Daily Review 31/03/2016

Written By: - Date published: 6:00 pm, March 31st, 2016 - 18 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Paid blogging

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

18 comments on “Daily Review 31/03/2016”

  1. He said it again “What a politician says on the campaign trail, should be taken with a pinch of salt” J Key. TV one news 31/03/16

    That is with regard to Trump, Clinton and Sanders stand on TPPa.

    • ianmac 1.1

      My instant reaction, “But John always tells the truth on the campaign trail.” Phew. That’s good.

  2. maui 2

    Over on the dailyblog right now:
    Waatea 5th Estate – Child poverty solutions live stream
    Also screened on Face TV on Sky tv.
    Old episodes on other topics on youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC9B7UiJnDMAPlBIneylV2tw

  3. joe90 3

    Former Trump staffer –

    Even Trump’s most trusted advisors didn’t expect him to fare this well.

    Almost a year ago, recruited for my public relations and public policy expertise, I sat in Trump Tower being told that the goal was to get The Donald to poll in double digits and come in second in delegate count. That was it.

    The Trump camp would have been satisfied to see him polling at 12% and taking second place to a candidate who might hold 50%. His candidacy was a protest candidacy.

    […]

    I don’t think even Trump thought he would get this far. And I don’t even know that he wanted to, which is perhaps the scariest prospect of all.

    He certainly was never prepared or equipped to go all the way to the White House, but his ego has now taken over the driver’s seat, and nothing else matters. The Donald does not fail. The Donald does not have any weakness. The Donald is his own biggest enemy.

    A devastating terrorist attack in Pakistan targeting Christians occurred on Easter Sunday, and Trump’s response was to tweet, “Another radical Islamic attack, this time in Pakistan, targeting Christian women & children. At least 67 dead, 400 injured. I alone can solve.”

    This is not how foreign policy works. For anyone. Ever.

    Superhero powers where “I alone can solve” problems are not real. They do not exist for Batman, for Superman, for Wrestlemania and definitely not for Donald Trump.

    What was once Trump’s desire to rank second place to send a message to America and to increase his power as a businessman has nightmarishly morphed into a charade that is poised to do irreparable damage to this country if we do not stop this campaign in its tracks.

    http://www.xojane.com/issues/stephanie-cegielski-donald-trump-campaign-defector

    • Colonial Viper 3.1

      Sounds like a jilted former staffer irritated that they have missed a ride to the White House.

      “I alone can solve” – I believe he means out of all the other candidates for President.

  4. b waghorn 4

    Ubi question no307
    How would a ubi affect the need for paid parental leave, and would it lessen the amount of government assisted child care.?

    • weka 4.1

      why would either of those things be affected?

      • Colonial Viper 4.1.1

        people decide to work less and look after their children themselves

        children receive the UBI which goes to their parents to spend

        • b waghorn 4.1.1.1

          I would say hell will freeze before children will get a ubi.

          • Colonial Viper 4.1.1.1.1

            Under 12’s should get a 1/3 UBI and under 18s should get a 2/3 UBI.

          • Draco T Bastard 4.1.1.1.2

            I didn’t know that Hell had frozen over.

            Parents used to get assistance for every child that they had.

            Perhaps it had frozen over but now that the scumbags are in charge again it’s heating up.

      • b waghorn 4.1.2

        More people my choose to stay home and parent ,so savings would be had,
        It would effect child care more than paid parental leave the negative is a few care workers jobs may go .

        • weka 4.1.2.1

          Or more people may choose to use that the free time on other things. I’m not sure it’s something that should be quantified, but if you are saying that it’s part of being able to sell a UBI, I’d frame it as people having more time to raise kids rather than the state saving money.

          • Sacha 4.1.2.1.1

            and if we’re framing it for righties, it gives parents more choice about how they arrange their affairs.

          • b waghorn 4.1.2.1.2

            I was more thinking about people doing the affordability calculations having to look at it,

            • weka 4.1.2.1.2.1

              I think it’s too complicated. How could you quantify what people might choose to do, and the fact that they will probably change over time anyway? I also think that we need to be very careful about not funding a UBI by counting the lowering of costs of pretty critical social security like childcare and parental leave.

  5. adam 5

    So who “won” here again?

  6. Macro 6

    Big Win for sexual violence survivors and services today
    Well done Jan. Hopefully there will be money in the Budget to back up this promise.

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Cameras on vessels to ensure sustainable fisheries
    Commercial fishing vessels at greatest risk of encountering the rare Māui dolphin will be required to operate with on-board cameras from 1 November, as the next step to strengthen our fisheries management system. Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern and Fisheries Minister ...
    1 week ago
  • Greatest number of new Police in a single year
    A new record for the number of Police officers deployed to the regions in a single year has been created with the graduation today of Recruit Wing 326. Police Minister Stuart Nash says the graduation of 78 new constables means ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Ensuring multinationals pay their fair share of tax
    New Zealand is pushing on with efforts to ensure multinational companies pay their fair share of tax, with the release of proposed options for a digital services tax (DST). In February Cabinet agreed to consult the public on the problem ...
    2 weeks ago