web analytics

Daily Review 04/02/2019

Written By: - Date published: 5:35 pm, February 4th, 2019 - 52 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

 

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

52 comments on “Daily Review 04/02/2019 ”

  1. mickysavage 1

    Photo courtesy of the uber talented Glenn Jeffrey.

  2. mary_a 2

    I have yet to see a more appropriate “name/caption” accompanying a picture, as that above 🙂

    • Kat 2.1

      Cock AND Bull………………

    • mickysavage 2.2

      Mate of mine took the photo. He says the secret is to be patient and wait for the perfect moment …

      • veutoviper 2.2.1

        Has your mate copyrighted, trademarked it etc?

        He could make a fortune!!! Wonderful!!!!

      • Muttonbird 2.2.2

        The decisive moment.

        Experienced photographers are able to use that experience to anticipate what is going to happen in front of them.

        Story telling in pictures.

      • mary_a 2.2.3

        ‘ere take a gander at me ol’ Cock ‘avin’ a sup …

        Many thanks to your extremely clever friend MS (2.2), for providing some light and quite humorous entertainment.

    • vto 2.3

      ha ha reminds me of one I saw once of Helen Clark standing in front of a female dog…

      so funny this stuff

      and grown up

      no wonder it never ends

      the cycles

      of abuse

      and

      degradation

      all in good fun though eh yeah nah

  3. Muttonbird 3

    Yeah so I asked the question yesterday whether the invite to Don Brash was a publicity stunt and received some thoughts from other commenters that no, it was just an exercise in free speech.

    But then this.

    https://www.radionz.co.nz/news/te-manu-korihi/381706/destiny-church-leader-brian-tamaki-will-bring-issues-to-waitangi-shane-jones

    Ngapuhi seems determined to get as many eyeballs on Waitangi this year as possible and I do now wonder if it might conveniently distract from the Prime Minister’s efforts there.

    • Muttonbird 3.1

      Maybe we could get Marama Fox to drive Bishop Tamaki to Waitangi. 😈

      • Gabby 3.1.1

        Like he won’t arrive by helicopter? Come on.

      • Pat 3.1.2

        bit harsh….most wouldnt have their conviction on the evening news and be required to give a statement

        • Muttonbird 3.1.2.1

          Well if you are going to represent the public then you’d better scrub up well.

          • Pat 3.1.2.1.1

            an ex politician makes a very common mistake…..emphasis on the ex

            • Muttonbird 3.1.2.1.1.1

              I met Marama Fox in the weeks before the last election and her positioning was with the National Party. That might have coloured my opinion but I don’t have much sympathy for her fall from grace.

              • Pat

                that would appear obvious….shes one of around 17000 a year….does she deserve to be singled out (nat supporter or not)?

                • Muttonbird

                  She’s high profile. Of course she deserves to be singled out.

                  But back to the point I was trying to make, are the Waitangi celebration organisers deliberately constructing controversy at the Treaty grounds in order to promote their own brand?

                  One dickhead invited to speak might be an accident, but two is no accident.

                  • Pat

                    are you speaking as well as Brash?

                    • Muttonbird

                      Ha.

                      You’ve got your reasons for defending Ms Fox and that’s fine, but she hooked her cart to the party of personal responsibility so I guess she’s got to be judged on her decisions.

                  • Pat

                    my only reason is natural justice

                    • Muttonbird

                      I dare say that if the party Marama Fox hopped into bed with practiced natural justice instead of perpetuating bias, then some would go easier on her for her mistakes.

                    • marty mars

                      You are the only one going hard on her – seems pretty petty because as Pat says so fucken many people do it and a small percentage get caught – have you ever driven when over the limit?

                      Natural justice is there because it was on the news and she has a high profile. Her shame is real.

    • Cinny 3.2

      By crikey, the self proclaimed bishop of greed…….

      I don’t think anyone, let alone our own political poet laureate shane jones can help tamaki with his issues.

      PS…. Those destiny church groupies better show some respect and remove their patches before entering the grounds.

    • alwyn 3.3

      “I do now wonder if it might conveniently distract from the Prime Minister’s efforts there.”
      I am sure that the Labour Party hierarchy hope so.
      After Ardern’s appalling displays when interviewed on the morning News Programs today they will be desperate that anything she says is not reported.
      Could she not have spent just a bit of her six weeks of Christmas holidays in attempting to learn something about what her job entails?
      Her ignorance is totally terrifying.
      Can you imagine recent luminaries in the job such as Clark, Key or English not being able to bat away the questions that she failed to even comprehend?
      They of course worked at the job.

  4. Muttonbird 5

    Mr Taipari asks:

    “What [Don Brash] brings to the table is he’s a doctor, he’s been in some high positions, financial ones as well,” said Mr Taipari.

    “We’re trying to change the flavour and trying to be more innovative.

    “We want to create our own financial freedom, stop being dependent on the Government, stop having all these racist attacks on us that we’re some kind of bludging society.”

    He says if they want to change the narrative, they need to be creative.

    “If we’re gonna do that we’ve got to go to every corner of the community to get the information we need.”

    But Mr Brash is a theoretical economist and a lifetime public servant. Even RWNJs would not consider him a good source for entrepreneurial ideas because according to their definition Mr Brash has done nothing with his life!

    https://www.newshub.co.nz/home/politics/2019/02/waitangi-organiser-defends-innovative-decision-to-invite-don-brash-to-speak.html

    • DJ Ward 5.1

      That’s a bit silly. Nothing with his life?
      He was Governer of the Reserve Bank. Leader of a major political party. That’s an achievement.

      I’ve never heard much about him actually creating and running buisnesses but I think there is a more important point here.
      He has been very critical of Moari relying on government. So this is a put up or shut up moment for Brash. Don’t criticise unless you have alternatives, and solutions.

      Some within Maoridom also see Brash as an enemy. So invite your enemy to speak. It’s the opposite strategy of those that think they win by stoping people having points of veiw that are not there own from speaking. It’s people that can’t win contests of ideas that do that.

      Good on the organisers.

      • Muttonbird 5.1.1

        It is a major plank of right wing thought that lifetime civil servants and academics have no real life experience and as such have no mandate to speak on real life experience so that necessarily must apply to Mr Brash also.

        • solkta 5.1.1.1

          They don’t “live in the real world”.

        • alwyn 5.1.1.2

          You merely display your ignorance with comments such as this.
          Were you aware that Brash was, from 1971 until 1988, in the following jobs?
          General Manager of Merchant Bank, Broadbank Corporation.
          Managing Director of the New Zealand Kiwifruit Authority.
          General Manager of Banking Group Trust Bank.
          Of course you weren’t, you silly little fellow.
          If you were you might, just might, have seen that your comments merely spew forth from a morass of ignorance.

      • Gabby 5.1.2

        All beltway stuff warty.

  5. marty mars 6

    talk about logic trev

    Last year Jacinda Ardern used her speech from the porch of the whare rūnanga, an honour women aren’t usually allowed, to declare the government had failed Māori in the justice system and would do better…

    … “Unfortunately what we know, is that we have over-representation of Māori in our prisons. Upwards of 50 percent,” Ms Ardern said.

    She said prison numbers have dropped overall and rehabilitation was working for Māori.

    “We’ve seen about 1000 fewer people in our prisons, and so any work that we do on rehabilitation programmes ultimately does benefit Māori.”

    but kev to the rescue

    “There’s some 40,000 people under Corrections’ watch, less than 10,000 of them now are in prison. Some 30,000 are out in the communities,” Mr Davis said.

    “So for groups that want to do work in prisons, I say to them actually get out into communities and work with the 30,000 out there who also need their support.”

    https://www.radionz.co.nz/news/political/381732/ardern-defends-govt-track-on-maori-prison-numbers

    ffs

    • Chris T 7.1

      Lol

      That cracked me up when I saw it.

      Still. If it gets Winston his seat back, what’s a lazy 3 bill’ between friends?

    • Muttonbird 7.2

      Extrapolating, that is 1600 jobs in the regions for the full spend which sounds like a modest number but is it really? Does it account for the the expansion of these enterprises and the other jobs which grow around such enterprises?

      Who will count these in years to come? The continuing benefit might be tens of thousands of young people with a future which wouldn’t have occurred under a National led government.

  6. Chris T 8

    Care to shed any light on what the forecasts are from each of the money transactions?

    The plans?

    The expected minimum outcomes before budgets start getting pulled?

    • Muttonbird 8.1

      I expect this is the red tape of which Jones speaks. Accountability, targets and expectations.

      Guys, do you want it done quick or do you want it done right?

      • Chris T 8.1.1

        Right, but open and transparent.

        You know. Like Ardern promised before having to sack the “Open and transparent govt” Minister for not being open and transparent.

        • Muttonbird 8.1.1.1

          Not sure what you are talking about. You’d like all these provincial entities to open their books to the public?

        • patricia bremner 8.1.1.2

          OH Key and English were So transparent!! Really???

          Live sheep export, Secret meetings with Hollywood, sudden wish to brand with his choice of flag. Millions wasted.
          You are rather selective about when you want transparency and accountability.

          Oh, and this money will be Loaned to and Repaid by Maori Land owners, not given or wasted.

          Did we get any of our money gifted to the three examples above back?
          No, in fact the first two saw more money go off shore, and the Flag well LOL.
          Away with your selective transparency rules. We see through you LOL LOL

          This is to establish, seed, start, support “Ready to go innovations and activities”
          Like planting manuka as food for bees, beginning job training before apprenticeships… all sound slow but steady stuff.
          Each time part of the money is tagged for accounting and administration as well.
          So you will be able to see who borrowed and what for.

          • Chris T 8.1.1.2.1

            “What about them!!”

            Fantastic argument

            Just one point

            Did National claim they were going to be the bestest “Most open and transparent government ever”?

      • James 8.1.2

        With this government you get neither.

  7. Pat 9

    “At least a third of the huge ice fields in Asia’s towering mountain chain are doomed to melt due to climate change, according to a landmark report, with serious consequences for almost 2 billion people.

    Even if carbon emissions are dramatically and rapidly cut and succeed in limiting global warming to 1.5C, 36% of the glaciers along in the Hindu Kush and Himalaya range will have gone by 2100. If emissions are not cut, the loss soars to two-thirds, the report found.”

    https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2019/feb/04/a-third-of-himalayan-ice-cap-doomed-finds-shocking-report

  8. patricia bremner 10

    Pat, you won’t get any response from the resident trolls because they can’t twist those facts.

    Very scary scenarios happening, Including the report about rising sea levels affecting our fresh water reticulation both on the coast and even inland. Billions to avert/repair before another two generations pass.

    This is real fast and terrifying. People here have seldom experienced grass fires and how rapidly they can travel. We have seldom suffered with water shortages, but water borne illness goes with that as in Napier /Hastings.
    The 2 deg tipping point is possibly past already.

    We should be conserving our drinking water. A necessary of life.

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Government's response to preliminary referendums' results
    Minister of Justice Andrew Little has acknowledged the provisional results of the two referendums voted on in the 2020 General Election. New Zealanders were asked whether they supported the proposed Cannabis Legalisation and Control Bill, and whether they supported the End of Life Choice Act 2019 coming into force. On ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    17 hours ago
  • New testing requirements for international maritime crew arriving in NZ
    The Government is moving to provide further protection against the chance of COVID-19 entering New Zealand through the maritime border.  “Yesterday I instructed officials to consult with the maritime sector around tightening of the requirements for international maritime crew entering the country,” Health Minister Chris Hipkins said.  “Ultimately, this will ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    19 hours ago
  • Fast-tracked Northland water project will accelerate economic recovery
    The Government has welcomed the decision to approve a new water storage reservoir in Northland, the first of a number of infrastructure projects earmarked for a speedy consenting process that aims to accelerate New Zealand’s economic recovery from Covid-19.  The Matawii Water Storage Reservoir will provide drinking water for Kaikohe, ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 days ago
  • Tokelau Language Week reminds us to stay united and strong
    Staying strong in the face of challenges and being true to our heritage and languages are key to preserving our cultural identity and wellbeing, is the focus of the 2020 Tokelau Language Week. Minister for Pacific Peoples, Aupito William Sio, says this year’s theme, ‘Apoapo tau foe, i nā tāfea ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • NZ announces a third P-3 deployment in support of UN sanctions
    The Government has deployed a Royal New Zealand Air Force P-3K2 Orion (P-3) maritime patrol aircraft to support the implementation of United Nations Security Council (UNSC) resolutions imposing sanctions against North Korea, announced Minister of Foreign Affairs Winston Peters and Minister of Defence Ron Mark. “New Zealand has long supported ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Pacific trade and development agreement a reality
    Pacific regional trade and development agreement PACER Plus will enter into force in 60 days now that the required eight countries have ratified it. Trade and Export Growth Minister David Parker welcomed the announcement that the Cook Islands is the eighth nation to ratify this landmark agreement. “The agreement represents ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Securing a pipeline of teachers
    The Government is changing its approach to teacher recruitment as COVID-19 travel restrictions continue, by boosting a range of initiatives to get more Kiwis into teaching. “When we came into Government, we were faced with a teacher supply crisis,” Education Minister Chris Hipkins said. “Over the past three years, we ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • Border exceptions for a small number of international students with visas
    The Government has established a new category that will allow 250 international PhD and postgraduate students to enter New Zealand and continue their studies, in the latest set of border exceptions. “The health, safety and wellbeing of people in New Zealand remains the Government’s top priority. Tight border restrictions remain ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • First COVID-19 vaccine purchase agreement signed
    The Government has signed an agreement to purchase 1.5 million COVID-19 vaccines – enough for 750,000 people – from Pfizer and BioNTech, subject to the vaccine successfully completing all clinical trials and passing regulatory approvals in New Zealand, say Research, Science and Innovation Minister Megan Woods and Health Minister Chris Hipkins. ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • International statement – End-to-end encryption and public safety
    We, the undersigned, support strong encryption, which plays a crucial role in protecting personal data, privacy, intellectual property, trade secrets and cyber security.  It also serves a vital purpose in repressive states to protect journalists, human rights defenders and other vulnerable people, as stated in the 2017 resolution of the ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • Ministry of Defence Biodefence Assessment released
    The Ministry of Defence has today released a Defence Assessment examining Defence’s role across the spectrum of biological hazards and threats facing New Zealand. Biodefence: Preparing for a New Era of Biological Hazards and Threats looks at how the NZDF supports other agencies’ biodefence activities, and considers the context of ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago