Daily Review 27/09/2018

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, September 27th, 2018 - 51 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

51 comments on “Daily Review 27/09/2018”

  1. Dukeofurl 1

    Please no comments based on how the person in the picture looks

  2. joe90 2

    Meanwhile, at 405 East 42nd Street, New York, NY.

    https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Dn_L9qyUcAEfHFh.jpg

  3. Ngungukai 3

    Mutton dressed up as lamb

  4. joe90 4

    A shoal of haddock on three tons of charlie.

    BBC Scotland
    27 December 2017 ·

    When a drugs bust goes wrong on the open ocean…it can go very, very wrong

    • Graeme 4.1

      Brilliant.

      Love the subtitles, but his accent wasn’t that broad.

      Remember seeing a video of a Glaswegian crime drama in the early 80’s, also had subtitles, needed them. Was an excellent show too.

  5. Ed 5

    Some ideas for New Zealand Labour here.
    Socialist policies.

    • Ed 5.1

      Some highlights.
      How to bring about industrial democracy.

      “We will redress the balance of power at work. We will be proud to fulfil John Smith’s, our late leader’s promise, that workers will have trade union rights from day one whether in full time, part time or temporary work.

      We’ll ban zero hours contracts. We will lift people out of poverty by setting a real living wage of £10 an hour. Wages will be determined by sectoral collective bargaining. And yes we will tackle the continuing scandal of the gender pay gap.

      Real power comes from having the right to a collective say at work. Large corporations play a huge role in our lives, yet the decisions about running them are in the hands of a tiny few. Employees who create the wealth have no say in the key decisions that affect their future. After decades of talking about industrial democracy, Labour in government will legislate to implement it. As Jeremy announced yesterday, a third of the seats on company boards will be allocated to workers.

      Power also comes from ownership. We believe that workers, who create the wealth of a company, should share in its ownership and, yes, in the returns that it makes.

      Employee ownership increases a company’s productivity and encourages long term decision making. Let me thank the Co-op Party for its work on this and Gareth Thomas MP in particular for his ideas.

      We will legislate for large companies to transfer shares into an “Inclusive Ownership Fund.” The shares will be held and managed collectively by the workers. The shareholding will give workers the same rights as other shareholders to have a say over the direction of their company. And dividend payments will be made directly to the workers from the fund. Payments could be up to £500 a year. That’s 11 million workers each with a greater say, and a greater stake, in the rewards of their labour.”

      • Ed 5.1.1

        A socialist Labour Party on public ownership.

        ‘We are extending economic democracy even further by bringing water, energy, Royal Mail and rail into public ownership.

        We are also setting out our plans for a new publicly-owned water system that puts this essential service back in the hands of local councils, workers and customers.

        There will be an unprecedented openness and transparency in how the industry will be managed. We are ending the profiteering in dividends, vast executive salaries and excessive interest payments.

        Surpluses will be reinvested in water infrastructure and staff, or used to reduce bills. Real investment will allow the highest environmental standards.

        Let me make it absolutely clear that the full weight of the Treasury will be used to take on any vested interests that try to thwart the will of the people. Some said our manifesto was a fantasy or a wish list, attractive but ultimately not deliverable. I’m telling you today that we are planned, ready and prepared.”

  6. joe90 6

    A week later the Mosley’s BUF abandoned their march through the East End.

    #OtD 27 Sep 1936 1000 uniformed fascist Blackshirts led by Oswald Mosley in Leeds were confronted by 30k locals who attacked them, pelted them with stones, hitting Mosley, and drowned out speeches by singing The Red Flag pic.twitter.com/Jfr0RSdKWO— Working Class History (@wrkclasshistory) September 27, 2018

  7. Andrea 7

    I just noticed Roger Douglas is stirring again. Has that man learned so little?
    https://www.nzherald.co.nz/business/news/article.cfm?c_id=3&objectid=12130945

    ‘Ooh, people! You could have a million dollars when you retire after a ‘lifetime’ of uncertain income, global economic mismanagement, and below inflation earnings on your compulsory savings (less fees and tax, of course).’

    A million may look almost comfortable to some folks earning below $50k. Thirty or forty years from now? Barely enough for even five years.

    Poor old Dinosaur Douglas. Still banging the drum outside the snake oil tent.

    • greywarshark 7.1

      I think we need to introduce drug and other health tests so we can catch early attacks of political and economic hubris showing up perhaps as excess adrenaline, or even alcohol induced failures of brain cells, or early alzheimers (which can start frighteningly early). There must be some prophylactic for future attacks of rogernomics.

  8. joe90 8

    Whole damn party is rotten to the core.

    Twenty years ago this month the Starr Report came out. Let’s review what happened to some of Bill Clinton’s antagonists. (1/7)— David Greenberg (@republicofspin) September 26, 2018

    One of the House leaders, Henry Hyde, was revealed to have had an extramarital affair of his own. He called it a “youthful indiscretion” because he was, at the time, a mere 41 years old. (2/7)— David Greenberg (@republicofspin) September 26, 2018

    House Speaker Newt Gingrich all the while was having an affair with a staffer. (She is now ambassador to the Vatican.) He stepped down as speaker. (3/7)— David Greenberg (@republicofspin) September 26, 2018

    His anointed replacement, Robert Livingston, declined the job when it was disclosed that he too had an extramarital affair. (4/7)— David Greenberg (@republicofspin) September 26, 2018

    Fortunately for the GOP, they settled on another replacement, who served for eight years. That man, Dennis Hastert, later served time in a federal prison for molesting young boys when he was a wrestling coach. (5/7)— David Greenberg (@republicofspin) September 26, 2018

    Independent counsel Ken Starr went on to become president of Baylor University, but had to resign for turning a blind eye to sexual harassment (6/7)— David Greenberg (@republicofspin) September 26, 2018

    But at least one of Starr’s young staff attorneys made good. Brett Kavanaugh is likely to become the next justice of the U.S. Supreme Court–unless, that is, someone discovers that he committed sexual assault or witnessed gang rapes while in high school (7/7)— David Greenberg (@republicofspin) September 26, 2018

    • greywarshark 8.1

      I remember that Ken Starr was sickening in his apparently puritan pursuit of randy Bill. Now he has shown how dainty he is by attempting to pretend s-e-x wasn’t happening on his watch again.

      I was looking at early Quaker life on the USA east coast and found that Newt Gingrich was descended from a very notable Quaker. She was a bit of a difficult one though as she believed that you were either chosen or could never aspire to the right hand of God, and there were only a certain number sure of making heaven with her and her followers amongst them. I don’t know what the rest of the congregation could hope for, but she upset everyone mightily as doing good works and living a good life as the Christian doctrine was the general message that everyone accepted. So she set her line on a crooked path very early on.

      It would be interesting to know if any of the men above had a good family life with a mother and father who tried to instil moral ideas and the golden rule into their kids, and also both lived them too. The children would not have been sent away to boarding school at an early age, and the parents would have encouraged and taken an interest in their interests without them having to be winners. I think the rich in USA and UK have parents who have deprived their children from normal family affection and interaction with a loving authority. Screwed up all the way I would say, and looking at the list of elites above it could make you wonder if I am right.

      Tom Sharpe wrote a series of Brit books about a mythical educational establishment near Cambridge –
      Porterhouse Blue – Wikipedia
      https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Porterhouse_Blue
      Porterhouse Blue is a novel written by Tom Sharpe, first published in 1974. A satirical look at Cambridge life and the struggle between tradition and reform, ..

      Made into a TV series in 1987 I think (written in 1974). Dates right I think..
      (https://www.channel4.com/programmes/porterhouse-blue/on-demand/3123-001
      (Have to remove AdBlocker for this site will then go I think.)

  9. Ed 9

    Jacinda’s interview on The Late Show with Stephen Colbert

    • ianmac 9.1

      Wasn’t that lovely. Makes me proud to have such a funny gracious woman as our Prime Minister. Thanks Ed.

      • In Vino 9.1.1

        +1
        Such a difference from the squirmy embarrassment that Key used to make me feel on such occasions.

        • gsays 9.1.1.1

          I agree, and in a quiet moment most Tories would feel the same, a bit stink over the antics of key and proud of the prime minister’s appearances.

        • Chuck 9.1.1.2

          “Such a difference from the squirmy embarrassment that Key used to make me feel on such occasions.”

          Come on In Vino it would not matter one iota if Key ticked all your box’s other than in his position on the political spectrum. That one “flaw” is fatal in your view.

          Jacinda did well on the international stage, I could nitpick on some of the content…but that is just me bringing my own personal political views into the equation.

          • Muttonbird 9.1.1.2.1

            There’s a massive difference in the way they behave.

            Key was juvenile and clumsy on several hundred occasions in his attempt to appeal to ‘Waitakere Man’. While Ardern is mature and elegant and still capable of that most Kiwi of virtues: being down-to-earth.

      • mary_a 9.1.2

        Totally agree ianmac (9.1) … and isn’t Natz just hating it?

        While our PM is doing us proud overseas, showing the world a more positive different form of politics and governance is achievable, disreputable Natz with assistance from its low life, dirt bound RW media mates, are attempting to destroy her at home!

        Bunch of pathetic sour losers for sure.

    • CHCOff 9.2

      Jacinda is making new enthusiastic waves for New Zealand.

      If we can get a ‘Ivanka & Jacinda’ headlines splashed around, this memory of NZ will go well beyond the current news cycle in having some legs internationally.

      Two younger female mover & shakers at the global level heavily involved in statecraft would surely be a good win for NZ to be associated with for potential future trading and relationships based on mutual prosperity and innovation.

  10. Anne 10

    We could be in for an interesting summer weather-wise.

    https://www.radionz.co.nz/international/pacific-news/367412/liua-is-south-pacific-s-first-cyclone-in-september-for-70-years

    For a cyclone to develop as early as September means the seas in the tropical region to the north of us must be warming up more rapidly than is normal.

    • In Vino 10.1

      Yes, Anne. This summer could be the beginning of a hard lesson. I hope not..

    • greywarshark 10.2

      So could that mean more local tornadoes? such as in Taranaki and on the east coast? Intense hot highs that go on and on? Dumps of a month’s rain over two days?

    • infused 10.3

      finally, some decent weather in wellington.

    • Exkiwiforces 10.4

      Yes, I did see that tonight on the weather segment, I wondering what it was? As it’s a bit early for Topical Low let alone a Cyclone and the wet season officially starts on 1 Oct. It would be interesting to see where this one ends up.

      The build up started 2mths early, which means the Mangos harvest started early than normal by 1mth and Darwin/ Rural area has already smashed the Sept rainfall for gods knows how long. Fire bans are still in place as temperatures is rising to crazy highs and the humidity is up down like a yo-yo.

  11. greywarshark 11

    business
    12:20 pm today
    Cavalier finalising agreement to sell wool scouring business
    From Business News, 12:20 pm today
    https://www.radionz.co.nz/national/programmes/businessnews/audio/2018664354/cavalier-finalising-agreement-to-sell-wool-scouring-business

    Listen duration 1′ :54″
    The carpet manufacturer, Cavalier, says it’s close to selling its stake in wool scouring operations in Napier and Timaru — the only such business left in New Zealand.

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Membership: Australia and New Zealand Electronic Invoicing Board
    The Governments of Australia and New Zealand have announced the membership of the Australia and New Zealand Electronic Invoicing Board (ANZEIB) today. This is an important step towards implementing e-Invoicing across both countries to help businesses save time and money ...
    1 week ago
  • An end to unnecessary secondary tax
    Workers who are paying too much tax because of incorrect secondary tax codes are in line for relief with the passage of legislation through Parliament late last night. The Taxation (Annual Rates for 2018-19, Modernising Tax Administration, and Remedial Matters) ...
    1 week ago
  • Chatham Islands pāua plan approved
    Efforts to reverse the decline in the Chatham Islands pāua fishery are the focus of a new plan jointly agreed between government, the local community and industry. Fisheries Minister Stuart Nash says the plan was developed by the PauaMAC4 Industry ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Bill introduced for synthetics crackdown
    The Police will get stronger powers of search and seizure to crackdown on synthetic drugs under new legislation, which makes the two main synthetics (5F-ADB and AMB-FUBINACA) Class A drugs. The Government has today introduced the Misuse of Drugs Amendment ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Blasphemous libel law repealed
    The archaic blasphemous libel offence will be repealed following the passing of the Crimes Amendment Bill today, says Justice Minister Andrew Little. ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Coalition Government lassos livestock rustling
    New rules to crack down on livestock rustling will come into force following the passing of the Crimes Amendment Bill says Justice Minister Andrew Little. ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Medieval law axed
    The ‘year and a day rule’ rule will be repealed following the passing of the Crimes Amendment Bill, says Justice Minister Andrew Little. ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Further steps to combat tax evasion
    Further steps to combat tax evasion Revenue Minister Stuart Nash has announced New Zealand is expanding its global ability to combat tax evasion by joining forces with authorities in 30 countries and jurisdictions. Cabinet has agreed to add another ...
    2 weeks ago