Daily Review 30/01/2018

Written By: - Date published: 5:40 pm, January 30th, 2018 - 33 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

33 comments on “Daily Review 30/01/2018”

  1. Rosemary McDonald 1

    Be cool. Imagine being here…

  2. ropata 2

    Is that Mueller in the pic above? Some very significant shit going down today…

    The Trump admin has notified Congress that last year’s bipartisan Russia sanctions bill is serving as a “deterrent” and as such, specific sanctions aren’t needed at this time. From a State Dept spox: pic.twitter.com/rwkd6Vzh66— Elana Schor (@eschor) January 29, 2018

    Incredible. Trump defies Congress to protect Putin, who attacked the US election to help Trump. Those are plain facts. Is is possible to believe he isn't compromised? https://t.co/rB4Tz3H51b— Garry Kasparov (@Kasparov63) January 30, 2018

    So to recap: Tonight Trump administration has resolved to leave future elections open to more Russian assistance to GOP candidates while firing and insulting FBI officials who have sought to protect elections against Russia https://t.co/3TBFtV9sGn— David Frum (@davidfrum) January 30, 2018

    • Andre 2.1

      It’s all still consistent with what White House aides are allegedly calling “defiance disorder”, as much as it is consistent with him personally being compromised. In practical terms though, that’s like the difference between getting syphilis and getting cholera.

      http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/americas/us-politics/trump-ignore-advice-aides-defiance-disorder-opposite-book-media-madness-howard-kurtz-a8173261.html

    • joe90 2.2

      Well and truly bought.

      This was the vote on Russian Sanctions:

      House: 419-3

      Senate: 98-2

      Today, Trump said he won't impose the sanctions despite a veto-proof majority.

      Congratulations, America. Laws are meaningless now.— Nick Jack Pappas (@Pappiness) January 30, 2018

    • Macro 2.3

      White House national security adviser H.R. McMaster publicly acknowledged last month that Russia is showing signs of trying to upend this May’s Mexican election, and Attorney General Jeff Sessions testified in November that preventing Russian disruption of the 2018 midterm elections is an “important” goal.

      Whether the administration can be persuaded to use the full extent of the authority Congress gave it last year, however, is another matter. The sanctions due Monday under the bill that Trump signed in August can be delayed or waived, but any waiver would have to come with a certification to lawmakers that Russia has made major progress in cutting back on cyber-meddling.

      https://www.politico.com/story/2018/01/28/trump-russia-sanctions-deadline-373106
      The Senate voted 98 – 2 in support of this law. Which Trump signed.
      Trump is in open opposition to Congress on this matter.
      Republicans are in danger of loosing control not only of the Senate but also the House. Many Repugnants in Congress will be now looking over their shoulders and wondering how long they can continue to support this Chump.

    • mickysavage 2.4

      Is that Mueller in the pic above? Some very significant shit going down today…

      Yes it is and yes there was …

  3. joe90 3

    Now, about that 350 million quid…

    The government’s new analysis of the impact of Brexit says the UK would be worse off outside the European Union under every scenario modelled, BuzzFeed News can reveal.

    The assessment, which is titled “EU Exit Analysis – Cross Whitehall Briefing” and dated January 2018, looked at three of the most plausible Brexit scenarios based on existing EU arrangements.

    Under a comprehensive free trade agreement with the EU, UK growth would be 5% lower over the next 15 years compared to current forecasts, according to the analysis.

    The “no deal” scenario, which would see the UK revert to World Trade Organization (WTO) rules, would reduce growth by 8% over that period. The softest Brexit option of continued single-market access through membership of the European Economic Area would, in the longer term, still lower growth by 2%.

    […]

    The assessment seen by BuzzFeed News is being kept tightly guarded inside government. It was prepared by officials across Whitehall for the Department for Exiting the European Union (DExEU) and is reportedly being presented to key ministers in one-to-one meetings this week ahead of discussion at the Brexit cabinet subcommittee next week.

    Asked why the prime minister was not making the analysis public, a DExEU source told BuzzFeed News: “Because it’s embarrassing.”

    https://www.buzzfeed.com/albertonardelli/the-governments-own-brexit-analysis-says-the-uk-will-be?utm_term=.jjXnnnBgJ5#.jd5777QZPW

    • Nic the NZer 3.1

      Too right its embarrassing. The last analysis said the UK economy would walk right into recession on a brexit result and they have not learned from that forecasting failure at all.

      • The idea of the EU predicted that everything would be hunkydory – and then we got the PIIGS and the collapse of their economies at the hands of the IMF and other nations browbeating them into paying debt that they couldn’t afford to pay because the rich had to be protected and not the poor.

        Only 12 economists, all of them heterodox, predicted the GFC accurately. All the rest said simply wasn’t going to happen and many even said that it couldn’t happen.

        Mainstream economists predictions aren’t worth the paper that they’re written on because they ignore reality. Actually, their entire hypothesis ignores reality.

  4. NZJester 5

    American Republicans always harping on about voter fraud in the US without proof.
    Well unfortunately there now is some proof.

    Proof that a man who had a conservative radio show who has harped on about voter fraud many a time sentenced for committing voter fraud himself.

  5. eco maori 6

    We have to CHANGE OUR culture to one of caring for OUR neighbours caring for animals caring for OUR MOKOS future.
    We can no longer be a use and abuse Society we have to conserve everything in our WORLD. Abuse it and we will lose it.

    A farmer gives his young livestock all the best care he can he knows that any little mistakes will stop the animals reaching there potential size and production.
    bill english is still not willing to help fix the damage shonky has done to OUR most vulnerable people OUR youth.
    You see neo liberals can never admit to anyone or themselves that they are/were wrong. Come on Bill get with it grow up and help Jacinda put policy’s in place to guarantee that all political parties will commit to reducing Child poverty.
    This is not rocket science bill but you sure are making it look like it is.
    Ana to kai

  6. Anne 7

    The CIA under Mike Pompeo
    – Trump’s choice for Director.

    http://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-42867076

    Scary!

  7. Eco Maori 8

    We have a hurricane heading towards us this could get quite wild with all the heat/MANA in the seas around New Zealand. I wonder if the neo liberals have pulled there heads out of the sand to face reality Global warming. I think not.
    I see you like your new weather graphics as much as Eco Maori does Daniel Ka pai TVNZ1 news P.S. ECO MAORI is pleased to see some Maori words used on the CHASE on Tv1 tonite many thanks to Bradley Walsh and his crew Ka pai.
    Ka kite ano

  8. joe90 9

    So Julian told Sean he had dirt on the senior Democrat on the Senate Committee looking into alleged Russian election meddling.

    But it wasn’t Sean, it was a woman in Texas crook with the bot.

    “I felt bad. He really thought he was talking to Sean Hannity,” said Gilliam.

    Gilliam, a technical writer from Texas, was bored with the flu when she created @SeanHannity__ early Saturday morning. The Fox News host’s real account was temporarily deleted after cryptically tweeting the phrase “Form Submission 1649 | #Hannity” on Friday night. Twitter said the account had been “briefly compromised,” according to a statement provided to The Daily Beast, and was back up on Sunday morning.

    https://www.thedailybeast.com/julian-assange-thought-he-was-messaging-sean-hannity-when-he-offered-news-on-democrat-investigating-trump-russia/

  9. Rosemary McDonald 10

    So.

    It looks like we will have two Bills on Medical Cannabis going through the ‘Process’.

    http://www.legislation.govt.nz/bill/member/2017/0270/latest/whole.html#DLM7287003 (the Genter/Swarbrick Bill)

    http://www.legislation.govt.nz/bill/government/2017/0012/latest/whole.html#DLM7518707 (the other one)

    How is this going to work?

    Will both go to the same Select Committee, at the same time?

    If we make submissions do we make two…one for each?

    If we choose the option of addressing the Select Committee, and we should happen to speak about personal experience with the type of medical cannabis products that would be made legal by the Genter/Swarbrick Bill can we be prosecuted?

    I would imagine after the blitz on the Green Fairies shortly after the election some folk may be a little nervous….

    • Cinny 10.1

      hey hey Rosemary 🙂 great minds think alike am a bit confused about some of it too.

    • I suspect that if they both get voted to select committee, as they both should, then they’d be combined into a single process and we’d end up only doing a single submission.

      I suspect that the Genter/Swarbrick bill will be down voted by Labour and NZFirst and National.

      Proving that we do not have a democracy.

      • Rosemary McDonald 10.2.1

        “I suspect that the Genter/Swarbrick bill will be down voted by Labour and NZFirst and National.”

        Well…I’m going to be a little joy-germish pollyanna and hope for the best. 🙂 🙂

      • patricia bremner 10.2.2

        Draco Jacinda said she would be supporting G/S bill tonight on TV

  10. Cinny 11

    Question please…

    bill says he will let a small number of nat MPs vote on Chloes bill tomorrow, does that mean he is not allowing all the members of his party to vote on it? Or are all the nat MP’s voting on it but bill is only expecting a small number of nat MP’s to vote for it?

    Thanks in advance if anyone can clarify that for me please.

    https://www.stuff.co.nz/national/politics/101010793/government-marijuana-bill-gains-support-from-all-parties-but-fate-of-greens-bill-unclear

    • Rosemary McDonald 11.1

      “bill says he will let a small number of nat MPs vote on Chloes bill tomorrow, does that mean…?”

      He’s running it up the flagpole to see if it flutters?

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Compliance strengthened for property speculation
    Inland Revenue is to gain greater oversight of land transfer information to ensure those buying and selling properties are complying with tax rules on property speculation. Cabinet has agreed to implement recommendation 99 of the Tax Working Group’s (TWG) final ...
    7 hours ago
  • Plan to expand protection for Maui and Hector’s dolphins
    The Government is taking action to expand and strengthen the protection for Māui and Hector’s dolphins with an updated plan to deal with threats to these native marine mammals. Minister of Conservation Eugenie Sage and Minister of Fisheries Stuart Nash ...
    13 hours ago
  • Cameras on vessels to ensure sustainable fisheries
    Commercial fishing vessels at greatest risk of encountering the rare Māui dolphin will be required to operate with on-board cameras from 1 November, as the next step to strengthen our fisheries management system. Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern and Fisheries Minister ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Greatest number of new Police in a single year
    A new record for the number of Police officers deployed to the regions in a single year has been created with the graduation today of Recruit Wing 326. Police Minister Stuart Nash says the graduation of 78 new constables means ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Ensuring multinationals pay their fair share of tax
    New Zealand is pushing on with efforts to ensure multinational companies pay their fair share of tax, with the release of proposed options for a digital services tax (DST). In February Cabinet agreed to consult the public on the problem ...
    2 weeks ago