web analytics

Daily review 21/07/2020

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, July 21st, 2020 - 57 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

57 comments on “Daily review 21/07/2020 ”

  1. Johnr 1

    As I keenly observe our political landscape I have to say it's totally depressing.

    I'm sure that it takes more energy to be an arsehole.

    Than to just behave like a decent human being.

  2. Ad 2

    19 September no longer feels too far away.

    No-one's going to get anything done in Parliament now with the government parties fully at each other.

    Ah to be a tv reporter at National Party campaign headquarters when we take them back down to the 25% range, and take out solid blue seats.

    • observer 2.1

      25%? Very unlikely. And be careful what you wish for.

      I want National to lose big, but unlike many (most?) on the left I don't want a 2002 meltdown. It was ACT, NZF and UF who benefited most from that, not Labour. That brought in some really terrible right wing MPs on their 3 lists. Worse than mediocre Nats, as it turned out.

      Number 30 or 40 on National's list will still be better than nos 6 or 7 on ACT's list. Or NZF surviving thanks to Nat voters.

      • Ad 2.1.1

        Took them 2 more terms to recover. I'll take that.

        In 2020 Act will pull in about 4 seats, NZF will get nothing, Greens will get about 7-9.

        Time to crush National so bad we destroy the old guard like it's 1935.

        It's that kind of moment.

        • observer 2.1.1.1

          Your numbers don't add up.

          Also, it was 2 terms relying on UF/NZF. Hardly transformational.

          • Ad 2.1.1.1.1

            Yes MMP existed. It still does. Get over it. National were out for 3 terms.

            I'm amazed you have so little political or policy ambition.

            • observer 2.1.1.1.1.1

              The opposite. I want and expect a Labour-Green majority. I certainly want the Greens' share of that majority to be higher than it is now. There will be less "ambition" if they don't have it.

              In 2002 Parliament missed out on those oh-so-terrible Tories like Chester Borrows and replaced them with ultra-right horrors like Muriel Newman and Paul Adams (UF)

              Not a swap that I'd take again, thanks. They obstructed social reform for those 2 terms. It took over a decade to catch up.

        • Draco T Bastard 2.1.1.2

          In 2020 Act will pull in about 4 seats

          If ACT get across the threshold that's 6 seats minimum and with the ongoing meltdown of National that's entirely possible.

          NZF will get nothing

          Yeah, get the feeling this may be the end of NZF. Winston definitely.

          Greens at 7 to 9 percent would be good. More would be better.

          Time to crush National so bad we destroy the old guard like it's 1935.

          1936 when National formed on the remnants of the old Reform and Liberal parties after they were struck by fear that, as Don Brash named the people, the punters out in punterland may actually have a say in running their country.

          • Ad 2.1.1.2.1

            Act won't get over the threshold but Epsom will drag in a couple. That soft 12% of swinging Nat vote is ours this time.

            • Draco T Bastard 2.1.1.2.1.1

              Possibly but I won't be surprised to see enough of National's more liberal members vote ACT pushing it over threshold.

              • Graeme

                With a centrist like Muller as leader, pretty much assured that ACT would be over 5%, but at National's expense.

                With Collins at the front, well that's going to drag the ACT leaning voter right back into National.

                Muller failed because National was loosing too many votes (and MP's jobs) to ACT, Collins is there to save as many jobs as they can.

        • Drowsy M. Kram 2.1.1.3

          "Time to crush National so bad we destroy the old guard…"

          Aggressive language; have you been chatting with Jacinda?

          Time to "CRUSH KILL DESTROY" the Crusher.

          • Chris T 2.1.1.3.1

            Well that is nice.

            • Drowsy M. Kram 2.1.1.3.1.1

              The quoted sentence (in comment 2.1.1) contains aggressive language, IMHO.

              The Lost in Space clip is OTT fun, and that episode had a happy ending for the "Instant Destroyer and Killer" super android! I don’t favour a "Crush Kill Destroy" style of politics or political campaigning – it’s a real turn-off.

        • millsy 2.1.1.4

          I wish I could share your optimism, Ad. I really do.

          Its not over till its over. I wont be celebrating till midnight on 19th September. (the day after my 40th birthday…..)

      • Pat 2.1.2

        worse than medicore Nats?…perhaps but at least they were up front…it appears to me that the likes of ACT, (although I oppose them with a passion) are at least honest with their agenda….the Nats, less so

  3. Just Is 3

    Watching the response from some of the electors in Faloons electorate gives you the impression they don't care who the MP representing them is, as long as they're National.

    No real expectation of any morality or anything else, just as long as they're a National person.

    This may be part of the problem, if electors aren't concerned, it gives the party member a lot of leeway to do whatever they like, as long as they're National.

    • Incognito 3.1

      It is entirely possible that some don’t view the Nat Party as a moral vacuum or wasteland at all and that the Party replacing one bad apple with a good one is the right and natural thing to do. In fact, that shows to them that the Party is functioning with a moral compass despite some people jumping up & down and popping blood vessels in the white of their eyes arguing the exact opposite. Wishing (!!) does it make it so.

      • Draco T Bastard 3.1.1

        I'm sure that they're are some moral National voters. Unfortunately, they wouldn't know what corruption was if it slapped them with a lawsuit.

        An in-law was a policy advisor for National over decades. A story he likes to tell everybody goes like this:

        When Shipley was PM he approached her and asked what she was going to do about Death Taxes. She responded that if he couldn’t avoid them then he probably shouldn’t be in the National Party.

        • Incognito 3.1.1.1

          Weak explanation. Shipley is not representative of all past, present, and future Nat MPs or its staffers. Shipley is most definitely not representative of Nat voters; in 2017 over one million people voted for National. They have been one of the two major parties in NZ for decades. All that because their supporters/voters don’t know the meaning or can’t recognise corruption? I expected something a little more compelling from you 😉

          • Draco T Bastard 3.1.1.1.1

            The person I was talking to was a policy advisor for decades and he really didn't seem to understand that the cheating he was talking about was corruption.

            Things, there are many who are the same. The people who pay cash for jobs so that they can get it cheaper because the tradesman isn’t paying taxes. The business person who go to Maccas with his wife and kids and gets receipt so that he can put it on the business (seen it done).

            They’re little and so people don’t see it as the theft and corruption that it is.

      • Just Is 3.1.2

        Your premise is totally dependent on this though

        "the Party replacing one bad apple with a good one"

        You asume the replacement is "better" than the one just removed.

        You could also argue, and this does apply to National, that the replacement is equally bad, sometimes, even worse.

        I'd also argue that the last 2 or 3 weeks have proven that theory, not mentioning any names..

        • Incognito 3.1.2.1

          I was talking from the PoV of a hypothetical (imaginary, if you like) Nat supporter. You know, those people who sometimes prefer to vote for National. They do exist, you know. Do they suffer from major cognitive dissonance and can only people who vote for, say, Labour see the truth? Why would anybody vote for a bunch of ‘bad apples’? Self-interest only goes so far. I look forward to your explanation.

  4. ScottGN 4

    There are 3 weeks left in this parliamentary sitting before the House rises on August 6 and the GG drops the writ on August 16, effectively firing the starting gun on the campaign. Given that neither the PM or Leader of the Opposition usually attend the House on a Thursday that means that Collins has 6 Questions Times left to take the fight to Ardern. Going by today’s rather lacklustre effort she’s going to need all of them.

    • anker 5.1

      great article. I attempted to raise the issue on another post that grief and drinking are separate issues from sending inappropriate text to women.

      Mau expresses it well

    • ianmac 5.2

      Alison wrote about what Collins could do now to prove her sincerity:

      So what can Judith Collins do, if she is in fact being honest about her willingness to deal with this as a human, rather than a political, issue?

      She can release, with urgency, the report into harassment and bullying in the National Party that one of her predecessors Simon Bridges (remember him?) refused to release. It’s not likely to be a perfect document by any stretch – it did not even gather the views of the women whose treatment sparked it – but it would be a start.

      After that, she could stop the practice of gagging people who complain about her MPs non-disclosure agreements.

      Fat hope!

      • NZJester 5.2.1

        The biggest reason she would also be unlikely to release it is that I bet both she and her deputy could possibly feature heavily in it.

    • Just Is 5.3

      Robert, it's been quite interesting watching some of the media cohorts squirming as they have to report and present news articles about their favoured party and there's no way of presenting it in a favourable light

      We know who they are, it's blatantly obvious.

    • Chris T 5.4

      Not that it is a big deal, the problem with trying to argue with post on here like your Mau's ends up getting you banned for a week,

      [Really? I’ll tell what does get you banned here and that is making up shit about moderation here. A lying troll is as bad as a lying MP and moderation/banning is just the perfect anti-dote – Incognito]

      • Draco T Bastard 5.4.1

        Actually, it is a big deal. Such immoral behaviour needs to be recognised and punished – not swept under the rug as, apparently, Judith Collins tried to do.

      • Incognito 5.4.2

        See my Moderation note @ 12:29 AM.

  5. Dennis Frank 6

    My local dinosaur Nat MP targets the Greens' energy policy: https://www.stuff.co.nz/taranaki-daily-news/opinion/122187375/a-labourgreen-government-would-see-the-end-of-taranaki-as-we-know-it-says-jonathan-young

    What makes this policy so senseless is that over the last year we’ve seen gas-fired electricity generation decrease by 10 per cent (which is the aim of their policy), while coal-fired electricity generation has had to nearly double, increasing by 95 per cent, to make up for it.

    That’s a classic backfire proving the Government’s advisers were right when they said that the ban will actually make New Zealand’s greenhouse gases go up and not down.

    Sadly, when the Pohokura field closed down in 2018 it was eyes wide shut. New Zealand burned twice as much coal, with twice as many emissions, to replace the gas that wasn’t available. The coal was imported from Indonesia. The wholesale cost of electricity increased by 60 per cent for most of 2019, seeing some companies go broke.

    Over the last month, 26 per cent of our electricity was generated by thermal heat, mostly natural gas. When natural gas supply has been low over the last couple of years, we’ve increased the use of coal to keep the lights on.

    So extricating ourselves from fossil fuel dependency is boosting our contribution to global warming. Is he right about this paradox??

    This month, the Government’s Transpower website described it as “non-gas thermal capacity”, saying it has been increased at the Huntly power station to reduce the risk to our security of supply. The Government’s new, four word, eight syllable phrase is a nothing more than a camouflage of what is really happening. It’s a convoluted way to describe a one syllable word called “coal”.

    They are building up coal reserves to keep the lights on, because they are worried there isn’t enough gas. Meanwhile, the Green Party is insisting we end all new onshore exploration for natural gas. Smart move? Yeah – nah.

    Dunno about the yeah bit. If he is actually correct. Wouldn't surprise me if our leftists are trying to get away with a smoke & mirrors scam. It's what lefists do. Equally, it wouldn't surprise me if he's making false claims. It's what the Nats do. Is there anything actually real about energy policy??

    • Draco T Bastard 6.1

      Wouldn't surprise me if our leftists are trying to get away with a smoke & mirrors scam. It's what lefists do.

      No, really, they don't. That would be National and other right-whingers.

    • Ad 6.2

      Young could do worse than continue hammering Labour on electricity prices, policy, and regulation. Ain't no-one buying that hydrogen crap this government is preaching in Taranaki.

      • millsy 6.2.1

        "Ain't no-one buying that hydrogen crap this government is preaching in Taranaki."

        Hydrogen = magic fairy dust.

    • Gabby 6.3

      Got that ole broad brush out there again eh. In praxis how aligned are you with your local dinosaur?

  6. Dennis Frank 7

    We're all getting older, so readers may benefit from learning how old folk incorporate resilience lifestyles to age well.

    The Ministry of Health’s 2017 Healthy Ageing Strategy said by the age of 65 people can expect to live half their remaining lives free of disability, or with manageable, functional limitations. The strategy sought to prioritise resilience, saying there was increasingly clear evidence that healthy lifestyles and physical and mental resilience were determinants of health in older age.

    “Resilient people are more likely to age well and avoid cognitive decline or loss of function until very late in life. Resilient people can overcome stressful obstacles and recover from events that might tip a less resilient person into state of poor health,” the report said.

    Resilience develops through physical activity, healthy behaviours, mental wellbeing and social connectedness. Healthy behaviours included good nutrition, drinking minimally, not smoking tobacco, and taking part in mentally stimulating activities and relationships. There was strong evidence that social isolation or loneliness was linked to poor mental and physical health outcomes.

    Health literacy was also important. People needed to be empowered to make decisions that affected their health and care. Resilience included the capacity to make good decisions, act on health information and navigate the health system. https://www.stuff.co.nz/national/health/300057338/the-resilience-project-what-millennials-can-learn-about-resilience-from-boomers-and-the-postwar-generation

    Millennials – who are now aged between 22 and 38 – have become known as the burnout generation, with some research suggesting they respond to emotional exhaustion differently to Boomers. Psychiatrist and University of Auckland senior lecturer Tony Fernando says studies have shown senior doctors tend to be more resilient than junior doctors, whose burnout rates are much higher.

    “It could be life experience, or there might be some brain changes that make them more adaptable,” Fernando says. “Older people are more realistic, more accepting of life, more accepting of illness and death because it’s real to them, and they’ve seen it.

    “People will think those who are older, they have more illness, they have more loss, they’re frail, or not living in their own homes any more – you would expect they are more fragile. No, they’re not.”

  7. weka 8

    This apparently is for real, Tova O’Brien knocked on door of Andrew Falloon’s mother. Can someone who saw it please give some context, because I can't see any valid reason for this. However annoying O'Brien's terrier approach is to politicians, family are a different matter entirely.

    • observer 8.1

      It isn't for real. A reporter did, Tova didn't.

      It's disheartening how often people watch the 6 pm news and don't pay attention, or don't understand editing, and leap to conclusions (where do they think Tova spent the day? Timaru or Parliament?). It's a fair gripe, but not against O'Brien.

      • McFlock 8.1.1

        Either way, whoever did it and whoever included it in their "news" report, it was a lazy and sleazy act.

        • observer 8.1.1.1

          Yes it was.

          But now we have a huge social media pile-on, an audience that thinks she interviewed Nat MPs in the morning and reported on Parliament in the afternoon and somehow flew down to Rangitata in her lunch break. And you wouldn't want any of them as eyewitnesses to a crime, because the clip clearly shows it is not her.

          But far more importantly … Nobody seems capable of looking past a face on a screen, as the target. Nobody seems aware that bulletin producers and heads of news departments make the bigger decisions about what reporters do. They are anonymous suits in Auckland, so who cares. (Anybody who wants better news, that's who).

          Instead of tracing the tabloid television back to the demands of corporate owners, we have Tova-hate, which used to be Paddy-hate or Guyon-hate or whoever it was.

          If we're that shallow and stupid, maybe we get the telly we deserve.

          • I Feel Love 8.1.1.1.1

            Maybe coz she's capable of such action, and it was a Newshub thing, I certainly don't consider her a journalist anymore, I figure she's after a Hosking or Garner type role.

            • observer 8.1.1.1.1.1

              And if she fell under a bus tomorrow, her replacement would be Ed Murrow? Woodward and Bernstein?

              No. It would be the next Tova. It's Mediaworks.

  8. joe90 9

    Forty three to go.
    /

    As of March 2020, six U.S. states have prohibited discrimination based on hair texture

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Discrimination_based_on_hair_texture_in_the_United_States

  9. Dennis Frank 10

    Wow! History has been made here in New Plymouth tonight! Looks like there's been a sea-change out there in white supremacy land:

    "As the chamber erupted in applause and members embraced, there were tears from the man whose life was irrecoverably changed when he championed a Māori ward six years ago. Former New Plymouth mayor Andrew Judd said he was humbled that district councillors had voted to bypass community consultation and establish a Māori ward in time for the 2022 election."

    And the current mayor turned out to be so gutless that he parked himself on the sidelines:

    The motion was passed 12-2, with Holdom abstaining, prompting celebrations in the council chamber.

  10. Peter 11

    I appreciate it's been a bit hard being a National supporter lately. The old saying 'when the going gets tough' came to mind today while I was checking out Kiwiblog.

    When the going gets tough the tough get going? Or engage the brain and rationalise the situation? No, you come up with whatever angle you can to blame or implicate J Ardern or Labour.

    The sad bastards deserve their mob to disintegrate and be humbled in the election.

    • I Feel Love 11.1

      Or the Newshub poll, a man sends unsolicited porn to women, who's fault is it? Jacindas or Judiths?

    • Cinny 11.2

      Went and took a peek 🕵️‍♀️ at kw, as you do when something big politically goes down.

      An apologist post grasping at straws, linking the 'young' age and lack of offspring, of certain disgraced MP's… falloon, barclay, walker and JLR, as the newest excuse.

      dpf, of dirty politics fame 🚽, lamenting he's more responsible now he has a daughter ….

      But the real kicker…..a large advert …'meet tender girls nearby'… with a photo of a young girl.

      What an actual fucktard.

      • Peter 11.2.1

        The Farrar thing about becoming a parent caught my attention too.

        "I'm an arsehole, I'm an arsehole, I'm an arsehole … oops, I've become a parent… I'm not an arsehole…

        Well, only when I go to work.

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Tokelau Language Week reminds us to stay united and strong
    Staying strong in the face of challenges and being true to our heritage and languages are key to preserving our cultural identity and wellbeing, is the focus of the 2020 Tokelau Language Week. Minister for Pacific Peoples, Aupito William Sio, says this year’s theme, ‘Apoapo tau foe, i nā tāfea ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    5 days ago
  • NZ announces a third P-3 deployment in support of UN sanctions
    The Government has deployed a Royal New Zealand Air Force P-3K2 Orion (P-3) maritime patrol aircraft to support the implementation of United Nations Security Council (UNSC) resolutions imposing sanctions against North Korea, announced Minister of Foreign Affairs Winston Peters and Minister of Defence Ron Mark. “New Zealand has long supported ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Pacific trade and development agreement a reality
    Pacific regional trade and development agreement PACER Plus will enter into force in 60 days now that the required eight countries have ratified it. Trade and Export Growth Minister David Parker welcomed the announcement that the Cook Islands is the eighth nation to ratify this landmark agreement. “The agreement represents ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Securing a pipeline of teachers
    The Government is changing its approach to teacher recruitment as COVID-19 travel restrictions continue, by boosting a range of initiatives to get more Kiwis into teaching. “When we came into Government, we were faced with a teacher supply crisis,” Education Minister Chris Hipkins said. “Over the past three years, we ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Border exceptions for a small number of international students with visas
    The Government has established a new category that will allow 250 international PhD and postgraduate students to enter New Zealand and continue their studies, in the latest set of border exceptions. “The health, safety and wellbeing of people in New Zealand remains the Government’s top priority. Tight border restrictions remain ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • First COVID-19 vaccine purchase agreement signed
    The Government has signed an agreement to purchase 1.5 million COVID-19 vaccines – enough for 750,000 people – from Pfizer and BioNTech, subject to the vaccine successfully completing all clinical trials and passing regulatory approvals in New Zealand, say Research, Science and Innovation Minister Megan Woods and Health Minister Chris Hipkins. ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • International statement – End-to-end encryption and public safety
    We, the undersigned, support strong encryption, which plays a crucial role in protecting personal data, privacy, intellectual property, trade secrets and cyber security.  It also serves a vital purpose in repressive states to protect journalists, human rights defenders and other vulnerable people, as stated in the 2017 resolution of the ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Ministry of Defence Biodefence Assessment released
    The Ministry of Defence has today released a Defence Assessment examining Defence’s role across the spectrum of biological hazards and threats facing New Zealand. Biodefence: Preparing for a New Era of Biological Hazards and Threats looks at how the NZDF supports other agencies’ biodefence activities, and considers the context of ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • New Approaches to Economic Challenges: Confronting Planetary Emergencies: OECD 9 October 2020
    New Approaches to Economic Challenges: Confronting Planetary Emergencies: OECD 9 October 2020 Hon David Parker’s response following Thomas Piketty and Esther Duflo. Good morning, good afternoon, and good evening, wherever in the world you might be. I first acknowledge the excellent thought provoking speeches of Thomas Piketty and Esther ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • Kaipara Moana restoration takes next step
    A Memorandum of Understanding has been signed today at Waihāua Marae between the Crown, local iwi and councils to protect, restore and enhance the mauri of Kaipara Moana in Northland. Environment Minister David Parker signed the document on behalf of the Crown along with representatives from Ngā Maunga Whakahī, Ngāti ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • New Zealand and Uruguay unite on reducing livestock production emissions
    Agriculture Minister Damien O’Connor and Uruguayan Minister of Livestock, Agriculture and Fisheries Carlos María Uriarte have welcomed the launch of a three-year project that will underpin sustainable livestock production in Uruguay, Argentina, and Costa Rica.  The project called ‘Innovation for pasture management’ is led by Uruguay’s National Institute of Agricultural ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • 3100 jobs created through marae upgrades
    Hundreds of marae throughout the country will be upgraded through investments from the Provincial Growth Fund’s refocused post COVID-19 funding to create jobs and put money into the pockets of local tradespeople and businesses, Regional Economic Development Minister Shane Jones and Māori Development Minister Nanaia Mahuta have announced. “A total ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • Health volunteers recognised in annual awards
    Health Minister Chris Hipkins has announced 9 teams and 14 individuals are the recipients of this year’s Minister of Health Volunteer Awards.  “The health volunteer awards celebrate and recognise the thousands of dedicated health sector volunteers who give many hours of their time to help other New Zealanders,” Mr Hipkins ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • Community COVID-19 Fund supports Pacific recovery
    The Minister for Pacific Peoples, Aupito William Sio says a total of 264 groups and individuals have successfully applied for the Pacific Aotearoa Community COVID-19 Recovery Fund, that will support Pacific communities drive their own COVID-19 recovery strategies, initiatives, and actions. “I am keen to see this Fund support Pacific ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • Community benefits from Māori apprenticeships
    Up to 50 Māori apprentices in Wellington will receive paid training to build houses for their local communities, thanks to a $2.75 million investment from the Māori Trades and Training Fund, announced Employment Minister Willie Jackson today. “This funding will enable Ngāti Toa Rangatira Incorporated to provide its Ngā Kaimahi ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • Training fund supports Māori jobseekers
    Rapidly growing sectors will benefit from a $990,000 Māori Trades and Training Fund investment which will see Wellington jobseekers supported into work, announced Employment Minister Willie Jackson today. “This funding will enable Sapphire Consultants Ltd. to help up to 45 Māori jobseekers into paid training initiatives over two years through ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago