Daily Review 09/11/2016

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, November 9th, 2016 - 52 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

liberty-weeping

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

52 comments on “Daily Review 09/11/2016”

  1. Rosemary McDonald 1

    Oh, cheer up you lot!

    What harm can possibly be done in just four years?

  2. Manuka AOR 3

    How fitting. A conference in Auckland one week from today – I am sure they will be celebrating a trump prez (urgh – hard to type those last two words)
    http://thedailyblog.co.nz/2016/11/04/blockade-the-weapons-conference-16th-november/

    • rhinocrates 3.1

      With so many treaties and alliances threatened now, arms sales with skyrocket. BAE Systems, Lockheed Martin, Boeing, whatever Blackwater calls itself today and all the post-Soviet Russian manufacturers like OAK are going to be overjoyed.

  3. Anne 4

    Don’t tune in to TV3 “Story” tonight. Their two guests to discuss the US election outcome are:
    Phil Quin and Josie Pagani. I wonder if they will manage to blame it on Andrew Little and the NZ Labour Party. 🙂

    • mickysavage 4.1

      Splitter!

    • inspider 4.2

      Pagani said something that some on here should pay heed to: the left failed because they didn’t take trump seriously but did take him literally (and basically shrieked themselves silly), while voters took him seriously and didn’t take his every utterance literally.

      There are many commentators here that show the same self defeating behaviour in relation to key. They dismiss his political skills and appeal, and focus unproductively on parsing statements to the nth degree, declaring so many of them lies in a way that turns ordinary voters off – I’m looking at blip and his list and mickey at the head of this queue .

      • Anne 4.2.1

        Well, Pagani is doing her usual – a 180 degree twist on reality.

        Those on the so-called Left took Trump very seriously. If they “shrieked themselves silly” it was because they knew he was blatantly lying and were deeply perturbed by his behaviour. His witless voters on the other hand believed all his falsehoods so you could say they took his utterances in a literal way because they believed them to be true.

        And we have the same problem here. Key is a proven serial liar, but we have a lot of voters who apparently still don’t care to tell the difference between a lie and a truth.

  4. Stuart Munro 5

    You maniacs, you blew it up!

  5. adam 6

    I thought of this song today.

  6. rhinocrates 7

    Now we will see if tuberculosis can be cured with cancer.

  7. Muttonbird 8

    Is Paul Henry just another drunk who can’t hold down a job?

  8. greywarshark 9

    Marvellously vibrant musical duels here but hist some great NZ news not to be hissed at.

    RadioNZ
    New Zealand Auckland Region
    about 1 hour ago
    Corrections recommends dying prisoner be released
    about 1 hour ago

    The Department of Corrections is recommending terminally-ill prisoner Vicki Letele be returned home to live out her final months.

    Thank the Lord I was shocked at the viciousness (why I ask myself?) of the authorities. This woman was up for fraud, not savagery. She didn’t kill someone with a car. Fraud is a crime but happens every day here but usually on a bigger scale. Thank goodness she now can have time with her family.

    Now can we start on dealing with those bloody Australians deporting someone who has served his sentence and making him pay for the trip!! And is he Maori because it seems to me an openly racist racket but Key and the Nats are not bothered – they would be too scared to say boo to a goose. Can’t upset our banks (whoops the Aussies who own our banks)!

  9. Muttonbird 10

    John Key says, “he’ll learn to work with (anyone)”.

    http://www.nzherald.co.nz/politics/news/article.cfm?c_id=280&objectid=11745221

    But what will Trump remember of Key and his involvement with Merrill Lynch and the subsequent involvement of that company in the 2008 GFC.

    I’m sure he will know all about it and will question John Key’s integrity, unlike any Clinton would do.

  10. Rosemary McDonald 11

    Trump

    Definitions

    noun
    1. a trumpet or the sound produced by one
    2. See the last trump
    verb
    3. (intransitive) to produce a sound upon or as if upon the trumpet
    4. (transitive) to proclaim or announce with or as if with a fanfare
    5. (intransitive) British slang to expel intestinal gas through the anus

    the last trump

    Definitions

    the final trumpet call that according to the belief of some will awaken and raise the dead on the Day of Judgment

    http://www.collinsdictionary.com/dictionary/english/trump#trump__20

    Hmmm…

  11. millsy 12

    We are now through the looking glass. Anything can happen now.

    In saying that,I think Third Way managerialism is dead.

    Hang on to your hats folks..

  12. Ovid 13

    I’ve been thinking about today’s results in the NZ context.

    Over the past few years I have been time and again out of touch with what various electorates have demonstrably wanted. I backed David Cunliffe, he led Labour to abject defeat. I backed Scottish independence, they decided it was best to stay with the UK. I backed the Australian Labor Party – no joy there in an election that brought Pauline Hanson back. I backed remain and Brexit passed. I expected Clinton to win and Trump is now President-Elect.

    So the last thing the Left should do is listen to middle class people like me. People like me do not have the political power in the western world. We’re a shrinking group. Concerns about getting on the property ladder is very much a middle class thing. More people just want to make the rent.

    The Left shouldn’t be too concerned about polls, either. After Brexit and the US election it’s clear that something is broken in polling methodology. Just find the voters and listen to them. Find out what they’re angry about and be their champion. I think that’s what Winston Peters is doing. But then, we’ve already established I’m a poor source of advice and analysis.

    • mosa 13.1

      Whats broken in poll methodology Ovid ? Nothing unless you skew the result to suit what you want people to believe.

    • weka 13.2

      Humble, thoughtful and thought-provoking comment, thanks. For me, I want the middle classes to not shut up so much as listen more and then engage with those that are outside of their experience.

      Agreed about the polls, but the thing about Peters is that there are others doing this too with more inclusive politics (think the Green Party, who get portrayed as a middle class party, and in many ways they are, but they are also out there listening to people talk about homelessness and poverty and then using that to form policy). We don’t have to rely on Peters for this alone.

    • Chuck 13.3

      “After Brexit and the US election it’s clear that something is broken in polling methodology.”

      Not so much methodology, it is more to do with intimidation. Its clear their was a block of voters who voted Trump on the day, but properly said Clinton to anyone that asked before election day. This to avoid the wrath of fellow citizens maybe even family members, as the battle lines were drawn so aggressively. Same for Brexit, but a few notches below the US election.

      Point in case the riots currently happening in the US.

      Here in NZ we may have Sue Bradford blocking off a Auckland intersection…however that would not put most people off saying they would vote for National or ACT or National lite (Labour) or is that Labour lite (National) 🙂

  13. Richard Rawshark 14

    Oh i’ll post this here, better

    “Today the USA joined the UK in sending the establishment a message.
    The same thing that happened today in the US, and what happened earlier with Brexit in the UK, is happening here in NZ.
    Many of you, just as in the UK and USA, have been used and abused by the old political parties, and all of the new ones, except one.
    You’ve been ignored by the political parties who have been blind to your problems and deaf to your voices.
    My message to you today is, “I hear you. I see your troubles and help is on the way.”

    Winston, Hillary isn’t even cold yet, and you son, haven’t got a shit show.

    • Richard Rawshark 14.1

      and.. imho, every upcoming political party worldwide will start imitating his method.., well a few..

      I can imagine 2 or 3 leaders now behaving like that in NZ..

      Winston straight away, who else is going to declare themselves the next saviour. start firebranding like Trump..

  14. greg 15

    i think this is going to spread brexit now trump i expect le pen will win in France
    the far right is on the march merkel isn’t going to last either

  15. Manuka AOR 16

    I wonder if we have entered the era of the Cyber Coup – the 21st Century version of the old time military takeovers.

  16. mosa 17

    If anything its been a media takeover in NZ by the corporate party who didnt stand one candidate in any recent election but are in coalition with the National party.

  17. slade 18

    I just want to see what happens next. You can’t take say from Trump the fact that he played the game of politics like no one else ever has & still won to most peoples disbelief

  18. mikesh 19

    What amazed me most when watching the TV coverage was how many believed that Clinton would romp in.

  19. D'Esterre 20

    Slade: ‘he played the game of politics like no one else ever has & still won to most peoples disbelief’
    The msm and various talking heads saw Trump as not a legitimate candidate, so they mounted a relentlessly negative campaign – a Trump dump – against him. Fortunately, the US voting public either saw through it or was unmoved by it, and voted him in. And in doing so, they’ve opted for peace over war: go look at what both Trump and Clinton have said about Russia in particular. I hope that he can hold to that path, without being subverted by the ‘crazies in the basement’ as a commentator described the war hawks infesting the body politic there. I expect to see large quantities of humble pie being consumed by our own msm and commentators. Don’t tell us you saw it coming! We were telling you to watch out for the train, and you were too arrogant to see that we were right and you were wrong. Enjoy your humiliation…

    • left_forward 20.1

      No, there was of course another who played the game like this – he was famous for ranting and raving against minorities too – white people thought he was opting for peace just like you D’Esterre – and how utterly wrong they were. After years of unspeakable suffering, nobody won in the end.

      • D'Esterre 20.1.1

        Left_forward: “No, there was of course another who played the game like this – he was famous for ranting and raving against minorities too – white people thought he was opting for peace…”
        Failing to name the person to whom you refer doesn’t absolve you of the charge that you’re going Godwin here. Please don’t insult our intelligence in that fashion.
        I’m contemptuous of the msm because they abandoned impartiality and signally failed to do their job of informing us, rather than foisting their opinions on us. RNZ has been particularly bad in that regard.
        And I’m contemptuous of the pundits who utterly failed in their self-appointed task of looking at the evidence and analysing it.
        I’m contemptuous of both groups screaming about misogyny and racism. Those are epithets, not arguments.
        Note that it’s reported Latinos came out in increased numbers to vote Republican. No surprises that legal migrants would be just as unhappy with the numbers of illegals as other Americans.
        I hope that Trump manages to hold to the path of peace and co-operation with Russia, rather than being dragged by the US war hawks down the nuke war hellhole. Russia is not their – or our – enemy.
        Lastly, I’m contemptuous of those who characterised Hillary Clinton as a liberal. She is not: she’s a neocon war hawk, as is that odious husband of hers. She lost, not because she’s female, but because of her policies and what she represents. She isn’t worth the effort liberals put into supporting her.
        I hope that’s the last we’ll see of the Clintons anywhere near the political process.

        • left_forward 20.1.1.1

          I think that this is a case where the comparison is appropriate.
          I acknowledge its a fine line.

  20. D'Esterre 21

    left_forward: “I think that this is a case where the comparison is appropriate.”
    It is nothing of the sort. The environments and actors aren’t in any way commensurate.

    “I acknowledge its a fine line.”
    It is not. And it is disingenuous to suggest that it is. Unfortunately, going Godwin has the effect of stifling debate, even if that isn’t the intention.

    • left_forward 21.1

      It is the rise of the authoritarian Trump, Mike Moore’s “wretched, ignorant, dangerous part-time clown and full-time sociopath” that makes my ‘going all Godwin on you’ entirely appropriate.

    • McFlock 21.2

      Unfortunately, going Godwin has the effect of stifling debate, even if that isn’t the intention.

      Actually, simply declaiming “godwin” without addressing the criticism behind it is a techique for stifling debate.

      Yes, the comparison is a big call, but that doesn’t mean it’s always wrong. It merely invalidates one argument or the other: if it’s a reasonable call, the the person who smelled and declaimed the “godwin” is doing so to avoid valid comparison with that crowd. If it’s a bullshit call, then the person who dealt the godwin is a can short of a sixpack and the declamation is perfectly reasonable – but to make that determination, one needs to address the grounds for the comparison in the first place.

      • left_forward 21.2.1

        Thank you McFlock – I am certainly not being disingenuous as charged by D’Esterre – it is entirely reasonable and indeed sensible for everyone to be making such a comparison with this particular actor.

Links to post

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Confirmation bias
    Something slightly deeper. Facebook is an out of control dangerous institution that neatly divides us up into our own tribes and lets us reinforce our beliefs with each other while at the same time throw rocks ...
    Confirmation bias
    5 hours ago
  • Andrew Little leads NZ delegation on global anti-terrorism taskforce
    Justice Minister Andrew Little leaves for the United States today to take part in a global task force that’s tackling terrorism and anti-money laundering. “I’m looking forward to leading the New Zealand delegation to the Financial Action Task Force (FATF) ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Third reading: Arms (Prohibited Firearms, Magazines, and Parts) Amendment Bill
    Mr Speaker We have travelled a long way in eight days, since the bill was read a first time. It has been a punishing schedule for MPs and submitters and public servants who have played a role in this process. ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Legal framework for gun buyback scheme announced
    Police Minister Stuart Nash has announced a legal framework for the gun buyback will be established as a first step towards determining the level of compensation. It will include compensation for high capacity magazines and parts. Mr Nash has outlined ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Second reading: Arms (Prohibited Firearms, Magazines and Parts) Amendment Bill
    Mr Speaker, it is Day 25 of the largest criminal investigation in New Zealand history. Not a day, or a moment, has been wasted as we respond to the atrocity that is testing us all. That is true also of ...
    2 weeks ago
  • First reading: Arms (Prohibited Firearms, Magazines and Parts) Amendment Bill
    Mr Speaker, as we meet today New Zealand is under a terror threat level of HIGH. As we meet today, Police are routinely carrying firearms, Bushmaster rifles and Glock pistols, in a significant departure from normal practice. As we meet ...
    3 weeks ago
  • NZ-China economic ties strengthened
    Economic ties between New Zealand and China are being strengthened with the successful negotiation of a new taxation treaty. The double tax agreement was signed by New Zealand’s Ambassador to China and by the Commissioner of the State Taxation Administration ...
    3 weeks ago
  • Tighter gun laws to enhance public safety
    Police Minister Stuart Nash has introduced legislation changing firearms laws to improve public safety following the Christchurch terror attacks. “Every semi-automatic weapon used in the terrorist attack will be banned,” Mr Nash says. “Owning a gun is a privilege not ...
    3 weeks ago