Daily Review 13/03/2018

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, March 13th, 2018 - 42 comments
Categories: uncategorized - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

42 comments on “Daily Review 13/03/2018”

  1. Anne 1

    Who is feeding Newsroom with all this information about the Young Labour Camp incident?

    It’s got to be someone who was actually present or someone who has been given information by someone who was present and is passing it on:

    https://www.tvnz.co.nz/one-news/new-zealand/watch-young-people-dance-labour-party-summer-camp-which-sexual-assault-allegations-emerged

    Newsroom is doing no-one any favours – least of all the victims – by handling this story in a semi-salacious way. It looks to me like a typical teenage party and nothing more than that – apart from what appears to have happened later.

    Shame on them!

    • weka 1.1

      I can’t believe that TVNZ are running that video.

      (It’s possible that there are photos and videos on social media from that weekend).

      • Anne 1.1.1

        Yes weka. I made a mistake there. Newsroom outed the story yesterday… TVNZ have just made it a damm sight worse for the victims and their Young Labour associates.

        They are the absolute pits.

    • Stunned Mullet 1.2

      “Who is feeding Newsroom with all this information about the Young Labour Camp incident?”

      Possibly one of the victims or their friends family who feel somewhat perturbed by what has occurred ?

      • Anne 1.2.1

        Well, if you are correct – which I doubt – then they are making matters far worse for themselves. Salacious takes on what happened are so not in the interest of the victims.

        I think it is more likely a political move to embarrass Labour. Even more shameful if that proves to be so.

        • Stunned Mullet 1.2.1.1

          🙄 I find the ongoing outrage regarding the coverage from a number of commenters on this site to be of overpowering redolence.

          • Barfly 1.2.1.1.1

            “The word redolence almost always refers to the very best odors and scents.”

            SPIT IT OUT THERE Young fellow…is there something you are failing to say?

          • WILD KATIPO 1.2.1.1.2

            Darren Watson | National Guy – YouTube
            Video for Darren Watson – National Guy (from Too Many Millionaires)▶ 5:05

    • Carolyn_Nth 1.3

      there’s been quite a bit of criticism of TVNZ on twitter for showing and posting that video.

      TV One tweet and responses below it.

    • patricia bremner 1.4

      I said earlier, they probably have plants in all parties.

      • Anne 1.4.1

        Yes. Back in the 1970s when I was an innocent young political novice, I was befriended by one of them. I took her to be a genuine friend until I discovered otherwise well down the track. A devastating experience.

  2. weka 2


    Russell Brown
    ‏ @publicaddress

    Russell Brown Retweeted Taxpayers’ Union

    “The Spinoff pursues a Whaleoil business model, launching hit pieces on individuals it deems politically unacceptable. The theft of this business idea from our founder Jordan Williams is an outrage.”

    https://twitter.com/publicaddress/status/973394379300790272

    😉

  3. Macro 3

    An excellent article on Tui Motu on food security in New Zealand.

    CHRIS FARRELLY reflects on the hope of the City Mission to realise the Maori proverb: Nā tō rourou, nā taku rourou, ka ora ai te iwi. With your food basket and my food basket, the people will be well.

    For the three weeks leading up to Christmas, hundreds of people queued for food parcels every day outside the Auckland City Mission. Some slept on the footpath overnight, waiting up to nine hours in all weathers — in the glare of the public and the media — on one of Auckland’s busiest streets. They were days of shame, questioning, generosity, gratitude and pain. In those three weeks the Mission gave out 4,677 food parcels — 64,000 individual meals.

    Each individual in the queue was part of a greater family unit. There were always children involved somewhere. Usually they were waiting at home with another family member, but sometimes — desperately — they stood in line with their mothers.

    ….

    Food Insecurity

    Next to the Salvation Army (nationwide), the Auckland City Mission is the second largest charitable distributor of food in New Zealand. Through our assessments and research last year, we learned that for families receiving our food assistance on average each family member had just $21.94 per week available for grocery items, including toiletries, cleaners and other items. That is $3.13 per day.

    This is food insecurity and food poverty and it is widespread. The University of Otago 2016 Food Survey estimates basic weekly food costs are $64 per week for a man, $55 for a woman, $67 for an adolescent boy, $40 for a five-year-old and $27 for a one-year-old.

    Food insecurity is the state of being without reliable access to a sufficient quantity of affordable, nutritious food on a day-to-day basis, and an assured ability to acquire acceptable foods in socially acceptable ways, for example, without resorting to emergency food supplies, scavenging, begging or stealing as other coping strategies.

    The rest of the article examines the responsibilities of Central Government – which as the UN’s Special Rapporteur on the Right to Food, recently noted – that governments are in danger of failing in their duty “to project” under the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (IESCR), which states that all citizens should have access to an adequate diet without having to compromise other basic needs.

    As the article points out – the problem of food insecurity is especially difficult for Māori and in complete contravention of the country’s obligations under Te Triti.

    In our country Te Tiriti o Waitangi offers an added dimension of protection for Māori and protection of their treasures — of which food is one of the greatest. We cannot focus on food insecurity without addressing the terrible reality that those suffering most are Māori, and as such Te Tiriti is being violated. And the problem has deep-seated roots; in his book Whaiora Professor Sir Mason Durie has linked food insecurity for Māori to early colonial policies.

    It was this very real canker that lies at the heart of our society that lead Metiria Turei to campaign on the real need to eliminate poverty in this country. We need to continue to press hard for social justice to roll down like a river, and in doing so –

    As we address the unjust issue of food insecurity in Aotearoa New Zealand, we must ask what gifts are we bringing in our food basket and how can we enable others to contribute in a way that restores voice, dignity and mana.

    I recommend reading the whole article here:

  4. joe90 4

    There’s a domestic terrorist on the loose in Texas.

    Blasts from two package bombs killed a teenage boy and injured two women Monday in Austin, Texas, in what police are investigating as possible hate crimes committed by a serial bomber.

    A third exploding package killed an African-American man and wounded another on March 2.

    Monday’s blast went off at 6:45 a.m., police said, after the 17-year-old boy brought the package into his home in the Spring Hill neighborhood and started to open it.

    http://www.nydailynews.com/news/national/killed-wounded-explosions-strike-austin-homes-article-1.3870217?

  5. The Fairy Godmother 5

    The mother of a daughter who was at the camp says her daughter was not aware of any of this stuff or of any drinking. I would love to know who is driving this. It might be gossip or inuendo. There were 25 at the camp.

    • Barfly 5.1

      “black ops are good ” DPF…./sarc

      • The Fairy Godmother 5.1.1

        Is there something you know you are not letting on. Tell me more or buzz off to another pile of manure.

    • AsleepWhileWalking 5.2

      It’s possible the sexual assaults weren’t spread around the camp.

      No drinking at all? Do you know if the daughter recognised anyone in the video and can confirm if they attended?

      • The Fairy Godmother 5.2.1

        I said not aware of it. Maybe the drinking was not done in the open and not everyone was involved. Could be the organisers were not aware of it either. Sometimes young people do things in secret.

        • james 5.2.1.1

          Yes – it seemed very quiet and hushed.

          Its a small camp – you heard the noise in the video.

  6. Anne 6

    An official inquiry into the incidents described in Nicky Hager’s book “Hit and Run” must surely be inevitable now:

    http://norightturn.blogspot.co.nz/2018/03/nzdf-admits-they-lied.html

    • mary_a 6.1

      @ Anne (6) … Wayne Mapp might be able to do some explaining about this new, but unsurprising information, as I believe he was Minister of Defence in the Key led government at the time.

      Keating has to be dismissed after what’s just been revealed. He lied to the public and to media, disputing NZDF were in the area at the time of the raid(s), stating they were elsewhere.

      And last but certainly not least, the part John Key as National PM played, authorising the raid(s), as well as the lies, deception and cover up that followed. Key must be held up to hard scrutiny over this now.

      • Anne 6.1.1

        I don’t recall the actual details but my recollection is: Wayne Mapp didn’t dispute Hager’s and Stephenson’s claims, but he did reveal he had accepted the Defence Force’s version of events at the time. Something like that.

        I read that book – parts of it twice – and there’s no way the authors made up any of it. Apart from a minor geographical error – which was actually an error made by the interpreter they were using when interviewing the villagers – the events described were obviously correct.

        Bill English conveniently didn’t read the book and relied solely on what we now know was a D.F. cover-up.

      • Exkiwiforces 6.1.2

        With the NZSAS being a Force Level unit in the Gan and as I believe at time it wasn’t under OPCON (operational command) of the NZ National Senior Commander at time, only for Admin and log reasons. So any go or no go operational orders at the Force Level has to be signed off the PM and his or her’s inner circle depending on the task at hand.

        Mr Mapp’s role would’ve to sight the operational order and Initial the Op ORD while at the same time he would be or should’ve been asking questions like legal, possible civilian casualties / deaths, most likely course of action and worst likely course of action by the Assaulting Troops etc. etc. before its given to the PM for the final signing off and again the PM should be asking questions as well.

        Any possible operational taskings etc. should come from the PM and or his or her inner circle, but in saying that there may be the odd time an Op Ord/ Tasking etc. may possibly coming from the Special Forces Advisor attach from within the Force Element Command from within the Operational Theatre for approval to further advance the rough plan into a more formal Op Ord for the final go or no go by the PM.

        There are a lot of checks and balances along the way like legal, Admin and Log, Most likely COA and Worst likely COA. But the Buck starts, stops and Ends with the PM at Force Level Operations.

        Note: When the NZSAS/ Special Forces are use in a Tactical role like in East Timor they would be assigned to the Force Commander or to the Tactical Commander depending on the Task at hand with oversight from the overall National Commander who would then report to someone in back in NZ.

        The NZSAS was in Gan at the time were undertaking Counter Terrorist Ops/ Training the Host Nation in Counter Terrorist Training in Kabul. So the only way the NZSAS could be diverted from its current tasking at the time had to come from the PM under the advice of his Military advisors or SF advisor or by himself and then it should’ve the role of his military advisors etc to pull him into line before things get very untidy. A good example of this happening is when David Large tried to order the NZSAS into Fiji in 1984 Coup. Going in half cock without all the facts is a no- no regardless who’s in charge. I’ve told the odd commander to go and f*** himself or words to that effect when I’ve felt something wasn’t right, dodgy or when you get the seventh or eighth sense that something isn’t quite right.

        • Molly 6.1.2.1

          Thanks, it’s good to know what the correct procedures would be?

          Just as an aside, do you think there has been a culture change in the NZDF since Coleman did the civilianisation project? And with the influx of British officers and military in the last few years?

          • Exkiwiforces 6.1.2.1.1

            To answer your questions:-

            Coleman was Key’s and Bill English’s hatchet man (remember what he did to Health) as they and along with the wonks in the Treasury Dept want to make further cuts to Defence as the then MofD Mr Mapp and his 2ic Ms H Roy along with old Jonesy the then CDF at time, said the cuts won’t work as it would unlikely achieve the Value for Money that saying Treasury saying it would’ve achieve.
            Also it undo the work of Phil Goff and Jonesy did after the Coles Report into the Project Protector, the three Auditor General Reports/ Inquiry’s into the LAV’s, NH-90’s and the C-130 upgrade and rebuilding the NZDF after the train wreck left by the Muppets Mark Burton and the Fergie, Dodson and Jerry Show which did untold damage to the NZDF. But in saying that some that damage can also be traced back to the last National Government from 91-99 defence cut and lack of investment into the NZDF.

            As for the influx of ex Brit Officers/ SNCO’s/ OR’s (should be all Commonwealth nations) has been going on for years since the end of the WW2 and even then it has a careful and strict vetting/ selection process IRT our values both as country and the NZDF. For the Army it has been the through the Regiment links between NZ and the Commonwealth ie. the Light Infantry Regiments and Royal Marines. RNZAF its been the relative to the Flying SQN’s ie Maritime/ Strike/ CAS (When we had the Strike Wing), Fixed and Rotor Wing Airlift, Maritime Patrol and of late the ex RAF Regiment in the RNZAF Force Protection FLTs. Unsure about the Senior Service. Any bad apples are sent home or pensioned off but I believe they very few and far between.

            The real problem has been the Mandarins from the UK Civil Service infecting the likes of the MOD, Health Dept etc when they bring their crap ideas (like the Salami Cuts aka Cuts by stealth) and Policy ideas which have already failed in the UK ie the MOD NHS etc. etc.

            There are few good books out about the British MOD/ Foreign Office/ Government and the Military during the Iraq and Afghan Wars.

            I’ve just finish this Kindle Book called “High Command, British Military Leadership in the Iraq and Afghan Wars” and about to buy one called Blair and his Generals. Talk about major policy fails (before, during and after), intelligence failures/ cock ups, cock ups and going in half cock.
            That’s before we even get to the cover ups by the civil service with the MOD etc. As some of my mates in the Brit Army and RAF Regt said we were really not sure who our enemy was sometimes the Locals in Iraq, Afghan or the Muppets within the MOD, the Foreign Office etc or in Whitehall.

            • Molly 6.1.2.1.1.1

              Thanks, didn’t have a chance to get back to this before now.

              I did understand a bit beforehand, but that has given me more detail about the changes.

        • Carolyn_Nth 6.1.2.2

          The book claims John Key gave the green light to the raid.

          The authors said the raid – in response to the death of Lieutenant Tim O’Donnell from a roadside bomb – New Zealand’s first combat death in Afghanistan – was given the green light by Prime Minister John Key in person but it was based on flimsy intelligence.

          Other sources say Key made the decision after being briefed by Wayne Mapp.

  7. AsleepWhileWalking 7

    An informative article by Brian Eastern, particularly the history of our welfare system.

    I would say a “must read” for anyone who cares about beneficiaries.

    https://www.pundit.co.nz/content/redesigning-the-welfare-state

  8. AsleepWhileWalking 8

    Work and Income ignoring a Social Security Appeals Authority decision – action Minister?

    http://www.scoop.co.nz/stories/PO1803/S00165/work-and-income-ignores-duty-to-assist-people.htm

    • Draco T Bastard 8.1

      Those managers need to be fired for dereliction of duty.

      Show that there are consequences for managers for ignoring the law.

  9. adam 9

    How backwards can you get. trump is now calling for the death penalty for drug traffickers. How many in the killing in Singapore and the Philippines have been a cover for removing political opposition? China does it, they just label someone a trafficker after they shoot them. Lets not forget this will be used against people of colour first.

    https://freespeech.org/stories/death-to-drug-dealers-trump-threatens-to-ramp-up-drug-war-praising-efforts-in-philippines-china/

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Ngāti Hinerangi and Crown initial Deed of Settlement
    The Crown and Ngāti Hinerangi have initialed a Deed of Settlement for the iwi historical Treaty claims, Treaty of Waitangi Negotiations Minister Andrew Little announced today. ...
    4 days ago
  • Ngāti Tūwharetoa passes third reading
    Minister for Treaty of Waitangi Negotiations, Andrew Little, today welcomed Te Ariki Tā Tumu Te Heuheu and members of Ngāti Tūwharetoa to Parliament to witness the Third Reading of their Treaty Settlement legislation, the Ngāti Tūwharetoa Claims Settlement Bill. ...
    5 days ago
  • Crackdown on synthetic drug dealers
    Crackdown on synthetic drug dealers  The Government is responding to increased drug-related deaths by cracking down on the suppliers of synthetic drugs while making it easier for those with addiction problems to get treatment, Health Minister Dr David Clark ...
    5 days ago
  • Milestone in Police recruitment
    A milestone in Police recruitment has been achieved with the deployment of more than 1,000 new constables around the country since the government was formed. Deputy Prime Minister Winston Peters and Police Minister Stuart Nash congratulated graduates of Wing 321 ...
    6 days ago
  • Government ropes in livestock rustling
    Justice Minister Andrew Little today introduced a supplementary order paper (SOP) on the Crimes Amendment Bill to crack down on livestock rustling. ...
    6 days ago
  • Small business the focus of Australian talks
    Efforts to progress a seamless trans-Tasman business environment will take another step at a ministerial roundtable meeting in Sydney tomorrow. Small Business Minister Stuart Nash and Australian Assistant Treasurer Stuart Robert will co-host a roundtable meeting of senior government and ...
    1 week ago
  • Andrew Little – Speech to Amnesty International event to mark the 70th Anniversary of the Univ...
    ANDREW LITTLE - SPEECH TO AMNESTY INTERNATIONAL EVENT TO MARK THE 70TH ANNIVERSARY OF THE UNIVERSAL DECLARATION OF HUMAN RIGHTS ON WORLD HUMAN RIGHTS DAY, PARLIAMENT, WELLINGTON ...
    1 week ago
  • Tax reforms focus on fairness
    New tax legislation has been introduced to Parliament to ensure greater fairness in the way the tax system shapes commerce, investment decisions and social policies. Revenue Minister Stuart Nash has introduced the Taxation (Annual Rates for 2019-20, GST Offshore Supplier ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Preventing death and injury on our roads
    Police Minister Stuart Nash and Associate Minister of Transport Julie Anne Genter are encouraging road users to be alert to a new safety campaign launched today by Police and the NZ Transport Agency in the lead up to the Christmas. ...
    3 weeks ago