web analytics

Daily review 24/06/2020

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, June 24th, 2020 - 71 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

71 comments on “Daily review 24/06/2020 ”

  1. Dennis Frank 1

    Next Colmar Brunton poll: tomorrow night. Just heard it on One News.

    • Drowsy M. Kram 1.1

      Thanks for that news; handy graphical summary of NZ political poll results here.

      https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Opinion_polling_for_the_2020_New_Zealand_general_election

      Not as sophisticated as Matthew Whitehead's Pollwatch posts, but still worth a look.

      • McFlock 1.1.1

        the nice thing about the wikipedia posts is that it's easy to go back to the same page for the 2017 election (and previous), and get a sense of the trends and change points from a wider perspective.

        It's still just navel-gazing at the moment, but I doubt Todd is sleeping well. Probably eponymously mulling over September's approach into the morning.

        Or maybe he's not, and that's why he's so crap.

        It does seem that Winston is positioning NZ1 as a coalition lifeline for the tories this time, though. I think they're going well beyond just making themselves distinct from Labgrn.

    • ianmac 1.2

      Yes Dennis. And I bet there will be a drop in support for the Government and "expert" commentators will revel in the 2 or 5 or 20+% drop. The Opposition will claim a big win after destroying public confidence, while some of us will despise their approach.

    • observer 1.3

      They had Lab 59 Nat 29 last time, so the closing of the gap is certain. Labour's numbers were unsustainable. I'd guess around Lab 51 Nat 35 this time. ACT might gain from Nats.

      NZF were only on 3, and they've really gone for headlines since then. Maybe back above 5. Greens will do well to be 5+.

      It would be funny if NZF get a bump and Muller has to do the rule in/out dance yet again.

    • Cinny 1.4

      Thanks Dennis 🙂 That's going to be interesting.

  2. observer 2

    Credit where it's due: this is a really good, concise summary of NZ's current Covid-19 reailty. from the Herald/NZME.

    Makes a welcome change from hysterical headlines.

    • ScottGN 2.1

      No surprise that’s Jamie Morton. He’s been one of the few voices of reason at the Herald since the crisis started.
      The point of the article is really good too. You can test all you like but the best way to prevent spread into the community is just to impose the bloody quarantine properly and for the 14 days.

    • Stunned mullet 2.2

      https://www.newshub.co.nz/home/politics/2020/06/health-minister-david-clark-brutally-throws-dr-ashley-bloomfield-under-the-bus-while-standing-right-next-to-him.html

      'In the week after the new testing rules were brought in, 54 people were allowed to leave early on compassionate grounds. But almost all – 50 people – left without being tested.

      There were 2159 released generally from quarantine and at least 449 were allowed out without a test – and counting.'

      • Sacha 2.2.1

        Gee, which of those two would most New Zealanders want gone?

        • observer 2.2.1.1

          One of Muller's many tactical mistakes is that for short-term gain (probably seen in the poll tomorrow) he is now lumping in the DG of Health with the Minister.

          National will either have to say how the system would work better under the same boss, or say they want him removed, and explain how.

      • observer 2.2.2

        You probably should have read the link in my comment first.

      • Ad 2.2.3

        Easy bet that most New Zealanders would prefer to have Dr Bloomfield as Minister of Health than would have Mr Clark remain there.

        • Sacha 2.2.3.1

          Doubt he would want the job; just to work with a politician who has cabinet’s respect.

    • ianmac 2.3

      Thanks observer. Jamie Morton is showing healthy signs of keeping information in perspective and applying good science. He based his column on a group of experts, though he didn't seem to use Todd Muller as an informed resource.
      (Experts:Te Punaha Matatini investigators, Professor Michael Plank and Dr Alex James of the University of Canterbury, Professor Shaun Hendy and Nic Steyn at University of Auckland, and Dr Rachelle Binny and Dr Audrey Lustig at Manaaki Whenua-Landcare Research.)

  3. JohnSelway 3

    I’m one of the people that were let out of 2 week hotel isolation without being tested. They know how to contact me and where I am living but as of yet there has been no contact from any government agency. Not a call or an email – nothing. Tomorrow I’m going to make myself known to the agencies responsible but I’m still shocked I haven’t received as much as a text message.

    • James 3.1

      John – amazing and disgusting at the same time.

      • anker 3.1.1

        Actually James the test isn't the crucial thing. If John was well isolated for 14 days and had no symptoms, then risk very low. The tests aren't 100%…..Its the social isolation that counts. That's why our lockdown worked.

        I see you are back now after there has been what the PM termed an "unacceptable failure"….So here to stir.

        • James 3.1.1.1

          And of the couple of thousand people isolated and possibly not tested – how many were isolated well?

          mixing in the exercise room with new arrivals, children’s birthday parties etc – no reason some could have been infected by new arrivals. Of course we don’t know because the government won’t.

          yeah sorry to be back when this circus of a government make a muck up that could cost the country tens of billions.

          • McFlock 3.1.1.1.1

            And people might get sick. You forgot to be outraged by that, too. But when I lose money, I generally find it down the couch. NZ will get its money back, don't worry yourself too much on that account.

            As for your generalised, panic, if there's community spread in a couple of week, I'll be grumpy at govt. Until then [brushes off tory phrasebook] "I'm pretty relaxed. It's a dinnamik envronment".

      • JohnSelway 3.1.2

        At the hotel they had an instruction that you MUST visit the nurses floor (Level 6 of the hotel) on the third day. But instead of me going down to be tested they come to my room, asked if I had symptoms and then left again. Also as a smoker I could only smoke, between the hours of 7am – 10pm in a small glass cubicle with max 3 other people. To get there I had to take the elevator which was strictly one bubble – you could only get in the elevator if you were by yourself or with those you were quarantined with but once you got to the smoking area you were mingling with other in a 1 metre by 5 metre cubicle. So can’t get in the elevator with anyone else but CAN smoke with them in a similar space.

        • I Feel Love 3.1.2.1

          Go find a testing station and get tested if you're so concerned. Or you need the state to help?

          • JohnSelway 3.1.2.1.1

            Oh I plan to go get tested. Tomorrow I’m calling the authorities to let them know of my situation.

            I have no reason to suspect I have contracted it though.

        • McFlock 3.1.2.2

          I mean, cohort control is part of running a quarantine/iso facility. So what sort of spread was there in people in the smokers room at any one time – were you dog-end to dog-end with fresh arrivals when you were on day 12?

          • JohnSelway 3.1.2.2.1

            Yes there were always new people in different stages of isolation mingling with everyone else. There was an outside exercise yard but you weren't allowed to smoke there

            • weka 3.1.2.2.1.1

              "Yes there were always new people in different stages of isolation mingling with everyone else."

              In the smoker's cubicle? That's the first thing I've seen that's alarmed me. Like many I think the risk of community transmission from not testing a full 14 days is low. But having new arrivals in close contact with people about to leave is daft.

              • McFlock

                yup

                • weka

                  haven't followed closely but the whole thing does make me wonder what's been happening with the contracting with the hotels and then supervising to make sure it's being done properly. Has this been covered in the MSM?

                  eg in this case, would the MoH have inspected the smoking room and set the rules for use?

                  • McFlock

                    Assuming everything as described is correct and there are no other considerations that were made outside the knowledge of returnees, on the face of it it looks like the MoH staff MAY (massive speculation here) have considered things like where people are roomed, how they are checked in and transported, their scheduled access for medical supervision, their use of lifts for exercise/access to communal areas and med rooms, how they are fed, and so on.And the hotel operators do the bulk of the daily work, like they would normally do – schedule cleaning, check people in and out, lifts and halls cleaned, etc.

                    My suspicion is that the MoH is not culturally in the habit of including smokers in their consideration. So the communal areas like lifts, pools, and gyms might have been specifically mentioned for management (maybe most other hotels had balconies on each room that smokers used on the sly), but the smoking area might not. And without specific consideration, the hotel folk just ignored it. And the smokers did whatever they wanted.

                    Or they might just have done the math of smoker numbers and size of the area, and figured it was fine. Or there was mingling allowed for people with negative tests or people most of the way through without symptom. Or the story has a wrong end or two that means there was no actual problem.

                    But if it's true, it's a stupid oversight that needs to be corrected as soon as possible.

      • Muttonbird 3.1.3

        Pretty sure 'disgusting' isn't the right word for this.

    • ianmac 3.2

      John are you disappointed that you are not infected or are you thrilled that you were kept safe?

    • Muttonbird 3.3

      If you completed 14 day isolation do you think it is necessary to be tested? Appears as if the MoH placed importance on the isolation rather than the testing. This would have been fine had the National Party not insisted on compassionate exemptions which they were using to beat the government with for political purposes.

      In short, when National gets involved, everything turns to crap.

      • James 3.3.1

        If you are jammed in a small room with other people – it’s not isolation.

        and blaming national for this is beyond pathetic.

        • ianmac 3.3.1.1

          James work out the space if:

          In a small glass cubicle with max 3 other people. …once you got to the smoking area you were mingling with other in a 1 metre by 5 metre cubicle.

          3 square metres for up to 3 people? Really James and John!

          • Muttonbird 3.3.1.1.1

            Could just quit smoking I guess. The team of 5 million were quite thorough disciplined. We plated by the rules of Level 4 lockdown. Shame some returnees have ruined it for everyone else.

        • Muttonbird 3.3.1.2

          Well, it has turned to shit since they've been pushing for relaxations. Cleary this is what happens with relaxations.

          It can't be coincidence.

          • JohnSelway 3.3.1.2.1

            Wait – are you blaming National for Labour’s decision to relax the levels?

            If so that’s a bit weird. If not – I’m sorry for misunderstanding

            • Muttonbird 3.3.1.2.1.1

              The way I see it, National were searching hard for sticks with which to beat the government. One of them was the compassionate exemptions for funerals. They even started a petition about it, authorised by Paula Bennett. This was all Bridges policy.

              For whatever reason the government decided to relax the rules, presumably to avoid National gaining traction with this risky policy.

              Rather than 'blaming' National, it does illustrate how very very poor the pandemic response would be if National were in charge. There would be exemptions all over the place for anyone who tweeted their needs to Chris Bishop!

              • JohnSelway

                Dude, come on. Really?

                Labour is the government and they have to take responsibility. National are the opposition. You’re basically saying Labour take their marching orders from National. You think Ardern is that weak?

                You know what’s worse than Labour screwing this up? Labour screwing it up because they were scared of National. Because that is what you’re saying.

                • Muttonbird

                  I find it interesting the very policy which was relaxed, and which led to the Covid-Karens being able to lie their way out of quarantine, was National Party policy.

                  Hell, Chris Bishop even helped them escape.

                  • JohnSelway

                    So you’re saying Labour isn’t at fault because they were following National policy?

                    • Muttonbird

                      I guess I'm saying the government is at fault for following National policy.

                      Let's hope New Zealand never does so again.

                    • JohnSelway

                      National wears none of the blame. The government shoulders it all. They made the decisions. What you imply is this government is weak and are so venal they follow opposition policy.

                      What you’re saying is labour are so craven for victory they’ll follow the policies of the opposition party.

                    • Muttonbird

                      No, I'm saying National's pandemic policy is dangerous and should be avoided at all costs. We know that now.

                    • JohnSelway

                      That’s great. But given I was talking about current policies the measures currently in place by the government of today, and not about what the opposition says, I fail to see the relevance of your commentary.

                      It has basically come down to:
                      John says “the current isolation situation is a bit of a messed per my experience with it”
                      Muttonbird says “yeah but fuck National”

            • Adrian 3.3.1.2.1.2

              You knew you were going to be isolated, if you didn’t like the idea why didn’t you just stay where the fuck you were. I am getting so fucking annoyed at you whinging ungrateful arseholes who with a lottery winning passport to the best lifeboat in the world carry on like the self-entitled shits you are. We were all here and we made the sacrifices to make this the world leading refuge it is. So shut the fuck up, the rest of us have had a gutsful of you.

      • I Feel Love 3.3.2

        I guess we will get community transmission in the next few weeks then if this is the case.

  4. anker 4

    Hi John, so you were isolated for two weeks. May I ask where you came from and when?

    Also was social distancing well maintained in your facility

    • aj 4.1

      What date were you 'let out'. I cannot quite see the point in testing anyone who left isolation 2 weeks ago, for example.

      • JohnSelway 4.1.1

        Well, the government has said they want to test everyone who left managed isolation from June 9th and beyond. I left June 10th so am part of that group.

        Social distancing was patchy. We all sat together on the plane but then socially distanced on the ground. At the hotel I was to to social distance on the elevator but there was mingling at reception and in the smoking and exercise area. It wasn’t a comprehensive rule. It was completely muddled. You can only go in the elevator one at a time but can mingle out the front in the exercise area. It was a bit of a disaster

        • aj 4.1.1.1

          At the hotel I was to to social distance on the elevator but there was mingling at reception and in the smoking and exercise area. It wasn’t a comprehensive rule. It was completely muddled …. it was a bit of a disaster

          It is individual responsibility to keep socially distant as much as possible. That is a comprehensive rule, it is quite simple to understand, and that individuals should follow as much as possible. To imply otherwise, and refer to it as completely muddled, infers that people were not responsible for failing to do their best at social distancing.

          The shopping members of our team of 5 million kiwis tried very hard to achieve good social distancing when shopping for food (the most dangerous thing to do) during the lockdown. It would have been no more 'muddled' than at supermarkets, but everyone I saw, and I went three times, were acting as if they carried Covid, or they were the only person in the place without it.

          • Muttonbird 4.1.1.1.1

            I think new arrivals just don't get it. What we've been able to do. They have come from places where the response has been as best slack and muddled, and at worst disastrous for tens or hundreds of thousands.

            They then seek to import that slack and muddled response by not doing what they are told.

          • aj 4.1.1.1.2

            And just to make myself clear, I think if areas look a little crowded then people should not add to those crowds. It's necessary to make sacrifices when social distancing, and that may mean not socialising at all if you, and others, cannot met the distance guidelines. Many people I know didn't go into supermarkets if they arrived and there were a lot of people.

    • JohnSelway 4.2

      I came from Melbourne

  5. anker 5

    https://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=12342706

    This is good information. I suggest John and James read it.

    So John did you consider not smoking while you were in isolation?

    • JohnSelway 5.1

      Hang on – why the attitude? I’m just telling you my experience. I’m not on board with James.

      • I Feel Love 5.1.1

        Fair enough John, but gotta understand the suspicion, re Woodhouse etc & trolling, I appreciate your honesty and assume your good faith.

      • anker 5.1.2

        Ok John,

        yeah I owe you an apology. I think it sounds o.k for the virus point of view what went on. You were isolated for 2 weeks and the smoking room is big enough, just. I remember the experts saying that you need to be around someone for 15 minutes for virus to be transmitted. That is of course unless you are symptomatic, coughing etc.

        I have just read an account of isolation in Queensland where they have controlled the virus very well. It sounds a really tough gig especially on your own. They don’t test there if there are no symptoms.I think people need to see that travelling should only be done if absolutely essential.

        I have a relative overseas whose lifespan has been cut short by cancer. Its very sad. She has great support over there thankfully, but I know it is a real possibility I won't see her again.

      • aom 5.1.3

        JohnSelway, you have had more than your 15 minutes of fame. If it has been so bad, f**k off back to Melbourne. Despite the shockingly bad way you were treated, NZ doesn't have community transmission – unlike the place you escaped from. On the way out, feel free to drop some cash inn the donations bin to subsidise your hotel stay.

        • JohnSelway 5.1.3.1

          I’m a NZ citizen you fucking halfwit – I was coming home after flying to Melbourne for work 2 weeks before everything was locked.

  6. Koff 6

    I spent two weeks in quarantine in Brisbane and wasn't tested before leaving the hotel. The quarantine was strict and as far as I know, still strict, but only those with symptoms are tested in Oz. I think up to Level 1 in NZ, people weren't tested before leaving in quarantine unless they were symptomatic because it was the 14 day stay that was intended to clear any virus, even from asymptomatics. The more rigorous testing system (day 3 and day 12) was brought in in NZ because there was far more danger of the very odd person leaving quarantine still infectious passing it on with no social distancing etc. Considering the challenges involved, I think that despite a few hiccoughs the government in NZ has responded quickly and closed as many possible gaps as possible. Is it foolproof? No,but a damn sight more foolproof than just about anywhere else in the western world!

    • I Feel Love 6.1

      Yep, which is what Dr Souxie explained, oh, many times. But lets give the RWs plenty of rope, time will tell. Like I said above, nothing stopping any of us getting ourselves tested if we really want to.

    • ianmac 6.2

      Yes Koff. ZNZ appears to be the only country with such firm isolation and the only one with such strong testing systems.

      Opposition works on the belief that no matter how strong our system is, they will create a fault as if to blame the Government.

  7. observer 7

    I don't think having a go at people in the isolation/quarantine is helpful. (I know I took the mickey out of the late breakfast story, but that was too ridiculous to pass up).

    This process is going to continue for months, and obviously it needs to be done right, but it also needs a bit of empathy on all sides. People returning need to be aware of the sacrifices made in NZ (from jobs to lives), and to appreciate why they're now able to return to one of the least restricted societies in the world. But those of us based in NZ shouldn't jump to conclusions about how/why people have been overseas, which could be anything from work, family, etc. It's not all a junket.

    I have less empathy for those who are hoping things go bad, for political gain. They can do one.

    • Muttonbird 7.1

      Agree. There needs to be mandatory education for new arrivals about what we have achieved here, what advantages there are in an open NZ society once through quarantine, and most importantly what is expected from them under quarantine.

    • Anne 7.2

      I have empathy for this case.

      https://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=12342669

      And who caused this present round of hysteria? The National Party. They have muddied the waters to such an extent people can't see through the labyrinth of lies and disinformation and don't understand there is no community spread so they are as safe as they were a month ago. They certainly don't need to rush out all at once and clog up the roads so people can’t get to where they need to go.

      I hope they are done over big time this election for their unprincipled and dangerous behaviour.

    • Gabby 7.3

      Though I'm not sure that 'hey, I didn't want to come back here' is a great way to garner sympathy.

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Prime Ministers’ meeting reaffirms close trans-Tasman relationship
    Prime Minister Chris Hipkins and Australian Prime Minister Anthony Albanese today held their first bilateral meeting in Canberra. It was Chris Hipkins’ first overseas visit since he took office, reflecting the close relationship between New Zealand and Australia. “New Zealand has no closer partner than Australia. I was pleased to ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    12 hours ago
  • Immediate humanitarian support to Türkiye and Syria following earthquakes
    New Zealand will immediately provide humanitarian support to those affected by the earthquakes in Türkiye and Syria, Foreign Minister Nanaia Mahuta announced today. “Aotearoa New Zealand is deeply saddened by the loss of life and devastation caused by these earthquakes. Our thoughts are with the families and loved ones affected,” ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    15 hours ago
  • Pākinga Pā site to be gifted back to local hapū
    An historic Northland pā site with links to Ngāpuhi chief Hongi Hika is to be handed back to iwi, after collaboration by government, private landowners and local hapū. “It is fitting that the ceremony for the return of the Pākinga Pā site is during Waitangi weekend,” said Regional Development Minister ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    18 hours ago
  • New initiatives to unlock Māori science and research resources
    The Government is investing in a suite of initiatives to unlock Māori and Pacific resources, talent and knowledge across the science and research sector, Research, Science and Innovation Minister Dr Ayesha Verrall announced today. Two new funds – He tipu ka hua and He aka ka toro – set to ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    19 hours ago
  • Advancing our relationship in India
    Foreign Minister Nanaia Mahuta departs for India tomorrow as she continues to reconnect Aotearoa New Zealand to the world.  The visit will begin in New Delhi where the Foreign Minister will meet with the Vice President Hon Jagdeep Dhankar and her Indian Government counterparts, External Affairs Minister S. Jaishankar and ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 days ago
  • Government Northland housing investment to spark transformational change
    Over $10 million infrastructure funding to unlock housing in Whangārei The purchase of a 3.279 hectare site in Kerikeri to enable 56 new homes Northland becomes eligible for $100 million scheme for affordable rentals Multiple Northland communities will benefit from multiple Government housing investments, delivering thousands of new homes for ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    5 days ago
  • Government investment safeguards Waitangi Treaty Grounds
    The Government is supporting one of Aotearoa New Zealand’s most significant historic sites, the Waitangi Treaty Grounds, as it continues to recover from the impacts of COVID-19. “The Waitangi Treaty Grounds are a taonga that we should protect and look after. This additional support will mean people can continue to ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    5 days ago
  • Battle of Ohaeawai remembered
    A memorial event at a key battle site in the New Zealand land wars is an important event to mark the progress in relations between Māori and the Crown as we head towards Waitangi Day, Minister for Te Arawhiti Kelvin Davis said. The Battle of Ohaeawai in June 1845 saw ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    6 days ago
  • More Police deployed to the frontline
    More Police officers are being deployed to the frontline with the graduation of 54 new constables from the Royal New Zealand Police College today. The graduation ceremony for Recruit Wing 362 at Te Rauparaha Arena in Porirua was the first official event for Stuart Nash since his reappointment as Police ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    6 days ago
  • Further support for upper North Island regions hit by significant weather
    The Government is unlocking an additional $700,000 in support for regions that have been badly hit by the recent flooding and storm damage in the upper North Island. “We’re supporting the response and recovery of Auckland, Waikato, Coromandel, Northland, and Bay of Plenty regions, through activating Enhanced Taskforce Green to ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    6 days ago
  • The Princess Royal to visit New Zealand
    Prime Minister Chris Hipkins has welcomed the announcement that Her Royal Highness The Princess Royal, Princess Anne, will visit New Zealand this month. “Princess Anne is travelling to Aotearoa at the request of the NZ Army’s Royal New Zealand Corps of Signals, of which she is Colonel in Chief, to ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    6 days ago
  • Government and horticulture sector target $12b in exports by 2035
    A new Government and industry strategy launched today has its sights on growing the value of New Zealand’s horticultural production to $12 billion by 2035, Agriculture Minister Damien O’Connor said. “Our food and fibre exports are vital to New Zealand’s economic security. We’re focussed on long-term strategies that build on ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    7 days ago
  • Cost of living support extended for families and businesses
    25 cents per litre petrol excise duty cut extended to 30 June 2023 – reducing an average 60 litre tank of petrol by $17.25 Road User Charge discount will be re-introduced and continue through until 30 June Half price public transport fares extended to the end of June 2023 saving ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    7 days ago
  • More Kiwis in work as rising wages match inflation
    The strong economy has attracted more people into the workforce, with a record number of New Zealanders in paid work and wages rising to help with cost of living pressures. “The Government’s economic plan is delivering on more better-paid jobs, growing wages and creating more opportunities for more New Zealanders,” ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    7 days ago
  • Government boosts fund for Auckland flooding
    The Government is providing a further $1 million to the Mayoral Relief Fund to help communities in Auckland following flooding, Minister for Emergency Management Kieran McAnulty announced today. “Cabinet today agreed that, given the severity of the event, a further $1 million contribution be made. Cabinet wishes to be proactive ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • New Cabinet focused on bread and butter issues
    The new Cabinet will be focused on core bread and butter issues like the cost of living, education, health, housing and keeping communities and businesses safe, Prime Minister Chris Hipkins has announced. “We need a greater focus on what’s in front of New Zealanders right now. The new Cabinet line ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Prime Minister to meet with PM Albanese
    Prime Minister Chris Hipkins will travel to Canberra next week for an in person meeting with Australian Prime Minister, Anthony Albanese. “The trans-Tasman relationship is New Zealand’s closest and most important, and it was crucial to me that my first overseas trip as Prime Minister was to Australia,” Chris Hipkins ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Government makes first payment to Auckland Flooding fund
    The Government is providing establishment funding of $100,000 to the Mayoral Relief Fund to help communities in Auckland following flooding, Minister for Emergency Management Kieran McAnulty announced. “We moved quickly to make available this funding to support Aucklanders while the full extent of the damage is being assessed,” Kieran McAnulty ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Government steps up to assist Auckland during flooding
    As the Mayor of Auckland has announced a state of emergency, the Government, through NEMA, is able to step up support for those affected by flooding in Auckland. “I’d urge people to follow the advice of authorities and check Auckland Emergency Management for the latest information. As always, the Government ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Poroporoaki: Titewhai Te Huia Hinewhare Harawira
    Ka papā te whatitiri, Hikohiko ana te uira, wāhi rua mai ana rā runga mai o Huruiki maunga Kua hinga te māreikura o te Nota, a Titewhai Harawira Nā reira, e te kahurangi, takoto, e moe Ka mōwai koa a Whakapara, kua uhia te Tai Tokerau e te kapua pōuri ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Enhanced Task Force Green Approved following Cyclone Hale
    Carmel Sepuloni, Minister for Social Development and Employment, has activated Enhanced Taskforce Green (ETFG) in response to flooding and damaged caused by Cyclone Hale in the Tairāwhiti region. Up to $500,000 will be made available to employ job seekers to support the clean-up. We are still investigating whether other parts ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • General Election to be held on 14 October 2023
    The 2023 General Election will be held on Saturday 14 October 2023, Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern announced today. “Announcing the election date early in the year provides New Zealanders with certainty and has become the practice of this Government and the previous one, and I believe is best practice,” Jacinda ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern announces resignation
    Jacinda Ardern has announced she will step down as Prime Minister and Leader of the Labour Party. Her resignation will take effect on the appointment of a new Prime Minister. A caucus vote to elect a new Party Leader will occur in 3 days’ time on Sunday the 22nd of ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago