Daily Review 05/02/2018

Written By: - Date published: 5:36 pm, February 5th, 2018 - 32 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

(Graphic borrowed from the Daily Show)

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

32 comments on “Daily Review 05/02/2018”

  1. Macro 1

    Carter Page – Gone
    Steve Bannon – Gone
    Sean Hannity!
    Trumps new advisor.

    I wonder how long he will last?

    • adam 1.1

      You know this type of banter only strengthens trump.

      How about you help americans call him out on his policies, and broken promises, rather than play his reality t.v games.

      Here is one for starters, He did not drain the swamp, he jumped into it and embraced it.

    • joe90 1.2

      Meuller scalps – Enron corporation, the Gambino crime family, the Gotti crime family.

      Pending – the tRump crime family.

  2. Ed 2

    Anyone seen this?
    Very interesting.

  3. joe90 3

    ‘Murica

    OMG someone overlayed that ridiculous Dodge/MLK ad with what King actually said about capitalism and car commercials pic.twitter.com/9IB528mCyt— Astead (@AsteadWesley) February 5, 2018

  4. Johnr 4

    Jacinda Adern is a really smart operator.

    This morning when I turned the radio on it was still on live. I was about to turn it to RNZ when I heard Dick Head Duncan (Garner that is) say. ” But Prime Minister, it is my job to ask the hard questions” (trumpet blowing?).

    Jacinda Adern replied “Yes Duncan, but it is my job to tell you to settle down and when we have all the information we will make a decision and then you’ll be one of the first to know”.

    No idea what the question was, but I sure did feel good all day

    • JanM 4.1

      Love it 🙂

    • weka 4.2

      classic.

    • Chuck 4.3

      “Jacinda Adern replied” “Yes Duncan, but it is my job to tell you to settle down and when we have all the information we will make a decision and then you’ll be one of the first to know”.

      Ardern gets away with brush-offs like that for the time being (I agree it was well done).

      However, all those inquiries and committees set up by Ardern and her colleges will need to make recommendations at some stage.

      The real test will occur then…sure as night follows day, Ardern will no longer be able to brush off the hard questions and will have to make decisions that will be at odds with previous “we hope to do this fluffy type talk”.

  5. joe90 5

    Opposing Putin can be hazardous to your health. Effects may include bullet wounds, polonium poisoning, swan dives and accidental bludgeoning.

    https://www.dailykos.com/stories/2018/2/4/1738604/-Anti-Putin-activist-Konstantin-Sinitsyn-found-murdered

  6. reason 6

    A challenge …. ….

    Socialism is having public education ….

    Socialism is having public health …

    Rightwing dimwits quite often make the fake statement that socialism is dead … that it ‘does not work’ …..

    they always leave out that Socialism has been attacked….. where-ever its social justice head has appeared….The efforts against it could be described as Billions spent … millions murdered …destabilization inflicted and corruption facilitated.

    Accidental research lead me to discover the performance of a socialist country whose statistics beat any trolls fake arguments about ‘capitalism’.

    The facts and statistics I came across ….. showed a country which went from one of the poorest nations in its continent into the richest nation….it also gained the highest Human Development Index, the lowest infant mortality and the highest life expectancy.

    So Put up or shut up is my challenge…..

    Here’s Some more specific real world stats for the rw trolls to fail and flail against…

    “Health care is [was] available to all citizens free of charge by the public sector.

    infant mortality rates had decreased from 105 per 1000 live births in 1970 to an Infant mortality rate of 14.0

    Confirmed by the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO), undernourishment was less than 5 %,

    Took literacy from 25% up to 87% with 25% going on and earning university degrees.

    University education was free.

    Gross primary school enrolment ratio was 97% for boys and 97% for girls (2009) .
    (see UNESCO tables

    The pupil teacher ratio in primary schools was of the order of 17 (1983 UNESCO data)

    It Went from a country beset with cholera and unsafe water problems …. to a very low percentage of people without access to safe water (3 percent), health services (0 percent) and sanitation (2 percent)

    With regard to Women’s Rights, World Bank data point to significant achievements, “In a relative short period of time … passed in 1970 was an equal pay for equal work law… In secondary and tertiary education, girls outnumbered boys by 10%.” (World Bank Country Brief,

    From the early 1980’s until 2003 it was placed under crippling sanctions by the US and UN.

    The Government [was] substantially increasing the development budget for health services.

    Unfortunately this country was destroyed by NATO / Clinton / Obama.

    Its name is Libya ….. its socialist achievements as recorded by WHO, world bank , the UN etc, show a country which had the greatest improvements for its people in the shortest period of time ….

    It went from one of the poorest impoverished countries in the world up to No 67 in little over a generation …No ‘free market’ capitalist country comes anywhere close to it.

    • Bill 6.1

      Iraq and Syria, both state managed economies, probably had similar trajectories – until “us”.

      And how many Asian countries went from zero to substantial somethings under state led economic development? I think we used to cal them the “Asian Tigers”. Then they opened their economies and crashed.

      None of these countries were socialist (given they were state managed), but your point about the dismal record of liberal capitalism (open markets) is well made.

  7. eco maori 7

    All I need is small donations 1 2 $ donations and in a couple of months I will shake these sandflys off my back and be able to continue on my quest for equality for all and I will be able re start building a monga for my mokos P.S the story of my give a littel page sure got out there fast with social media I could tell by the people at the supermarket were behaving lol heres the link

    https://givealittle.co.nz/cause/helping-eco-maori-sue-the-nz-police

    • eco maori 7.1

      Even though the page has not been morederated one can still make a donation you just have to click the continue to donate tab Ka pai

  8. eco maori 8

    Here are three men with MANA they refuse to kiss the trump s ass Ka pai Malcolm Jenkins ECO knows some fisherman from scandernaver with that Sir name
    Chris Long and Torrey Smith we got heaps of Smith here M8 KIA KAHA Ka kite ano here’s the 1 of 2 links that I will post with my opinion he is not fit to run anything

    Three Eagles say no to White House

    https://i.stuff.co.nz/sport/other-sports/101199301/philadelphia-eagles-malcolm-jenkins-to-skip-white-house-visit

    Trump: Not clapping ‘treason

    https://i.stuff.co.nz/world/americas/101204241/donald-trump-calls-those-who-didnt-applaud-his-speech-treasonous

    He must have missed his meds this is not a laughing matter

    Ana to kai

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Swiss tax agreement tightens net
    Opportunities to dodge tax are shrinking with the completion of a new tax agreement with Switzerland, Revenue Minister Stuart Nash announced today. Mr Nash and the Swiss Ambassador David Vogelsanger have today signed documents to update the double tax agreement (DTA). The previous DTA was signed in 1980. “Double tax ...
    1 week ago
  • Maintaining momentum for small business innovation
    Small Business Minister Stuart Nash says the report of the Small Business Council will help maintain the momentum for innovation and improvements in the sector. Mr Nash has thanked the members of the Small Business Council (SBC) who this week handed over their report, Empowering small businesses to aspire, succeed ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Seventy-eight new Police constables
    Extra Police officers are being deployed from Northland to Southland with the graduation of a new wing of recruits from the Royal New Zealand Police College. “The graduation of 78 constables today means that 1524 new constables have been deployed since the government took office,” says Police Minister Stuart Nash. ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Tax refund season ends near $600 million
    Almost $600 million has been paid into taxpayers’ bank accounts in the past two months, after the first season of automatic tax assessments. Revenue Minister Stuart Nash says the completion of this year’s tax refund season is a significant milestone. “The ability of Inland Revenue to run auto calculations for ...
    3 weeks ago