web analytics

Daily review 21/02/2020

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, February 21st, 2020 - 33 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

33 comments on “Daily review 21/02/2020 ”

  1. Herodotus 1

    Why does it that a vote for me promise for NZ 1 to adequately fund something that should be 100% funded by the govt ? We are in some instances a cheap country when we review what values we in NZ hold.
    The same could apply to how we view Surf Life Saving

    https://www.scoop.co.nz/stories/PA2002/S00139/nz-first-pledge-major-funding-support-to-st-john.htm

  2. alwyn 2

    Well New Zealand First is doing something sensible during the last six months of its life.

    They are scrapping the crazy subsidy scheme, paid for by people who don't have, and often can't have, electric vehicles. Ms Genter, who was a think the patron of the scheme has been sent back to square one. In practice of course the scheme is totally dead because she, and the rest of her party, aren't going to be in Parliament next year either.

    https://www.stuff.co.nz/national/119713361/nz-first-axe-governments-electric-vehicle-subsidy-plan-while-greens-vow-to-take-the-policy-to-the-election

    It certainly shows that we have a New Zealand First / Labour Government with a few hangers on from the Greens, doesn't it? And that Winston rules the roost.

    I am in favour of having more electric vehicles in the New Zealand fleet. This scheme certainly wasn't a way of doing it though was it? Higher prices for people who cannot use them because they live in rural areas while the residents of the leafy suburbs like Remuera get a discount on their vehicles.

    • Ad 2.1

      The Green Ministers are getting passed around like …. omg

    • weka 2.2

      Why can't rural people use EVs?

      • Chris T 2.2.1

        Which type?

        Taking into account they have to tow massively loaded trailers and drive places there are no roads.

        • mickysavage 2.2.1.1

          They are not making it compulsory to own a EV. But every urban liberal EV means that we have a bit more space for a cow's farting.

        • Cinny 2.2.1.2

          Chris, most rural people have two vehicles, a town car and a farm hack (ute) plus a quad or motorbike.

          Most rural people take the vehicle to town that costs the least to run, you don't need a trailer to pick up the groceries and a couple of bags of feed. JS.

      • pat 2.2.2

        mainly range…though towing can be problematic. Theres no reason that the second vehicle couldnt be electric, other than range…or cost

      • alwyn 2.2.3

        Mainly the absence of charging points. You can charge them, very slowly, from a wall plug but anything usable really needs a high amp circuit. Farm houses won't be likely to have circuits capable of providing the amperage to do the job in a reasonable time.

        I'm not really up on this so don't take these calculations as Gospel. I could easily have dropped a decimal point somewhere. Andre is, I think, up with it so if he comments you may get a better number.

        However. A smallish car needs about 12 kwh to travel 100 km. If you want to go into town from a typical farm you might have a round trip of 250 km. Hence you need a charge of roughly 30 kva. To put this into a battery in 2 hours, at 240 volts, will need a current of about 65 amps. A standard house circuit is 10 amps.so it isn't going to hack it. A wall plug would take 13 hours.

        There aren't likely to be to many outlets in the area either. They are expensive and need to have a good demand from people nearby.

        Urban travel is usually for much shorter distances. If you drove to work and home the trips might be 20 km each and you could charge the car while parked at work

        The electric vehicles also aren't that good at towing and farmers often need to tow a trailer. That is much better done with an ICE vehicle, and a diesel at that. If you go off-road the power you need goes way up as well. Say 30 kwh per 100 km?

        There is a lot more to it but that might show you the bones of the problem

          • McFlock 2.2.3.1.1

            Also seems to me that charging points could be plugged into the mains and just be power packs on permanent charge, which can then charge EVs at the higher rate when needed.

            • alwyn 2.2.3.1.1.1

              I don't know whether I am reading this Tesla material information properly, and as I said earlier I'm not really o'fay with this subject but to get a 40kwh battery system seems to cost about $36,500. Is this the sort of power pack you mean?

              If you were going to try and discharge it within a couple of hours you wouldn't be able to get anything except the power already in the pack. That's why I said I had no solar power. Basically this calculation seems to be saying that to get 40kwh of storage this is what you need.

              Seems to be a lot of money for just one charging unit, wouldn’t you say?

              https://www.tesla.com/en_NZ/powerwall

              • McFlock

                Yeah, but I suspect that iPhone-brand power packs are much more expensive than the generic pack I picked up from kmart, too.

                But, like electric cars, the product exists and will go down in price as consumers shift to EV.

                Also – might be just the thing for a farm with a variety of machinery that needs to be used at different times of the year. Charge one when you're using the other.

                • Puckish Rogue

                  Agreed, thank goodness we live in a capitalist society and not a socialist one where this is what we know will happen

                  • McFlock

                    Thank goodness we live in a socialist country where if you roll your ev, your medical care is free (rather than bankrupting you like in a capitalist country).

                    Ain't mixed economies great. Thanks for bringing random shit into the discussion.

          • alwyn 2.2.3.1.2

            @Muttonbird

            Dinky little thing isn't it?

            I'm not sure I would try it on a road of course and I don't think it would provide the real off-road transport for a farm. Fence posts are bloody heavy, and a dozen hay bails would be rather an overload. Much nicer than a quad-bike though. God I hate those things.

        • dv 2.2.3.2

          Alwyn
          Nope we can full charge on a 3 pin standard circuit plu over night.- and that gets 150k ish. So fine for 50 k commute.
          And traveling we usually can charge over night through a window.

        • Andre 2.2.3.3

          12kWh to go 100km is at the very best end of the scale, a largish ute is likely to halve that distance per kWh, or worse.

          Typical hardwired domestic chargers are around 7kW. Most house supplies can provide this with a new dedicated circuit from the main board.

          250km round-trip to town seems like an exceptionally remote farm – perhaps Ohura or somewhere on the West Coast.

          Dunno where the idea that electric vehicles are poor for towing came from. Their instant full torque from zero speed is a much better performance characteristic than an ICE that has to be turning at well above idle speed to generate useful torque. There's all kinds of stunt demos of various vehicles towing massive objects – like Teslas towing jumbo jets of the Ford F150 electric prototype towing a million-pound train. Sure, towing reduces range in an EV, just like it uses more fuel in a dino-juice vehicle.

          In an electrified farm context, there's lots of machinery that sits idle most of the time, as McFlock notes below. Those are opportunities for either their batteries to be used as storage to provide quick recharges for whatever machines are in heavy use at that moment, or maybe there's an opportunity for quick-swap standardised batteries to be developed.

          As for where the farm electricity comes from, farms usually have lots of roof space for mounting PV panels. As well as land space for wind turbines. If they’re lucky, maybe also a nano-hydro setup.

          A solution for the battery size/range conundrum is range-extended EVs. That is, a battery vehicle with a modestly sized battery suitable for the vast majority of daily use, and a small dino-juice generator that fires up and operates at its most efficient speed and power for when an extended use is needed. The BMW i3 has had it for a long time, LEVC are doing it for London taxis and delivery vans, Ford is offering a Transit van like this and so on.

          https://www.stuff.co.nz/motoring/117224423/ford-nz-to-launch-plugin-transit-van-next-year

          https://www.levc.com/

          https://cleantechnica.com/2020/02/20/american-farmers-are-turning-to-wind-energy/

        • Cinny 2.2.3.4

          Alwyn, there are loads of farms around here, not many, if any, are a 250km return trip to town. There are charging points at the supermarket among other places. It's the same over in Golden Bay.

          • alwyn 2.2.3.4.1

            I was basing it on what I remember from a cousin of mine in Hawkes Bay. He farmed a few km from Waipawa, out near Tamumu. That was about 75 km from Napier. It never seemed very far. However a trip to "town" might mean going to see his Accountant at Napier, dropping in to say hello to my mother, visiting a Supermarket and the Stock and Station Agent in Hastings. That would very quickly blow out the supposed return trip of 150 km to well over 200. 250 doesn't seem impossible and a detour for a blocked road would have certainly blown it out to 250 km Have a look at it on the map and you'll see that he was certainly not out in the wop-wops.

            Those sort of trips are never door-to-door and no detours as people seem to think.

            However, how close is the supermarket with the charging point to their farm? A farmer really doesn't have the time to drive 5 km to a charging point, wait for it to become available and then wait an hour or two for the vehicle to charge. They always seem to have work to do back on the farm.

        • weka 2.2.3.5

          "Mainly the absence of charging points"

          So that's an argument for better infrastructure rurally to help with transition. It's not an argument against a scheme that is needed to shift the fleet to EV to avert climate catastrophe. Unless some farmers think they are special and should be exempt.

          Re heavier vehicles for farm work, I agree, but again, this is an argument for better support for the transition, not to avoid transitioning.

          Last year I looked at charging points available for across Southland and Otago (online map). There seemed to be a few gaps for the kind of driving I was wanting to do but I was surprised at the coverage already given how few EVs there are. Some of that will be because of tourism, but if I were a farmer I'd be lobbying for better rural support.

          The thing about EVs is we have to change travel behaviour. All of us, including rural people (I live in the country btw).

          • alwyn 2.2.3.5.1

            Have a look at my comment to Cinny. It isn't really feasible for a farmer to drive his ute every couple of days to a charging station and then wait round for a couple of hours at the slow chargers that shops supply or even the half hour or so it takes to get a 100 km or so range with a fast charger. They can't do anything while they wait. It is not as if their place of work is only a couple of hundred meters away. I'm afraid for a farmer it is charge it at home or don't use it.

            • weka 2.2.3.5.1.1

              Or the govt subsidises charging stations in each rohe. Large farms could be doing this for the community too. Fonterra and FF could be front footing this. Massive power line infrastructure has been put in so farmers could have irrigation, no-one was saying then oh we can't figure out how to power these new things.

              It's not hard to figure out solutions when one accepts the need for them. The actual problem here isn't rural distances, it's the CC denial of the industry.

              "They can't do anything while they wait"

              Yes They Can. Just like other busy people who have lives that need to be lived and work that needs to be done. We all have to change our behaviours.

  3. Chris T 3

    Anyone else hear Sean Plunket today saying his "Connections" have told him Ihumatao will be sorted in the next couple of days.

    Apparently Soymun says Labour are giving 40 mill to a new Maori group to oversea the sale and Winston has okayed it.

    Probaby bollocks, but will be quite a big thing if by some weird fate it is true

  4. DirkDirkin 6

    Unbelievable Bridges dosent know our extradition laws

    Did he get his degree by paying someone else to.sit his exams?

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Fast-tracked Northland water project will accelerate economic recovery
    The Government has welcomed the decision to approve a new water storage reservoir in Northland, the first of a number of infrastructure projects earmarked for a speedy consenting process that aims to accelerate New Zealand’s economic recovery from Covid-19.  The Matawii Water Storage Reservoir will provide drinking water for Kaikohe, ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 days ago
  • Tokelau Language Week reminds us to stay united and strong
    Staying strong in the face of challenges and being true to our heritage and languages are key to preserving our cultural identity and wellbeing, is the focus of the 2020 Tokelau Language Week. Minister for Pacific Peoples, Aupito William Sio, says this year’s theme, ‘Apoapo tau foe, i nā tāfea ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    6 days ago
  • NZ announces a third P-3 deployment in support of UN sanctions
    The Government has deployed a Royal New Zealand Air Force P-3K2 Orion (P-3) maritime patrol aircraft to support the implementation of United Nations Security Council (UNSC) resolutions imposing sanctions against North Korea, announced Minister of Foreign Affairs Winston Peters and Minister of Defence Ron Mark. “New Zealand has long supported ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Pacific trade and development agreement a reality
    Pacific regional trade and development agreement PACER Plus will enter into force in 60 days now that the required eight countries have ratified it. Trade and Export Growth Minister David Parker welcomed the announcement that the Cook Islands is the eighth nation to ratify this landmark agreement. “The agreement represents ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Securing a pipeline of teachers
    The Government is changing its approach to teacher recruitment as COVID-19 travel restrictions continue, by boosting a range of initiatives to get more Kiwis into teaching. “When we came into Government, we were faced with a teacher supply crisis,” Education Minister Chris Hipkins said. “Over the past three years, we ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Border exceptions for a small number of international students with visas
    The Government has established a new category that will allow 250 international PhD and postgraduate students to enter New Zealand and continue their studies, in the latest set of border exceptions. “The health, safety and wellbeing of people in New Zealand remains the Government’s top priority. Tight border restrictions remain ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • First COVID-19 vaccine purchase agreement signed
    The Government has signed an agreement to purchase 1.5 million COVID-19 vaccines – enough for 750,000 people – from Pfizer and BioNTech, subject to the vaccine successfully completing all clinical trials and passing regulatory approvals in New Zealand, say Research, Science and Innovation Minister Megan Woods and Health Minister Chris Hipkins. ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • International statement – End-to-end encryption and public safety
    We, the undersigned, support strong encryption, which plays a crucial role in protecting personal data, privacy, intellectual property, trade secrets and cyber security.  It also serves a vital purpose in repressive states to protect journalists, human rights defenders and other vulnerable people, as stated in the 2017 resolution of the ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • Ministry of Defence Biodefence Assessment released
    The Ministry of Defence has today released a Defence Assessment examining Defence’s role across the spectrum of biological hazards and threats facing New Zealand. Biodefence: Preparing for a New Era of Biological Hazards and Threats looks at how the NZDF supports other agencies’ biodefence activities, and considers the context of ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • New Approaches to Economic Challenges: Confronting Planetary Emergencies: OECD 9 October 2020
    New Approaches to Economic Challenges: Confronting Planetary Emergencies: OECD 9 October 2020 Hon David Parker’s response following Thomas Piketty and Esther Duflo. Good morning, good afternoon, and good evening, wherever in the world you might be. I first acknowledge the excellent thought provoking speeches of Thomas Piketty and Esther ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago