Daily Review 17/05/2016

Written By: - Date published: 6:00 pm, May 17th, 2016 - 35 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Michael Savage here to serve

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

35 comments on “Daily Review 17/05/2016”

  1. Richardrawshark 1

    My comment on the day. Winz today, got told I can do full time work with limitations, they recognize my difficulties and am happy to wait till the dr says ok, then whatever limitations I recognize they will help me with.

    Hmm

    I got it.

    Don’t bother applying again, we don’t pay mentally unwell people who are only stable by the medications they take , and no, side effects don’t matter the 2 hours sleep I get a nights fine bla bla.

    SO they basically said you don’t qualify for the invalids benefit, live on the unemployed until you retire or get well whatever comes first.

    No probs.

    I have found no drug combo so far that staves away depression without hideous side effects.

    Currently i’m not depressed at all, feel great, just can’t sleep, can’t eat , feel nauseous, have the shakes, and um everytime I look at a beautiful woman for some strange reason i’m getting incredibly horny. That didn’t happen on Prozac.

    Gawd and they reakon I can do full time work.

    IDNK but these meds at least have stopped the massive depression I had for ages.

    • seeker 1.1

      So sorry about this situation you are in Richardr. This is totally down to the nats. I am praying they will disappear as soon as possible. Can you get an advocate to go to WINZ with you? Try and keep at them until they understand. Wishing you well.

    • Treetop 1.2

      Did your GP say on the medical that you can do full time work with limitations?

      Were the limitations specified?

      Don’t rely on W&I if your GP has not yet filled out a medical for supported living.

      I get annoyed with W&I when they think they can make a medical decision, until W&I have been to medical school they are not in a position to make a medical statement/decision.

      I am sorry to hear that you are sleep deprived (get a referral to the sleep clinic from your GP) and have your meds reviewed.

      • mauī 1.2.1

        The doctor shouldn’t be making a judgement call on whether someone is mentally healthy enough to being working 40 hours+ a week. Only the individual knows if they can or can’t work and what problems might come from the working environment. So I think the doctor is either cynical or not on the patient’s side, probably both.

        I can sympathise with Richard, I really hope things work out soon and the right meds can be fine tuned for him.

        • Treetop 1.2.1.1

          30 hours work is considered to be full – time at W&I, I realise that 30 hours on the minimum hourly rate is insufficent.

          I get annoyed when GPs put politics before the needs of a client when filling out a medical for W&I. It also annoys me when a GP is sloppy and does not consider all the information which a client raises e.g sleep deprivation and does not investigate what the cause is.

          • Augustus 1.2.1.1.1

            Thing is, it doesn’t matter what your GP puts into your medical assessment. When one applies for Supported Living, the evident medical experts at WINZ take one look at you and decide whether they “have enough information”, ie you’re missing an arm and a leg, otherwise you get sent to a designated doctor of theirs. A hired hand, who doesn’t even need to examine you to contradict your GP of many years. That designated doctor, a scab of the worst kind, can spout an opinion based on some spurious questions regarding your work capacity (you can stand up? You’re able to work) and it overwrites your GP. The appeal available pits you against three of those scabs. Then there’s no appeal after that. Your GP and what they assess or don’t doesn’t come into it at all.

            • Treetop 1.2.1.1.1.1

              I was aware of everything that you have written and the process stinks when it comes to a panel of 3 doctors having the final say. A clever lawyer may find a loop hole. It is worthwhile for everyone to complete an application for supported living and to not rely on asking a case worker at W&I whether you qualify or not.

    • ianmac 1.3

      Hope it gets better Richard.

    • mickysavage 1.4

      Kia kaha Richardw.

    • Graeme 2.1

      I wonder if there was a donation to another party as well.

      Got really suspicious when the reason given for the staffing changes that precipitated the Barclay debacle was “increased business level in Queenstown” considering that Queenstown is only about 20% of the electorate, why would it need a full-time agent when Gore, which covers the rest can get by on 0.5 fte?

      • Pat 2.1.1

        ah, a full time flesh presser…..nothing would surprise, if so heres hoping they’ve been careless (again)…from an industry well versed in such activity….and something upset the stalwarts.

        • Graeme 2.1.1.1

          It certainly upset the stalwarts. This would go back to that period as well. It’s not that good a piece of land either, wonder how long it will take before they tire of the costs of it’s upkeep.

      • cowboy 2.1.2

        Graeme, have you noted Winston has a public meeting in Gore on Monday? Barclay is leaving a void in the rural part of the electorate and it looks like Winston is looking to fill it.

        • Graeme 2.1.2.1

          Don’t think void is quite expansive enough word for his efforts. Was down in Invercargill recently and noticed Ria Bond is projecting a fair presence there too. I hope they get a good candidate that can pull it off, or at least really put the wind up them.

          Up here it’s starting to get that marginal feel about it. Nick Smith’s antics here have been from the couldn’t make this shit up department, yesterday he was taking the piss out of a submitter to a failed SHA, then this morning it’s in the ODT that the developer got told to bugger off and pay costs when he appealed to the High Court. Smith’s next play was this http://www.odt.co.nz/news/queenstown-lakes/383460/housing-accord-targets-stepped-building-activity-booms Council exceeds Housing Accord target for section creation so minister sets an even greater target, “because there’s a housing boom” Add to that Barclay running around like a Labour MP trying to set the Housing Trust up with the old High School for worker’s accomodation.

          Entertaining times

          • Cowboy 2.1.2.1.1

            Yes the Qtown accom issue is becoming acute. Nick Smith is becoming a major liability for National fronting such a major issue as he presents like an arrogant born to rule prick. The more oxygen he gets the better for the opposition.
            Agreed re Ria Bond, she seems to be far more energetic than Barclay and Dowie combined.

  2. seeker 3

    Quote of the last eight years from Marama Davidson on frogblog:

    “In failing the most vulnerable, the National government has failed all of us.”

    https://blog.greens.org.nz/2016/05/17/homelessness-national-has-failed-all-of-us/

    • Treetop 3.1

      The National government’s housing policy is abusive, it is causing children to live in cars/garages because of the governments gross incompetence and inability to house vulnerable people.

      What does the Commissioner for Children have to say about children living in cars/garages?

      • Rosemary McDonald 3.1.1

        Very, very good point there Treetop.

        Perhaps someone should send the Commissioner an email?

        “We advocate for the interests, rights and wellbeing of children and young people on law, policy, practice, and monitor the services provided under the Children, Young Persons and their Families Act”

        http://www.occ.org.nz/about-us/our-role-and-purpose/

        Wellington office
        Phone: 04 471 1410

        Email: children@occ.org.nz

        Please note, we are not open to the public. (wtf?)

        Sir,

        As you are the Commissioner for Children, I respectfully request that you strongly urge the government to address the issue of homelessness, especially among families with children.

        I quote from UNCROC…

        “You have the right to a good standard of living (Articles 26 and 27)
        You have the right to financial support from the Government, especially when your family/whanau cannot provide this for you. This includes your right to food, clothing, a safe place to live, and other basics.”

        New Zealand may have been the 131st country to ratify the Convention…but ratify it we did.

        These children have the RIGHT to a safe place to live.

        Sincerely, Me

        Done

        • Treetop 3.1.1.1

          I agree.

          Would the government listen to the Commissioner for Children?

          Have the government listened to the Commissioner for Children?

  3. the pigman 4

    http://www.stuff.co.nz/national/politics/80094729/the-overcrowded-south-auckland-house-that-wasnt-overcrowded

    Subtext: Labour are inept / there is no housing-cum-poverty crisis in Auckland.

    Must be the work of that anti-National, left-wing media that the blubbery one has been bitching about.

    • Ben 4.1

      Little lines himself up for a big interview outside a house in Sth Auckland where people were living in a tent. The person living in the tent, the owner of the house, came out and told him they were staying in the tent only while the house is being renovated.

      Buffoon of the week? Yes

      Set up? Most likely

      Fit to govern? No

      • weka 4.1.1

        Reading that link, Little needs to get some better staff. Seriously.

        • Cricklewood 4.1.1.1

          Yep preferably staff that don’t appear to be setting him up surely it would be really easy to pop in a day or two prior and chat to the people in the tent?

          Speaking personally if I was living in a tent on the front lawn I most certainly would want a media circus to turn up and to appear on the news or such like.

        • Johan 4.1.1.2

          Why do they (Labour) keep shooting themselves in the foot?

  4. Gangnam Style 5

    “There will always be a social welfare system in New Zealand, because you can measure a society by how it looks after its most vulnerable. Once, I was one of them. I will never turn my back on that.”

    http://tvnz.co.nz/content/903605/2556418.xhtml

    • Rosemary McDonald 5.1

      My, my….from a decade ago. (good find!)

      Maybe he needs turning around?

  5. Paul 6

    Ken Loach‘s new film that takes an uncompromising look at the UK’s welfare system reduced critics at the Cannes Film Festival to tears.
    Set in Newcastle (and shown at the event with subtitles in case people couldn’t understand the Geordie accent), ‘I, Daniel Blake’ tells the fictional story of carpenter Daniel Blake who suffers a heart attack and is told by doctors he can no longer work.
    An assessment commissioned by the Department for Work and Pensions (DWP) goes against medical advice and rules him too healthy to receive benefits

    Ken Loach : “The most vulnerable people are told their poverty is their own fault.
    “If you have no work it is your fault that you haven’t got a job.
    “It is shocking. It is not an issue just for people in our country, it is throughout Europe and there is a conscious cruelty in the way we are organising our lives now.”

    http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/entry/ken-loach-i-daniel-blake_uk_573775eae4b01359f686f390

  6. joe90 7

    No doubt Henry will have a few tips on indiscriminate bombardment.
    /

    Robert Costa Verified account
    ‏@costareports

    SCOOP w/ @PhilipRucker: Donald Trump to meet with Henry Kissinger, GOP’s foreign-policy eminence

  7. b waghorn 8

    Tv3 has a doco on the trump campaign it will be on tv3 +1 at 8.30

  8. Paul 9

    Max Key blasted on social media after housing market post.

    “Remember when we cried as kids and our parents said ‘I’ll give you something to cry about’. We thought they were going to hit us but instead they destroyed the housing market.”

    Cruel, greedy and selfish.

    http://www.nzherald.co.nz/business/news/article.cfm?c_id=3&objectid=11640164

    • weka 9.1

      Yeah, he didn’t say that though. He shared that quote (I don’t know who it is from). What he said is “hahaha this honestly cracked me up”.

      I found it funny myself (the bit he shared), in a dark satirical way. No idea why Key jnr was laughing. He’s still a dick.

  9. greywarshark 10

    Mickey Savage
    Have you seen my comment from the 12th? I wondered what your thoughts were.

    Broken

  10. adam 11

    Laugh – Dam near wet myself

    Five surgeons from big cities are discussing who makes the best patients to operate on.

    The first surgeon, from New York, says, ‘I like to see accountants on my operating table because when you open them up, everything inside is numbered.’

    The second, from Chicago, responds, ‘Yeah, but you should try electricians! Everything inside them is colour coded.’

    The third surgeon, from Dallas, says, ‘No, I really think librarians are the best, everything inside them is in alphabetical order.’

    The fourth surgeon, from Los Angeles chimes in, ‘You know, I like construction workers. Those guys always understand when you have a few parts left over.’

    But the fifth surgeon, from Washington, DC shut them all up when he observed: ‘You’re all wrong. Politicians are the easiest to operate on. There’s no guts, no heart, no balls, no brains, and no spine. Plus, the head and the ass are interchangeable.

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Membership: Australia and New Zealand Electronic Invoicing Board
    The Governments of Australia and New Zealand have announced the membership of the Australia and New Zealand Electronic Invoicing Board (ANZEIB) today. This is an important step towards implementing e-Invoicing across both countries to help businesses save time and money ...
    7 days ago
  • An end to unnecessary secondary tax
    Workers who are paying too much tax because of incorrect secondary tax codes are in line for relief with the passage of legislation through Parliament late last night. The Taxation (Annual Rates for 2018-19, Modernising Tax Administration, and Remedial Matters) ...
    1 week ago
  • Chatham Islands pāua plan approved
    Efforts to reverse the decline in the Chatham Islands pāua fishery are the focus of a new plan jointly agreed between government, the local community and industry. Fisheries Minister Stuart Nash says the plan was developed by the PauaMAC4 Industry ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Bill introduced for synthetics crackdown
    The Police will get stronger powers of search and seizure to crackdown on synthetic drugs under new legislation, which makes the two main synthetics (5F-ADB and AMB-FUBINACA) Class A drugs. The Government has today introduced the Misuse of Drugs Amendment ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Blasphemous libel law repealed
    The archaic blasphemous libel offence will be repealed following the passing of the Crimes Amendment Bill today, says Justice Minister Andrew Little. ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Coalition Government lassos livestock rustling
    New rules to crack down on livestock rustling will come into force following the passing of the Crimes Amendment Bill says Justice Minister Andrew Little. ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Medieval law axed
    The ‘year and a day rule’ rule will be repealed following the passing of the Crimes Amendment Bill, says Justice Minister Andrew Little. ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Further steps to combat tax evasion
    Further steps to combat tax evasion Revenue Minister Stuart Nash has announced New Zealand is expanding its global ability to combat tax evasion by joining forces with authorities in 30 countries and jurisdictions. Cabinet has agreed to add another ...
    2 weeks ago