Daily Review 26/01/2018

Written By: - Date published: 5:37 pm, January 26th, 2018 - 11 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

11 comments on “Daily Review 26/01/2018”

  1. joe90 1

    Can we please have something like this for use at dinner time at home.

    Late last fall, in the gleaming white lobby of Madison Square Garden, uniformed attendants were posted at security stations to make thousands of smartphones stupid. Chris Rock was playing his 10th show in a 12-city international tour, and at every stop, each guest was required to pass through the entryway, confirm that his or her phone was on vibrate or silent, and then hand it over to a security guard who snapped it into a locking gray neoprene pouch—rendering it totally inaccessible. The besuited man ahead of me in line, clearly coming straight from the office, had two cell phones, each of which required its own little bag. The kid behind me groaned that he wouldn’t be able to Snapchat his night. The friend whom I’d come to meet was nowhere to be found, and after slipping my phone into the pouch, I couldn’t text her to ask where she was. Finally, I spotted her near the escalator. “That was weirdly scary,” she said, laughing.

    https://www.wired.com/story/free-speech-issue-yondr-smartphones/

    • alwyn 1.1

      Wonderful.
      Actually I am in favour of one thing about smart phones. They have almost completely taken over from point and shoot cameras used by tourists.

      Those infernal things defaulted to a flash on state when turned on. Nobody using one ever seemed to learn how to turn the flash off and you would be in a continuous barrage of flashes in your eyes at somewhere like the Louvre.
      Now they use their phones to take the photos and you don’t get a continuous series of flashes in your eyes.

      Doesn’t help with people who insist on talking on the bloody things in inappropriate places though.

      Surely you don’t allow them at the dinner table though. You sound like that family in the original “Working for Families” ads about 2005. Remember the girl who had to be called to dinner by being rung on her phone from the other side of the Living Room? Something like that anyway.

      • joe90 1.1.1

        Nah, not at the table but It’s the tardiness – I’m just finishing up, and the guts and dash – I have to do this, that gets my goat because next to sparrow fart, I reckon dinner time is one of the best times of the day.

        Fucking phones.

  2. Herodotus 2

    Today we get this from the Herald
    Why the Rere Rockslide should be top of your Summer to-do list
    http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=11982642
    But then this from the local council last test 18th Jan.
    “Water does not generally meet health requirements”
    http://www.gdc.govt.nz/water-quality-rere-and-doneraille/showSite/rere-rockslide
    100% Pure, for a quick $ today we destroy on going $$’s, let alone the long term damage to our environment !!!!! I am reminded of this
    “Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day. Teach him how to fish and you feed him for a lifetime”

  3. Ed 3

    Jim Mora is a ghastly broadcaster and a tool of the establishment.
    It is his job to make seemingly simple problems seem very complex.
    So people think everything is too hard.

    • MsJasmine 3.1

      [deleted]

      [have a read of the policy. Pointless personal attacks are not welcome. – weka]

  4. Incognito 4

    Controversial Auckland property developer sentenced to jail for ‘brutal’ damage to native trees.

    Somehow, I feel he’ll make the news again in future and not for good reasons either.

    • James 4.1

      Sadly I have to agree with you.

      Disgusting.

      • Visubversa 4.1.1

        Yes, he has multiple bench warrants issued for non-appearance in court. Dozens more charges to come and about 6 figures of fines not paid. Hope there is some way to return him to Malaysia. This is not the “business immigration” we need.

  5. Whispering Kate 5

    I see Portugal is contemplating null and voiding the telephone reception for cellphone use on its highways – it will be a fine thing if it happens as too many people are using their phones texting and whatever and not paying attention to the roads. Somebody has to save us from ourseleves, its obvious we are incapable of being mature and setting the god damn pieces aside so we can drive safely. Good luck with them with their attenpt.

    I have always wondered with the technology we have today why cellphones are not rendered useless once the car is turned on and only become ready to use once the car is stopped. Just me being a spoil sport – but lives are paramount here and I witness phone use on our roads on a daily basis and its bloody scarey.

    http://www.nzherald.co.nz/technology/news/article.cfm?c_id=5&objectid=11982460

    • alwyn 5.1

      The problem that would cause is that a passenger in the car would also be barred.
      Among the worst hit would be our politicians, and particularly Ministers. They are almost continually on the phone when travelling to and from the airport. It is a great chunk of time that would otherwise be wasted and is a very good use of the time.
      Ask one of them if they would be happy if they couldn’t make phone calls.

      I agree about the use by drivers being scary though. Apparently it is just as dangerous as travelling above the blood alcohol limit.
      I think that the Police should check whether a cellphone found in the possession of someone involved in an accident has been in use before the accident. If so thump them with a swingeing fine.

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Compliance strengthened for property speculation
    Inland Revenue is to gain greater oversight of land transfer information to ensure those buying and selling properties are complying with tax rules on property speculation. Cabinet has agreed to implement recommendation 99 of the Tax Working Group’s (TWG) final ...
    7 days ago
  • Plan to expand protection for Maui and Hector’s dolphins
    The Government is taking action to expand and strengthen the protection for Māui and Hector’s dolphins with an updated plan to deal with threats to these native marine mammals. Minister of Conservation Eugenie Sage and Minister of Fisheries Stuart Nash ...
    7 days ago
  • Cameras on vessels to ensure sustainable fisheries
    Commercial fishing vessels at greatest risk of encountering the rare Māui dolphin will be required to operate with on-board cameras from 1 November, as the next step to strengthen our fisheries management system. Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern and Fisheries Minister ...
    3 weeks ago
  • Greatest number of new Police in a single year
    A new record for the number of Police officers deployed to the regions in a single year has been created with the graduation today of Recruit Wing 326. Police Minister Stuart Nash says the graduation of 78 new constables means ...
    3 weeks ago
  • Ensuring multinationals pay their fair share of tax
    New Zealand is pushing on with efforts to ensure multinational companies pay their fair share of tax, with the release of proposed options for a digital services tax (DST). In February Cabinet agreed to consult the public on the problem ...
    3 weeks ago