyone’s greed.
    We are facing the perfect storm.
    If any nation had developed weapons that could wreak such havoc on the planet, we would launch a pre-emptive military strike and bomb it into the Bronze Age.
    But it is not a rogue state. It is an industry.
    The good news is we don’t have to bomb it. We can just stop buying it.
    George Bush was wrong. The Axis of Evil doesn’t run through Iraq, or Iran or North Korea. It runs through our dining tables. Weapons of Mass Destruction are our knives and forks.

    So tonight I have 2 Challenges for the opposition:
    1. Meat causes a wide range of cancers and heart disease. Will they name one disease caused by a vegetarian diet?
    2. I am funding the Earthlings trilogy. If the opposition is so sure of their ground, I challenge them to send the Earthlings DVD to all their colleagues and customers. Go on I DARE YOU.
    Animals are not just other species. They are other nations. And we murder them at our peril.

    Hear it all here…….

    [link fixed – weka]

  5. Peter Swift 5

    Looks like Paul has found a new vegetarian hobby horse.
    Lucky he’s not in France posting on le standarde or he’d soon be eating his words.

  6. Muttonbird 6

    Russia to ban New Zealand beef

    http://www.nzherald.co.nz/business/news/article.cfm?c_id=3&objectid=11794354

    Perhaps Trump’ll buy it?

  7. Carolyn_nth 7

    Enjoying some of the inventive #DressLikeAWoman tweets.

    I think it’s a response to Trump saying his female staff should dress like a woman.

    Always remember to #DressLikeAWoman when working on active volcanoes, everybody.

    Photo with above link and the ones below:

    #dresslikeawoman dragging a wookie, with a grenade. #badass #CarrieFisher

    I’m not ashamed to #dresslikeawoman because I don’t think it’s shameful to be a woman. – @IggyPop

    Shirley Ann Jackson. Nuclear Physicist, Engineer, College President, #DressLikeAWoman

    Loads more at the hash tag – Friday night fun, with a serious twist.

  8. JanM 8

    Love the Waitangi Day Bingo 🙂

  9. Paul 9

    Good news.

    South Pacific islands ban western junk food and go organic

    A group of south Pacific islands are banning foreign junk food imports in favour of an all-local, organic diet as a way to combat future health problems.

    Torba province, part of Vanuatu, aims to impose restrictions on the import of western foodstuffs and instead take advantage of its productive agricultural land and rich natural resources.

    Located in the northern part of Vanuatu, Toba is often described as the “forgotten province” and the majority of its 10,000 people are subsistence farmers.

    Father Luc Dini, a community leader and head of the local tourism council, said a ban on foreign food imports would improve the health and wellbeing of islanders.

    “At the moment we have an infiltration of junk food from overseas,” he said.

    “It is easy to boil noodles or rice, but they have almost no nutritional value and there is no need to eat imported food when we have so much local food grown organically on our islands.”

  10. dukeofurl 11

    I see Trump has signed an executive order making the day of his inauguration
    National day of Patriotic Devotion

    http://www.washingtonpost.com/news/post-politics/wp/2017/01/23/trump-names-his-inauguration-day-a-national-day-of-patriotic-devotion/
    I kid you not, its something that Kim Jong Un would dream up.

    This is going to be big next week as how truly mad Trump is, its far worse than we could ever have dreamed

    ” The novelist Robert Harris drew comparison to the Nazi “day of awakening” to celebrate Hitler’s election in 1933.
    http://www.theguardian.com/us-news/shortcuts/2017/jan/24/all-missed-trump-national-day-of-patriotic-devotion-sad-inauguration.

  11. Muttonbird 12

    National’s brighter future is here to stay. Shit-house infrastructure everywhere…

    http://www.stuff.co.nz/manawatu-standard/news/89091778/muddy-water-prompts-boil-water-notice-for-levin

  12. joe90 14

    So, Arkansas is hell.

    .

    Arkansas Act 45, signed by Arkansas Gov. Asa Hutchinson last Thursday, bans dilation and evacuation abortions, the most common abortion procedure during the second trimester of pregnancy. Rushed from filing to law in less than two months, the legislation effectively blocks abortions after 14 weeks by making the safest procedure a felony. The earliest current abortion bans block the procedure after 20 weeks.

    With no exception for rape or incest, and a clause that allows a woman’s spouse or parent to sue an abortion provider, the law potentially allows the fetus’s father to sue even in cases of spousal rape or incest, abortion rights activists say. The law could go into effect as early as spring.

    http://www.thedailybeast.com/articles/2017/02/02/new-law-lets-dads-veto-abortions.html

  13. Muttonbird 15

    PN’s going off with the brighter future. These guys went to the hospital and were told to go back to the GP which they couldn’t afford.

    I’m not entirely certain what a GP can do for a skin cancer patient that an actual hospital cannot do but then this is Bill English’s New Zealand.

    According to Bill it’s about growth. Any kind of growth will do.

    http://www.stuff.co.nz/manawatu-standard/news/88813708/future-snatched-away-from-manawatu-couple

    • weka 15.1

      That’s a very sad story, and angry-making. BE tweeted this the other day,

      Bill English ‏@pmbillenglish Feb 1

      We’ll back people who work hard to manage their health issues or disability so they can live independently.

      Bill English ‏@pmbillenglish Feb 1

      We’ll back people who bravely leave behind welfare dependency to move into work.

      Bill English ‏@pmbillenglish Feb 1

      We’ll back hard-working people who get up early to milk the cows or to catch the bus to work, so they can raise their families.

      Which is exactly why that man is dying in poverty and his partner is looking after him in poverty. Because everyone should work or be treated like a bludger and god help you if you are too ill to work.

      btw, GP would probably have a better idea of how to respond to a potential skin carcinoma than an A and E doctor, and can do mole removal in the clinic.

  14. greywarshark 16

    They were both cleaners so probably didn’t have spare cash. Then you have to be accepted by a GP. Was there one they could get to nearby? Then it would be helpful
    if the government brought in a health referral that the A&E could give to the patient so that they could get their problem looked at by a GP free and that would make it less likely that the visit would be put off. The GP would of course claim the fee from the health authority.

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Twenty highlights of 2020
    As we welcome in the new year, our focus is on continuing to keep New Zealanders safe and moving forward with our economic recovery. There’s a lot to get on with, but before we say a final goodbye to 2020, here’s a quick look back at some of the milestones ...
    2 weeks ago

  • Cook Islanders to resume travel to New Zealand
    The Prime Minister of New Zealand Jacinda Ardern and the Prime Minister of the Cook Islands Mark Brown have announced passengers from the Cook Islands can resume quarantine-free travel into New Zealand from 21 January, enabling access to essential services such as health. “Following confirmation of the Cook Islands’ COVID ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 days ago
  • Supporting communities and landowners to grow employment opportunities
    Jobs for Nature funding is being made available to conservation groups and landowners to employ staff and contractors in a move aimed at boosting local biodiversity-focused projects, Conservation Minister Kiritapu Allan has announced. It is estimated some 400-plus jobs will be created with employment opportunities in ecology, restoration, trapping, ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 days ago
  • Border exception for some returning international tertiary students
    The Government has approved an exception class for 1000 international tertiary students, degree level and above, who began their study in New Zealand but were caught offshore when border restrictions began. The exception will allow students to return to New Zealand in stages from April 2021. “Our top priority continues ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 days ago
  • Tiwai deal gives time for managed transition
    Today’s deal between Meridian and Rio Tinto for the Tiwai smelter to remain open another four years provides time for a managed transition for Southland. “The deal provides welcome certainty to the Southland community by protecting jobs and incomes as the region plans for the future. The Government is committed ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 days ago
  • New member for APEC Business Advisory Council
    Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern has appointed Anna Curzon to the APEC Business Advisory Council (ABAC). The leader of each APEC economy appoints three private sector representatives to ABAC. ABAC provides advice to leaders annually on business priorities. “ABAC helps ensure that APEC’s work programme is informed by business community perspectives ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    4 days ago
  • Govt’s careful economic management recognised
    The Government’s prudent fiscal management and strong policy programme in the face of the COVID-19 global pandemic have been acknowledged by the credit rating agency Fitch. Fitch has today affirmed New Zealand’s local currency rating at AA+ with a stable outlook and foreign currency rating at AA with a positive ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    4 days ago
  • Additional actions to keep COVID-19 out of NZ
    The Government is putting in place a suite of additional actions to protect New Zealand from COVID-19, including new emerging variants, COVID-19 Response Minister Chris Hipkins said today. “Given the high rates of infection in many countries and evidence of the global spread of more transmissible variants, it’s clear that ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    5 days ago
  • 19 projects will clean up and protect waterways
    $36 million of Government funding alongside councils and others for 19 projects Investment will clean up and protect waterways and create local jobs Boots on the ground expected in Q2 of 2021 Funding part of the Jobs for Nature policy package A package of 19 projects will help clean up ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • New Zealand Government acknowledges 175th anniversary of Battle of Ruapekapeka
    The commemoration of the 175th anniversary of the Battle of Ruapekapeka represents an opportunity for all New Zealanders to reflect on the role these conflicts have had in creating our modern nation, says Associate Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage Kiri Allan. “The Battle at Te Ruapekapeka Pā, which took ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Better care for babies with tongue-tie
    Babies born with tongue-tie will be assessed and treated consistently under new guidelines released by the Ministry of Health, Associate Minister of Health Dr Ayesha Verrall announced today. Around 5% to 10% of babies are born with a tongue-tie, or ankyloglossia, in New Zealand each year. At least half can ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Prisoner disorder event at Waikeria Prison over
    The prisoner disorder event at Waikeria Prison is over, with all remaining prisoners now safely and securely detained, Corrections Minister Kelvin Davis says. The majority of those involved in the event are members of the Mongols and Comancheros. Five of the men are deportees from Australia, with three subject to ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Pre-departure COVID-19 test for travellers from the UK and the US from 15 January
    Travellers from the United Kingdom or the United States bound for New Zealand will be required to get a negative test result for COVID-19 before departing, and work is underway to extend the requirement to other long haul flights to New Zealand, COVID-19 Response Minister Chris Hipkins confirmed today. “The new PCR test requirement, foreshadowed last ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • PM congratulates New Year Honour recipients
    Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern has added her warm congratulations to the New Zealanders recognised for their contributions to their communities and the country in the New Year 2021 Honours List. “The past year has been one that few of us could have imagined. In spite of all the things that ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • David Parker congratulates New Year 2021 Honours recipients
    Attorney-General and Minister for the Environment David Parker has congratulated two retired judges who have had their contributions to the country and their communities recognised in the New Year 2021 Honours list. The Hon Tony Randerson QC has been appointed a Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit for ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • New Year’s Honours highlights outstanding Pacific leadership through challenging year
    Minister for Pacific Peoples Aupito William Sio says the New Year’s Honours List 2021 highlights again the outstanding contribution made by Pacific people across Aotearoa. “We are acknowledging the work of 13 Pacific leaders in the New Year’s Honours, representing a number of sectors including health, education, community, sports, the ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Supporting seniors to embrace technology
    The Government’s investment in digital literacy training for seniors has led to more than 250 people participating so far, helping them stay connected. “COVID-19 has meant older New Zealanders are showing more interest in learning how to use technology like Zoom and Skype so they can to keep in touch ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago