Daily Review 26/04/2017

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, April 26th, 2017 - 44 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

44 comments on “Daily Review 26/04/2017”

  1. Muttonbird 1

    Poor old Mike Bush. Not 10 days after he re-enforced his intolerance for people with mental health challenges, one of his own no doubt mentally sound troops murders his own wife.

    The timing for Mike could not be worse. Him pretending his policy maintains a ‘strong, robust, and safe’ police workforce, when the opposite now turns out to be true.

    Perhaps this particular cop might have benefitted from some antidepressant medication, Mike.

    Perhaps Mike might like to review the policy of recruiting 35 year olds into the police as, in my opinion, anyone who joins the police at 35 has done so because of existing career problems and has done so as a last resort. Anyone who joins the police at 35 has a high risk of mental health problems of one sort or another, I would have thought.

    Mike Bush though won’t admit that, nor allow them to get treatment which might help them be good cops.

    • Gosman 1.1

      Are you a trained psychologist with experience in policing?

      • Muttonbird 1.1.1

        No. I’m just an observer who took issue with Mike Bush’s policy of bashing people with any history of mental health challenges.

        I also know this killer cop joined the police at the age of 35 and that that is a red flag for risk as much as, if not more than, someone who might have had a course of prozac in the past.

    • Using one example to prove or put a case is just the same as what they did when they said no to police with mental health challenges (nice descriptor). I agree that actually those seeking help for their mental health challenges, including ongoing med management, are better able to deal with stresses in general or on average.

      This case may be related to mental health challenges or not – who knows at this stage – but whipping the police with it is premature and wrong imo.

      • Muttonbird 1.2.1

        I find the stance by Mike Bush that his cops are above reproach because of his banning of anyone with a mental health issue to be misguided and totally ignorant of the roles people with mental health conditions place in a health society.

        With his stance he has marginalised the very groups of people he is supposed to protect while his supposed mentally sound new cops murder their wives…

        • marty mars 1.2.1.1

          I agree with you mate I really do – I just am a bit overwhelmed with emotion on the events from down south – so terrible, so much pain and suffering.

  2. Muttonbird 2

    What a weird world David Farrar and other government pimps live in. They claim the reason for such high immigration numbers is that Kiwis are not leaving.

    Newsflash, numbnuts – Kiwis not leaving New Zealand is not immigration, they are already here.

    • Gosman 2.1

      I think you will find it is net immigration they are discussing.

      • Muttonbird 2.1.1

        I know what they are pretending to discuss – it’s net migration in fact, but the spin from them is that the reason for the pressure is New Zealanders not leaving and that they are the ones at fault. This is a lie.

        • Gosman 2.1.1.1

          Fair enough – net migration. Do you disagree that total number of emigrants from NZ is now very low historically?

          • Muttonbird 2.1.1.1.1

            No I don’t. All the more reason to monitor and control the prospective immigrants to NZ relative to demands on infrastructure and housing.

            Like I said, it’s not that New Zealanders are not leaving which is the problem, it’s that despite this, immigration policy has only been more open tap.

            • Gosman 2.1.1.1.1.1

              Quite possibly accurate, although I disagree. However you must at least give the current government credit for turning around emigration.

              • Muttonbird

                I don’t give them credit for that because of the cost paid for it.

                Declining water quality. The sidelining of planning and science on dairy intensification. Increasing homelessness. Families living in cars. House un-affordability. Decrease in home ownership. Increase in suicide stats and Maori prison population. A peak in domestic violence stats. Congestion in Auckland and Wellington. Continued fighting with councils instead of working with them. A continuation of low wages. I could go on…

                That fewer working people moved to Australia because of increased restrictions against them there and the slow down in Chinese demand of Australian iron ore can hardly be credited to the current government.

              • Draco T Bastard

                However you must at least give the current government credit for turning around emigration.

                No, for that we’d probably have to give Australia credit as they clamped down on NZers living there and kicked many of them out.

                And then there’s the effect of the GFC as well. Other countries economies have been stumbling along since then and so and so some NZers would be returning home because of that as well.

                The only thing that this government has done for immigration is open the flood gates for anyone who wants to immigrate.

                • ropata

                  Correct DTB the government has basically been running a “visas for education” scam, so that tertiary providers can make a killing, bankers get a cut, wages are driven down, and house prices go through the roof as the foreign student gets residency and imports their whole family

    • Gosman 2.2

      This is something National promised to reverse in 2008. Seemsime they were successful.

      • mickysavage 2.2.1

        The Global financial crisis and the environmental crisis the world is facing is playing its own part …

        • Muttonbird 2.2.1.1

          Yes, the immigration policies of the two countries AUS and NZ alone have had a big effect. Conditions for Kiwis over there are not good right now so they don’t go. We have an open door policy for cheap foreign labour to prop up a false, low wage and low value economy and immigration is high.

        • Gosman 2.2.1.2

          The GFC was around 10 years ago. What countries have been influenced by climate change to the extent it is putting off NZers going there (example please)?

    • Poission 2.3

      Farrar is full of shit again.

      There was a net loss of 1341 New Zealand citizens over the 12 months, with 31,995 New Zealanders arriving back on the country after long term stays overseas, while 33,336 departed long term.

      Always check his statistics as his analysis is usually inept.

      • Gosman 2.3.1

        What part is ‘full of shit’ and how does that detract from his point about having very low net outflow of NZERS.

  3. Muttonbird 3

    Go Winston. There is a lot of misinformation around record immigration numbers from interested parties – namely employers of cheap labour, and recent immigrants who have residency and want to get the rest of their huge families in.

    Winston is pretty bold here, and vocal, and might pick up a lot of votes on this, an issue which the government has developed tin-ear.

    http://www.newshub.co.nz/home/politics/2017/04/winston-peters-slams-immigrant-reporters.html

    • winnie is a dirty prick with dirty politics and dirty agendas. The sooner he fucks off out of politics the better imo.

    • ropata 3.2

      Finely tuned political instincts, this is THE issue of the election. National has lost control… Winston may be populist but he was also right. Mike Treen of TDB writes

      Migrant labour sytem is broken and needs radical change not tinkering
      We have 150,000 workers here at any one time on a temporary work visa. We have 100,000 fee-paying students. The government issues 250,000 temporary work visas a year.

      We have been issuing around 40,000 permanent residence visas a year for the last several decades. Changes to how people qualify for these visas under the skilled work category makes no fundamental difference to the temporary visa scam.

      Immigration has become a political hot potato and the government is desperate to be seen to be doing something without changing the fundamentals.

  4. btw – not funny cartoon showing violence against teens and younger relatives.

  5. Muttonbird 5

    Funny how the cops and the media keep pushing the fact the killer cop was off duty at the time of the murder. If you’re a cop, you’re a cop no matter what time of day or night, surely.

    Or are they borrowing from John Key’s, ‘I was leader of the National Party when I pulled those ponytails’, strategy?

    Does this cop become less of a cop when he is off duty? How many other NZ cops when off duty are as psychotic and murderous as this? Only Mike Bush knows for sure.

  6. peterlepaysan 6

    Ageism has long been alive and well in this country.
    At what age should the police recruit at at?
    What age is safe from mental health issues?

    I have young relative (now aged 15) who was approached , aged 14, to join a professional overseas ball playing club. We all told the recruiter what we thought.
    My relative is still safe and still at school in NZ. Still safe from professional ball player mental health issues.

    Your opinion of the age someone makes a career shift is your opinion that has no bearing on the very real tragedy that occurred in Invercargill.

    Would Muttonbird have posted if the killer had been a bank teller.

    This is an anti police rant.

    Obtw I have had more than one encounter with the nz police (not always friendly).

    I view all power wielders with some scepticism But put blame on the the police for the tragedy speaks volumes about muttonbird.

    • Muttonbird 6.1

      I don’t think the set up of the police in New Zealand under the current commissioner is any good. They are reckless bullies in my opinion and I don’t think they can get good young people to join. Also the vetting process for older recruits leaves something to be desired and you can ask Verity McLean’s family about that. Particularly as no one with a history of mental health challenges is even considered according to the current commissioner. As if he is a mental health expert.

      Lets face it, he’s not!

      Oh and by the way, I’m not putting the blame on ordinary, reasonable cops, I’m questioning the power structure within the police and the way they produce bullies and allow psychopathic killers into their ranks.

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • New Zealand bans military style semi-automatics and assault rifles
    Military style semi-automatics and assault rifles banned under stronger gun laws Immediate action to prevent stock-piling Military style semi-automatics and assault rifles will be banned in New Zealand under stronger new gun laws announced today, Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern says. ...
    19 hours ago
  • Membership: Australia and New Zealand Electronic Invoicing Board
    The Governments of Australia and New Zealand have announced the membership of the Australia and New Zealand Electronic Invoicing Board (ANZEIB) today. This is an important step towards implementing e-Invoicing across both countries to help businesses save time and money ...
    2 weeks ago
  • An end to unnecessary secondary tax
    Workers who are paying too much tax because of incorrect secondary tax codes are in line for relief with the passage of legislation through Parliament late last night. The Taxation (Annual Rates for 2018-19, Modernising Tax Administration, and Remedial Matters) ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Chatham Islands pāua plan approved
    Efforts to reverse the decline in the Chatham Islands pāua fishery are the focus of a new plan jointly agreed between government, the local community and industry. Fisheries Minister Stuart Nash says the plan was developed by the PauaMAC4 Industry ...
    3 weeks ago
  • Bill introduced for synthetics crackdown
    The Police will get stronger powers of search and seizure to crackdown on synthetic drugs under new legislation, which makes the two main synthetics (5F-ADB and AMB-FUBINACA) Class A drugs. The Government has today introduced the Misuse of Drugs Amendment ...
    3 weeks ago