web analytics

Daily review 17/12/2021

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, December 17th, 2021 - 60 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

60 comments on “Daily review 17/12/2021 ”

  1. Dennis Frank 1

    Cryptocurrencies such as bitcoin, the most-popular decentralized digital currency, have a notoriously large carbon footprint (bitcoin mining alone consumes about half as much electricity in a year as all of the UK).

    So a couple of guys invented "a machine that harnesses the “waste gas” from oil rigs to power mining for cryptocurrency."

    Their creation is part of a niche wave of tech startups that are now eyeing the oil and gas industry to help power the cryptocurrency boom. Lochmiller and Cavness, who started a bitcoin mining company called Crusoe Energy, see their fix as a marriage between two problems capable of “solving” one another: the wasting of gas flaring that contributes to the climate crisis, and the need for cheaper energy as crypto increases in popularity.

    This cup is only half full. Climate scientists point to the half-empty part – harnessing the flare still produces global warming, even while mitigating it. But here's how the new industry works:

    They install fleets of data centers that hum in shipping container-like structures next to remote oil rigs. Oil producers are then paid for the waste gas they otherwise wouldn’t use because it’s cheaper to burn than to pay to transport to market. In return, Crusoe use the byproduct to power energy-intensive computing operations on-site. The data centers burn through enormous amounts of energy because there’s no centralized “bank” that holds cryptocurrency.

    Instead, new coins are created by solving complex equations that require heavy computing power to authenticate. The currency is then tracked on a decentralized ledger, known as the blockchain, which is also resource-intensive to maintain. The new technology comes amid a “great mining migration” that’s currently underway in the United States after China banned crypto mining in September.

    According to the International Energy Agency (IEA) in 2020, 142bn cubic metres of gas was flared – the energy equivalent of providing electricity to 49m homes.

    Wasting the power of 49 million dwellings is a big waste. Eliminating that wastage is a good idea. The figure that's missing is the overall efficiency gain percentage…

    https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2021/dec/16/crypto-mining-oil-industry-waste-climate-crisis

  2. Gezza 2

    Northland police have arrested six people after tit-for-tat shootings linked to tensions between the Head Hunters and Black Power.

    Meanwhile, a top detective has revealed gang leaders have been unwilling to cooperate with efforts to deescalate tensions between the warring gangs.

    Officers and detectives swooped on several houses in Whangārei on Thursday, arresting four Black Power members or associates and two associates of the Head Hunters.

    They also seized a shotgun, ammunition and a small quantity of unspecified drugs. Five of those arrested face drugs or firearms charges while the sixth was given a pre-charge warning.

    Shortly after midday on December 7, someone is alleged to have fired several shots at the home of the prominent Head Hunter in Mahana Place, Raumanga. The second shooting happened on Sunday, also about midday, in Smeaton Drive, also in Raumanga.

    The tit-for-tat shootings are believed to have been the result of a Black Power member “taxing” a car from the relative of a prominent Head Hunter. In response, a person linked to the Head Hunters attacked and kidnapped a member of Black Power, it is understood.

    More…
    https://www.stuff.co.nz/national/crime/300480986/northland-cops-arrest-six-after-head-hunters-black-power-shootings

    More gangs n guns crap. Good one, the police. Keep up the pressure on these pricks.

  3. Gezza 3

    Where the hell are all these bloody guns coming from? 😠

    A 19-year-old has been charged after a firearms incident in Hamilton that left a second person in a critical condition.

    Police were called to a Kāinga Ora flat on Pukete Rd shortly before 9.30pm on Thursday. A person was taken to Waikato Hospital in a critical condition, and a Waikato District Health Board spokesman said they were in a serious but stable condition on Friday.

    A 19-year-old man appeared in Hamilton District Court on Friday, charged with wounding with intent to injure.

    A man who lives near the scene spoke to Stuff on the basis of anonymity and said he heard a big argument with lots of swearing. He said a person left the house in a car, and things were quiet for 15 minutes, before they returned and two shots were fired.

    The man said the shooter jumped the back fence of the property and fled the scene. It was scary, but he stayed inside his house. He said the group of five state-owned homes made a lot of noise. “We have a lot of trouble with them,” he said.

    A passerby told Stuff there were up to 12 police cars on the road outside a block of units on Thursday night. “We saw two cops with rifles walking up and down the road.”

    Police were still at the property at 12.30pm on Friday.

    https://www.stuff.co.nz/waikato-times/news/300480831/person-seriously-injured-in-hamilton-firearms-incident-19yearold-arrested

  4. arkie 4

    Reminder to boycott Kelloggs products in solidarity with striking workers:

    From Corn Flakes to Nutri-Grain and Coco Pops, New Zealand supermarkets are filled with Kellogg’s products.

    But the food manufacturer has come under fire after it decided to replace 1400 striking workers in the United States last week.

    The bulk of the Kellogg's products sold in New Zealand are produced in Australia, but some products here are also made in Thailand, Belgium and South Korea.

    While none of these products are produced in the American factories, employees in Australia are facing the same workers’ rights issues those in the United States are striking against. And they’re ready to do the same.

    Speaking from Sydney, Mel Gatfield, food and beverage director from Australian trade union, United Workers Union, says “we stand in solidarity with striking Kellogg’s workers”.

    “We stand ready to fight the company if they try to bring what they are doing in the United States here to Australia,” Gatfield says.

    https://www.renews.co.nz/how-the-kelloggs-strike-affects-our-corn-flakes-in-nz/

  5. Dennis Frank 5

    Pickled!

    She recorded a breath alcohol reading of 1448 micrograms per litre of breath. The legal limit is 250mcg.

    https://www.stuff.co.nz/national/crime/127321187/drinkdriver-almost-six-times-the-limit-drove-150km-from-dunedin-to-gore

    They make 'em tough in Gore. I suspect you have to be pickled to face returning…

  6. Dennis Frank 6

    Another Green win from the govt:

    Minister of Conservation Kiri Allan announced the funding from the Government’s Jobs for Nature programme, which will be spread across five separate projects, to enhance wetlands, restore the mana of a famed natural spring and protect native species reducing predators.

    “What really impresses me about these projects is how they strive to build on existing conservation work or seek to recover lost natural heritage, habitats or important taonga species alongside a commitment to train up new staff,” Allan said.

    https://www.stuff.co.nz/environment/127318361/blue-spring-ecological-island-gully-projects-among-conservation-reciepients-of-34m-cash-boost

  7. Chris t 7

    QV letter today.

    Talk about a kick in the nuts.

    • joe90 7.1

      Rates going through the roof?

    • Gezza 7.3

      How exactly is it “a kick in the nuts”?

      Mine arrived 2 days ago. I’ve been too scared to open it yet – fearing the effect of the constantly inflating value of my house on my next rating year’s rates charges.

      • Pat 7.3.1

        Are you being ironic?….it is the relative property increase that impacts rates, not the absolute value. Everyones value has increased (so far)

        • Gezza 7.3.1.1

          No, I should’ve said property, not house. I’m assuming property values are also accelerating relatively quickly given the extraordinary rate of increase in house prices, because the house price usually includes the property & section. Is this not so?

          • Pat 7.3.1.1.1

            Yes, capital value is the metric….and if your rates increase it means one of two things (or a combination of both)….your CV increase is above average for the rating area or the overall rate take has increased….either way its unavoidable.

            • Gezza 7.3.1.1.1.1

              For Welly, from WCC:

              On average, the value of residential housing has increased 60.4% since 2018 with the average house value now sitting at $1,435,000, while the corresponding average land value has more than doubled to an average of $985,000.

              QV area manager Paul McCorry commented: “It will come as no surprise to anyone that the demand for residential housing in the Capital City has been extremely buoyant over the last three years. In 2018 we were exclaiming at the number of million-dollar suburbs in the city. In 2021 there is not a single location with an average value less than $1 million – in fact, Kelburn, Oriental Bay, Roseneath and Seatoun have now pushed over $2 million.

              And it looks like next year’s rates hike will be a biggie at 13.5%.

              The plan is focussed on fixing the city’s aging infrastructure, response to climate change, minimising sewage sludge and waste, and cycleway networks.

              This plan will see an average 13.5 percent rates increase in the coming year across Wellington or an average 5.5 percent rates increase per year over the ten years of the plan.

              • Pat

                Yes , the rates increases around the country are well above the (declared) inflation rate, and historically have been for years, but there is no connection to property values (except in the relativity)…..they set their budgets and then apportion it using the formula of fixed charges and proportional charges by value.

  8. Rosemary McDonald 8

    Posting this here as well…

    I'm going to put this here...sent to me by a friend who knows I'm seriously concerned about the rates of myo and pericarditis associated with the mRNA vaccines.

    It would appear that Bloomfield and Assoc are also a mite worried.

    I can't copy and paste a quote, but it seems that the messaging about the possibility of vaccine induced myocarditis and pericarditis has not been explicit. Timely medical intervention is crucial and the symptoms to be aware of are clearly laid out.

    There is also an acknowledgement that there is under reporting of incidences.

    About fucking time…but way too late.

    IMHO

    I believe One News also featured this. Must have hurt to finally have to acknowledge harm..

      • Shanreagh 8.1.1

        Has it not always been a side effect, rare though. I certainly knew about the possibility when I was making the decision to be vaccinated or not.

        Good on them for responsibly ringing this to notice. Science evolves, responses evolve.

        • weka 8.1.1.1

          as mentioned below, I was given no information about any side effects when I got vaccinated.

          Were you told what symptoms to look out for re peri/myocarditis?

          • joe90 8.1.1.1.1

            From the handout I received on the day.

            There are some side effects that are more serious
            but very rare, like a severe allergic reaction or an
            inflammation of the heart. If you develop difficulty
            breathing, a racing heart, chest pain or feel faint
            immediately or in the days after the vaccine, you
            should seek medical attention.

            https://covid19.govt.nz/assets/resources/vaccine-resources/COVID-19-vaccine_What-to-expect.pdf

            • weka 8.1.1.1.1.1

              I got that pamphlet afterwards, but didn't read it until a few days later. Definitely wasn't included as part of informed consent.

              • weka

                Lots of people won't have read it. My take on the new advisory is the peri/myo cautions needs to be given verbally and in ways that people understand.

              • joe90

                I was greeted and my appointment was confirmed at the door. I was then directed to an intake desk where my identity was confirmed, handed the fact sheet and asked to read it. I had ample time to read the sheet before being called by the vaccinator. While the vaccinator prepped my arm the record keeper confirmed my identity and asked if I'd read the sheet provided and if I understood the risk involved. The moment I consented, I was harpooned.

                • weka

                  sounds like a good process.

                • Shanreagh

                  Yes basically my process was the same. I got a swag of material beforehand including the possible side effects. I had every sense of being informed, of having time to ask, of there being linkages between all parts of the process.

          • Shanreagh 8.1.1.1.2

            I was told via the sheets before and after about serious and not so serious side effects. Anything to do with chest pain, breathing or any unexplained serious pain I got close to having a vaccine or taking any medication I would class as serious and I would not need a person to have told me beforehand that it was possibly serious before doing something about it.

            Hopefully they will put it in the before and after sheets, if not already there and include it in the consent sheet you fill out with medications etc on it. I did not get the feeling that this was a rushed process and a few additional questions or comments will not break the system. As I said we learn all the time. I had seen changes in the system in the times between my first and second vaccines that were obviously made following best practice/feedback loops etc.

            • weka 8.1.1.1.2.1

              how long were you in the room?

              • Shanreagh

                The first appt took longer about 45/55mins all told and involved two intake rooms, and the vaccination and waiting room and the second about 30 mins. Because I had health things both times mine may have been longer.

                They were very strict about the waiting afterwards and spoke, off side, to those who wanted to leave early presumably to discourage them and to pass on further info.

          • Molly 8.1.1.1.3

            From the article, it appears that Rory Naim was unaware of possible cardiac issues, attributing symptoms to stress.

            Rory James Nairn, 26, died on November 17 at the home he shared with his fiancee Ashleigh Wilson.

            His death has been referred to the coroner and the exact cause is yet to be determined.

            Nairn received his first dose of the Pfizer Covid-19 vaccine on November 5.

            Health officials are also aware of Nairn's death but cannot comment because of the coronial investigation.

            Wilson said it was frustrating not to have any clear answers and she decided to share Nairn's story.

            She said whether his death was vaccine-related or not, he should have been made more aware of potential side effects.

            If he had, he may have sought medical help sooner.

            Instead, he shrugged off his ongoing symptoms, which Wilson said he did not have before his first dose of the vaccine, and put it down to stress.

            Wilson said Nairn, a plumber, "started feeling heart flutters" a few hours after his jab.

            "We put this down to stress as we were in the process of selling and buying a house and planning a wedding," she said.

            "We never, ever considered the events that followed.

            "Rory had heart palpitations regularly at night, and again, we thought this was stress.

            "Twelve days later, Rory was up and down again during the night with his heart palpitations and an 'uncomfortable' feeling in his chest."

            At 3am on November 17 the couple decided to go to the hospital for "reassurance".

            But within minutes Naim collapsed.

            I think also regulars on TS need to remember they are exposed to information about Covid and vaccinations multiple times every day. That information is absorbed and embedded. (I recall it was Rosemary who brought this potential side effect to my attention.)

            • weka 8.1.1.1.3.1

              Such an important point. The idea that someone will read, take in, and understand what is written on the pamphlet doesn't match reality. As someone else pointed out, some people are also natural minimisers and/or hate going to the doctor.

              That someone didn't think to even google their symptoms to see if it was related tells us how far from thinking about covid or vaccines some people are.

        • weka 8.1.1.2

      • Graeme 8.1.2

        While myocarditis is a side effect of the Pfizer vaccine, it also occurs as a result of Covid, at 6 times the rate of the vaccine.

        HEART inflammation triggered by some covid-19 vaccines has been a concern, especially in younger people, but a preliminary study suggests that in those most affected, it is six times more likely to occur after a coronavirus infection than after vaccination.

        Read more: https://www.newscientist.com/article/mg25133462-800-myocarditis-is-more-common-after-covid-19-infection-than-vaccination/#ixzz7FKdAQ01C

      • left for dead 8.1.3

        Rare side affect !!!!

        • weka 8.1.3.1

          someone in NZ just died because they didn't know it was a rare side effect and didn't seek medical treatment soon enough.

    • Shanreagh 8.2

      If you are not having the vaccination ………?

      Has this side effect not been known before now? I certainly knew of a myriad of possible side effects well before I had my vaccination and was handed a sheet at the time of the first vaccination.

      By the same token my nasal spray also has a list of side effects, also my cholesterol medication for familial high cholesterol……..

      • weka 8.2.1

        Yes, it's known, but the health system in NZ hasn't been good about talking about it so that patients know what to look out for.

    • weka 8.3

      Just having a read and had to grimlaugh at the bit about how good vaccinators are at communicating mild reactions in the pre-vax consent process. Not only was informed consent not gained from me, I wasn't told about side effects and was only given the pamphlet with the basics in it after I was vaxxed.

      • Shanreagh 8.3.1

        I had a pamphlet before I was vaxxed and then another one pager after I had it, well two one pagers, one after each. As well the vaccinator asked for me to tell her about some thing health-wise that had occurred between the two vaccines and I was asked about any symptoms after the first.

        I have always looked up the Medsafe narrative about anything that I am given and must be one of the very few who actually reads the little notices that come in packets of medication.

        My biggest claim to fame though was when I suggested with my 6th form chemistry that my dad was possibly getting too higher dose of a chemical in heart medication that was prescribed that was also appearing in another medication he was on. He was, and was not being properly monitored as well…..all found from the Medsafe slips and my basic chemistry.

        As health consumers it would be good if we were encouraged to take an interest in these things. Mummy and daddy state should not have to do everything for us. As I said I felt the process here in Wellington was exemplary with lots of info given prior and during.

        • weka 8.3.1.1

          I agree, it would be great if we had increased interest. However, it takes a specific kind of literacy to read the package insert or medsafe data sheets and make useful sense of them. Not everyone has that. The issue here I think is that the MoH should probably have been saying much earlier to tell patients about myo/peri symptoms.

      • Shanreagh 8.3.2

        I had to sign a consent form. I had the list of side effects sent to me, I had gone through the health questionnaire at the start and was seen by another person, as I knew I would be, for clarification.

        Your process does not seem to have included this. Perhaps the problem is not NZ Govt but those on the ground not keeping to the standard play book.

        • weka 8.3.2.1

          whoa, you had to sign a form? And you were given a questionnaire? I got asked a few things, like was I allergic to any meds, but that was about it.

          I don't actually care who is at fault, I care that there are people not getting asked for informed consent. I don't think my experience is rare. I can imagine the bigger centres being more organised. The nurse was excellent at giving me the shot though.

          • Shanreagh 8.3.2.1.1

            I had to sign a form. We were all given info sheets, similar the ones already sent and a clip board when first arriving by appointment, who we were etc. These had to be handed in to people in booths like tellers at a bank. Then we were given a clipboard and more detailed sheets with our name, NHI number pre printed off on it. These detailed sheets had questions about health status, and you signed them and handed them in. Depending on your answers you were called up to answer further questions, given back your forms and to place on a chair near the booths. Then waited. People were called in the order of the forms. The vaccinator then skimmed the forms and noted that I had answered yes to one, that the health admin had initialled to say they then talked to me about what to expect and followed up again on my 'yes' concern, and then signed the bottom of the form that I had signed.

            It was pretty slick. There were a few interpreters there. The vaccinators were Pakeha mainly but with a good sprinkling of older Maori nurses and younger Pasifika nurses

            • weka 8.3.2.1.1.1

              that sounds very thorough.

              • Shanreagh

                Yep and the first one was noticeable for the air of excitement and camaraderie. You know we could finally get our injections and do our bit to ourselves and others…….unbelievable to get excited about a vaccine but the room/s was full of smiles and good cheer.

    • Molly 8.4

      A pity that aspiration is not one of their precautionary responses.

      Latest published CARM report from Medsafe,

      Adverse events following immunisation with COVID-19 vaccines: Safety Report #37 – 20 November 2021 – Published 8 December 2021

      Summary of reported deaths

      Up to and including 20 November 2021, a total of 117 deaths were reported to CARM after the administration of the Comirnaty vaccine. Following medical assessments by CARM and Medsafe it has been determined that:

      • 51 of these deaths are unlikely related to the COVID-19 vaccine
      • 54 deaths could not be assessed due to insufficient information
      • 11 cases are still under investigation.
      • 1 death was likely due to vaccine induced myocarditis (awaiting Coroner’s determination)

      By chance, some people will experience new illnesses or die from a pre-existing condition shortly after vaccination, especially if they are elderly. Therefore, part of our review process includes comparing natural death rates to observed death rates following vaccination, to determine if there are any specific trends or patterns that might indicate a vaccine safety concern. See below for more information about these observed-versus-expected analyses.

      To date, the observed number of deaths reported after vaccination is actually less than the expected number of natural deaths.

      • Rosemary McDonald 8.4.1

        A friend and I have been carefully following these "Safety" Reports for the past four months. We will have 2-3 tabs open with consecutive reports, comparing numbers. She is very number focused. She will spot discrepancies and alterations almost instantly. And there have been significant discrepancies and alterations.

        For instance…the last report was for a fortnight and in that time there were approximately 330,000 shots administered. There was an increase in reports of myocarditis over that period that when extrapolated on a per shot basis indicated about 120 cases per one million doses. This is very close to the kind of figures in the study I posted this week from Ontario…. 94.5 per million for 18-24 year olds with a spacing of less than or equal to 30 days ….way more than the 3 per 100000 doses our MOH quotes.

        My friend and I both have grown children in these danger age groups. I have personally spoken with four people who experienced varying degrees of the symptoms now being highlighted.

        Pfizer

        Myocarditis is an inflammation of the heart muscle and it can be mild or serious. It is usually caused by viruses but is also a very rare side effect of the vaccine.

        Symptoms of myocarditis linked to the vaccine generally appear within a few days, and mostly within the first week after having the vaccine. If you get any of these symptoms, you should seek medical help, especially if these symptoms do not go away:

        • tightness, heaviness, discomfort or pain in your chest or neck
        • difficulty breathing or catching your breath
        • feeling faint or dizzy or light-headed
        • fluttering, racing or pounding heart, or feeling like it is ‘skipping beats’.

        One involved an ambulance and 24hr heart monitoring. None reported to Medsafe because they had already been assured their symptoms were due to 'anxiety'.

        Have a look at the number of reports of "chest discomfort", "fainting", "dizziness" etc and we might have a small clue regarding the extent of heart issues associated with these mRNA product.

        My friend downloads the full dataset available from those reports….tens of thousands…and is looking at individual complaints. many of these report multiple symptoms.

  9. joe90 9

    The greater fool theory stretches it's legs with another outing in mind.

    We started this conversation by talking about the religion of Elon Musk. Do you get the sense that he's sort of using these people or that he truly believes in this?
    My instinct is—in the same way that a good Sunday morning preacher gives people a community and hope—he has, in the case of SpaceX, delivered real teams of people that have delivered technologically, competitively advantaged engineering marvels. There's very little to criticize about SpaceX. (Notably, it's a private company.) In the case of Tesla, you have millions of customers that are very happy. You have a minority of customers that feel like they were misled. And you have an entire tribe of investors that are true believers and a minority of people that are saying the emperor has no clothes. I don't know what Elon truly believes. But I know that that number of true believers in Elon and the messages that he's been putting out are not going anywhere. And I would say I massively underestimated the power of religious belief.

    https://www.vice.com/en/article/7kbx9b/the-to-the-moon-crash-is-coming

  10. Tricledrown 10

    My son inlaw had a severe reaction and was delaying getting help I told him off and said get help immediately don't f around I looked after the children while my daughter rushed him to after hours he got a steroid shot and recovered immediately.

    I read up on the side effects and so did all the members of the family so we could be ready for the worst as another grand child had a severe reaction he got immediate healthcare but took 2 weeks to recover.

    Even with these set backs everyone went ahead with vaccinations just watching carefully for side effects.

    • Shanreagh 10.1

      Yes my sister has a few immuno problems and she swotted up on the forms she got so she was well prepared before going in. Same with one of my nieces who has dyslexia and my sister read the forms/side effects out to her as well as the clinic doing the same. Some people are habitual minimisers though.

      Anything strange happening with new medication/vaccines should be taken very seriously and quickly.

  11. mary_a 11

    I can't remember being given any information re Covid-19 vaccine. The first vaccine, I was fine. However three weeks later after vaccine 2, about a week later I had symptoms resembling the uncomfortable first stage of a cold, mild headache, tingling runny nose and scratchy throat, which lasted about a month to six weeks. Fortunately I was able to function relatively normally, but took care all the same.

    Despite that, I'm not hesitating having my booked booster vax next month.

    • Robert Guyton 11.1

      Mary_a – was your runny nose, etc, a result of the vaccination?

      • mary_a 11.1.1

        Hi Robert .. I was told by a family health professional it might be related to the second vax, as it has been known to happen occasionally post vax 2, or it could be coincidence.

        • Robert Guyton 11.1.1.1

          Hi Mary – sorry you got the sniffles 🙂

          Yes, it's hard to know for sure. Thanks for not catastrophising your discomfort.

          I have to say though, six weeks! That's a long time to be irritated by the symptoms you described. I hope it's gone now.

      • Shanreagh 11.1.2

        That's the $64,000 question and the answer surely would be 'don't know'. I get those sorts of symptoms sometimes before a sinus attack, a cold or sometimes after working in dusty environments. I have read that the second injection often causes cold/flu like symptoms as the body sharpens up its Covid responses.

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Government Northland housing investment to spark transformational change
    Over $10 million infrastructure funding to unlock housing in Whangārei The purchase of a 3.279 hectare site in Kerikeri to enable 56 new homes Northland becomes eligible for $100 million scheme for affordable rentals Multiple Northland communities will benefit from multiple Government housing investments, delivering thousands of new homes for ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    10 hours ago
  • Battle of Ohaeawai remembered
    A memorial event at a key battle site in the New Zealand land wars is an important event to mark the progress in relations between Māori and the Crown as we head towards Waitangi Day, Minister for Te Arawhiti Kelvin Davis said. The Battle of Ohaeawai in June 1845 saw ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 day ago
  • More Police deployed to the frontline
    More Police officers are being deployed to the frontline with the graduation of 54 new constables from the Royal New Zealand Police College today. The graduation ceremony for Recruit Wing 362 at Te Rauparaha Arena in Porirua was the first official event for Stuart Nash since his reappointment as Police ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 day ago
  • Further support for upper North Island regions hit by significant weather
    The Government is unlocking an additional $700,000 in support for regions that have been badly hit by the recent flooding and storm damage in the upper North Island. “We’re supporting the response and recovery of Auckland, Waikato, Coromandel, Northland, and Bay of Plenty regions, through activating Enhanced Taskforce Green to ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 days ago
  • The Princess Royal to visit New Zealand
    Prime Minister Chris Hipkins has welcomed the announcement that Her Royal Highness The Princess Royal, Princess Anne, will visit New Zealand this month. “Princess Anne is travelling to Aotearoa at the request of the NZ Army’s Royal New Zealand Corps of Signals, of which she is Colonel in Chief, to ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 days ago
  • Government and horticulture sector target $12b in exports by 2035
    A new Government and industry strategy launched today has its sights on growing the value of New Zealand’s horticultural production to $12 billion by 2035, Agriculture Minister Damien O’Connor said. “Our food and fibre exports are vital to New Zealand’s economic security. We’re focussed on long-term strategies that build on ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 days ago
  • Cost of living support extended for families and businesses
    25 cents per litre petrol excise duty cut extended to 30 June 2023 – reducing an average 60 litre tank of petrol by $17.25 Road User Charge discount will be re-introduced and continue through until 30 June Half price public transport fares extended to the end of June 2023 saving ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 days ago
  • More Kiwis in work as rising wages match inflation
    The strong economy has attracted more people into the workforce, with a record number of New Zealanders in paid work and wages rising to help with cost of living pressures. “The Government’s economic plan is delivering on more better-paid jobs, growing wages and creating more opportunities for more New Zealanders,” ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 days ago
  • Government boosts fund for Auckland flooding
    The Government is providing a further $1 million to the Mayoral Relief Fund to help communities in Auckland following flooding, Minister for Emergency Management Kieran McAnulty announced today. “Cabinet today agreed that, given the severity of the event, a further $1 million contribution be made. Cabinet wishes to be proactive ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 days ago
  • New Cabinet focused on bread and butter issues
    The new Cabinet will be focused on core bread and butter issues like the cost of living, education, health, housing and keeping communities and businesses safe, Prime Minister Chris Hipkins has announced. “We need a greater focus on what’s in front of New Zealanders right now. The new Cabinet line ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 days ago
  • Prime Minister to meet with PM Albanese
    Prime Minister Chris Hipkins will travel to Canberra next week for an in person meeting with Australian Prime Minister, Anthony Albanese. “The trans-Tasman relationship is New Zealand’s closest and most important, and it was crucial to me that my first overseas trip as Prime Minister was to Australia,” Chris Hipkins ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 days ago
  • Government makes first payment to Auckland Flooding fund
    The Government is providing establishment funding of $100,000 to the Mayoral Relief Fund to help communities in Auckland following flooding, Minister for Emergency Management Kieran McAnulty announced. “We moved quickly to make available this funding to support Aucklanders while the full extent of the damage is being assessed,” Kieran McAnulty ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    6 days ago
  • Government steps up to assist Auckland during flooding
    As the Mayor of Auckland has announced a state of emergency, the Government, through NEMA, is able to step up support for those affected by flooding in Auckland. “I’d urge people to follow the advice of authorities and check Auckland Emergency Management for the latest information. As always, the Government ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Poroporoaki: Titewhai Te Huia Hinewhare Harawira
    Ka papā te whatitiri, Hikohiko ana te uira, wāhi rua mai ana rā runga mai o Huruiki maunga Kua hinga te māreikura o te Nota, a Titewhai Harawira Nā reira, e te kahurangi, takoto, e moe Ka mōwai koa a Whakapara, kua uhia te Tai Tokerau e te kapua pōuri ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Enhanced Task Force Green Approved following Cyclone Hale
    Carmel Sepuloni, Minister for Social Development and Employment, has activated Enhanced Taskforce Green (ETFG) in response to flooding and damaged caused by Cyclone Hale in the Tairāwhiti region. Up to $500,000 will be made available to employ job seekers to support the clean-up. We are still investigating whether other parts ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • General Election to be held on 14 October 2023
    The 2023 General Election will be held on Saturday 14 October 2023, Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern announced today. “Announcing the election date early in the year provides New Zealanders with certainty and has become the practice of this Government and the previous one, and I believe is best practice,” Jacinda ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern announces resignation
    Jacinda Ardern has announced she will step down as Prime Minister and Leader of the Labour Party. Her resignation will take effect on the appointment of a new Prime Minister. A caucus vote to elect a new Party Leader will occur in 3 days’ time on Sunday the 22nd of ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Trade and Agriculture Minister to attend World Economic Forum and Global Forum for Food and Agricult...
    The Government is maintaining its strong trade focus in 2023 with Trade and Agriculture Minister Damien O’Connor visiting Europe this week to discuss the role of agricultural trade in climate change and food security, WTO reform and New Zealand agricultural innovation. Damien O’Connor will travel tomorrow to Switzerland to attend the ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • Government funding relief for flood-affected Wairarapa farmers and growers
    The Government has extended its medium-scale classification of Cyclone Hale to the Wairarapa after assessing storm damage to the eastern coastline of the region. “We’re making up to $80,000 available to the East Coast Rural Support Trust to help farmers and growers recover from the significant damage in the region,” ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago