Daily Review 31/08/2016

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, August 31st, 2016 - 21 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Ban suits

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

21 comments on “Daily Review 31/08/2016”

  1. weka 1

    Great photo.

  2. Atiawa 3

    Could anyone imagine a strong well resourced democratic union movement allowing the current gap that exists in our largest city between wages and house prices?
    If the Award system for wage fixing was still in existence and it was compulsory to belong to a union if your work was covered by an award, as it was prior to 1991 (the ERA replaced the Award system) and the cost of a house in Auckland reached its current price, unions would have ensured that a teacher, a nurse, a builder or electrician on wages would now be earning $200k+ annually or influenced the Government of the day to stop foreign investment in our housing stock, put restraints on the number of new immigrants or build affordable homes for workers to either buy or rent along with the infrastructure required to live in a community and travel cost efficiently/effectively to your place of employment. Wouldn’t they?

  3. Draco T Bastard 4

    People who felt marginalised drove Brexit vote, study finds

    It found that the way Britons voted in June’s referendum was deeply divided along economic, educational and social lines, with a lack of opportunity across swaths of the country resulting in people opting to leave the EU.

    Julia Unwin, the chief executive of the foundation, called the results a “wake-up call”, arguing that Britain could not afford to return to business as usual in the wake of the vote.

    “For too long, many communities have been struggling as the country’s prosperity passed them by and missed out on opportunities to build a better life.

    “With energy focused on the process of leaving the EU, there’s a danger the concerns of people at home are ignored. This analysis should act as a beacon for politicians who often talk about representing the concerns of ordinary people.”

    She said the rapid pace of change in the economy had left too many without skills or opportunities, and said much more was needed to make sure prosperity was shared across the economy.

    “Theresa May has made the right noises to overcome this and heal the divisions with a promise to make Britain work for all. The priority is making good on this promise.”

    Still comes across as supporting the people at the top and BAU (despite saying that it doesn’t) rather than accepting that the whole system of capitalism has failed and that we need to address that.

  4. You read it here first!

    TS, last Thursday:

    “And, to be fair, Trump extending the tiny hand of friendship to the black voter might be a turning point. Will he discover he’s always loved hispanic migrants next?”

    ‘merica, today:

    http://www.wsj.com/articles/donald-trump-mulls-trip-to-mexico-to-meet-president-enriquepena-nieto-1472611208

  5. Pat 6

    “Schmidt is the highest-profile scientist to effectively write-off the 1.5C target, which was adopted at December’s UN summit after heavy lobbying from island nations that risk being inundated by rising seas if temperatures exceed this level. Recent research found that just five more years of carbon dioxide emissions at current levels will virtually wipe out any chance of restraining temperatures to a 1.5C increase and avoid runaway climate change.”

    https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2016/aug/30/nasa-climate-change-warning-earth-temperature-warming

    are we ready to host our pacific neighbours in a few years time?

  6. 42 years gone.

    “All Kiwis want is someone to love, somewhere to live, somewhere to work, and something to hope for.”

    • joe90 7.1

      Home for the weekend and arrived home on Saturday night, mum told me.

      • swordfish 7.1.1

        A few weeks after my 10th birthday.

        Like you, informed by my Mum – who knew Big Norm was a bit of a hero of mine.

        A few days later, we all went in to Parliament grounds, Molesworth St, where Kirk had been lying in state and watched the Labour caucus act as pall-bearers, bringing the coffin down the steps of Parliament, while Maori women mourners (whanau pani ?) wearing kawakawa were singing laments (waiata tangi ?).

        Or were Labour MPs carrying it up the steps into Parliament to lie in state – memory a little too vague after four decades.

        Certainly have a clear memory of seeing a large group of people watching from the top of the Parliamentary Library.

        The days when 10 year old lads wore flared jeans, tank tops, Fred Dagg T-Shirts and wouldn’t be seen dead with anything other than shoulder-length hair covering their ears.

        • Karen 7.1.1.1

          They carried it down the steps, Swordfish. If you want to relive your memory go to a minute in on this doco:

          https://www.nzonscreen.com/title/inquiry—the-late-mr-norman-kirk

          1972 was my first vote and I remember that night very clearly. Didn’t have a TV – just writing down the results for each electorate as the results came over the radio and getting very excited. I was in a safe Labour seat so I had voted Values as I liked their policies and wanted to encourage them to continue. It was a time when I really believed the world was going to change for the better. How wrong could you be!

          I was in the USSR when Kirk died and I was told the news by a Russian I was talking to. I can still remember the shock I felt.

          • swordfish 7.1.1.1.1

            Cheers, Karen. 1972 was the first Election I have a direct memory of.

            Over the years, of course, I’ve seen all the archival footage of the 69 Election (a still somewhat rotund, short-back-and-sides Kirk breezily skipping up Parliamentary steps to the slightly Hippyish song: “Make things happen cos it’s your turn now, make things happen this year”. But no direct recollection – too young.

            My main memory from 72 is the It’s Time theme of Labour’s campaign … and my parents being in very high spirits on Election Night. Even stronger memory, though, of 75 and my father quickly going through a couple of flagons of beer and heading off to bed quietly muttering laments (and one or two expletives) in utter disbelief.

            A few weeks before the 75 Election, my mother told me there’s no way a majority would ever vote for someone as vicious as Muldoon.

          • weka 7.1.1.1.2

            Great conversation to be reading. Thanks for the link Karen, I put up a post too

            Democracy doesn’t belong to government…

            “I was in a safe Labour seat so I had voted Values as I liked their policies and wanted to encourage them to continue. It was a time when I really believed the world was going to change for the better. How wrong could you be!”

            It’s the long game. Thanks to Values Party voters (my mum included) we now have MMP and the Green Party.

        • joe90 7.1.1.2

          The teen me thought he was was pretty damned swish in those flares and cali plaid shirts.

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Confirmation bias
    Something slightly deeper. Facebook is an out of control dangerous institution that neatly divides us up into our own tribes and lets us reinforce our beliefs with each other while at the same time throw rocks ...
    Confirmation bias
    9 hours ago
  • Andrew Little leads NZ delegation on global anti-terrorism taskforce
    Justice Minister Andrew Little leaves for the United States today to take part in a global task force that’s tackling terrorism and anti-money laundering. “I’m looking forward to leading the New Zealand delegation to the Financial Action Task Force (FATF) ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Third reading: Arms (Prohibited Firearms, Magazines, and Parts) Amendment Bill
    Mr Speaker We have travelled a long way in eight days, since the bill was read a first time. It has been a punishing schedule for MPs and submitters and public servants who have played a role in this process. ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Legal framework for gun buyback scheme announced
    Police Minister Stuart Nash has announced a legal framework for the gun buyback will be established as a first step towards determining the level of compensation. It will include compensation for high capacity magazines and parts. Mr Nash has outlined ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Second reading: Arms (Prohibited Firearms, Magazines and Parts) Amendment Bill
    Mr Speaker, it is Day 25 of the largest criminal investigation in New Zealand history. Not a day, or a moment, has been wasted as we respond to the atrocity that is testing us all. That is true also of ...
    2 weeks ago
  • First reading: Arms (Prohibited Firearms, Magazines and Parts) Amendment Bill
    Mr Speaker, as we meet today New Zealand is under a terror threat level of HIGH. As we meet today, Police are routinely carrying firearms, Bushmaster rifles and Glock pistols, in a significant departure from normal practice. As we meet ...
    3 weeks ago
  • NZ-China economic ties strengthened
    Economic ties between New Zealand and China are being strengthened with the successful negotiation of a new taxation treaty. The double tax agreement was signed by New Zealand’s Ambassador to China and by the Commissioner of the State Taxation Administration ...
    3 weeks ago
  • Tighter gun laws to enhance public safety
    Police Minister Stuart Nash has introduced legislation changing firearms laws to improve public safety following the Christchurch terror attacks. “Every semi-automatic weapon used in the terrorist attack will be banned,” Mr Nash says. “Owning a gun is a privilege not ...
    3 weeks ago