web analytics

Daily Review 29/08/2018

Written By: - Date published: 5:49 pm, August 29th, 2018 - 38 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

38 comments on “Daily Review 29/08/2018 ”

  1. joe90 1

    If an economy this big can commit, so can we.

    On Tuesday afternoon, California state lawmakers passed a landmark bill, SB100, which would put the state’s electricity supply on track to be totally emissions-free by 2045. It passed 43-32.

    The bill would amend California’s Renewable Portfolio Standard, which currently requires half of all the state’s electricity to come from clean, renewable sources of energy by 2030. Regulators have already predicted the state will meet that goal 10 years early, by 2020.

    https://www.motherjones.com/environment/2018/08/california-lawmakers-just-voted-to-make-all-its-electricity-emissions-free-by-2045-sb-100/

    • Pat 1.1

      “New Zealand has the third-highest rate of renewable energy as a portion of primary supply in the OECD, behind Norway and Iceland, with around 85 percent of electricity currently sourced from renewable energy. Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern has said her government is committed to getting to 100 percent renewable energy by 2035.”

      http://www.scoop.co.nz/stories/BU1803/S00081/govt-support-needed-to-hit-renewable-energy-target.htm

      our problem is not so much power generation….it is transport and agriculture, although we should be hastening towards 100% renewable power as it is low hanging fruit.

      • gsays 1.1.1

        Aotearoa electricity supply makes me smile as a dilemma for greenies.

        Dams are not favoured by environmentalists and others.
        Hydroelectric is arguably the best form of renewable power, loved by environmentalists and others.

        • Pat 1.1.1.1

          That historical paradox has caused me to smile from time to time but there are other forms of renewable power generation albeit with some environmental impact as well.

        • Tricledrown 1.1.1.2

          Gsays dams cost to much not economically viable!
          The cost of Labour Steel and Cement plus the average lifespan of dams makes large dams uneconomic.

          • gsays 1.1.1.2.1

            I understand globally, we have cheap electricity.
            This must be because of our hydro capacity.

            We make cement and steel, and I am sure we can find the labour.

            The alternatives are solar and wInd.
            Solar is dependent upon imported minerals etc and wInd is lots of moving parts. Anton Oliver wrote an essay a few years back saying that wInd farms are only viable because of the tax jiggery pokery.

            I suppose tidal is an option but not in snapper breeding grounds.

            Given the choice of land, I would go for a spot with a water flow, pop in a pelton wheel and Bob’s your uncle. No storage and a constant supply of electricity.

  2. adam 2

    Venezuela, by the people, for the people. But to much oil for the US Empire to leave alone.

  3. Kat 3

    Hosk is now moonlighting as a sports writer, he reckons the All Blacks may not be as good as they are made out to be with sporting insight that only Hosk can impart. Strange because a few days ago he reckoned they should be financially backed by the govt.

    • mary_a 3.1

      @ Kat (3) … Hosking tries hard to put himself across as being intelligent and knowledgeable, when in fact he’s a pathetic dribbling source of the bleedin’ obvious … nothing!

  4. AsleepWhileWalking 4

    “Third world swamp house” rented for $520/WK

    • adam 4.1

      You can’t tell me the landlord didn’t know the drainage was illegal. Solution – take the property from landlords who deliberately and wilfully put peoples health and wellbeing in jeopardy. This is just another example of asking taxpayers to cover the risk (long term health costs), so slumlords can make a quick buck.

      Or if we had a spine in this country, the landlord would be forced to live under that house in the rubbish and wet for the next 21 months. But as we all weak as piss, I’m guessing at most a wet bus ticket.

    • Macro 5.1

      Surprise! surprise!

      Of course he only watches for “research”. 😉

      By the way you should have put a warning on that link Joe – the pic of a naked Jones nearly had me loosing my just eaten excellent dinner.

    • marty mars 5.2

      that guy sheesh

  5. Draco T Bastard 6

    Electric car growth and greater fuel efficiency spark calls for change to fuel excise funding

    He said he envisaged a system where drivers paid the Government for the kilometres they drove in a month, in much the same way people paid their phone bills. And he said he wanted to start with electric vehicles.

    Mr Dwyer said this should happen as soon as possible, while electric vehicle uptake was relatively low and while those buying them were relatively affluent. He said it was not fair that poorer drivers of old cars were effectively subsidising richer drivers of electric vehicles.

    “If you drive a 10-year-old car, a 10-year-old Commodore, you’re paying a lot more than someone who drives a Toyota hybrid, a Prius, and if you’re driving a Tesla you’re not currently making a contribution at the point of use,” he said.

    This is how our system has worked out so far and it is, as he says, unfair.
    https://www.transport.govt.nz/multi-modal/climatechange/electric-vehicles/

    Extending the Road User Charges (RUC) exemption on light vehicles until they make up two percent of the light vehicles fleet

    On 22 September 2016, the RUC exemption for light electric vehicles was extended until 31 December 2021.

    This will save the average electric vehicle driver approximately $600 per vehicle each year.

    Nice of you can afford to buy a new car every year. Not so good if you can’t.

    The poor should not be subsidising the rich.

    • Pat 6.1

      or it could be viewed as an incentive to make that new vehicle electric rather than diesel or petrol

      • Draco T Bastard 6.1.1

        That’s what it’s supposed to be but it shouldn’t have poor people subsidising rich people. The better option would be to go full RUC and a better public transport system that’s cheaper than cars so that people don’t need cars at all.

        • Pat 6.1.1.1

          I seem to recall the Australian Greens opposed a move in the right direction because it didnt go far enough….how’d that work out?

          • Draco T Bastard 6.1.1.1.1

            And I recall the NZ Greens supporting the ETS despite it not going far enough.

            So, how’d that work out?

            And you’ll note that we already have an exemption for electric cars which the Greens support. How’s it working so far? Is it actually encouraging people to buy electric cars? Has it helped reduce congestion? Can it reduce congestion?

            Or is it that you’re trying to apply a false equivalence to distract from the injustice of the poor subsidising the rich?

            • Macro 6.1.1.1.1.1

              Draco today in the local supermarket car park – there is only one here – I counted 5 Leafs, and 6 Hybrids in a town of 7500. A couple of years ago there would have been none. The local library has a fast charging point and I have several friends who have recently changed from petrol powered to electric. A Leaf with reasonable battery life left can be had for around the cost of a comparable petrol car. They are all one needs for local running. And yes we have now a “bus” service in our town but its not suitable for every journey one needs to make. Walking and cycling are not always options available to everyone, especially in a town built on an old fault line (ie very steep inclines).

            • Macro 6.1.1.1.1.2

              BTW having talked to Jeanette F on this very subject of the ETS – I can tell you that the ETS was presented to the Green’s as a fait accompli – The Green’s only found out about it when she happened to see the draft bill on Helen Clark’s desk! They either supported it knowing full well that the incoming Nats would trash it, or there was nothing – after almost 8 years of supporting a govt who had said they were going to make NZ carbon neutral by 2040.

            • Pat 6.1.1.1.1.3

              Is it actually encouraging people to buy electric cars?…well I guess neither of us know a definitive answer to that but I will say it is a major factor in my decision to purchase one….and I aint rich, far from it.

              As to false equivalence..is it? or is it indicative of real world outcomes?

              • mac1

                Taxation on fuel was not a factor for us to buy a Leaf. The cost of fuel was a factor as we can top up our car from our solar panels. So was ‘the planet’ with all those ecological reasons. The principal factor was to lower our use of fossil fuels.

                At the moment my walking buddies all twit me for avoiding taxes. There are 18 EVs in this region of 45000 people, and two charging points.

                The local bus service is very limited. The terrain is suitable for walking and cycling. I have had an electric bike for a decade. Our region has the oldest population in the country, so this form of transport is less ideal or used.

                I expect to have to pay road user charges in the future but hopefully commensurate with low friction tyres, (does that make a difference to damaging effects on the roads?), and a sedately driven and small car.

                If I travel a distance equivalent to that costing $600 in prospective road user charges, then the cost of fuel would rise from being a fifth at the moment to buy the same distance in petrol, ie 30c a litre equivalent as my Leaf does 7.2 km per 3% of battery and that is nearly equivalent to 1kw/h.

                $600 on a 12000 km annual basis would mean that we would pay 5c a kilometre on top of the 4c for electric power per kilometre, effectively more than doubling the fuel cost but still cheaper than petrol. At the moment our fuel bill for 12000 km at 30c per kw/h is $500 pa. With RUC at $600 it goes to $1100 pa compared with an equivalent petrol car of $2200 for 12000km at 12 km/l and fuel at $2.20 per litre.

                There are other health and environmental benefits to electric cars to throw into the debate. The imported fuel bill goes down, the CO2 emissions go down, smell and noise go down, toxic gas production goes down, the cost of transporting fuel goes down. What is the monetary value of that?

                • Pat

                  RUC at $60 per 1000km and a monthly average use of 1300km means without RUC an (used import) electric vehicle pays for itself with vastly reduced fuel costs….never mind the environmental impacts.

                  • mac1

                    A $20,000 car at $1700 per year fuel savings means a car pays for itself in 11 years. At $1100 pa (paying RUC) is 18 years. A replacement battery at 200,000 kms (10 years motoring with our car) costs $8000. Another $800 per annum. Fuel costs now $1900 pa, saving $300 pa.

                    Using our surplus roof generated solar power helps. But generating that, too, has a cost which eight years of use will pay for.

                    Should battery replacement be factored in to the discussion, as there are variable like that all through the discussion? EVs have far fewer moving parts, so maintenance is much less. The EV might well depreciate more slowly as the battery will always keep the value higher at the lower end.

                    For me, the environmental impacts being reduced is more important. Not paying RUC does help to help justify the EV choice, now that I am aware of them which I did not consider when purchasing the EV in the first place.

                    • Pat

                      At 1300 (+) k per month (and no public transport option) a small/med petrol vehicle will use approx $300 fuel a month.

                      There are numerous 1st gen Leafs available for 12K with low mileage and a 4 year term loan will cost slightly over $300 per month to service. Charging costs are negligible and often available free…and that doesnt include the reduced maintenance factor.

                      The main limitation is range but if that is not an issue anyone purchasing a vehicle would be better served to go electric….especially those financially strapped, so the argument the rich are being subsidised by the poor does not need to be the reality for if you can afford a vehicle at all the cheapest option is electric…especially if there is no RUC to consider.

                    • Macro

                      @ mac1 and Pat
                      Thank you both for your insightful discussion here on the ownership and use of an EV. It is very helpful for others to see that such vehicles are not too scary and can be a really positive investment and practical solution for a lot of folk.
                      As I have to travel up to Auckland fairly regularly, and the bus service is ok, but infrequent, and the range is just over the limit for a Leaf, I have instead a hybrid. On buying the hybrid overnight I cut my emissions by half – from around 9L/100km to 4.5L/100. I have a small car for local running, but as soon as I can, I shall be replacing it with a Leaf. I can use my Hybrid as an EV, but only for very short distances down the hill to the supermarket – but coming up the hill means the motor has to kick in- in steepness in places it rivals Baldwin Street. 🙂
                      The other day I found myself in serious breach of the 10th Commandment. One of my friends arrived in a black Tesla. I’ve never really coveted my neighbours oxen or donkey before.

  6. Incognito 7

    But competitive behaviour has a very long precedent in terms of accumulating wealth in any of its forms (material or otherwise).

    An insightful article: https://theconversation.com/the-ruthless-pursuit-of-online-likes-gives-you-nothing-100862

  7. marty mars 8

    I never liked musk – he’s a wanker and NOT going to save the world or even himself.

    “Musk responded by calling Unsworth a “pedo guy”, later tweeting: “Bet ya a signed dollar it’s true.” He deleted both tweets soon after.

    He has never presented any evidence for the allegation nor claimed to have any. He apologised for the remark last month after Unsworth threatened to sue, Tesla shares dived and the company’s investors issued an open letter demanding Musk apologise.

    Musk was responding to another critic on Twitter on Tuesday night when he appeared to reaffirm the accusation. “You don’t think it’s strange [Unsworth] hasn’t sued me? He was offered free legal services,” he wrote.

    “Did you investigate at all? I’m guessing answer is no. Why?” he wrote in subsequent tweets that are still online.”

    https://www.theguardian.com/technology/2018/aug/29/elon-musk-doubles-down-on-pedo-claims-against-uk-cave-diver

  8. marty mars 9

    t.rump – this is how you start a war, civil or otherwise, 101.

    “US President Donald Trump has warned that his policies will be “violently” overturned if the Democrats win November’s mid-term elections.

    He told Evangelical leaders that the vote was a “referendum” on freedom of speech and religion, and that these were threatened by “violent people”.

    He appealed to conservative Christian groups for help, saying they were one vote away from “losing everything”. ”

    https://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-45340275

    • joe90 9.1

      The prick doesn’t even bother hiding it.

      When we released the first edition of this report in October 2017, the case that President Trump had obstructed justice was still in its relatively early stages. Even then, we concluded that there was substantial evidence that the president may have obstructed justice.

      […]

      Ten months later, as we release the updated second edition of the report, it has become apparent that the president’s pattern of potentially obstructive conduct is much more extensive than we knew. To take only a few examples,…

      https://www.brookings.edu/research/presidential-obstruction-of-justice-the-case-of-donald-j-trump-2nd-edition/

    • millsy 9.2

      I firmly believe that the US is heading for another civil war, with tensions built up going back to civil rights and Veitnam. Previous presidents, even Bush II have managed to keep things under control, but Trump seems to want to stoke up tension and disharmony.

  9. Tricledrown 10

    Millsy Trump is a desperate cornered seriously wounded beast if he looses the Midterms he will face impeachment.

  10. Chris T 11

    Weird hour of shocks

    Manning officially barred from Aus and Ardern dumps another minister

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • New Public Housing Plan announced
    The Government has released its Public Housing Plan 2021-2024 which outlines the intention of where 8,000 additional public and transitional housing places announced in Budget 2020, will go. “The Government is committed to continuing its public house build programme at pace and scale. The extra 8,000 homes – 6000 public ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    20 hours ago
  • Prime Minister congratulates President Joe Biden on his inauguration
    Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern has congratulated President Joe Biden on his inauguration as the 46th President of the United States of America. “I look forward to building a close relationship with President Biden and working with him on issues that matter to both our countries,” Jacinda Ardern said. “New Zealand ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    22 hours ago
  • Jobs for Nature funding will create training and employment opportunities
    A major investment to tackle wilding pines in Mt Richmond will create jobs and help protect the area’s unique ecosystems, Biosecurity Minister Damien O’Connor says. The Mt Richmond Forest Park has unique ecosystems developed on mineral-rich geology, including taonga plant species found nowhere else in the country. “These special plant ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 days ago
  • Pre-departure testing extended to all passengers to New Zealand
    To further protect New Zealand from COVID-19, the Government is extending pre-departure testing to all passengers to New Zealand except from Australia, Antarctica and most Pacific Islands, COVID-19 Response Minister Chris Hipkins said today. “The change will come into force for all flights arriving in New Zealand after 11:59pm (NZT) on Monday ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 days ago
  • Bay Cadets learn skills to protect environment
    Bay Conservation Cadets launched with first intake Supported with $3.5 million grant Part of $1.245b Jobs for Nature programme to accelerate recover from Covid Cadets will learn skills to protect and enhance environment Environment Minister David Parker today welcomed the first intake of cadets at the launch of the Bay ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    4 days ago
  • Cook Islanders to resume travel to New Zealand
    The Prime Minister of New Zealand Jacinda Ardern and the Prime Minister of the Cook Islands Mark Brown have announced passengers from the Cook Islands can resume quarantine-free travel into New Zealand from 21 January, enabling access to essential services such as health. “Following confirmation of the Cook Islands’ COVID ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    7 days ago
  • Supporting communities and landowners to grow employment opportunities
    Jobs for Nature funding is being made available to conservation groups and landowners to employ staff and contractors in a move aimed at boosting local biodiversity-focused projects, Conservation Minister Kiritapu Allan has announced. It is estimated some 400-plus jobs will be created with employment opportunities in ecology, restoration, trapping, ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Border exception for some returning international tertiary students
    The Government has approved an exception class for 1000 international tertiary students, degree level and above, who began their study in New Zealand but were caught offshore when border restrictions began. The exception will allow students to return to New Zealand in stages from April 2021. “Our top priority continues ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Tiwai deal gives time for managed transition
    Today’s deal between Meridian and Rio Tinto for the Tiwai smelter to remain open another four years provides time for a managed transition for Southland. “The deal provides welcome certainty to the Southland community by protecting jobs and incomes as the region plans for the future. The Government is committed ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • New member for APEC Business Advisory Council
    Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern has appointed Anna Curzon to the APEC Business Advisory Council (ABAC). The leader of each APEC economy appoints three private sector representatives to ABAC. ABAC provides advice to leaders annually on business priorities. “ABAC helps ensure that APEC’s work programme is informed by business community perspectives ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Govt’s careful economic management recognised
    The Government’s prudent fiscal management and strong policy programme in the face of the COVID-19 global pandemic have been acknowledged by the credit rating agency Fitch. Fitch has today affirmed New Zealand’s local currency rating at AA+ with a stable outlook and foreign currency rating at AA with a positive ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Additional actions to keep COVID-19 out of NZ
    The Government is putting in place a suite of additional actions to protect New Zealand from COVID-19, including new emerging variants, COVID-19 Response Minister Chris Hipkins said today. “Given the high rates of infection in many countries and evidence of the global spread of more transmissible variants, it’s clear that ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • 19 projects will clean up and protect waterways
    $36 million of Government funding alongside councils and others for 19 projects Investment will clean up and protect waterways and create local jobs Boots on the ground expected in Q2 of 2021 Funding part of the Jobs for Nature policy package A package of 19 projects will help clean up ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • New Zealand Government acknowledges 175th anniversary of Battle of Ruapekapeka
    The commemoration of the 175th anniversary of the Battle of Ruapekapeka represents an opportunity for all New Zealanders to reflect on the role these conflicts have had in creating our modern nation, says Associate Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage Kiri Allan. “The Battle at Te Ruapekapeka Pā, which took ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Better care for babies with tongue-tie
    Babies born with tongue-tie will be assessed and treated consistently under new guidelines released by the Ministry of Health, Associate Minister of Health Dr Ayesha Verrall announced today. Around 5% to 10% of babies are born with a tongue-tie, or ankyloglossia, in New Zealand each year. At least half can ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • Prisoner disorder event at Waikeria Prison over
    The prisoner disorder event at Waikeria Prison is over, with all remaining prisoners now safely and securely detained, Corrections Minister Kelvin Davis says. The majority of those involved in the event are members of the Mongols and Comancheros. Five of the men are deportees from Australia, with three subject to ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • Pre-departure COVID-19 test for travellers from the UK and the US from 15 January
    Travellers from the United Kingdom or the United States bound for New Zealand will be required to get a negative test result for COVID-19 before departing, and work is underway to extend the requirement to other long haul flights to New Zealand, COVID-19 Response Minister Chris Hipkins confirmed today. “The new PCR test requirement, foreshadowed last ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago