Daily Review 07/08/2017

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, August 7th, 2017 - 44 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

44 comments on “Daily Review 07/08/2017”

  1. mickysavage 1

    Wow Kennedy Graham and David Clendon are saying that Metiria should stand down as co leader … breaking news … maybe there will be two changes of leadership on the left?

    • Ad 1.1

      The Greens are drowning in negative media, and clearly struggling to break out of the downward news cycle.

      Well, it worked for Labour!

    • Carolyn_nth 1.2

      Clendon & Graham are expendable. B ye bye guys. Swarbrick and Holt can then go up on the list.

      How can the GP change leaders when a selection new leader has to go to the membership? Impossible this close to election.

      According to RNZ, GP insider says those 2 are disgruntled and have done little campaigning.

      Apparently Gower is saying the 2 MPs have quit, not just threatened to.

      • ScottGN 1.2.1

        Kennedy Graham, one of the old eco-warriors who used to be the whole point of The Greens is expendable? What a bloody mess.

    • Ben 1.3

      I wonder if any other Green MPs have the guts to make the same stand.

      • Hanswurst 1.3.1

        I wonder if any of the other Green MPs has the sense of élitist, middle-class disdain to make the same stand. Thankfully, I doubt it.

    • mauī 1.4

      Oh boy. I think Dave has had his day though.

    • I wish I had kiwisaver investments in the bill board printing game.

    • Bill 1.6

      Metiria lost her bottle once – just after that drubbing by WINZ and subsequent mobbing by media over false electoral address bullshit and further subsequent bullshit from Ardern about a cabinet position.

      She has to not lose it twice!

      Fuck those clowns is all I can say. They’ve bought the whole “she condones” nonsense that’s been flying around.

      Maybe she should put a call in to Jeremy and ask for some tips on standing unbowed?

      • weka 1.6.1

        Yeah, the use of the word ‘condone’ by those men (assuming it’s been reported correctly) falls into the unforgivable bracket for me. That and talking to the media before the party could announce something.

        The thing that worries me is that to have bottle you’ve got have physical reserves to draw on, and Turei and Shaw are starting to look seriously tired and stressed. Not as bad as Little was, but 7 weeks is a long time to hold that together and have to fight such a big fight.

        On the other hand, there’s an opportunity here for them to break greenieleft.

        • adam 1.6.1.1

          And mention that word, the one that worries the hell out of everyone on the right.

          Social Democracy.

          • weka 1.6.1.1.1

            Yeah, tbh, I’m not sure what would be the best way for them to break greenieleft, NZ style.

            I get what you and Bill say about breaking left in traditional left terms. And talking about social democracy is probably good, although I’m not sure this close to the election. It’s that balance between getting to the people and fending off the MSM and RW PR shitstorm. Sanders and Corbyn did the groundwork, but those are very different countries and cultures to here, it’s like we need to find our own version.

            • outofbed 1.6.1.1.1.1

              Ok by accident or design
              We never ever command media attention like this. we can be relentlessly positive have great policies great conferences and we get shots of morris dancing on the 6 o’clock news. it was always so
              So this is a fantastic opportunity grap hold of that news cycle bang out those radical leftie policies nothing to lose. There must be 20% lefties out there.

              Highlight mental health care and suicide rates
              Bang on about affordable state housing
              Campaign on the living wage.
              Highlight investment in public transport
              Promise to do what it takes to make our rivers swimmable
              BE BOLD

        • Sabine 1.6.1.2

          i have said it before and i say it again.

          Labour needs the Green Party more then the Green Party needs Labour.

          at the end of the day, Labour can not run alone, might run a while with Winston and we all can guess how long that will go well.

          The Green Party however is comfortable in the role of opposition. They are comfortable to work accross the aile, and have a decent record of doing so.

          So if labour thinks it can throw the Greens and their female co-leader under the bus and think it will not affect the fragile alliance they have forged they would be fucking stupid.

          Labour needs the Greens. So it might be time now for Labour to stand behind the Greens.
          No one can break the alliance other then the parties. Unless really, this country is run by Patrick Gower and Mike Hoskins and then really why don’t we just do away with elections and all pretense.

    • … maybe there will be two changes of leadership on the left?

      Turei’s made a big commitment to the country’s poor on the Green Party’s behalf. Picture how that plays on the left if the party were now to sack her.

  2. Siobhan 2

    David Clendon MP…..”As one of seven kids raised by working class parents in Ōtara during the sixties and seventies, David has always understood the needs of the most vulnerable.” hmm, maybe not so understanding….and while a loss in terms of the blue/green vote it maybe their departure leaves the Greens free to build on the momentum of being the Party of the people.

  3. If you haven’t worked it out by now, Ben, you never will. Therefore, it would be a waste of everyone’s time to try to explain it to you. I hope no one does 🙂

    • In Vino 3.1

      In trying to understand Ben’s message, I wonder what he means by ‘guts’. Obtuseness? Stupidity? Blind self-obsession? Veniality? Treachery?
      They are GP members who should have consulted their own party in advance. This was a treacherous backstab. Ben obviously condones treachery and backstabbing. I hope that Ben’s guts are not playing up on him..

  4. Israel moves to shut down local operations of Al-Jazeera

    JERUSALEM (Reuters) – Israel plans to revoke press credentials of Al-Jazeera TV journalists, close their Jerusalem bureau and pull the Qatar-based station’s broadcasts from local cable and satellite providers, Communications Minister Ayoub Kara said on Sunday.

    Kara accused the station of “supporting terrorism” and said cable broadcasters had agreed to his proposal to take the station’s Arabic and English channels off air. Closure of the station’s office would require further legislation, he added.

    Short so just copy/pasted whole thing.

    Shows Israel’s support of freedom. Wonder if any of the western governments, which often call out such tactics from Russia and other countries, will do the same here.

  5. joe90 5

    Fascinating Q&A with NeuroTribes author Steve Silberman.

    Leviton: Do you think Grandin’s accomplishments give a false impression of the capabilities of autistic people in general?

    Silberman: I hear that a lot. Parents say, “My child is not like Temple Grandin.” But when Grandin was four, she wasn’t “Temple Grandin” yet. She was having meltdowns in church because the skirt she had to wear was scratchy; nobody knew about the sensory sensitivity that often accompanies autism. When parents offer examples of how hard their lives are, they often tell me that their children throw shit on the walls, and Grandin did that, too. She was expelled from several schools. Her mother was told that she should send her daughter away, but she refused to do it. One of the reasons Grandin became so accomplished is that she wasn’t institutionalized and got support for her special interest in animals. She is an example of what happens if you don’t mistreat autistic people.

    https://thesunmagazine.org/issues/495/misdiagnosed-and-misunderstood

  6. adam 6

    Got an email from a Russian Friend who is very scared.

    The yanks have done this.

    https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/checkpoint/wp/2017/08/03/u-s-reportedly-mulls-sending-antitank-missiles-to-ukraine-it-may-be-two-years-too-late/?utm_term=.e5a53da9eedd

    And the Russian media have stepped up the jingoistic rants.

    • Gabby 6.1

      Russian tanks would definitely be safer in Russia.

    • The Yanks have done what? Considered sending Ukraine some shoulder-launched anti-tank missiles that probably won’t be much use to them? Not the kind of thing that would have me quaking in my boots. The Russian media’s jingoistic rants, on the other hand, yeah that definitely is a worry. Maybe those Javelins might become relevant.

      I loved this bit:
      The State Department told The Washington Post that it has not provided Ukraine with what it calls “defensive weapons,” a characterization not typically assigned to antitank missiles like the Javelin…

      What? Shoulder-held anti-tank missiles can’t be characterised as anything but defensive weapons – defending infantry against tanks is their only use-case.

      • adam 6.2.1

        It’s defiantly the ramp up inside Russia that is the worry.

        Coupled with the trade embargo, it seems the west is handing the hardliners all the ammunition they need.

        Anti-tank missiles are generally used offensively, just ask any veterans of Afghanistan, Russian or American.

        • exkiwiforces 6.2.1.1

          The Javelin is a primarily a man portable Anti Tank weapon system to use against attacking Armoured formations when the infantry are dug in a defensive position. It can be use by the dismounted infantry in an attacking role when trying breach a defensive position or as point of entry. The current situation in the Ukraine front is bit like something out of WW1 trench warfare, so these weapon system would quite useful in defensive or a offensive role attacking fixed fortified positions and also useful if the defending forces counter attack with a combined arms assault (tanks, apc’s, dismounted or mounted infantry, with artillery/ mortars in fire support).

          My biggest concern is how long does this weapons platform turns up in a place where it shouldn’t be?

          As there is cheaper weapon system called the M3 or M4 84mm Carl Gustav recoilless rifle anti tank it comes with a very useful anti armour round, he round that be use as either direct target or as a air bust weapon and a Luim round that lights up just over 900m’s square. Even the training rounds can use a non lethal breaching round, but if are on the side of it you will have very nasty headache or as a last ditch anti armour round.

  7. Watching the site run up to high levels of people online with the two resignations from the Green MPs. The nice thing about it is that the server is neither overheating nor has excessive fan noise.

    Looks like I finally have the balance right. And it is 6-7 weeks from the elections!

    fan1: 1527 RPM (min = 10 RPM)
    fan2: 1451 RPM (min = 10 RPM)
    fan3: 1216 RPM (min = 10 RPM)
    fan4: 2812 RPM (min = 10 RPM)
    fan5: 0 RPM (min = 0 RPM)
    temp1: +38.0°C (low = +127.0°C, high = +127.0°C) sensor = thermistor
    temp2: +46.0°C (low = +127.0°C, high = +127.0°C) sensor = thermal diode
    temp3: +46.0°C (low = +0.0°C, high = +90.0°C) sensor = Intel PECI

    😈 I have a rather unique view on elections – sysop.

    • lprent 7.1

      Comment saving looks sluggish though. Be patient..

    • Whispering Kate 7.2

      Read this out ot my partner and he had a good laugh – sometimes I think you are a bloody genius keeping his site operating – all good thoughts go to you for your valiant efforts.

    • Rosemary McDonald 7.3

      “The nice thing about it is that the server is neither overheating nor has excessive fan noise.”

      Despite all the hot air wafting about?

      🙂

      • Stuart Munro 7.3.1

        Greens are cool – even under pressure.

      • lprent 7.3.2

        Oh there is a lot of hot air floating around.

        After all the CPU is generating at *lot* of it. It is an older 220W 8 Core AMD running at 4.7/5.0 powering the server. A factory overclocked CPU that the sales description understate it as “Cooler: Robust Liquid Cooling System Required (see AMD.com for details),”. But the point is that CPU isn’t hot – the heat was vented into the room

        This is how I heat my apartment. From every ones hot air 🙂

  8. adam 8

    Funny today’s photo reminded me of this excerpt from Blackadder 4. Sorry was the best version of it I could find on YouTube.

  9. weka 9

    All the best lolz on twitter tonight,

    Jeremy‏ @nz_voter 8h8 hours ago

    If The Internet Party joined The Opportunities Party in a coalition they could be TIP TOP.

  10. Editractor 10

    Was Bill English orchestrating a take down of Barclay?

    “Winston Peters claims he’s been leaked the text records. He hasn’t revealed their contents but says they show English was orchestrating a takedown of Barclay.” – http://www.newshub.co.nz/home/election/2017/08/patrick-gower-bill-english-in-shutdown-mode-over-todd-barclay-texts.html

    If it is true and Peters isn’t just blowing smoke, it is going to be very hard for National to point the finger at other parties regarding dissension in the ranks.

  11. swordfish 11

    Newshub poll: Bill English’s credibility hit by Todd Barclay saga

    Fifty-six percent of all voters (& over one-third of Nats) have lost some trust in Bill English.

    http://www.newshub.co.nz/home/election/2017/08/newshub-poll-bill-english-s-credibility-hit-by-todd-barclay-saga.html

  12. swordfish 12

    Colmar Brunton poll asked Kiwis their view on the Maori seats.

    Fifty-five per cent say they should be kept, 13 per cent say they should be abolished as soon as possible and 23 per cent say they should be abolished some time in the future.

    Pretty much dovetails with most Poll data I’ve seen on the issue in recent years

    https://www.tvnz.co.nz/one-news/new-zealand/majority-new-zealanders-want-retain-maori-seats-1-news-colmar-brunton-poll

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Confirmation bias
    Something slightly deeper. Facebook is an out of control dangerous institution that neatly divides us up into our own tribes and lets us reinforce our beliefs with each other while at the same time throw rocks ...
    Confirmation bias
    7 hours ago
  • Andrew Little leads NZ delegation on global anti-terrorism taskforce
    Justice Minister Andrew Little leaves for the United States today to take part in a global task force that’s tackling terrorism and anti-money laundering. “I’m looking forward to leading the New Zealand delegation to the Financial Action Task Force (FATF) ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Third reading: Arms (Prohibited Firearms, Magazines, and Parts) Amendment Bill
    Mr Speaker We have travelled a long way in eight days, since the bill was read a first time. It has been a punishing schedule for MPs and submitters and public servants who have played a role in this process. ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Legal framework for gun buyback scheme announced
    Police Minister Stuart Nash has announced a legal framework for the gun buyback will be established as a first step towards determining the level of compensation. It will include compensation for high capacity magazines and parts. Mr Nash has outlined ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Second reading: Arms (Prohibited Firearms, Magazines and Parts) Amendment Bill
    Mr Speaker, it is Day 25 of the largest criminal investigation in New Zealand history. Not a day, or a moment, has been wasted as we respond to the atrocity that is testing us all. That is true also of ...
    2 weeks ago
  • First reading: Arms (Prohibited Firearms, Magazines and Parts) Amendment Bill
    Mr Speaker, as we meet today New Zealand is under a terror threat level of HIGH. As we meet today, Police are routinely carrying firearms, Bushmaster rifles and Glock pistols, in a significant departure from normal practice. As we meet ...
    3 weeks ago
  • NZ-China economic ties strengthened
    Economic ties between New Zealand and China are being strengthened with the successful negotiation of a new taxation treaty. The double tax agreement was signed by New Zealand’s Ambassador to China and by the Commissioner of the State Taxation Administration ...
    3 weeks ago
  • Tighter gun laws to enhance public safety
    Police Minister Stuart Nash has introduced legislation changing firearms laws to improve public safety following the Christchurch terror attacks. “Every semi-automatic weapon used in the terrorist attack will be banned,” Mr Nash says. “Owning a gun is a privilege not ...
    3 weeks ago