Daily Review 04/07/2017

Written By: - Date published: 5:47 pm, July 4th, 2017 - 21 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

21 comments on “Daily Review 04/07/2017”

  1. Good tough article

    “Suicide is now the leading cause of death for those aged 15 to 19 in New Zealand, it takes more lives than car accidents and cancer combined. We have the worst teen suicide rate in the world, well over twice the global average, according to Unicef.”

    http://features.nzherald.co.nz/teen-suicide-an-untold-story/

    • garibaldi 1.1

      I fear the actual figures for suicide are higher than the official figures. I know of one incident when a youth killed himself in a car but it was recorded as a car accident for sensitivity reasons. I am sure this is not an isolated case.

      • marty mars 1.1.1

        Yes you are correct.

      • Cinny 1.1.2

        Def agree with you Garibaldi. Thanks for the link Marty, going to a bullying meeting tomorrow, the sad but true stat’s will help me make a point, much appreciated.

        After clicking on the link… woahs… every 67 hours a young person in NZ kills themself. Powerful stories that need to be told and shared.

        I wonder if suicide prevention etc is taught at schools?

        • gsays 1.1.2.1

          Hi cinny, re bullying.
          This is in no way to excuse bullying.
          What is it in youth where two receive the same taunting, one withdraws into themself and it has a profound negative effect and to the other it is water off a ducks back?
          I realise resilience has become a ‘buzz word’ however I feel a lack of ‘bounce-back-ability’ contributes to our damning youth self harm stats.

          Good luck at the meeting.
          Be keen to hear what comes of it.

          • Cinny 1.1.2.1.1

            Thanks for your kind words G, I know where you are coming from. Will let you know what comes of it for sure.

            With the bullying I’m of the opinion it’s learned behaviour and they are learning it somewhere..via gaming or shitty parents, or from the way their siblings treat them, what they watch on TV, how they see others interact etc etc. And no matter how hard a teacher tries to educate kids, ultimately they have no control over what they are learning outside of school.

            Should have a parenting channel on the telly instead of shopping networks.

            Too many kids are dying and nothing is changing

            • James 1.1.2.1.1.1

              Cinny – do you think there is ever online bully behaviour on this site ?

              Do you ever stand up against it ?

              Meetings are one thing – actions are another.

              • Cinny

                There is online bullying all over the net, probably everywhere people are able to comment.

                If I’m aware of it I will call it out, I hope you will do the same. Differences of opinion are not bullying.

                The worst places I’ve seen it is on Kiwiblog or Whale Oil, it’s rampant on both of those blogs.

                Work story for you…. One of the Managers was bullying his crew for years, I was shocked at how he treated the staff, so I helped to do something about it and in a male dominated industry it wasn’t easy. Ended up costing him his job, and all of a sudden the labourers worked harder and were so much happier, made a huge difference, massive, productivity went up as a result.

                Was listening this morning to a segment on workplace bullying, it was put forward that it should be treated as a health and safety use, makes sense to me.

                We’ve all got to walk the talk to make changes and lead by example.

                • james

                  “There is online bullying all over the net, probably everywhere people are able to comment.

                  If I’m aware of it I will call it out, I hope you will do the same. Differences of opinion are not bullying.

                  The worst places I’ve seen it is on Kiwiblog or Whale Oil, it’s rampant on both of those blogs.”

                  Thats not really answering the question – and saying its all over the net isnt really an excuse. Then you go on to say other places are worse.

                  Turning a blind eye to the bully comments on here and justifying them as differences of opinion is enabling.

                  Ive never seen you call people out on it here on this blog – which is my point about actions vs going to a meeting.

    • gsays 1.2

      Cheers Marty for highlighting this, as you say, tough article.

  2. Andre 2

    Heh. The orange swamp-toddler asks twitter about Kim Jong-Un “Does this guy have anything better to do with his life?”. Twitter takes it away…

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/donald-trump-twitter-question_us_595afc8ee4b02734df33db54?3r&ncid=inblnkushpmg00000009

    • joe90 2.1

      On how dangerous the pumpkin pinochet’s tweets could be.

      (1 /15)

      Lots of problems with Trump’s tweets tonight on North Korea, but to highlight a few: 1/— Laura Rosenberger (@rosenbergerlm) July 4, 2017

    • joe90 2.2

      Based on altitude and flight time the Union of Concerned Scientists reckon it was an ICBM.

      Assuming a range of 950 km, then a flight time of 37 minutes would require it to reach a maximum altitude of more than 2,800 km (1700 miles).

      So if the reports are correct, that same missile could reach a maximum range of roughly 6,700 km (4,160 miles) on a standard trajectory.

      That range would not be enough to reach the lower 48 states or the large islands of Hawaii, but would allow it to reach all of Alaska

      http://allthingsnuclear.org/dwright/north-korea-appears-to-launch-missile-with-6700-km-range

      • Sacha 2.2.1

        Palin be quaking.

        • Sanctuary 2.2.1.1

          All of North Korea will be a glowin’, if the USA thinks for even a minute the mad Kim is going to fire a missile at them.

          The thing is, the United States has a huge arsenal of air and submarine launched cruise missiles with nuclear warheads. I would GUARANTEE they now have stationed at all times a submarine with nuclear warhead equipped cruise missiles within immediate strike range of all known North Korean missile launch sites. As I said, if the USA thinks for even one minute a strike is being readied against a Japanese our US target they’ll strike first with nuclear weapons – first, the known launch sites from submarine(s). Then, air launched nuclear weapons from Okinawa and Guam would target all known installations associated with the North Korean nuclear weapons program – it would be at least 8-9, possibly as many as 18-24 nuclear weapons of the variable (5-150 kilotonnes) yield W80-4 warhead.

          Just by the way, W80-4, with a maximum 150kt yield, weighs in at just under 150kg. Funnily enough, this is the payload the Rocket Labs Electron rocket is designed to carry…

          Just say’.

      • Graeme 2.2.2

        Not only Alaska, but all of Asia pretty much all of Russia and Finland, and the north of Australia.
        http://obeattie.github.io/gmaps-radius/?lat=39.029181&lng=125.742112&z=2&u=km&r=6700

        Wonder what their accuracy was like?

  3. Draco T Bastard 3

    Stephen Hawking says Donald Trump risks ‘turning Earth into Venus’ with 250 degree temperature

    Professor Stephen Hawking has slammed President Donald Trump’s decision to withdraw the United States from the Paris climate accord and said it could lead to a “tipping point” that “turns Earth into Venus”.

    Speaking to the BBC to mark his 75th birthday the author of a A Brief History of Time said: “We are close to the tipping point where global warming becomes irreversible.

    “Trump’s action could push the Earth over the brink, to become like Venus, with a temperature of two hundred and fifty degrees, and raining sulphuric acid.”

    He added: “Climate change is one of the great dangers we face and it’s one we can prevent if we act now.

  4. funny

    “Beef and Lamb New Zealand chief executive Rod Slater acknowledged Kiwis were eating less and less meat, but contested the figure in question.

    The survey of 1,007 New Zealanders, independently commissioned by tofu company Bean Supreme, found a fifth choose to have a meat-free dinner for more than half the week.

    Nationally, the survey found 14 per cent of Kiwi woman and 13 per cent of Kiwi men do not eat red meat, primarily for health reasons.

    And, of Waikato and Bay of Plenty residents, a third expected to be entirely meat-free by 2025.”

    https://www.stuff.co.nz/life-style/food-wine/food-news/94325086/survey-predicts-meatfree-future

  5. greywarshark 5

    From Scoop:
    Prime Minister Bill English opened his press conference today by noting today’s launch of the new Social Investment Agency Oranga Tangata. He said it’s data-driven approach to seeing how well social spending succeeds would be rolled out to all Health, Education, and Welfare spending if a National government wins the election.
    http://www.scoop.co.nz/stories/HL1707/S00003/pms-press-conference-030717-boats-people.htm

    Bill English and the mob certainly know how to use the buzzwords. ‘Data-driven’. What a scream. The Gnats drive away from the presence of data at a fast clip. They don’t like it up them you know!

    How can they claim to be unknowing if they know. Or is it to be put into some system that is already redundant? Oh such a shame that we can’t read all that data off because the system isn’t being supported now. It was a tactical error but not ours, actually an operational error and the IT person has left and gone back to deepest USA.

  6. McFlock 6

    just before bedtime, this is interesting: trying to replicate Roman concrete.

    Sure, it’s better than what we make today, but the interesting bit in light of current court cases is that if we figure out how to make it, massive construction projects might actually end up being carbon sinks, not the emitters they are today.

    The actual article is a baby-step along the way to figuring out differences and therefore an idea on how to replicate the process, but it’s a glimmer of hope.

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Compliance strengthened for property speculation
    Inland Revenue is to gain greater oversight of land transfer information to ensure those buying and selling properties are complying with tax rules on property speculation. Cabinet has agreed to implement recommendation 99 of the Tax Working Group’s (TWG) final ...
    7 days ago
  • Plan to expand protection for Maui and Hector’s dolphins
    The Government is taking action to expand and strengthen the protection for Māui and Hector’s dolphins with an updated plan to deal with threats to these native marine mammals. Minister of Conservation Eugenie Sage and Minister of Fisheries Stuart Nash ...
    1 week ago
  • Cameras on vessels to ensure sustainable fisheries
    Commercial fishing vessels at greatest risk of encountering the rare Māui dolphin will be required to operate with on-board cameras from 1 November, as the next step to strengthen our fisheries management system. Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern and Fisheries Minister ...
    3 weeks ago
  • Greatest number of new Police in a single year
    A new record for the number of Police officers deployed to the regions in a single year has been created with the graduation today of Recruit Wing 326. Police Minister Stuart Nash says the graduation of 78 new constables means ...
    3 weeks ago
  • Ensuring multinationals pay their fair share of tax
    New Zealand is pushing on with efforts to ensure multinational companies pay their fair share of tax, with the release of proposed options for a digital services tax (DST). In February Cabinet agreed to consult the public on the problem ...
    3 weeks ago