Daily Review 17/04/2018

Written By: - Date published: 5:52 pm, April 17th, 2018 - 28 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

28 comments on “Daily Review 17/04/2018”

  1. Carolyn_Nth 1

    What a hateful, uninformed tirade on Checkpoint tonight by Alan Jones in support of Israel Folau’s homophobic hate speech.

    But I guess Jones has form as an ignorant right winger.

    And Marama Davidson explained the issues on twitter yesterday

    Of all the things to use your platform for as Pacific role models. Endorsing hate speech against gay people? When it is Pacific young gay people who are tragically harmed by this bigotry? What a waste of a powerful profile. Disappointed.

    This morning talking with my 23 year old daughter about all this. She is sharing with me heartbreaking stories of her Pacific friends coming ‘out’, the rejection by whānau, and resulting suicides due to this rejection. Stop this harm, stop it now. Use platforms for inclusivity.

    What hateful statements like Israel and Maria Folau’s do, is apply more pressure to families that when your young person comes ‘out’ you are duty bound to reject them. I know there are multitudes of Pacific families who know there is a better way.

    and this: “A lot of people look up to you, Israel. You and your words have power, privilege and meaning. Young kids look up to you as an award-winning sportsman. What you say stays in the hearts and minds of young Australians and Pasefika children.”

    • Ed 1.1

      According to Wikipedia, Folau is attached to an Assemblies of God church.
      Religion does a lot of damage.

      • Gabby 1.1.1

        Poor Israel, will he lose his tattoos to avoid the eternal hellfire?

        • Ed 1.1.1.1

          As Bomber Bradbury puts it

          “The problem with using Leviticus as a basis for law is that it lists a whole bunch of things that were against the law at the time, so if you accept that homosexuals should be put to death, then you will also be wanting to follow the rest of the Leviticus laws that put people to death for eating pork, eating shellfish, charging interest on loans, mating different types of animals, wearing clothing made of two different kinds of material and of course the old planting your fields with two different kinds of seed.”

          • Carolyn_Nth 1.1.1.1.1

            A Pasifika, Christian response to Folau, byTuiloma Lina Samu on Spinof:

            Dear Israel Folau

            At the end of this letter you will see some of the names of Pasifika people you have condemned to hell along with some of our allies.

            We want to let you know that your stance towards our LGBTQI+ people is the antithesis of being Christian.

            We want you to know that the stakes are high for us in Aotearoa, Australia and in the Pacific.

            Our youth suicide rates are the highest in the “developed” world and Pasifika who identify as LGBTQI+ are a significant number of those souls who take their own lives because of the intolerance, rejection and hatred from our own loved ones. While we like to think our Pasifika peoples are some of the most loving of all, you have highlighted that this is often not the case when it comes to LGBTQI+ peoples.


            Our people have to find the courage, faith and the love as my own parents did, otherwise we will be forever locked in a lose-lose situation.

    • Rosemary McDonald 1.2

      Campbell enjoyed the interview, goading the Aussie dinosaur into a near foaming frenzy.

      Natrad gives airtime to these miserable apologies for humans…why?

      Last week, as if arch feral farmer Farrar wasn’t hard enough to abide, Giggly Gym interviewed hate peddler Michael ‘only a mad person would choose to give birth to a disabled baby’ Laws as an augment to Te Banal.

      I despair of our National broadcaster. We all know fwits like Folau are sadly allowed access to social media without adult supervision and we realize that continued outraged commentary merely gives oxygen to their juvenile rantings.

      But hey… it’s all about ratings..

      • Carolyn_Nth 1.2.1

        I was also disappointed that Campbell’s response to the social media responses, was to say opinion was divided. That actually validates the hate speech side.

        • Babayaga 1.2.1.1

          What ‘hate speech’ side? What Falou said is not hate speech. And I’m really interested in the reaction to Sonny Bill’s answer when he’s asked the same question Falou was.

  2. AsleepWhileWalking 2

    Reports 18,000 Syrian refugees have had organs harvested in the last six years – continues

    https://youtu.be/uy0bF-PFpFI

  3. Ed 3

    From the Canary in the U.K.

    ‘A renowned professor brings the West’s Syria propaganda crashing down, live on air.

    Sachs, who has won numerous awards and honours, was speaking to MSNBC about the ongoing Syrian conflict on 12 April. And he said:

    “This is a US mistake that started seven years ago…
    The CIA and Saudi Arabia, together – in covert operations, tried to overthrow Assad. It was a disaster.”

    https://www.thecanary.co/trending/2018/04/16/a-renowned-professor-brings-the-wests-syria-propaganda-crashing-down-live-on-air/

  4. joe90 4

    Turn your back, and the fuckers sneak up on you

    An asteroid similar in size to one that exploded more than 100 years ago in Russia’s Tunguska region in Siberia gave Earth a close shave on Sunday (April 15), just one day after astronomers discovered the object.

    https://www.space.com/40315-asteroid-2018-ge3-surprise-flyby.html

    • Draco T Bastard 4.1

      But, but, space exploration is useless activity and costs soooo much money…

      /sarc

      • One Two 4.1.1

        Yes it’s useless , Draco…

        Space exploration wouldn’t have stopped the astroid…they barely noticed it en route…

        What could space exploration have done to prevent or avoid, ‘a hit’…

        • McFlock 4.1.1.1

          Actually, they probably could nuke an object a few hundred metres wide with only limited notice.

          But more exploration would give more notice to plan something less improvised.

        • Draco T Bastard 4.1.1.2

          Space exploration wouldn’t have stopped the astroid…

          Actually, it could have:

          University engineers in Glasgow are developing an innovative technique based on lasers that could radically change asteroid deflection technology.

          The research at the University in Glasgow has unearthed the possibility of using a swarm of relatively small satellites flying in formation and cooperatively firing solar-powered lasers onto an asteroid – this would overcome the difficulties associated with current methods that are focused on large unwieldy spacecraft.

          And that’s just one example. There are numerous others that use technology that’s already available.

          they barely noticed it en route…

          Which actually cries out for more space exploration – not less. We have absolutely no chance of finding these dangerous, world destroying asteroids, if we’re not even looking.

          What could space exploration have done to prevent or avoid, ‘a hit’…

          It develops the technology to deflect asteroids (and capture them as well for that matter) and the technology to find them so that we know that they’re coming in time to do something about it.

    • Pat 4.2

      bugger…you might be interested in this then…Cinny recomended, and is good (have watched first one)

      https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/One_Strange_Rock

    • McFlock 4.3

      heh

      the astronomers who first saw it must have kacked their pants

  5. Andre 5

    Since no-one else is taking the bait of today’s topical image, maybe I will.

    … on second thought, I’ll let Stephen Colbert take it away.

    https://www.thedailybeast.com/stephen-colbert-is-dying-to-know-who-sean-hannity-had-sex-with?ref=home

  6. joe90 6

    Best of the web.

    The Louisiana Senate just banned sex with animals on a 25-10 vote.The 10?All Republicans.— Denizcan James (@MrFilmkritik) April 13, 2018

    That's because animals can't file lawsuits and won't tell their wives.— Politics RX (@PoliticsRX) April 13, 2018

    • McFlock 6.1

      Well, they’re beholden to the well-known bestiality lobby.

      It’s obviously not against Leviticus to screw an ass on the grass, just as long as you don’t screw that ass in its arse.

  7. Ed 7

    The latest from Craig Murray.

    “Living in Goebbels Land.

    So a tiny independent radio station in Ireland managed to interview Robert Fisk on the ground in Douma, but none of the British mainstream broadcast media today has him on, despite the political fallout from our Syria bombing attacks being the main news story everywhere? Meantime MSM propagandists including Richard Hall (BBC), Dan Hodges (Mail) and Brian Whitaker (Guardian) and many more queue up to denounce Fisk on twitter from their cosy armchairs.

    It bears repeating that the information on the alleged gas attacks – which raises great doubt but which Fisk himself does not claim as definitive – is not the most important part of Fisk’s article. The Hell of rule under the jihadists that we in the West are arming, funding, training, “military advising” and giving air support, alongside Saudi Arabia and Israel, is the indisputable and much more important element of Fisk’s report, as is the clear evidence he provides that the White Helmets are part of the jihadist factions.”

    https://www.craigmurray.org.uk/archives/2018/04/living-in-goebbels-land/

  8. Ed 8

    From Robin Westenra’s excellent website.

    Another perspective.
    Paul Craig Roberts.
    He was the United States Assistant Secretary of the Treasury for Economic Policy under President Reagan in 1981.

    “It speaks to the humanity and moral greatness of the Russian government led by Vladimir Putin that Russia consented to a pretend attack in order that Donald Trump could save face. Unfortunately for us all, the consequences of Russia’s generosity will not be the thanks that the Russians deserve. Russia and Putin will get no credit for saving Trump from having to back down or have his naval flotilla sunk and his bombers shot down.
    Russia is intent on avoiding a conflict, not because Russia is scared of the US military, but because Russia understands it is dealing with a government of psychopaths that are willing to destroy not only seven Muslim countries in whole or part within the past 17 years, but also the entirety of humanity. Therefore, Putin sidesteps each orchestrated confrontation and stands on international law and legal norms.
    The result, however, is not what a humane person would expect. The result of Russian humaneness is to provoke more provocations from the evil that is the West.”

    https://www.paulcraigroberts.org/2018/04/14/russias-humanity-moral-conscience-leading-war/

    • joe90 8.1

      He was Ronnie Raygun’s supply side guru, you know, one of the pricks responsible for neo-liberal shit fight that you say you loathe.

      • mauī 8.1.1

        No idea what he did under Reagans presidency, but his present analysis on the united states and geopolitics in general makes a lot of sense. One of the few true antidotes to a broken media.

      • Ed 8.1.2

        Have you read his articles?

        • joe90 8.1.2.1

          His economic philosophy was behind the reforms that all but ruined my community, cost friends and family their jobs, relationships and homes and in a few cases, their lives. The whole town resembled the Boys From The Blackstuff Green Man pub scene.

          Personally, I was made redundant three times, 1988, 1992, and the straw that very nearly ruined me was the day in 1998 when both myself and my SO lost our jobs. We were left in debt with a half finished home and endured un/under employment and financial problems, exacerbated by struggles with poor health, substance abuse and the black dog. It took five years to climb out of that particular hole.

          Roberts is stabled at a right-wing Russian think tank that takes it’s name from the Greek word κατέχον, which in Orthodox theology means he who resists the Antichrist, along side the likes of Aleksandr Dugin, Marine Le Pen, Bill Engdahl and assorted anti-Semites and Islamaphobes. The place is fucking Nostradamus come to life, complete with the great clash and the Russian bear riding to the rescue.

          And you expect me to read and take his claptrap seriously?, I don’t fucking think so.

Recent Comments

Recent Posts