Daily Review 09/08/2017

Written By: - Date published: 5:36 pm, August 9th, 2017 - 30 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

30 comments on “Daily Review 09/08/2017”

  1. The Trump administration’s solution to climate change: ban the term

    In a bold new strategy unveiled on Monday in the Guardian, the US Department of Agriculture – guardians of the planet’s richest farmlands – has decided to combat the threat of global warming by forbidding the use of the words.

    Under guidance from the agency’s director of soil health, Bianca Moebius-Clune, a list of phrases to be avoided includes “climate change” and “climate change adaptation”, to be replaced by “weather extremes” and “resilience to weather extremes”.
    Trump is deleting climate change, one site at a time
    Read more

    Also blacklisted is the scary locution “reduce greenhouse gases” – and here, the agency’s linguists have done an even better job of camouflage: the new and approved term is “increase nutrient use efficiency”.

  2. Union city greens 2

    I feel a bit dirty but I’m just about to break a habit of a lifetime and watch 3news.
    Soap and a Brillo pad at the ready.

  3. mickysavage 3

    Newshub poll, Labour up 9% to 33% Greens down to 8%.

    National down to 44%.

    And Ardern and English are level pegging in the leadership stakes.

    We have an election campaign …

    http://www.newshub.co.nz/home/election/2017/08/newshub-reid-research-poll-jacinda-ardern-brings-labour-back.html

    • Sabine 3.1

      no we have a media campaign.

      literally that is what we have.

      leaders that were choosen by Gower and co.

      nothing to do with ‘the people’.

      but a vote for empty suits to please the bobble heads at TV Stations to feed the sheeple their daily amount of bullshit for dinner.

      • SpaceMonkey 3.1.2

        Spot on! Fecking Gower with his “It’s official! The Jacinda effect is real…”.

      • tc 3.1.3

        Yes it always is and the left fail to get that expecting a fair go and some sunlight on the corrupt nact regime gutting nz.

        When she went with this I hoped she’d thought it through, doh !

        Labour are pissweak also so far I do hope there’s some hits lined up in the closing weeks on health, education, shonky power generator flogging etc as the sheeple need reminding. The MSM certainly will not.

    • Alan 3.2

      we have an outcome, Nats plus Winstone, thank you, that will be all, good night.

      • Glenn 3.2.1

        Early days yet. Labour is better placed to court Winston than they have been for a long time.
        The Nats will fall further than their present level.

        • SpaceMonkey 3.2.1.1

          In a strange way Materia stepping down may precipitate the demise of National. The media have found their new darling in Jacinda, head and shoulders more photogenic than Bill. They’ll lead the pack hunt as the end of the Materia drama allows more space for Jacinda’s face and sound bites. Our next PM has already been chosen.

    • Anne 3.3

      Sorry ms but the gloss of a good result for Labour has been dampened.

      I will put my view here right and now. I did not like Jacinda’s rebuttal of Metiria Turei’s confession. It smacked to me of political expediency. Either that, or she is as blind and deaf to the awful consequences of poverty and disenfranchisement as are so many in our society.

      I was talking to someone today who knows a lot about the under-world of drug use. It astonished me how deeply serious it has become. A whole generation stands to be ruined by it. And guess what… it is a direct result of financial poverty, poverty of spirit and mental illness caused by the hopelessness of the situation for so many young people.

      • Sabine 3.3.1

        +1000

        but i guess the only thing that matters is National voters swinging over to Labour cause even these deluded National voters have come to realise that their children will never be rich enough to own a home in NZ or even find a decent enough job that would afford rent on a dump.

        What happened of the last two weeks is to the loss of NZ.
        I see no difference between Labour being National lite and National being just it usual people fucking party for the haves and the have more.

      • bwaghorn 3.3.2

        if Metiria had shown some contrition she would still be leader , she was proud of what she did , and rightly or wrongly that’s why they it went down so badly.

        • Draco T Bastard 3.3.2.1

          she was proud of what she did

          [Citation Needed]

        • weka 3.3.2.2

          Damn right she should be proud to have gotten from where she was, through law school and into parliament where she could speak up for people living under utterly reprehensible conditions.

          • Sabine 3.3.2.2.1

            She, John Key and Paula Bennett are the poster children of social welfare done well.

            the only difference is that Metiria does not try to hide the fact that she needed that help and then some, while P. Bennett hates nothing more then having been the beneficiary that to an extend she still is. She still sucks of the tit of the tax payer every time she gets her Ministerial wages paid.
            Same with John Key.
            I have said sometime ago, that the viciousness in which these two John Key and Paula Bennett removed the widowers benefit, the sickness benefit, the invalids benefit, DPB and so on was simply due to the fact that they are trying to make up to their farmers peers and the well to do. No matter how many 950$ pair of shoes she has, she will never be ‘polite’ company, she will only ever be ‘neauvaux rich’. And they just can’t forget that and they are humiliated by it, while Metiria was proud of where she came from, and is proud of where she will be going too.

        • mauī 3.3.2.3

          She was contrite, she was sorry and she offered to pay back the money. As Sanctuary I think has been saying maybe this wasn’t the best approach as she had to bow down.

      • Whispering Kate 3.3.3

        Anne – +100

    • chris73 3.4

      Looks to me like Labours gain in votes is all from the Greens and NZFirst so it looks like to me that Labour/Greens/NZFirst can just make a government whereas National/NZFirst can comfortably govern

      So well done to Labour for picking Jacinda although I’d suggest a large part of that can be down to the…shenanigans…in the Green party

      So, to me, its still likely to be National/NZFirst however, as has been shown, a week is long time in politics and theres many weeks to go

  4. Glenn 4

    Jacinda is doing very well after only 1 week.

  5. … ” ACT leader David Seymour said it was “a major victory for taxpayers, for honest beneficiaries, and for decency in politics”…

    Except Seymour , shitheads like you don’t give a crap about taxpayers, beneficiaries and decency in politics, otherwise you wouldn’t keep up the charade in enabling National with your one man party.

    Rimmer’s Classic Salutes – Red Dwarf – BBC – YouTube
    Video for rimmer you tube▶ 3:45

    • tc 5.1

      ‘ Decency in politics’ that’s rich coming from the Condon party.

    • millsy 5.2

      If Seymour had his way there would be no welfare system and the likes of Turei would be scrubbing his floor for their keep and half a penny.

  6. Union city greens 6

    Winston loses a quarter of his vote to labour. That’s good.

  7. We hear from the RWNJs that poor people should just grow their own food. This article explains why that’s not an option.

    No, poor New Zealand families can’t just ‘grow their own vegetables’

    Low-income families are typically juggling multiple demands, insecure housing, and complex health issues. Those ‘on welfare’ are commonly also juggling paid work and caring for others. These families are spending increasing amounts of time navigating overly administrative welfare processes designed to tighten eligibility. The assumption that those who are ‘cash poor’ are therefore ‘time rich’ is a mythology from the pre-precarity era.

  8. gsays 8

    To think, I laughed and thought ‘only in America’, when I realised there was a website called ” whatthefuckhappennedtoday.com.

    Maybe they could consider an Aotearoa version.

  9. Rosemary McDonald 9

    I’m not sure why, but I keep remembering this interview…

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VYY3FuI7kNw

    from 2014 with Tariana Turia (aka Judas of the Disabled and their family carers).

    I used to respect Turia, until she sold out her principals for $1.2b, then had the shameless audacity to deny she voted that way in 2013.

    Anyway…she speaks about her time in Parliament… and let’s be honest here…what exactly did she achieve for struggling Maori for all the compromises she claims she was forced to make in order to ‘not be in opposition’?

    Message here could be that if you sell your soul for a seat with the Government be sure to take the tissues, because it WILL end in tears.

    • greywarshark 9.1

      Have Maori had an easier time dealing with their own people than direct to WINZ though? And Maori can be hard on Maori – they aren’t going to be a pushoever just for their own.

      So have you heard reports on that? Their may have been some advantage, and indeed if Maori were dealing with Maori, the gummint might have felt there was no need for constraint dealing with pakeha strugglers, losers and other epithets?

  10. millsy 10

    Labour can probably do this. But they need to get their shit together and back themselves.

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Labour Ministers of the Crown announced
    Today caucus has elected the 21 Labour Ministers of the Crown who will serve in the new government’s executive, says Labour Leader Jacinda Ardern. “Across the board these members have the experience, expertise and drive I want in our team ...
    2 days ago
  • Agreement with New Zealand First to support a Labour-led Government
    Labour is pleased to have successfully concluded negotiations with New Zealand First as a critical step to forming a Labour-led progressive Government, says Labour Leader Jacinda Ardern. “I thank the New Zealand First Party and Leader Winston Peters for agreeing ...
    3 days ago
  • Bird of the Year – Loving Aotearoa
    I love that I live in a country where there is a competition for ‘Bird of the Year’. Right now, around New Zealand, there are teams and campaigns promoting the attributes of our native birds; from the famous kākāpo creeping ...
    GreensBy James Shaw
    5 days ago
  • A Post Election Update
    It’s the start of another week and I wanted to give you a quick update on what’s happening in relation to our efforts to form a new Government for New Zealand. We’ve been working hard to ensure that the issues ...
    GreensBy James Shaw
    7 days ago
  • Labour welcomes final election results
    Today’s final election count has strengthened the mandate for change, and for negotiations to continue in earnest, says Leader of the Opposition Jacinda Ardern. “We congratulate Angie Warren-Clark on becoming Labour’s 14th additional MP, which expands the Labour caucus to ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Lewis Moeau – he aituā, he aituā!
    Kua tau ngā pōkeao ki runga i te marae o Te Poho o Taharākau ki roto o Manutūkē, oti rā ki runga o Puketapu me Manawaru, ngā maunga tipua o te hautipua kua riro nei. E heke ana ngā roimata me ngā ...
    3 weeks ago