Daily Review 13/02/2018

Written By: - Date published: 5:35 pm, February 13th, 2018 - 53 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

53 comments on “Daily Review 13/02/2018”

  1. Carolyn_Nth 1

    So, to the gloating Soper-followers who were yesterday claiming Hipkins was backing down from ending Charter Schools – ie changing the legislation to special character schools – bad news.

    The Labour Māori caucus and Hipkins reckon with a bit of tweaking, the Māori MPs will be happy with the legislation to switch to Special Character Schools – they also prefer Hipkins funding model over the Charter School model.

    Their press conference got lost in the other news today.

    From Stuff a couple of hours ago.

    Education Minister Chris Hipkins is now prepared to make the necessary tweaks to legislation to allow a pathway for the eleven charter schools that under a Labour-led Government will cease to exist.

    Jackson said he didn’t support the charter school model but he does support “parts of what we were able to do from the charter school perspective”.

    Jackson said he was a charter school “convert” early on but he had an issue with the funding model and said many of the charter schools, particularly the Māori ones, would find transitioning to a new model much better financially.

    Ahead of last year’s election Davis said he would resign if the two charter schools in his Te Tai Tokerau electorate were closed.

    On Tuesday he said he had “total confidence there will be no need for a resignation”.

    “We’re very confident that together we’ll make sure this transition happens … with very little fuss. In fact, the students and their whanau should really notice no difference whatsoever.”

    Davis said it was clear the designated character model needed to be “tweaked” and “the process needs to be improved” to make it easier for schools to get set up.

  2. Carolyn_Nth 2

    Goodness. The Dom Post has an anonymous editorial, posted at 6pm, expressing doubts there’s any adequate candidate for Nat leader.

    Headline: “Editorial: There is no promising National leader to replace Bill English”.

    It gives an assessment of the main contenders:

    The most plausible is Simon Bridges: he is youngish, ruthless, and embarrassed the Government early with a swift tactical triumph in Parliament. He might be able to appeal to centrist voters as well as the hard-right core of National.

    But his ruthlessness and very Right-wing lean might put many people off. His rewriting of the law to stop offshore protests against the oil companies was slanted to commercial interests rather than democratic rights.

    He has a certain blokeish appeal. But whether this proves a match for Jacinda Ardern, the huge political problem that National must somehow solve, remains most uncertain.

    Bennett:

    But her day in the sun is probably past. And the caucus seems to have turned against her.

    Adams: competent; aloof;

    sometimes she looks like a politician who knows the price of everything and the value of nothing.

    Joyce and Coleman are no-goers with voters.

    Nats have deeper problems: no mates; Labour and Ardern are on the rise; and Nats may be facing “succession of caretaker or temporary leaders”.
    Describes Collins as divisive; Kaye “lacks bite and political cut-through”

    • Ed 2.1

      No mention of mercenary Mark?

    • AsleepWhileWalking 2.2

      !!
      Off topic slightly I worry about Bennett (and others) and that gastric band surgery. Keto + IA is so much safer.

      • JanM 2.2.1

        Can you remember David Lange having it? I was at a wedding he attended not long after – he came over to our table to talk and as he stood up to leave he grinned and said “I’m just off to refuse pudding” – lol

        • Hornet 2.2.1.1

          I met David Lange on a number of occasions, and he would have made a terrific stand up comic. His sharpness of wit was seriously entertaining. I was genuinely saddened to see him so unwell in his latter months and years.

    • But his ruthlessness and very Right-wing lean might put many people off.

      Probably put most people off. The only way National gets elected is pretending to be Labour.

      He has a certain blokeish appeal.

      No he doesn’t.

    • ianmac 2.4

      We are right that no one stands out with universal appeal. Squabble Nats.

    • Ed 2.5

      Just watched John Campbell ‘s interview with Bridges over Andarko.
      At 45 submitted by outofbed on the Bill Is gone post.

      Here it is again.
      Unmissable.

      https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=eD2JKoKGrjA

  3. joe90 3

    There are many copies. And they have a plan.

    • ianmac 3.1

      A takeover of National? Yea!
      Thanks Joe.Amazingly flexible. On the verge of something amazing!

    • McFlock 3.2

      I’m intrigued that they’re still fairly noisy – ISTR that’s one of the reasons the big dog didn’t get bought by the US military.

      • joe90 3.2.1

        Their first all electric so it’ll probably get quieter.

        And I imagine there would be hazardous site/work place uses for a highly mobile semi-autonomous machine with dexterous appendages.

        • McFlock 3.2.1.1

          Maybe. But fairly limited, I would have thought, until it can compete with wheelbarrows. Mostly still-hazardous disaster sites, e.g. Fukushima or Pike River..

    • Carolyn_Nth 3.3

      This is the one I saw earlier today – cyberdogs – coming to your house soon, when you least expect it.

    • Nom 3.4

      If you haven’t already you should check out the episode ‘Metalhead’ from the latest season of Black Mirror – a nice dystopian nod to Boston Dynamics.

  4. Ed 4

    Bill and the Nats are spinning like crazy.
    “Why I resigned “

    http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=11993702

    • ianmac 4.1

      Don’t suppose it matters what Bill says any more. Key vanished without “regerts.” And vanished – thankfully.

      • ScottGN 4.1.1

        Dead right. They’re goneburger. And in a little while nobody will remember them.

      • patricia bremner 4.1.2

        John “vanished” to ANZ. ANZ economics Bagrie left to form his own business. Wonder if John can create a spot in the vacancy for Bill? Drive a tractor? Tosh!!

    • It’s nice to be able to leave at a time when you’re credible.

      hahahahahahahahaha

      Any pretence of him ever being credible is now gone.

  5. R.P. Mcmurphy 5

    both of those nitwits have gone now.
    the country is set to sail on new seas.
    tonight the nationals imploded in the house and labour too slick for them.
    When the new crop of labour mps get going they will massacre the opposition.

  6. mac1 6

    “Come back, Winston, all is forgiven.”

    In a stunning volte-face, Winston Peters revealed that he has been approached by National to become their leader.

    He has accepted, taking his caucus with him, thus not allowing Simon Bridges in time to become NZ’s first Maori Prime Minister.

    From King-Maker to King in 120 days. Peters said that this has been his long term strategy. He also said that this could not be construed as hypocritical waka-jumping since he was “just reboarding the canoe.”

    He further considered a diet of rats to be suitable kai for his new crew.

    Meanwhile in other counter-factual history……..

    • ianmac 6.1

      Jolly good mac1. Must be tempting for Winston to stay as at least this year he will be acting-PM for a while when Jacinda delivers a baby. (But anyway would National keep its word as after jumping, Winston could hardly go back to Labour.)
      Phew. Real world sounds better.

    • mac1 6.2

      ………………. England have just beat New Zealand at Wellington.

      • James 6.2.1

        Umm nope. Black caps won.

        • mac1 6.2.1.1

          Refer my post #6 above. The trick is to consider ‘context’, James!

          • James 6.2.1.1.1

            As it was a new thread I hadn’t read your prior post.

            • mac1 6.2.1.1.1.1

              All part of #6. As I said context is everything. It makes sense of what might seem nonsensical.

              I know that you so believe that I believe what I write is true that you couldn’t see that what I wrote I didn’t believe, being too readily accessible to the idea that lefties are thick, get it wrong, and certainly have no sense either of humour or of the ridiculous.

              Now, did I believe that?

            • Molly 6.2.1.1.1.2

              Your admission that you fail to read before commenting explains a lot about your usual engagement here on TS.

              • James

                Molls – reading on iPhone – some threads don’t follow well – as I said. This thought it was a new comment.

                Peace out.

                • Molly

                  Goes to prove, never safe from surprises until you are dead! – a latent hippy inside James, who would’ve thunk it – 🙂

Leave a Comment

Show Tags

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Red letter day for the East Coast
    It’s a red letter day for the people of Tairāwhiti and Hawkes Bay who will be delighted with the $9.2 million dollars that the Government will spend in the region this year, says Ikaroa Rāwhiti MP the Hon Meka Whaitiri. ...
    21 hours ago
  • Government announces review of organisational culture and processes at the Human Rights Commission
    Justice Minister Andrew Little today announced that he has ordered a review of the procedures and organisational culture at the New Zealand Human Rights Commission, following recent concerns about the handling of allegations of sexual harassment. ...
    3 days ago
  • Andrew Little attends World Government Summit
    Justice Minister Andrew Little will today represent New Zealand at the World Government Summit in Dubai, United Arab Emirates (UAE). ...
    2 weeks ago
  • We should all have documents with dignity
    Trans and intersex people in our community have been waiting too long for the dignity they deserve. It’s been a decade since the Human Rights Commission first highlighted the need to simplify the process for trans and intersex people to ...
    GreensBy Jan Logie
    2 weeks ago
  • Waitangi 2018 photo essay
    Last week heralded what felt like a historic moment at Waitangi. Proceedings moved from Te Tii Marae – a change deserving of its own discussion – to the Upper Marae, and both Government and Opposition Members of Parliament were welcomed ...
    GreensBy Chlöe Swarbrick
    2 weeks ago
  • Fixing health AND the climate
    I had the absolute delight of visiting Middlemore Hospital this week to celebrate their success in tackling climate change. Counties-Manukau DHB have managed to lower their carbon emissions by 20 per cent over five years. Not only is this great ...
    GreensBy Julie Anne Genter
    2 weeks ago