web analytics

Daily review 07/01/2022

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, January 7th, 2022 - 52 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

52 comments on “Daily review 07/01/2022 ”

  1. weka 1

    Anyone seen a decent analysis of how the Australian covid situation might affect supply lines in NZ over the next month or so? Longer term?

    • Sabine 1.1

      keep yourself prepared to last about 4 weeks on everything is my understanding in comments dealing with my european friends and relatives.

  2. Anne 2

    What an entitled p***k!

    He's an anti-vaxxer and the Australian government has banned non-vaccinated people from entering their country. So, he and his supporters find a way to get him into the country under false pretenses and he is caught.

    Hope they throw him out on Monday.

    https://www.1news.co.nz/2022/01/07/djokovic-saga-victoria-didnt-get-federal-visa-advice/

    • RedLogix 2.1

      Maybe Djokovic has read this.

      • weka 2.1.1

        that would make more sense if it was presented alongside how many athletes collapses with heart issues in 2019.

        It wouldn't surprise me if athletes have a vulnerability to vaccine side effects including myocarditis. You can see the problem for governments though. Why should Djokovic be given an exemption to the border rules and other people denied.

        • RedLogix 2.1.1.1

          Long covid is clearly a thing that concerns you personally, so why do you think athletes should ignore this?

        • joe90 2.1.1.2

          how many athletes collapses with heart issues in 2019.

          In 2019,an estimated 98 Italian athletes suffered sudden cardiac deaths. Nearly 40% were under 35. But cardiac hypertrophy, hearts muscled up by over training making them susceptible to electrical disorders, has long been a problem in the sporting world.

          • Bill 2.1.1.2.1

            Hmm. You think that may feed into the apparent phenomena of fitness freaks (ie – the serious muscle tone crowd) doing 'less than well' when hit with covid?

            • joe90 2.1.1.2.1.1

              Athletic heart syndrome is an over-training issue, not fitness/muscularity. Any more than about five hours of high intensity exertion a week and you're asking for trouble. And as with any over-muscled body part, athletic heart syndrome causes a loss of flexibility and the heart stiffens and loses efficiency.

              So it's hardly surprising that when Covid, which, as is becoming apparent fucks with the renin-angiotensin system, comes along it induces all sorts of cardio-vascular shenanigans to a stiff, inefficient organ that's already likely to go bad.

              • pat

                "Any more than about five hours of high intensity exertion a week and you're asking for trouble."

                Surely every professional sports person (rugby, league, football etc) would be doing more than 5 hours high intensity training (not to mention the actual events)?

              • Bill

                is an over-training issue

                That was kinda my point/query.

      • Shanreagh 2.1.2

        That report has Chris Cairns on the list, yet I have not read that his dissected aorta was related to the vaccine.

        I suspect the list includes athletes who may be suffering from the Long Q syndrome and this predates the Covid vaccines.

        https://www.cidg.org.nz/patients-families/cardiac-inherited-diseases/long-qt-syndrome-lqts/

        Covering about 1:2000 it is more common in males than females and sometimes does not manifest before the person collapses and dies.

        • RedLogix 2.1.2.1

          The list seems to include 'all causes' intentionally. It's the sudden increase that needs an explanation.

        • arkie 2.1.2.2

          The YourNews.com article linked says this:

          A report at goodlysciencing.com shows a list of athletes who took the COVID vaccine and later went under cardiac arrest.

          GoodSciencing.com (not goodlysciencing.com apparently) has this as their banner head:

          Real Science

          Science needs open discussion anything else is totalitarian.

          And their about us:

          A few people have been asking who we are, what our credentials are, and what we’re trying to prove.

          We are a small team of investigators, news editors, journalists, and truth seekers, now backed up by others, who are discovering pieces of information that we can investigate. It doesn’t really matter who we are. What really matters is that we care carrying on an investigation and we’re presenting the evidence we’ve found, almost all of it documented in mainstream media publications.

          Not exactly what I'd call a particularly compelling source.

          (in fact wordfence seemingly prevented me from linking directly to the goodsciencing.com site)

          • RedLogix 2.1.2.2.1

            Here's something to think about. You cannot rule out the possibility that there is a real and important signal here. I don't care what probability you allocate to it – it isn't zero. Yet the reflexive response is to tell us 'nothing to see here'.

            Sure you might get away with this strategy most of the time, but it ensures you'll miss all the black swan events.

            • pat 2.1.2.2.1.1

              Black swans must be missed by their very nature…otherwise they are not black swans

              “It cannot be predicted beforehand, though after the fact, many falsely claim it should have been predictable”

              https://www.investopedia.com/terms/b/blackswan.asp

              • RedLogix

                Which doesn't mean they don't happen and can be safely ignored when you hear their honking in the distance.

                • pat

                  Honking?….lol

                  "….many falsely claim it should have been predictable”

                  • RedLogix

                    Well here is an example of how the signal was not seen until years later. Nobody predicted it, yet it was only discovered by paying attemtion to the signal:

                    An increased risk of narcolepsy was found following vaccination with Pandemrix, a monovalent 2009 H1N1 influenza vaccine that was used in several European countries during the H1N1 influenza pandemic. This risk was initially found in Finland, and then other European countries also detected an association.

      • Shanreagh 2.1.3

        I like to run media sources I have not heard of through Media Bias Fact Check……

        https://mediabiasfactcheck.com/

        It says this about 'Your News.

        'A questionable source exhibits one or more of the following: extreme bias, consistent promotion of propaganda/conspiracies, poor or no sourcing to credible information, a complete lack of transparency, and/or is fake news. Fake News is the deliberate attempt to publish hoaxes and/or disinformation for profit or influence … Sources listed in the Questionable Category may be untrustworthy and should be fact-checked on a per-article basis. Please note sources on this list are not considered fake news unless specifically written in the reasoning section for that source. …

        • Overall, we rate YourNews right biased and Questionable based on the promotion of propaganda, the use of poor sources, misleading information, and a lack of transparency.

        Going on to say……..

        Questionable Reasoning: Propaganda, Poor Sourcing, Misleading, Lack of Transparency
        Bias Rating: RIGHT
        Factual Reporting: MIXED
        Country: USA (44/180 Press Freedom)
        Media Type: Website
        Traffic/Popularity: Medium Traffic
        MBFC Credibility Rating: LOW CREDIBILITY

        History

        YourNews is an anonymously published conservative news curation/aggregation/citizen journalist website. The website lacks transparency as they do not provide an about page or name editors/owners. Through a search, we determined that Sam Anthony was the founder of the website. The domain is registered in Florida, USA.

        I suspect they may have aggregated a search with 'sports people + heart disease' and voila the heart disease is from the vaccination!

        • RedLogix 2.1.3.1

          So you choose to attack the source rather than address the data. Are you implying then that these deaths are all fabricated?

          • Shanreagh 2.1.3.1.1

            No, of course not. I like to know if I am dealing with bona fide people or just nutters with a view.

            I have addressed the data above by querying why Chris Cairns is on the list as affected by the covid vaccine and positing that some athletes may be affected by Long Q that was around long before Covid and vaccines.

            • RedLogix 2.1.3.1.1.1

              The list seems to be 'all cause' – which is a crude measure of 'excess deaths' for this group of people and a legitimate method used to remove categorising errors.

              The question it poses is – what has caused the apparent increase? Is there a real signal here?

        • Bill 2.1.3.2

          lol – you might want to look into the provenance of that Media Bias Fact Check org you're relying on 🙂

      • Anne 2.1.4

        So, Covid has been selecting athletes to do its dirty work. How clever of it.

        Have no knowledge of “Your News” but having read the first few paragraphs I venture to suggest it is a highly suspect outfit indeed.

        On a par with the Slater gang maybe?

        • Anne 2.1.4.1

          Aha! Submitted my brief quote above before seeing Shanreagh @ 2.1.3

          So I was right. Its a rwnj outfit prone to fake conclusions and lies run by anonymous individuals posing as journalists?

          I suspect they may have aggregated a search with 'sports people + heart disease' and voila the heart disease is from the vaccination!

          Sounds about right to me.

        • RedLogix 2.1.4.2

          You do realise that sports players are these high levels are typically tested for COVID all the time? And are not allowed to compete if they have it.

    • Shanreagh 2.2

      https://www.newshub.co.nz/home/sport/2022/01/tennis-international-row-brewing-over-whether-novak-djokovic-should-be-kicked-out-of-australia.html

      He has other questionable views, see above. 'Djokovic is dubbed 'Novax' Djokovic for his theories and actions about vaccines, but he also holds other scientifically questionable views – including that people can magically alter water quality with their minds.

      "Through the power of gratitude they managed to turn the most toxic food or the most polluted water into the most healing water," Djokovic said in an interview.

      He came under fire in 2020 for spreading COVID at a tournament he organised, where there had been parties and a lack of distancing'.

      He does not seem to have garnered much support from his fellow tennis players with Rafael Nadal

      'I think if he wanted, he would be playing here in Australia without a problem," Nadal said. "He made his own decisions, and everybody is free to take their own decisions, but then there are some consequences.'

      Boris Becker had this to say

      'Novak Djokovic is making a "big mistake" if he doesn't get vaccinated against Covid-19, says the world No 1's former coach Boris Becker'.

      https://www.stuff.co.nz/sport/tennis/300491868/novak-djokovic-making-big-mistake-by-not-getting-covid19-vaccine-says-boris-becker

      l

    • mary_a 2.3

      Anne (2) … another overinflated, egotistical .. do you know who I am .. with a massive sense of self entitlement s…t!

  3. Robert Guyton 3

    He's the Menace of Tennis.

  4. Sabine 4

    if you don't report it, then does it happen?

    And of course men need to be included in the count of femicide, lest they feel left out. And if no men has been murdered in an act of femicide and thus is not included in the count of actual dead Non Males that litter the country side with their dead bodies then that must be because of transphobia.

    https://4w.pub/feminist-collective-suspends-reporting-on-femicides-due-to-claims-of-transphobia/

    n their thread, #NousToutes went on to say that the sentiment was "oppressive" and "otherwise illegal," noting that "transphobia is not an opinion, but a crime punishable by law."

    The collective goes on to say that it will be suspending their reporting on femicide data until they can find a source which is more inclusive, and recognizes trans-identified males as victims of femicide.

    On January 1st, three women were murdered in France in the span of 24 hours. The crimes were unrelated and occurred in different parts of the country.

    In 2021, 113 women were murdered in France, primarily by male intimate partners or ex-partners.

    • pat 4.1

      Question…is it femicide if a female murders a female?

      • Sabine 4.1.1

        I would say so, all femicide is is murder of women. so yes, it should not matter.

        But have you got a question in regards to the men who are butt hurt that they are not included in the list of dead Not Men?

        • pat 4.1.1.1

          thanks for clarifying that…..its hard to keep up.

          Have I question about men who are "butt hurt"(? )that are not included in the list of "dead not men"….I may have if I knew what that meant.

          • Sabine 4.1.1.1.1

            The collective goes on to say that it will be suspending their reporting on femicide data until they can find a source which is more inclusive, and recognizes trans-identified males as victims of femicide.

            You must have missed that part earlier before you got busy asking about Non males killing non males to deflect of the fact that domestic violence is something that kills non males at the hand of males more often then not, and the absurdity of males damanding to be included in the list of dead non males because they have a feels of a women. . As you were, as you were.

            • pat 4.1.1.1.1.1

              I will confess I hadnt read up thread….it was an instinctive question re femicide….and as to the and "the absurdity of males damanding to be included in the list of dead non males because they have a feels of a women."…I think that speaks for itself.

              And why I should have continued to avoid the absurdity as i have done to date.

    • weka 4.2

      a French activist organization self-identifying as "feminist"

      Lol.

      Want to know now if the idea is to count trans women as women not trans women.

      • Sabine 4.2.1

        they want to be counted as 'female', women is no longer enough.

        “………………… until they can find a source which is more inclusive, and recognizes trans-identified males as victims of femicide

  5. Macro 5

    Satire – but close to the truth:

    WASHINGTON (The Borowitz Report)—Sean Hannity has informed the congressional committee investigating the U.S. Capitol insurrection that swearing to tell the truth would be a violation of his contract with Fox News.

    In a written statement, Hannity said that taking an oath “to tell the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth” would be “a betrayal of the solemn vow I made to Fox.”

    “The members of the committee would no doubt require me to swear on a Bible,” he said. “However, I answer to a higher power: Rupert Murdoch.”

    The committee members attempted to reassure Hannity that he would need to tell the truth only to them and not while he was doing his show, but he remained steadfast in his refusal.

    “Telling the truth is a deal breaker,” Hannity said. “If I am seen doing it even once, it could destroy my brand.”

    • joe90 5.1

      Ted yesterday –

      "We are approaching a solemn anniversary this week," Cruz said. "And it is an anniversary of a violent terrorist attack on the Capitol, where we saw the men and women of law enforcement demonstrate incredible courage, incredible bravery, risk their lives to defend the men and women who served in this Capitol.

      https://www.msn.com/en-us/news/politics/ted-cruz-calling-jan-6-a-violent-terrorist-attack-leaves-trump-supporters-outraged/ar-AASuxB5?

      Ted today – I didn't really mean it and to prove it, here's me grovelling..

      ..and he's cancelled.

      • Pete 5.1.1

        I'm disappointed in Cruz. I thought in his follow-up he would have said, should have said, words to the effect: "It is an anniversary of an ordinary tourist excursion in the Capitol, where we saw the men and women of the Republican Party demonstrate incredible courage, incredible bravery and risked their lives in adding to the day.

        In their effort to make it as exciting as possible for the visitors, instead of staying to welcome them, they ran and hid. There was a great hubbub to set a tone of excitement and acknowledgement needs to go to my colleagues for entering into the spirit of things."

        • Shanreagh 5.1.1.1

          We could have fun with this along the lines of the spoofs along the lines of Bulwer Lytton's "It was a dark and stormy night….. '

          Here is the original text…….back later. Gathering firewood.

          We are approaching a solemn anniversary this week," Cruz said. "And it is an anniversary of a violent terrorist attack on the Capitol, where we saw the men and women of law enforcement demonstrate incredible courage, incredible bravery, risk their lives to defend the men and women who served in this Capitol.

Leave a Comment

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • What’s Labour achieved so far?
    Quite a bit! This Government was elected to take on the toughest issues facing Aotearoa – and that’s what we’re doing. Since the start of the pandemic, protecting lives and livelihoods has been a priority, but we’ve also made progress on long-term challenges, to deliver a future the next generation ...
    6 days ago
  • Tackling the big issues in 2022
    This year, keeping Kiwis safe from COVID will remain a key priority of the Government – but we’re also pushing ahead on some of New Zealand’s biggest long-term challenges. In 2022, we’re working to get more Kiwis into homes, reduce emissions, lift children out of poverty, and ensure people get ...
    1 week ago
  • Happy new year, Aotearoa!
    Welcome to 2022! As we look ahead to another year of progress on the big issues facing our country, we’re taking a look back at the year that’s been and everything the team of five million achieved together in 2021. ...
    3 weeks ago

  • New Zealand prepared to send support to Tonga
    New Zealand is ready to assist Tonga in its recovery from Saturday night’s undersea eruption and tsunami, Foreign Affairs Minister Nanaia Mahuta and Defence Minister Peeni Henare said today. “Following the successful surveillance and reconnaissance flight of a New Zealand P-3K2 Orion on Monday, imagery and details have been sent ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 days ago
  • Aotearoa New Zealand stands ready to assist people of Tonga
    The thoughts of New Zealanders are with the people of Tonga following yesterday’s undersea volcanic eruption and subsequent tsunami waves, Foreign Affairs Minister Nanaia Mahuta says. “Damage assessments are under way and New Zealand has formally offered to provide assistance to Tonga,” said Nanaia Mahuta. New Zealand has made an ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    4 days ago
  • Record high of new homes consented continues
    In the year ended November 2021, 48,522 new homes were consented, up 26 per cent from the November 2020 year. In November 2021, 4,688 new dwellings were consented. Auckland’s new homes consented numbers rose 25 per cent in the last year. Annual figures for the last nine months show more ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    7 days ago
  • Report trumpets scope for ice cream exports
    Latest research into our premium ice cream industry suggests exporters could find new buyers in valuable overseas markets as consumers increasingly look for tip top quality in food. Economic Development Minister Stuart Nash has released a new report for the Food and Beverage Information Project. The project is run by ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Honouring the legacy of legendary kaumātua Muriwai Ihakara
    Associate Minister for Arts, Culture, and Heritage Kiri Allan expressed her great sadness and deepest condolences at the passing of esteemed kaumātua, Muriwai Ihakara. “Muriwai’s passing is not only a loss for the wider creative sector but for all of Aotearoa New Zealand. The country has lost a much beloved ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Have your say on proposed changes to make drinking water safer
    Associate Minister for the Environment Kiri Allan is urging all New Zealanders to give feedback on proposed changes aimed at making drinking water safer. “The current regulations are not fit for purpose and don’t offer enough protection, particularly for those whose water comes from smaller supplies,” Kiri Allan said. “This ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Planting the seeds for rewarding careers
    A boost in funding for a number of Jobs for Nature initiatives across Canterbury will provide sustainable employment opportunities for more than 70 people, Conservation Minister Kiri Allan says. “The six projects are diverse, ranging from establishing coastline trapping in Kaikōura, to setting up a native plant nursery, restoration planting ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • New Zealand congratulates Tonga's new Prime Minister on appointment
    Minister of Foreign Affairs Nanaia Mahuta today congratulated Hon Hu'akavameiliku Siaosi Sovaleni on being appointed Prime Minister of the Kingdom of Tonga. “Aotearoa New Zealand and Tonga have an enduring bond and the Kingdom is one of our closest neighbours in the Pacific. We look forward to working with Prime ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • High-tech investment extends drought forecasting for farmers and growers
    The Government is investing in the development of a new forecasting tool that makes full use of innovative climate modelling to help farmers and growers prepare for dry conditions, Agriculture Minister Damien O'Connor said.  The new approach, which will cost $200,000 and is being jointly funded through the Ministry for ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Support for fire-hit Waiharara community
    The government will contribute $20,000 towards a Mayoral Relief Fund to support those most affected by the fires in Waiharara in the Far North, Minister for Emergency Management Kiri Allan says. “I have spoken to Far North Mayor John Carter about the effect the fires continue to have, on residents ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Manawatū’s ‘oases of nature’ receive conservation boost
    The Government is throwing its support behind projects aimed at restoring a cluster of eco-islands and habitats in the Manawatū which were once home to kiwi and whio. “The projects, which stretch from the Ruahine Ranges to the Horowhenua coastline, will build on conservation efforts already underway and contribute ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • New Zealand to continue Solomon Islands support
    A New Zealand Defence Force and Police deployment to help restore peace and stability to Solomon Islands is being scaled down and extended. The initial deployment followed a request for support from Solomon Islands Government after riots and looting in capital Honiara late last month. They joined personnel from Australia, ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Our Pacific community shares in New Year’s Honours
    Prominent Pacific health champion Faumuina Professor Fa’afetai Sopoaga has been made a Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit in the New Year’s Honours list. Professor Sopoaga has been a champion for Pacific Health at Otago University, said Minister of Pacific Peoples Aupito William Sio. “She’s overseen changes in ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • Congratulations to Māori New Year’s Honours stars of 2022
    Kei aku rangatira kua whakawhiwhia koutou ki ngā tohu ā tō tātou kuīni hei whakanui nui i ā koutou mahi rangatira i hāpai i te manotini puta noa i a Aotearoa. Ko koutou ngā tino tauira. I whanake i ngā hapori, iwi, hapū, whānau me te motu anō hoki. Mauri ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • Top honours for women in sport
    Minister of Sport and Recreation Grant Robertson has congratulated Olympian Lisa Carrington and Paralympian Sophie Pascoe on being made Dames Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit (DNZM) in the 2022 New Year Honours. Lisa Carrington is New Zealand’s most successful Olympian, having won five gold and one bronze ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • PM congratulates 2022 New Year Honours recipients
    The New Zealanders recognised in the New Year 2022 Honours List represent the determination and service exemplified by so many New Zealanders during what has been another tough year due to the global COVID-19 pandemic, Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern said. “I never fail to be amazed by the outstanding things ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago