Daily Review 13/03/2016

Written By: - Date published: 6:00 pm, March 23rd, 2016 - 40 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Refugee sorry for brussels belgium

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

40 comments on “Daily Review 13/03/2016”

  1. dv 1

    Further development re Youi insurance
    Commerce Commission’s Youi probe in final stages as prudential regulator the Reserve Bank notes ‘important and serious issues and allegations’

    http://www.interest.co.nz/insurance/80722/commerce-commissions-youi-probe-final-stages-prudential-regulator-reserve-bank-notes

    Reserve bank investigating

    This is an Aussie review site
    http://www.productreview.com.au/p/youi-car-insurance.html

    638 reviews – 494 bad and terrible.
    Well worth reading

    BEWARE!!!!

  2. weka 2

    FWIW, of 19000 readers of Stuff so far, 58% think we should have a UBI.

    The question was,

    Should a ‘universal income’ be paid to every adult NZer?

    Yes, it would be fairer than what we have now

    No, the country will go broke.

    (I’m ignoring the change in tense between options, and the redundancy of using the ‘universal income’ alongside ‘every’).

    http://www.stuff.co.nz/national/politics/78100200/labour-party-considering-universal-income-of-11000-a-year-for-all-kiwis

    • ianmac 2.1

      weka. I printed off your notes from 2:15pm and use them to show interested people what UBI might look like.
      Key was dismissive (sneering?) as the last word on TV 1 report on the Future of Work Conference. It is what the Government should be doing so watch out. They will combat with something reptilian.

      • weka 2.1.1

        Someone should check the maths before you share it too much Ian!

        Key, it’s like he’s got nothing but pointing at Labour and saying they’re bad. As if being PM is about destroying the opposition, never mind the merits of the ideas.

        • BM 2.1.1.1

          And visa versa

          • arkie 2.1.1.1.1

            Haha good one, I think you left the /s off!

          • Draco T Bastard 2.1.1.1.2

            No, the Left actually provides criticism. The RWNJ that we have as PM just slags off everything that Labour and the Left have to say. And then steals the idea, fucks it up so that his rich mates can get richer from it, and implements it.

        • ianmac 2.1.1.2

          For many people it is the general principles that matter. Understood that numbers can alter/modify but figures like the ones you published put a lie to the wild exaggerations of Key, Hosking, Farrar etc.

          Key said, that a Universal basic income would be “barking mad”.
          Getting bothered John?

          • BM 2.1.1.2.1

            Trust me, John’s on the side of the majority here.

            This is just crazy out there Labour, being crazy and out there again.

            Off in their own little dream world.

            • weka 2.1.1.2.1.1

              lolz. You really talk some super shit sometimes BM. Did you see the poll in the thread you are replying to?

              • AmaKiwi

                Politicians are in it for the power. Power means turning everything upside down; “fixing” the country.

                The average voter wants consistency, reliability. That’s why they are right to distrust all politicians.

                If you support a Universal Basic Income, organize outside of political parties. Then the parties can say, “We are making these changes because the people demand it.”

                The Labour Party advocating UBI will be another nail in Labour’s coffin.

                Signed,

                A long-time Labour party member and supporter

            • Foreign waka 2.1.1.2.1.2

              The proposed amount of $ 200.00 would keep many in extreme poverty really, as it is also proposed that all (and this means every) other assistance would cease. Looking towards 20 years from now this would affect the majority of people. Zero hours will be seen as a god send.
              I belief that, once the universal income is established it will most likely exhilarate the automation of workplaces.
              The concept is worth looking at but there has to be a balance and a lot more investigation regarding feasibility and financial planning.
              The concept of work is also more than having an income. Not being able to participate in and for a community in a meaningful way has for most devastating psychological consequences.

            • Draco T Bastard 2.1.1.2.1.3

              Trust me, John’s on the side of the majority here.

              Yeah, no. FJK is on the side of the rich and intends to stay there so he’ll keep doing what it takes to make them richer up to and including screwing everybody else.

        • Draco T Bastard 2.1.1.3

          Someone should check the maths before you share it too much Ian!

          I made a spreadsheet of it several moons ago.

          • weka 2.1.1.3.1

            Thanks! Do you want to do one for $10,000 UBI, just because that’s what people are talking about and it would be good to have a comparison?

            How did you choose the flat tax rate?

            • Draco T Bastard 2.1.1.3.1.1

              That one can be edited*. All you have to do is alter the Universal Income value.

              * If I see people fucking with it I’ll close it down and delete it.

  3. alwyn 3

    Does someone happen to know where the photo at the top of this post was taken?
    It has a French Credit, but the sign is in English.
    I wonder if it simply shows how English is taking over the world.
    After all French is an official language in Belgium and is the first language of about 40% of the population. Someone in France, if that is where he is, could easily have used French.

    • ianmac 3.1

      Some of the newly arrived refugees were writing their own signs to show solidarity with Belguim. As expected leave it to alwyn to pick un-necessary holes. Sigh.

      • alwyn 3.1.1

        You really are a silly little fellow aren’t you?
        All you needed to say is that he was a recently arrived refugee.
        The only unnecessary hole I can think of is your mouth, after that remark.

    • Sabine 3.2

      actually Belgium has several languages, and depending where you are in the Country people will not forcible speak french, but either german and/or dutch. All three languages are the ‘official’ languages of the Country.
      Then there are a myriad of other more regional dialects that are all still spoken, written and well alive.

      https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Languages_of_Belgium

      The picture is supposedly a syrian refugee, and guess what, a lot of the Syrian refugees are highly educated, speaking english, and french as second/third languages. I would assume that using english would be the more ‘worldy’ language as there are a lot of english speaking people that only ever speak english, often having learned no other language but english.

      • Halfcrown 3.2.1

        Thanks for that Sabine, I always thought the official language of Belgium was French

      • alwyn 3.2.2

        Thank you. So they were not, at least for any length of time, French residents.
        That makes perfect sense then.
        I took it as being to the people of Belgium, rather than a general comment to the world.

  4. Heather Tanguay 4

    I have to say I think it very strange, where Jono gets a $1000 fine for sitting up a Kauri Tree and a Wellington business man who had 20,000 child prom photos on his computer, gets off free, because he is a good father.
    Something is very wrong here.

    • Whispering Kate 4.1

      I hope his wife (if he has one) will punish him by leaving him and take the children with her and if not her wider family will remove the children from the house for their safety. Heather, the law in this country is an ass. I presume he got name suppression as well. Sickening.

    • Bearded Git 4.2

      Is there a give-a-little site for Jono?

  5. tc 5

    Msm distraction update.

    Half the front page of the waikato times today was an article about why you aren’t loading your dishwasher properly or similar.

    I was so taken aback by the size and position I forgot to see what crucial advice Alison gofton had for me on the important issue of today.

  6. Muttonbird 6

    Vic Crone doesn’t even know the election bylaws so how on earth is she able to run the Supercity?

    http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=11610703

    • Whateva next? 6.1

      Isn’t she being advised by the same clowns that suggested using eminem’s work for an election campaign though? Legal enough?

      • Muttonbird 6.1.1

        Indeed. I assume that will be her approach to the mayoralty. Pretty legal is legal enough.

    • alwyn 6.2

      Probably she is as thick as Meteria Turei who, after nearly 14 years as an MP doesn’t even know who is New Zealand’s Head of State.
      Why do you expect Politicians in general to have any brains?
      PS. Did you see my request for a link to the Key/Banks conversation?

      • Muttonbird 6.2.1

        The transcript is easily available on this or one of the other threads on the subject. I’m surprised you haven’t read it. Poor research on your part.

        • alwyn 6.2.1.1

          Humour me.
          If you know where it is tell me.
          As far as I am aware you wouldn’t be breaking any law by doing so.
          On the other hand if you don’t know how to find it just say so.

  7. ianmac 7

    Might be useful about UBI to see how the Swiss are getting on:
    “This June, Switzerland will be the first country to actually vote on a basic income. The country’s Federal Council recently approved a ballot measure (#2015 8727) that would give all adults about $2,500 a month (2500 Swiss Francs), and kids about $625 a month.”……
    “…The Swiss public is split, though skeptical so far. A (non-representative) online survey found that 49% of people would vote for the initiative, while 43% would vote against. But a better, more recent poll found that only 3% believe the referendum will produce a basic income this year. Fifty-six percent said a basic income will never happen, although a majority of respondents under age 35 said it will materialize at some point.”
    http://www.fastcoexist.com/3056339/switzerland-will-hold-the-worlds-first-universal-basic-income-referendum

    • millsy 7.1

      If the Swiss vote it down, then it will knock the whole concept back for a generation.

  8. Draco T Bastard 8

    Have You Seen This Response To Terrorism Anywhere?

    Sadly, it is very difficult to prevent casualties such as those in the recent terror attacks in Madrid, London, Paris, Brussels or elsewhere, without violating basic human rights and abandoning hard-won liberties. Our ancestors have given their lives for these rights and liberties and we are equally willing to pay that price. However, there are ~1.2M preventable deaths in Europe alone every year. These deaths are due to causes such as lung cancer, accidental injuries, alcohol related diseases, suicides and self-inflicted injuries. With even in the 1970s and 1980s terrorist-related fatalities never exceeding 500 per year, we are confident that we will be able, from now on, to save at least 100 lives for every one that is being taken in a terrorist attack.

    We could do so much, instead we’re spending huge amounts of resources and human lives to achieve very little.

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Strong first week of firearms buy-back events
    The first full week of the firearms buy-back and amnesty has produced a strong turnout as events roll out nationwide for the first time. “Momentum is slowly starting to build as community collection events are held across the entire country, ...
    1 day ago
  • New digital service to make business easy
    A new digital platform aims to make it easier for small businesses to access services from multiple government agencies, leaving them more time to focus on their own priorities. Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern and Minister for Small Business Stuart Nash ...
    1 week ago
  • Million-dollar start to gun collection events
    Million-dollar start to gun collection events  Police Minister Stuart Nash says a solid start has been made to the gun buyback and amnesty after the first weekend of community collection events. “Gun owners will walk away with more than ...
    1 week ago
  • Praise after first firearms collection event
    Police Minister Stuart Nash has praised Police and gun owners after the first firearms collection event saw a busy turnout at Riccarton Racecourse in Christchurch. “Police officers and staff have put a tremendous effort into planning and logistics for the ...
    1 week ago
  • New Police constables deployed to regions
    Seventy-eight new Police constables are heading out to the regions following today’s graduation of a new recruit wing from the Royal New Zealand Police College. Police Minister Stuart Nash says the record high number of new Police officers being recruited, ...
    2 weeks ago