Daily Review 19/09/2018

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, September 19th, 2018 - 89 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

89 comments on “Daily Review 19/09/2018”

  1. Kat 1

    After watching Simon Bridges continual poor performance in the house today and sitting next to him Amy Adams my take is she makes him look even more the weak and ineffectual leader of the National opposition.

    • Muttonbird 1.1

      Simoan was today denying that his use of ‘weak and distracted’ to describe the Prime Minister was sexist.

      But his followers on the blogs are saying she’s got baby brain so he might want to get a memo out.

      https://www.stuff.co.nz/national/politics/107203746/simon-bridges-says-criticism-of-pm-jacinda-ardern-not-sexist

      • Kat 1.1.1

        Amy Adams clearly raised the profile of the opposition being alongside Bridges and probably for National even better if she moved into his seat.

      • Chris T 1.1.2

        Without wanting to get into an argument can you please explain how the accusations of someone being ‘weak and distracted’ is sexist?

        As

        a) they are generic terms used against heaps of people

        b) The post you just replied to called Bridges weak. Are they being sexist towards him?

        • ianmac 1.1.2.1

          In this context Chris, it is a dig at a female PM with a baby. Sexist? Yep.

        • veutoviper 1.1.2.2

          Chris T, its the references to ‘baby brain’ that are sexist – and the indirect connections between that and ‘being distracted’.

          And if you don’t understand that, well you we could call you ‘thick’; or if you do, then we could call you a ‘troll’. Do you have any preferences?

          • Chris T 1.1.2.2.1

            I agree that the distracted bit probably is referring to the baby.

            Though I think we differ on how that is automatically horrifying sexism

            A high profile MP could be going through a divorce and the opposite party can have digs about them being “distracted” or pressure as with Mallard before the punch up and the Nat MP not that long ago.

            Just because the inuendo happens to be a baby to have a dig doesn’t automatically make it worse.

            Just my personal opinion obviously

            • Dennis Frank 1.1.2.2.1.1

              I think the intent is to call anything Simon says about Jacinda sexist, so as to render sexist devoid of meaning as a technical description. Obviously weak and distracted aren’t sexist terms, everyone knows that.

              • Muttonbird

                They are when viewed through the prism of the ‘great intellectual of our time’, Dr Jordan Peterson.

                • arkie

                  Everyone knows words don’t take on different meanings depending on context. Obviously words have a neutral tone that don’t take on other shades based on the surrounding words or the intent of the user.

                  • mac1

                    Nor does the tone with which they are used, nor the body language that accompanies the words affect the meaning, nor the accepted culture of the group or person being addressed.

                    Know what I mean, nudge nudge wink wink man of the world eh? eh?

                    Eh?

        • Muttonbird 1.1.2.3

          Bridges is channeling that great misogynist Jordan Peterson (whose views I’m sure he subscribes to) who says women aren’t cut out for positions of power because they are too ‘agreeable’ and ‘neurotic’.

          Bridges was always going to have trouble pressuring the PM on personal attributes because to do so looks like bullying, hence his ‘explanation’ in the interview with Andrea Vance.

          • Chris T 1.1.2.3.1

            Agree with your second paragraph

            Your first is misrepresenting what someone has said.

            Not that I have a huge amount of time for a lot of what JP says (I turn off when god botherers start spouting)

            I have seen his comments you refer to and he says women can tend to be too ‘agreeable’ and ‘neurotic’, which can stop them succeeding in upper end competitive jobs and is why he tries to teach his female patients to be more assertive and butch (for want of a better word).

            Unless you have seen a different video he makes no mention of them being not “cut out for positions of power”

            • Muttonbird 1.1.2.3.1.1

              A lot of Peterson’s defenders say he’s misrepresented but it’s more that he takes a highly controversial position for effect and doesn’t explain himself nearly well enough. He appeals to young men because he speaks at their level, which isn’t very sophisticated.

              As you say, he is merely another self-proclaimed celebrity evangelist and displays all the prejudices of those before him.

              • Chris T

                He is probably currently one of the most misrepresented people in media

                I’d never hear of him till I saw his “So you are saying…..” interview with Cathy Newman which was unbelievable

                And no I didn’t say

                “he is merely another self-proclaimed celebrity evangelist and displays all the prejudices of those before him.”

                • Muttonbird

                  Well you did call him a god-botherer. And he’s built up a youtube empire based on conservative mid-20th century Christian values mixed with bubblegum psychology. He even dresses in Peaky Blinders suits so is very aware of his appearance.

                  He ticks all the boxes of a TV evangelist and definitely spouts the same socially conservative, extreme right wing mantra: namely leftie feminists are destroying our world.

                  • Chris T

                    He is a god botherer

                    If you think what he says is extreme right wing then there is no point in talking about it with you.

                    Our definitions of levels of extremism or even what is or isn’t one wing or the other are obviously vastly different

                    But I look forward to hearing about your experiences when you join the protests and calls for him to be banned from talking when he rocks over in February.

      • James 1.1.3

        “But his followers on the blogs are saying ………”

        Hell, wait till Cindy reads the standard.

        • Muttonbird 1.1.3.1

          After defending sex-workers and attacking midwives today, are you sure you should be trivialising the Prime Minister by using that name?

          It makes you look wildly inconsistent.

          • James 1.1.3.1.1

            Yep – I defended sex workers – against your disgusting comments about them.

            Never attacked midwives – to say I did is – well pathetic.

            I’ve decided I’m going to keep using Cindy just for you. I’ll stop when others stop calling Simon names – seems fair.

        • adam 1.1.3.2

          Oh look james reaches for misogyny.

          It’s tired mate, really tired and down right boring.

          I know you like beating up kids, but can I beg you to stop beating up on women please.

          • James 1.1.3.2.1

            Where ?

            Calling her a name – same as others on here call Simon names?

            Or was it because I stuck up for sex workers?

            • adam 1.1.3.2.1.1

              I’ve avoided you for a while, because you play the dumb poor me card.

              The name you used was misogynist and you know it, it’s been pointed out by quite a few people here that the context you use it in, is misogynist.

              As I said, it’s tiresome.

              But, feel free to carry on. I’ll not stop you. But just remember it’s my right to call you at as the misogynist you obviously are when you crawl into the gutter.

              • James

                You are wrong – if it’s ok to give Simon (or key) nicknames – it is to be fair to give one to Jacinda (Cindy).

                Treating her special would be treating her differently because of her sex.

                • Chris T

                  This is true

                  You can’t spend years calling an oppo’ leader the smiling assassin and then get het up about another leader getting a critical pseudonym

                • adam

                  Your shallow defence of your misogyny is, as I said, tiresome.

                  I’m not giving anyone special treatment, just point out that this so called nickname is putting her down on a women hating level. If you can’t see that, then sorry for you.

    • greywarshark 1.2

      Kat
      Why are you telling us this? If we don’t know now well we shouldn’t be here. Do we want to prove how clever we think we are in recognising such things? Why don’t we play schtum and let things take their course. It does not suit our purposes on the left to give advice to the right on how to manage their personnel, or aren’t you actually on the left?

      • Kat 1.2.1

        greywarshark, its time the negative narrative against Jacinda Ardern and the coalition was kicked back into Nationals camp. I want to see more scrutiny of the National opposition and “playing schtum” is not very clever. Plus Amy Adams is easier on the eyes and ears…….and brain.

        • Chuck 1.2.1.1

          “greywarshark, its time the negative narrative against Jacinda Ardern and the coalition was kicked back into Nationals camp.”

          That’s up to Ardern and co. to stop stuffing up, which will be hard to do as they don’t have the talent pool. Ardern has carried Labour this far, will she be able to keep it up for the next 2 years?

          “I want to see more scrutiny of the National opposition”

          You do know they are the opposition (as in they are not in charge) Kat? Best you can hope for is a messy leadership challenge…but as long as the Nat’s poll in the 40’s it will be unlikely.

          • BM 1.2.1.1.1

            Ardern has carried Labour this far, will she be able to keep it up for the next 2 years?

            The media’s carried Labour, Ardern’s done nothing.

            Big reason why Arderns currently getting caned is that she seems to have forgotten this or rather naively doesn’t realise this.

            The media made her and if she doesn’t dance like a monkey for them they will break her.

            • marty mars 1.2.1.1.1.1

              Nothing? Nothing? Less than nothing more like. Below zero and nowhere near nothing. Nothing isn’t even visible, it’s below the horizon. Nothing is for losers, less than nothing for PMs thank you.

              • BM

                Nine years of nothing, that’s Ardern.

                • Stuart Munro

                  Well you’re half right.

                  Nine years before the Gnats recover from the damage they did to NZ and thereby their reputation.

                  Nine years in government for Jacinda – minimum.

          • Kat 1.2.1.1.2

            More of the ridiculous narrative….Chuck, only the small festering circle of Nat cheerleaders and cling-ons like BM buy into those memes.

        • veutoviper 1.2.1.2

          Well said, Kat. No, we should not be sitting back and playing schtum.

          Re Adams, I am conflicted. Yes, she is easier on the eyes and ears, – but not sure about brain. But that could be a good thing. LOL. She certainly is not good at besting Robertson, for example, and rarely lands any real punches. So yes – she could be a good replacement for Simon. ROFL.

        • greywarshark 1.2.1.3

          @ Kat I’m thinking let Soimon go, don’t point out his poor delivery, and give him free critique. He suits very well for taking the National Party to its ultimate destination. Let him dig his own grave. Criticising him all the time just makes the weak-minded more likely to gather round him. By all means watch what he says and defend the left when it is egregious though. But he is a perfect bung for the hole at present. Having a go at Amy Adams might be a good ploy.

    • Ed 1.3

      Watch him destroyed.
      “That’s why we’re here and you’re over there.”
      “Because we’re in government and you’re not.”

    • Humma 2.1

      I second that good. I wrote to her today asking for her resignation. If not I will withdraw my support for Massey.

      • marty mars 2.1.1

        Snap – I wrote to her today too, to say dont resign and if you do I’m withdrawing MY support for Massey.

      • Dennis Frank 2.1.2

        “National Party leader Simon Bridges said Professor Thomas had to go because she had been dishonest and tried to thwart free speech. “That’s just not good enough anywhere in New Zealand but certainly not on university campuses,” he said. “Universities for centuries have been the bastions of free speech, of being able to say controversial things. It’s outrageous what’s happened here with Jan Thomas and we don’t want to see a trend here.”

        Jeez, he finally got something right! So Brash is back there in a month for a re-run. Hope either the pro or the anti faction launches a hate-speech prosecution. The censorship lobby has been pushing too much bullshit – a reality check is necessary. https://www.radionz.co.nz/news/national/366834/don-brash-cancellation-censure-motions-against-vice-chancellor

    • Meh. Arncha just sick of snowflake racists and their virtue signalling?

      They’re a minority on the board and even if they get their censure motion up, so what? It’s meaningless.

    • Dennis Frank 2.3

      Interesting. “The educator’s academic board, the highest decision making level of the university” – which suggests the University Council doesn’t make decisions, or is not part of the University!!

      • McFlock 2.3.1

        Unless you read to the end:
        “We are not her boss, the council is her boss, but the motions send a strong message to her boss that the board is disappointed at the very least.”

        Maybe, and I’m just throwing this out there, the University Council is a different level of decision-making. Lower if the academic board is indeed the “highest”. Or maybe the academic board is limited to disciplinary or academic issues. Don’t know, don’t care. Not my monkey, not my circus.

    • mauī 2.4

      She should be congratulated if anything for coming up with a reason for the toad not to speak lol.

  2. Putting the fiction into Pulp:

    They came from Russia, had a thirst for knowledge,
    Liked their spires, were passing Wiltshire College
    That’s where I …
    Caught their eye

    All their texts back home were encoded,
    Said they knew the way from the station…blindfolded

    I said fine
    And in 30 seconds time they said

    WE WANT TO SEE A COMMON STEEPLE
    WE’LL FLY TO SEE WHAT EVER COMMON STEEPLES DO
    BUT IF THERE’S SLUSH NEAR THAT COMMON STEEPLE
    I’LL TURN BACK FROM THAT COMMON STEEPLE LIKE YOU DO

    & Putin smiled and shook my hand.
    Rent a flat above a shop
    Mixing up the Novichok
    Smoke some fags & play some pool
    Visit local cathedral
    When we knew we did it right
    Flew back home later that night
    It was time for us to go
    Can you believe it was starting to snow, yeah…
    If they called up Vlad, He could stop it all.

    WE WANT TO SEE A COMMON STEEPLE
    WE’LL FLY TO SEE WHAT EVER COMMON STEEPLES DO
    BUT IF THERE’S SLUSH NEAR THAT COMMON STEEPLE
    I’LL TURN BACK FROM THAT COMMON STEEPLE LIKE YOU DO

    (From a bloke called Rob Joyce on the twitter)

  3. Muttonbird 4

    The savaging of the police officers who pursued Nicky Hager (probably at the request of the office of the Prime Minister) continues.

    They went on to admit they told people that Hager was suspected of fraud without any basis.

    That is shocking from the cops.

    I hope a senior cop flips and details what pressure to commit all these illegalities they were under from the then Prime Minister’s office.

    https://www.stuff.co.nz/national/politics/107210384/hager-raid-creates-more-headaches-for-police

    • James 4.1

      “The savaging of the police officers who pursued Nicky Hager (probably at the request of the office of the Prime Minister) ”

      Got any evidence to back up for ‘probably’. No thought not.

      You need to get your tinfoil hat repaired. Something is leaking.

      • Draco T Bastard 4.1.1

        Got any evidence to back up for ‘probably’.

        Yes. The fact that they actually worked this way on this one and other cases that involved the PM but not on other similar cases that didn’t.

  4. ianmac 5

    Today in QT Simon was all geared up to trounce Jacinda over exchange of Emails with Clare and/or the IT fellow. Effect? Less than a damp squid.

    Opposition ready to trounce Curran and Jacinda over “secret” emails. (Smith reckoned he had used 48 questions over the weeks to find out the Govt dirty secrets.) The content and timing of messages delivered by Robertson were totally normal, innocuous.

    Effect? Zilch.

    • Kat 5.1

      And in the PM’s speech to the house marking the suffragette anniversary she drew attention to the gotcha and scalp hunting politics that continue to be a benchmark of performance in parliament.

      • Chris T 5.1.1

        ‘she drew attention to the gotcha and scalp hunting politics”

        True

        Next National will be sending an ex Party president to places in her past to dig dirt on her and fail

    • veutoviper 5.2

      I think it is quite interesting and funny that Bridges (and Co including Nick Smith) is so intense in trying to cross examine Ardern et al (like a bad Crown Prosecutor) on their actions, communications etc and demanding this, that, and the other vis a vis Curran, Derek Handley – and Meka Whaitiri.

      While Ardern etc could turn around and ask him the same questions re the leaker of Bridges’ expenses and the investigation into the leak, they have not done so.

      But maybe this will come in time – and then Bridges will not have a leg to stand on if he tries to refuse providing the information in view of his current actions.

      • Kat 5.2.1

        Bridges doesn’t have a leg to stand on now and even if he remains seated he is a poor imitation of old Ironside.

  5. ianmac 6

    “Big Read: Andrew Little ducks for cover as National forecasts tragedy from justice reform.”

    An excellent column by David Fisher on the problems with Justice Reform. National hammers the “Labour is soft on crime so we will be at greater risk on the Street.”

    Labour has a much harder job to overcome the fear of the people.
    This is worth a post on the TS if allowed.
    https://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=12127814

    • James 6.1

      “On three occasions, Little’s office has assured that he will call. On each of those occasions, he has not.”

      Perhaps he has the same person running his diary as Jacinda does.

    • BM 6.2

      Labour has a much harder job to overcome the fear of the people

      True, they have to get Peters onside.

      Little can wank on as much as he likes but unless Peters agrees he’s wasting his time.

      Boy, that must be really getting on Littles tits, totally impotent.

    • Doogs 6.3

      Interesting and long winded piece by Mr Fisher. All RW logic set out for all to see.

      (dead cat) Wow! Ever noticed how David Bennett looks so much like Peter Dutton?

  6. James 7

    Most open and transparent government ever.

    It’s looking more and more like labour is hiding something in the Curran emails.

    https://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=12128164

    • Muttonbird 7.1

      Both Roberston and Ardern stated the information will be available via the normal OIA process. A process which is now running as it should in contrast to those times when John Key admitted to delaying releases for political purposes.

      I suggest you put in a request.

    • ianmac 7.2

      Nothing to that story by the naughty Bennett woman. Like saying Bridges hesitated when about to ask a question so he must have something to hide. Rubbish.
      Will Bennett, and the Opposition apologise if there is nothing untoward in the messages?

  7. Pete 8

    How did Bridges get to be leader? After watching him over the past couple of weeks I reckon he’s weird. Do they have any ‘normal’ people hiding on the back benches – someone who you’d like to have as a workmate, neighbour or fellow member of whichever club you belong to? I mean Collins, Kay, Bennett, Bennett, Goldsmith, Mitchell, Smith? Jeez. And what happened to Macindoe. Is his prime achievement to be sitting in camera shot while in government?’

  8. RedLogix 9

    My partner just came home from working at Bunnings today with really cool pics of a lady with a pet cockatoo sitting calmly on her shopping trundler. Apparently it’s about 12 years old (a youngster … I’ve met another one that’s known to be over 90) and blind in one eye which is why it can never be released. It has the most impressive yellow crest I’ve ever seen.

    Shame I can’t upload the pics and share, but I have to say we’re quite captivated by the range of wildlife here in Brisbane. Even in our backyard we regularly get geckos of all sorts, bush turkeys, pelicans, cockatoos, kookaburras, bats, crows, carellas and minahs. It’s quite a parade.

    The loss of native wildlife in NZ is deeper and more profound than most of us think; Australia is way short of perfect in this regard, but the comparison with our home country is not pretty.

    • Exkiwiforces 9.1

      When I had my house out at Willowbank beside the Airbase where I was base for 10yrs. I had a couple of Butcher Birds and Magpie that we’re so game that if had back door open that buggers would walk in thinking they own the joint with roo’s and Koalas out the front. I manage to get nesting pair of King Parrots and as for the minah’s they are a bloody pest, as they drive out the natives just like any other birds the Poms brought in.

    • Ad 9.2

      Agree.

      Auckland’s Titirangi and the Waitakeres are urban peripheral and have birds by the tonne. We’ve also got a good Bird Rescue centre.

      But down in Fiordland you barely hear a peep now, unless you’re in one of the Great Walks tracks that are massively sponsored, done with 1080, and trapped with the new gas traps.

      The Northland forests beyond Whangarei are just wrecked.

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Membership: Australia and New Zealand Electronic Invoicing Board
    The Governments of Australia and New Zealand have announced the membership of the Australia and New Zealand Electronic Invoicing Board (ANZEIB) today. This is an important step towards implementing e-Invoicing across both countries to help businesses save time and money ...
    5 days ago
  • An end to unnecessary secondary tax
    Workers who are paying too much tax because of incorrect secondary tax codes are in line for relief with the passage of legislation through Parliament late last night. The Taxation (Annual Rates for 2018-19, Modernising Tax Administration, and Remedial Matters) ...
    6 days ago
  • Chatham Islands pāua plan approved
    Efforts to reverse the decline in the Chatham Islands pāua fishery are the focus of a new plan jointly agreed between government, the local community and industry. Fisheries Minister Stuart Nash says the plan was developed by the PauaMAC4 Industry ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Bill introduced for synthetics crackdown
    The Police will get stronger powers of search and seizure to crackdown on synthetic drugs under new legislation, which makes the two main synthetics (5F-ADB and AMB-FUBINACA) Class A drugs. The Government has today introduced the Misuse of Drugs Amendment ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Blasphemous libel law repealed
    The archaic blasphemous libel offence will be repealed following the passing of the Crimes Amendment Bill today, says Justice Minister Andrew Little. ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Coalition Government lassos livestock rustling
    New rules to crack down on livestock rustling will come into force following the passing of the Crimes Amendment Bill says Justice Minister Andrew Little. ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Medieval law axed
    The ‘year and a day rule’ rule will be repealed following the passing of the Crimes Amendment Bill, says Justice Minister Andrew Little. ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Further steps to combat tax evasion
    Further steps to combat tax evasion Revenue Minister Stuart Nash has announced New Zealand is expanding its global ability to combat tax evasion by joining forces with authorities in 30 countries and jurisdictions. Cabinet has agreed to add another ...
    2 weeks ago