Daily Review 16/08/2018

Written By: - Date published: 5:42 pm, August 16th, 2018 - 36 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

36 comments on “Daily Review 16/08/2018”

  1. Pat 3

    “Access to water is already a matter of life and death, with gross inequities in its distribution leading to desperate scrums. In furnace-like conditions, tensions can easily boil over. In Wazirpur in March, a 60-year-old man reportedly died of a heart attack after being beaten with a pipe when an argument broke out over the distribution of water from a tanker.

    The man’s son, Rohit, says his brother also later died from injuries sustained during the fight. “Our family has been here for 30-40 years, but we never imagined someone would die over water – now two people from our family have. This has become normal. Today it’s happened with us, tomorrow it will happen with someone else.”

    https://www.theguardian.com/cities/2018/aug/16/how-delhis-rising-heat-and-a-love-of-concrete-caused-a-deadly-water-crisis

    • Draco T Bastard 3.1

      And this is what I’m afraid of for NZ. When the equatorial states get not much worse than this due to climate change then millions of people are going to be looking for a new home and NZ is going to be one of those targeted places.

      Do we sink them in the Tasman or do we let them in knowing that we can’t support them and won’t be able to get rid of them?

      There is only one correct answer.

      BTW, we also need to be looking at our freshwater run-off from our cities and how we manage it. It would be much better to have it going into the ground than the sea.

      PS, Love the baolis in that article. It’s what I’d call practical market forces.

  2. Robert Guyton 4

    Letters to the editor: The Southland TimesAug 16 2018
    Climate change
    Southland has to pull its weight where climate change is concerned. We don’t want to be thought of as slackers by the rest of the country and there’s plenty we can do to reduce our greenhouse gas emissions. Fonterra has promised to turn off the coal burners at Edendale and make their milk powder using renewable energy, as soon as they can; “”Our targets are ambitious and our commitment to meeting them is resolute, because there is no alternative with climate change,” says the Fonterra spokesman.

    Even the big polluters are joining the campaign to turn back the tide of seriously damaging climate events that are right now frying the northern hemisphere.

    But not the National Party.

    Instead of working with Southlanders, they’ve chosen to try to alarm us, frighten us with veiled hints about “trouble” and “unaffordable sacrifices”.

    In other words, it’s business as usual, according to National’s “climate change” spokesman, Todd Muller, and local National Party MP, Sarah Dowie.

    Who, I wonder, will explain that head-in-the-sand thinking to Todd and Sarah’s grandchildren when they ask,

    “What did we do here in Southland when we learned how serious climate change was?”

    • Kevin 4.1

      Thats because they, fundamentally, do not believe in it.

      • Draco T Bastard 4.1.1

        I think it’s simply don’t care. They’re out to get rich and acknowledging climate change prevent that.

        Quoting Why we cannot afford the rich:

        Is it possible to have a reasonable level of development without excessive carbon emissions? Pacala estimates that as long as incomes across the world were capped at $40,000 per person, CO2 in the atmosphere could be stabilised. While this is probably one of the more optimistic outlooks, researchers Julia Steinberger and Timmons Roberts found that some countries actually combine long life expectancy and a high score on the UN Human Development Index (HDI) with low carbon emissions that would be sustainable if replicated across the globe. What’s more, as technology becomes less carbon intensive, this combination becomes possible for more countries. So there is some evidence that well-being can be decoupled from high carbon emissions. Just as well-being doesn’t require great wealth, the good news about climate change is that nor need well-being cost the earth.

        How much do you think they’d squeal if we capped income at $40,000 globally?

        And yet, that’s what we actually need to do.

        • marty mars 4.1.1.1

          Yes we do need to do it but most won’t and we need all to do it.

          Sadly a lot of conditioning had gone in to convince people their worth is related to their income or wealth. Many men especially really suffer with this one and their real or imagined adequacies attach to a number.

  3. Ian 5

    Hot august night has been around for a long time. Summer in the northern hemisphere can be warm. .Fonterra is being politically correct . spouting your alarmist bullshit to those with their heads in the sand.I love it.

    • ianmac 5.1

      Ian. There have been heat waves in the Northern Hemisphere before but usually in only parts of some countries.
      This time most of the North Hemisphere is being hammered.
      Alarmist?
      Don’t think so.

    • Draco T Bastard 5.2

      True but I don’t recall them happening with such frequency before nor with so many deaths.

  4. ianmac 6

    Bridges gets angry at the naming of the Nat Leaker.
    Dear Gentle Judith closes her eyes and ears to block out the wild Leader’s rage.

    • mac1 6.1

      “Take me to your Leaker?”

      • Draco T Bastard 6.1.1

        Wasn’t it Take me to your lizard?

        Actually, may be it’s the same transliterated for culture.

        • KJT 6.1.1.1

          The hypothesis that right wing politicians are secretly Alien lizards, destroying the human race to make room for their own, has been postulated by several writers, film and TV show makers.

          Evidence, shown by the results, strongly suggests they are correct.

          • mac1 6.1.1.1.1

            Are these alien lizards geckos? Geckos can’t blink, a bit like a politician under the spotlight, so they lick their own eyeballs to keep them clean. A dead giveaway.

            They can also climb vertically on the smoothest surfaces using special pads on their feet. This enables them to climb corporate and political ladders most effectively.

            Geckos can also lose their tails in defence which is really a plus for those attempting to flee whilst being followed.

            They are nocturnal but are easily predated by stoats and weasels.

            This last fact makes me doubt that Bridges and Collins are actually lizards. Well, at least not geckos.

          • corodale 6.1.1.1.2

            Lizard is accurate. These folk don’t develop a higher intellect.
            They remain trapped in the lower, narcissistic, reptilian brain form.
            It does me sorrow to think how these poor folk can’t feel compassion, or other higher human emotions.

            (Travelers to Switzerland may note reptilian detail carved into the stone work of the old buildings. Going alone with the reptilian-alien-banker-overlord hypothesis. But hey, aliens have rights too. So lets try and be nice to everybody. If not us, then who? Who will love the un-lovable?)

  5. marty mars 7

    So sad this shit is happening, today, now – wtf?

    “Indigenous people in the Brazilian Amazon are mourning the murder of a community leader who campaigned to protect the forest from logging amid escalating violence in the region.

    Jorginho Guajajara, a cacique, or leader, of the Guajajara people, was found dead near a river in the city of Arame, Maranhão state, at the weekend.

    Members of the tribe say his death was the result of a fierce conflict provoked by the incursion of loggers into their land. Up to 80 Guajajaras have been killed in the area since 2000.”

    https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2018/aug/16/brazil-jorginho-guajajara-amazon-indigenous-leader

  6. JC 9

    “While a tiny group of Kiwis waits to find out how many millions they’re worth, a massive group waits to find out how much they’ll be underpaid, writes Sam Huggard, secretary of the Council of Trade Unions”

    https://thespinoff.co.nz/society/15-08-2018/happy-rich-list-day-especially-to-the-teachers-and-underpaid-women-of-nz/

    • Ed 9.1

      We cannot afford the rich.
      We should get rid of them.
      Either tax them till they are no longer rich.
      Or provide them with an escort to the airport or dock.
      And talking of docks, in many cases, try them and imprison them

    • corodale 10.1

      Good to see the left and the popularists coming together on one stage. To tame capitalism, for peace, these forces best combine sooner rather than later.

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Membership: Australia and New Zealand Electronic Invoicing Board
    The Governments of Australia and New Zealand have announced the membership of the Australia and New Zealand Electronic Invoicing Board (ANZEIB) today. This is an important step towards implementing e-Invoicing across both countries to help businesses save time and money ...
    7 days ago
  • An end to unnecessary secondary tax
    Workers who are paying too much tax because of incorrect secondary tax codes are in line for relief with the passage of legislation through Parliament late last night. The Taxation (Annual Rates for 2018-19, Modernising Tax Administration, and Remedial Matters) ...
    1 week ago
  • Chatham Islands pāua plan approved
    Efforts to reverse the decline in the Chatham Islands pāua fishery are the focus of a new plan jointly agreed between government, the local community and industry. Fisheries Minister Stuart Nash says the plan was developed by the PauaMAC4 Industry ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Bill introduced for synthetics crackdown
    The Police will get stronger powers of search and seizure to crackdown on synthetic drugs under new legislation, which makes the two main synthetics (5F-ADB and AMB-FUBINACA) Class A drugs. The Government has today introduced the Misuse of Drugs Amendment ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Blasphemous libel law repealed
    The archaic blasphemous libel offence will be repealed following the passing of the Crimes Amendment Bill today, says Justice Minister Andrew Little. ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Coalition Government lassos livestock rustling
    New rules to crack down on livestock rustling will come into force following the passing of the Crimes Amendment Bill says Justice Minister Andrew Little. ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Medieval law axed
    The ‘year and a day rule’ rule will be repealed following the passing of the Crimes Amendment Bill, says Justice Minister Andrew Little. ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Further steps to combat tax evasion
    Further steps to combat tax evasion Revenue Minister Stuart Nash has announced New Zealand is expanding its global ability to combat tax evasion by joining forces with authorities in 30 countries and jurisdictions. Cabinet has agreed to add another ...
    2 weeks ago