Daily Review 04/10/2018

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, October 4th, 2018 - 64 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

64 comments on “Daily Review 04/10/2018”

  1. Fireblade 1

    Some evening music from Project 86.

    Song: The Spy Hunter.
    Album: Songs to Burn your Bridges By.

  2. Judith and friends…

    Rocky Horror Time Warp – YouTube

  3. Muttonbird 3

    Great to see National desperately scrambling to catch a ride on Jacinda Ardern’s vision, and compassionate and popular style of leadership.

    Here they are supporting her child poverty bill despite having been responsible for the truly awful rise in hardship among vulnerable families the last time they were in power. Funny how they’ve changed their tune when it suits them, the snakes.

    David Seymour of course will be the only MP voting against this bill and one wonders whether he and the people of Epsom enjoy seeing as many children in poverty as possible.

    https://www.stuff.co.nz/national/politics/107612392/national-will-support-child-poverty-bill

    Also, I heard on the radio this morning National were again trying to get some of JA’s gloss by asking for cross party efforts on mental health. David Clark rightly referenced their reluctance to even admit there was an issue and their cutting of mental health services over 9 long years.

    He told them to get stuffed and let the adults get on with it.

    • Chuck 3.1

      Crusher Collins would have Ardern for breakfast!

      But seriously if I were Jacdina I would be more worried of Judith than Simon.

      • Muttonbird 3.1.1

        If Collins does somehow manage to Macbeth her way to the National Party leadership she won’t last a year.

        She’ll say or do something so remarkably unpalatable to most of the New Zealand public (you’ll approve of course) National’s numbers will collapse.

        She’s a monster and most people rightly just don’t trust her, or like her.

        • adam 3.1.1.1

          Crusher dirty politics collins.

          The fan boys of hate, worship her.

          • Chuck 3.1.1.1.1

            “The fan boys of hate, worship her.”

            Hey, adam keep your fantasies to your self-mate!

            • adam 3.1.1.1.1.1

              I don’t indulge in hating on people chunk, that you and your mates.

              • cleangreen

                Chuck is just a foreign hack Adam, best way is to totally ignore the ‘chuck’s of this world.

                chuck = foreign troll.

        • Chuck 3.1.1.2

          Yey, I would kind of agree…Collins unleashed as and when required. But not so much in a leadership role.

          You call her a monster, fair enough…she does leave her opposition (Govt) bloody and bruised after she has finished with them.

          • In Vino 3.1.1.2.1

            Bollocks – she is all hiss and blow. Did she actually ever crush a car? And her ‘Zip it, Sweetie’ now rings hollow: we knew little of Jacinda then.
            From what both have shown us since, I would say that Judith is not eloquent – only aggressive. Jacinda will talk her off the table, and then out from under it. Crusher is basically a plodder, like Bull English.

            • Sacha 3.1.1.2.1.1

              Remember the pathetic whining when she was confronted over Oravida. Nothing genuinely strong going on in there.

            • shadrach 3.1.1.2.1.2

              Collins is a lot of things, but a plodder she is not.

              • In Vino

                In terms of linguistic expression, you are wrong, shadrach. But you may not be very aware of that area. She makes big aggressive noises in policy, but eloquent she is not. In eloquence, she is a plodder just like Blinglish.
                And that has already proven to be a failing. English was stricken dumb by Jacinda – no impact.

                • Shadrach

                  Thanks, I had thought you meant ‘plodder’ in so far as work rate. I’m not sure I agree with you about eloquence, however. Collins is good with the sound bites that are so much a part of political conversation today, and she can be quite witty. She’s worked hard to soften her persona as well. She’s definitely not everyone’s cup of tea.

        • patricia bremner 3.1.1.3

          A greater contrast would be hard to find, between Jacinda and Judith.

      • That would be a pleasant offer from Judith to Jacinda, … a rare offer indeed from the witchypoo of National,… but Melba toast and espresso would be appreciated by Jacinda for sure.

        But I think they’d best not talk politics,… the age of Dirty Politics was not a particularly happy ending for MS Collins… as we all know. The backbenches were rather hard , so I hear…

      • Nick 3.1.3

        Chuckwit

      • Ffloyd 3.1.4

        I don’t think Jacinda is worried about anyone. Why would she?

      • shadrach 3.1.5

        I agree that Judith Collins would be far more effective than Simon Bridges as Leader of the Opposition in a combative sense. The question is whether she is just too polarising to attract the level of support National need to form a government with little or no second party support.

        My take on it is that Collins has been quietly rebuilding her support in Caucus, by behaving herself and showing loyalty to the elected leader. When the time is right, she’ll bite Simon’s head off.

      • Gabby 3.1.6

        That woman WOULD eat her young chucky.

      • Ngungukai 3.1.7

        I can just see the blood dripping off those fangs, and off her chin.

  4. Timeforacupoftea 4

    A great picture to start the evening off in the right direction.
    The beautiful Mature Judith Collins about to become leader of the National Party

    • Fireblade 4.1

      Judith’s trying really hard to hide her double chin.

      • But more importantly , she has an alopecia around her forehead that shows she frequently tied her hair back when young like a Harpy , … but perhaps what really gives it away is that IS NOT red nail polish on her talons…

        Soimon had best tread carefully …

      • Ffloyd 4.1.2

        My thoughts exactly Fireblade.
        Not working though.

        • In Vino 4.1.2.1

          I find these physical insults belittling of those who make them.
          My criticism of her is that she speaks only ordinarily. She is not a mercurial Lange, not a truly crushing Muldoon. For those reasons, she will not be able to compete with Jacinda, whose eloquence is more important than her looks, just in case you had not noticed..

          • Chuck 4.1.2.1.1

            “I find these physical insults belittling of those who make them.”

            Agree In Vino, unfortunately, its the default response for many. I don’t like that person so let us make fun of their physical appearance etc.

            Jacinda’s strength is her eloquence as you put it. However, it will become much harder for Jacinda when she has to defend her (sorry Winstons) Government achievements (or lack of them) as the next election cycle nears.

            Interviews I have heard Jacinda does not perform well when the hard questions are asked.

            • WILD KATIPO 4.1.2.1.1.1

              OK then , try shes a nasty , unpopular bag of a woman who is lampooned as oafish , self seeking , belligerent , compromised, Dirty Politicking , with contempt for the voting people of NZ who only demonstrates an interest in what people think when it serves her pecuniary interests with the Peoples Republic of China .

              There. That oughta do it.

              And as for a debate between Adern and Collins ?

              Collins could try to criticize this govt all she likes but all of the above hangs around her neck like a stinking, rotting piece of roadkill , and the reasons why the public voted out such a lying , corrupt, anti democratic, anti worker govt like John Keys in the first place.

              That’s all people will ever see in Judith Collins.

          • Ngungukai 4.1.2.1.2

            The Sparkling Pony is very nimble on her feet and can change direction very quickly in a tight field.

      • cleangreen 4.1.3

        Yes Fireblade. – And Ms Collins is also trying to hide her bulging midriff also.

        • Ngungukai 4.1.3.1

          Might be pregnant, going for the female/baby votes, she want’s a fashion accessory like the Sparkling Pony.

  5. OnceWasTim 5

    Awwwe shucks! Ain’t Hirrily and Maddy just the most gorgiss specimens you could find on MSM broadcast media at the moment?.
    Just so honest and personable! The new ‘mother of the Nation’ guiding her cadet towards a great future.
    Fuck I am in awe!!!! Jealous even! Whoar!

    • I met Hilary often when I worked security at TV3,… and I can say ,… as she is on TV, she is in real life. A light hearted, pleasant and fun loving individual. Yet very professional in a very human sort of way.

      Its no act at all.

      A real gem.

      🙂

  6. Dennis Frank 6

    “A new radical left group has formed with the goal of making socialism a reality in New Zealand.” https://thespinoff.co.nz/politics/04-10-2018/socialism-is-back-baby-and-it-doesnt-want-your-vote/

    There’s “a new generation of self-described communists, anarchists and socialists who have coalesced into a new group called Organise Aotearoa.” How ought Aotearoa be organised? We await their explanation (since they didn’t inform the reporter). One also wonders how the large (majority?) portion of Aotearoans who hate being organised will react to the prospect.

    The spokesperson did say this: “We’re working directly with oppressed, exploited and dispossessed communities to directly build political power for the working class.” Gosh, the working class will be so relieved. How long since Labour abandoned that task? WWII??

    “Academic Tyler West, who wrote his Master’s Thesis on the extra-parliamentary left between 1999-2008, says there is still a constellation of other small leftist groups in New Zealand. He also says the radical left really does often become bogged down and split over questions of positions on various bouts of historical fratricide, in keeping with the Monty Pythonesque ‘People’s Front of Judea’ stereotype. In an announcement episode put out by the Shit Hot People’s Politburo, a podcast that shares members with with Organise Aotearoa, the panelists pre-emptively responded to some of the criticisms they expected, including from other far left groups.” Yeah, could make an entertaining reality tv show…

    • BM 6.1

      Bubble politics, what a waste of time.

      • Koff 6.1.1

        The Standard’s a political bubble of its own, too BM, but you seem to like generating plenty of froth inside it.

      • Yes,… ‘ bubbles’…. like the housing bubble exacerbated under Key and English…

        And yet me ole son, you will be seeing more and more movements such as those which in time, with those who stay the course , will mature into viable political forces , some may join the mainstream , others will tarry ,… but this is what happens when an oppressive globalist materialistically motivated far right wing party like National are defeated,… human creativity and possibility is set free.

        I’m forever blowing bubbles,…

        OI ! OI ! OI !

        • Alan 6.1.2.1

          too many puffs today wk?

          • WILD KATIPO 6.1.2.1.1

            Nah mate… don’t do the ‘ puffs’.

            However, maybe you need a shot or two to even see the political imagery I’m implying… I get tired of flying over the heads of peoples like you ,… read up a bit more on cultures , sociology and politics, please.

            Hey… I’ll help a philistine out a bit.

            Hence the OI ! OI ! OI !

            Oh , and get a sense of satire about you mate, your boring me.

            Cockney Rejects – I’m Forever Blowing Bubbles – YouTube

      • adam 6.1.3

        Oh look our resident idiot has nothing constructive to say so goes for abuse.

        Predictable as it is sad BM – you’re like a scratch on a record, annoying so just scroll past.

        • Muttonbird 6.1.3.1

          He’s been winding KB up commenting as brett68. From his username there we can conclude his name is Brett and he’s 50 this year.

          No wonder he’s angry.

  7. adam 7

    All from renewables – who would have thought it…

    • ianmac 7.1

      Wow. Thanks Adam. Telsa will continue to innovate.

      • cleangreen 7.1.1

        adam, 100% mate.

        After being in the electricity trade for 48 yrs; – I’m blown away with tesla’s innovation here!!

        We should now be incorporating this battery storage; – with the new type of energy power system Germany is using to power the cleanest freight transport system in the world, “hydrogen power engines in locomotives and building ‘hydrogen electrolyser plant’s.’

        “New evidenced based ‘zero emissions train’ developed in Germany that scientists claim are the best transport option.

        https://futurism.com/the-byte/hydrogen-powered-trains

        SEPTEMBER 17TH 18__KRISTIN HOUSER__FILED UNDER: EARTH & ENERGY

        ALL ABOARD
        Hydrogen fuel cells are a greener way to power vehicles. But they have also been cost-prohibitive.
        Today, though, that’s starting to change — on Monday, German passengers boarded the world’s first hydrogen-powered trains.
        “Sure, buying a hydrogen train is somewhat more expensive than a diesel train,” said Stefan Schrank, a project manager at locomotive company Alstom, which built the trains, in an interview with Agence France-Presse, “but it is cheaper to run.”
        ‘Edited.’ – End.

        My feeling now is; – NZ also may be easily able to develop our own ‘manufacturing Hydrogen plant’ here to supply the transport of rail freight and passenger services as South Australia is doing currently.

        https://reneweconomy.com.au/s-a-to-host-australias-first-green-hydrogen-power-plant-89447/
        S.A. to host Australia’s first green hydrogen power plant
        Giles Parkinson12 February 2018
        QUOTE ;The South Australia government has announced funding for what will be Australia’s first renewable-hydrogen electrolyser plant – a 15MW facility to be built near the end of the grid at Port Lincoln on the Eyre Peninsula.
        The “green hydrogen” plant – to be built by Hydrogen Utility (H2U), working with Germany’s thyssenkrupp – will include a 10MW hydrogen-fired gas turbine, fuelled by local wind and solar power, and a 5MW hydrogen fuel cell.

    • When things settle down in this household and there’s peace and quiet I’m going to watch that… Tesla was a man way ahead of his time,… and typically,… hounded for his innovations.

  8. joe90 8

    tRump’s first presidential message sent in the new US nationwide wireless emergency alert system.

    https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Dommo5vXkAEziu7.jpg

  9. Powerful

    Ford is undergoing the same treatment as thousands of survivor/victims before her: women who come forward have a hidden agenda, they are not to be trusted, their confused little brains are unreliable. The script these men are reading from is centuries old and deeply ingrained in our cultural schema. It is especially resonant to the religious right, who accept men’s supposed superiority over women because their kind of Christianity is steeped in it, though hypocrisy is rife: abortion is a sin, unless it’s needed for my mistress.

    https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2018/oct/03/trump-mockery-christine-blasey-ford-sexual-assault-script-male-dominance

    • joe90 9.1

      I’m usually a dry, laid back human but watching Huckabooboo’s stating the facts defence of the moran in chief had me yelling at the teevee.

      And comes now this hopeless, vicious buffoon, and the audience of equally hopeless and vicious buffoons who laughed and cheered when he made sport of a woman whose lasting memory of the trauma she suffered is the laughter of the perpetrators. Now he comes, a man swathed in scandal, with no interest beyond what he can put in his pocket and what he can put over on a universe of suckers, and he does something like this while occupying an office that we gave him, and while endowed with a public trust that he dishonors every day he wakes up in the White House.

      The scion of a multigenerational criminal enterprise, the parameters of which we are only now beginning to comprehend. A vessel for all the worst elements of the American condition. And a cheap, soulless bully besides.

      https://www.esquire.com/news-politics/politics/a23579738/donald-trump-mock-christine-blasey-ford-sexual-assault/

  10. joe90 10

    Penny Bright has passed away.

    Condolences to her loved ones.

    https://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=12129427

    • In Vino 10.1

      + 1. Respect.

    • Damn !- we’ve lost a real campaigner in her.

      She gave no heed to anyone- least of all the slimy treacherous Key.

    • RedLogix 10.3

      A unique character and a real loss. She had an incredible energy, determination and no doubt was as irritating as all hell when she wanted to be.

      Her numerous cut and paste diatribes dropped here at TS, despite many warnings was just Penny being true to her own vision. And this I think is what I admired most; we didn’t have to agree with her, or even like her, but we did have to respect her iron-clad integrity of character.

      This is the most you can say of anyone.

  11. cleangreen 11

    Let your spirit free to now enrich the universe Penny we will always love you in our memory with external warmness.

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Government ropes in livestock rustling
    Justice Minister Andrew Little today introduced a supplementary order paper (SOP) on the Crimes Amendment Bill to crack down on livestock rustling. ...
    17 hours ago
  • Small business the focus of Australian talks
    Efforts to progress a seamless trans-Tasman business environment will take another step at a ministerial roundtable meeting in Sydney tomorrow. Small Business Minister Stuart Nash and Australian Assistant Treasurer Stuart Robert will co-host a roundtable meeting of senior government and ...
    2 days ago
  • Andrew Little – Speech to Amnesty International event to mark the 70th Anniversary of the Univ...
    ANDREW LITTLE - SPEECH TO AMNESTY INTERNATIONAL EVENT TO MARK THE 70TH ANNIVERSARY OF THE UNIVERSAL DECLARATION OF HUMAN RIGHTS ON WORLD HUMAN RIGHTS DAY, PARLIAMENT, WELLINGTON ...
    3 days ago
  • Tax reforms focus on fairness
    New tax legislation has been introduced to Parliament to ensure greater fairness in the way the tax system shapes commerce, investment decisions and social policies. Revenue Minister Stuart Nash has introduced the Taxation (Annual Rates for 2019-20, GST Offshore Supplier ...
    1 week ago
  • Preventing death and injury on our roads
    Police Minister Stuart Nash and Associate Minister of Transport Julie Anne Genter are encouraging road users to be alert to a new safety campaign launched today by Police and the NZ Transport Agency in the lead up to the Christmas. ...
    2 weeks ago
  • New comms centre improves public services
    A new digital services and communications centre opened on the Kapiti Coast will help transform the way Police connect with the public and work to make communities safe. Police Minister Stuart Nash has officially opened the Police Digital Services Centre, ...
    2 weeks ago