Daily Review 05/04/2016

Written By: - Date published: 6:00 pm, April 5th, 2016 - 22 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Bernie Sanders beel the bern

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

22 comments on “Daily Review 05/04/2016”

  1. Bill 1

    Remember how Trump comes out with some shit about women being punished if they have an abortion and how it was all so ‘out there’, well….

    Today, in the United Kingdom, a woman has been found guilty of having an abortion. (…)

    The 21-year-old woman was found guilty at Belfast High Court today and given a three month sentence, suspended for two years.(…)

    The abortion ban makes it a criminal offence, carrying a sentence of anything up to life in prison, even if you have been raped or if the foetus is so severely disabled that it has no chance of surviving outside the womb.

    • millsy 1.1

      ..and Poland is on the verge of passing a law completely banning abortion. Yes, Poland, where in 1989 they danced in the streets after the Wall fell, and Solidarity. Lech Walsea was on the verge of leading the country, where under communism, women had free access to abortion and birth control, and any man in a robe who tried to judge them found themselves at the wrong end of a length of piano wire.

      Now their bodies have been handed over to the Catholic bishops, who enjoy their untrammeled power.

      Good one Poles. Now the gays will be next.

    • Jenny Kirk 1.2

      Such a sad story for the young woman, Bill. Her flatmates reported her to the police. How despicable is that !

  2. Draco T Bastard 2

    The Robots Are Coming for Wall Street

    ‘‘I’m assuming that the majority of those people over a five-to-10-year horizon are not going to be replaced by other people,’’ he said, getting into the flow of his thoughts, which, for Nadler, meant closing his eyes and gesticulating as though he were preaching or playing the piano. ‘‘In 10 years Goldman Sachs will be significantly smaller by head count than it is today.’’

    It’s an interesting point about automation but it’s the unskilled and repetitive jobs that tend to go first.

    • Colonial Viper 2.1

      HFT (high frequency trading) has already replaced roomfuls of human traders with a few software developers and mathematicians.

      • BM 2.1.1

        Once I’m finished my current project, I really want to develop a custom FX trading algorithm.

        Quite a few of the retail trading platforms have APIs you can use to develop your own systems.

        The only down side is that they tend to be Java, ugh, create 8 million classes to get Hello to appear on your screen.

        • Colonial Viper 2.1.1.1

          Hmmmm the big players have sub microsecond access to the underlying data stream and can execute massive numbers of orders in that timescale…

          • BM 2.1.1.1.1

            Yeah, they’re trying to make money off the static., 2-3 pip movements with very tight stop losses.

            Trades that may only last a couple of seconds.

            Most people couldn’t do that because the margin wouldn’t make that sort of strategy viable.

        • Draco T Bastard 2.1.1.2

          The only down side is that they tend to be Java, ugh, create 8 million classes to get Hello to appear on your screen.

          Such a bloody horrible language. It’s like a modern COBOL.

          Unfortunately, everyone seems to use it still.

          • BM 2.1.1.2.1

            I’m doing quite a bit of stuff in javascript at the moment, I used to hate it but I actually quite enjoy coding in it now, the prototype hierarchy has merits, still a bit of a arsehole for debugging though.

      • Draco T Bastard 2.1.2

        True. I was more commenting on how much these unskilled people were paid.

    • Expat 3.1

      The ugly side of Aus, the NSW Police force has a staff of over 25000, they can assemble a group of a 1000 members at any time without impacting on existing police duties.

      I don’t know if you saw the article on TV, the man was imprisoned for two years for dangerous driving, which is why he’s being deported, he was 42, and had lived in Aus since he was 17……Fucken Howard and Abbott, probably the two biggest F wits in Aus politics.

  3. Draco T Bastard 4

    The Promise Of The #PanamaPapers – What Happens Next?

    So what is likely to happen next?

    As Glen Greenwald ( https://theintercept.com/2016/04/04/a-key-similarity-between-snowden-leak-and-panamapapers-scandal-is-whats-been-legalized/ ) and Matthew Iglesias ( http://www.vox.com/2016/4/3/11356326/panama-papers ) have pointed out today the way things are is not a surprise to anyone. The laws of the financial world are designed to hide ownership and protect extremely powerful extremely wealthy elites. And we know from countless reports (thanks to the Occupy movement) that the 1% have the global economy by the balls and that since the Global Financial Crisis in 2008 have only become more and more wealthy.

    When we look at what has happened to our laws over the last few decades and even centuries we see a slow development that enriches the already rich. We need to repeal those laws and take our power back off of them.

    We cannot afford the rich.

  4. ScottGN 5

    Not sure if this has been canvassed already in other forums but, astonishingly, even Larry Williams is piling into Key and the government on the Panama Papers.
    http://www.nzherald.co.nz/politics/news/article.cfm?c_id=280&objectid=11617271

  5. Anne 7

    How about this load of bile from a programme which no doubt rates itself as a Current Affairs show:

    http://www.newshub.co.nz/tvshows/story/helen-clark-to-be-top-dog-at-the-un-2016040519#axzz44qgWw9Lw

    • Jenny Kirk 7.1

      Unbelievable, Anne. We don’t watch Story – because of this sort of thing that they put up but this really is dragging themselves down to the pits.

      • Anne 7.1.1

        I was shocked at the obvious bile. I thought about laying a complaint about madam Du plessis- Allen’s final comments to the effect:

        We had her for years and the rest of the world can gladly have her. But they will have to use eco bulbs and won’t be able to smack their children.

        But it’s not worth it.

        She delivered the barbs with her trade mark wide grin. Bet her husband put those words into her mouth. Never liked Barry Soper. Untrustworthy and full of partisan shit.

        Yeah Heather what’s your name… hope you see this. Don’t like what I’ve said about hubby? Well we don’t like what you say about arguably the most talented and competent PM this country has seen. You don’t even make the first step of that ladder.

  6. joe90 8

    I guess this is why the top table is so keen on free trade.

    Years before more than a hundred media outlets around the world released stories Sunday exposing a massive network of global tax evasion detailed in the so-called Panama Papers, U.S. President Barack Obama and then-Secretary of State Hillary Clinton pushed for a Bush administration-negotiated free trade agreement that watchdogs warned would only make the situation worse.

    http://www.ibtimes.com/panama-papers-obama-clinton-pushed-trade-deal-amid-warnings-it-would-make-money-2348076

  7. pat 9

    “During a break from that 10-hour Eurogroup meeting, in which I had struggled to reclaim some economic sovereignty on behalf of my battered parliament and our suffering people, another finance minister attempted to soothe me by saying: “Yanis, you must understand that no country can be sovereign today. Especially not a small and bankrupt one like yours.”

    This line of argument is probably the most pernicious fallacy to have afflicted public debate in our modern liberal democracies. Indeed, I would go as far as to suggest that it may be the greatest threat to liberal democracy itself. Its true meaning is that sovereignty is passé unless you are the United States, China or, maybe, Putin’s Russia. In which case you might as well append your country to a transnational alliance of states where your parliament is reduced to a rubber stamp, and all authority is vested in the larger states.”

    http://www.theguardian.com/world/2016/apr/05/yanis-varoufakis-why-we-must-save-the-eu

    for all students of history……yet to written….again.

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • New digital service to make business easy
    A new digital platform aims to make it easier for small businesses to access services from multiple government agencies, leaving them more time to focus on their own priorities. Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern and Minister for Small Business Stuart Nash ...
    2 days ago
  • Million-dollar start to gun collection events
    Million-dollar start to gun collection events  Police Minister Stuart Nash says a solid start has been made to the gun buyback and amnesty after the first weekend of community collection events. “Gun owners will walk away with more than ...
    3 days ago
  • Praise after first firearms collection event
    Police Minister Stuart Nash has praised Police and gun owners after the first firearms collection event saw a busy turnout at Riccarton Racecourse in Christchurch. “Police officers and staff have put a tremendous effort into planning and logistics for the ...
    3 days ago
  • New Police constables deployed to regions
    Seventy-eight new Police constables are heading out to the regions following today’s graduation of a new recruit wing from the Royal New Zealand Police College. Police Minister Stuart Nash says the record high number of new Police officers being recruited, ...
    1 week ago