Daily Review 31/10/2017

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, October 31st, 2017 - 41 comments
Categories: Daily review, uncategorized - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

41 comments on “Daily Review 31/10/2017”

  1. weka 1

    Labour changing OIO classification of housing to prevent overseas people buying existing housing here. Then they don’t need to renegotiate this part of the TPP? What’s to stop National changing classification when next in power?

    http://www.radionz.co.nz/news/political/342781/foreign-home-buyers-to-be-banned-pm

    • syclingmad 1.1

      Nothing, but they’d be crazy to reverse the position and risk the overheated housing market mark 2.

      Remember National governments are by and large status quo. Change comes via Labour.

      • weka 1.1.1

        We’re supposed to rely on National being casual?

        I wasn’t really asking about that though, I was wanting to know the implications for now not negotiating land ownership in the TTPA.

        • syclingmad 1.1.1.1

          All I’m saying is you can’t legislate against forever and others here have just been busy criticising National for trying to do precisely that. At some stage National will wake up to themselves, the current mob will move on, and repealing legislation banning foreign sales will be moot.

          On the land sales, kind of hard to argue that if the point of the ban is that it gobbles up supply, then buy and build is net neutral for supply.

          Plus banning land sales might require they re-open the agreement with South Korea. I think?

          • weka 1.1.1.1.1

            Not the way they’re doing it (read the link). Singapore might be an issue.

            I think we should be banning all foreign land sales across then board.

            Still don’t know the implications for the TPPA.

            • syclingmad 1.1.1.1.1.1

              “I think we should be banning all foreign land sales across then board.”

              I don’t agree but I’ll park it for another day. Up to my eyeballs in kids wanting lollies at the front door!

            • Craig H 1.1.1.1.1.2

              Apparently minimal implications for the TPPA if the legislation is pushed through before signing it.

              • weka

                That wasn’t what I meant. I meant are there are clauses in the TPPA that will no longer be contested that will be a problem if the OIO process is reversed or we need additional legislation later on.

                And what’s happening with rural land? Is the TPPA going to mean we won’t be able to legislate around that say next year?

    • DoublePlusGood 1.2

      We shouldn’t be signing the TPP under any circumstances.

    • Bill 1.3

      Non-residents and non- citizens are references to individuals. But then there are companies – which is what the TPP and other agreements are about. (Individuals don’t have access to the disputes process anyway, so the government can do more or less as it wants on that front.)

      But if a foreign national can’t buy a house or a wad of houses as an individual, because they are neither resident nor a citizen, what’s to stop them acquiring property as a company?

      A company is neither a resident nor a citizen, and if the buying entity has to be a resident or a citizen, then no company (kiwi or otherwise) would be able to buy houses. And that’s obviously not going to be the case.

      • weka 1.3.1

        The OIO already routinely deals with businesses/companies, I’m going to guess that they are covered like individuals are.

        • Bill 1.3.1.1

          Maybe they are.

          But that’s entirely beside the point with regards FTAs that revolve around companies and their activities and their market access, but not individuals and their activities and market access.

          FTAs tend to trump domestic legislation anyway, but even putting that aside, this shimmy (it would seem) doesn’t affect companies and so therefore doesn’t affect FTA provisions on market access.

          The change, as touted, will apply to individuals and their access rights….meaning it’s “a nothing” from a FTA perspective.

  2. Macro 2

    That is a great pic – apparently the woman cyclist gave the golfing “President” the middle finger twice. Once when the cavalcade drove past, and then when it had stopped and she caught up and past him. He was on his way to play golf – and then off to dinner with Melina – both venues of course owned by him. Nice to get the Govt to pay for visiting your own club and hotel! On the way into the Golf course he passed a woman on the side of the road holding up a sign with the simple word “IMPEACH”.
    The recent Gallup poll of his daily approval rating sunk to an all time low on the weekend – only 33% approving of his performance. The lowest of any President in recent times.
    http://news.gallup.com/poll/201617/gallup-daily-trump-job-approval.aspx
    But it’s all ok – the care givers at the Whitehouse held the chart of his sinking popularity upside down – so he thinks it’s wonderful.

    • mickysavage 2.1

      Pretty well every sane person in the Western World wishes they were that woman …

      • BM 2.1.1

        Do you wish you were a woman MS? I think you would be, free of that nasty oppressing genitalia, that anchor that’s holding you back from left wing greatness,

        • Ad 2.1.1.1

          Fly! Let your spirit be freeeeeeee!
          I am greatness, i am bicycle, I am The Finger.

        • ianmac 2.1.1.2

          A friend reckons he will choose to be a woman in his next life because he knows that she would know for sure how to choose a perfect man like him.

        • weka 2.1.1.3

          You’re a dick.

          (sorry, too easy).

          • AB 2.1.1.3.1

            “Rather than “oppressing genitalia” BM fancies that he has “impressing genitalia”. (The mind plays funny tricks at times)

        • marty mars 2.1.1.4

          Do you wish you were a man bm? I mean do ya?do ya??do ya???

          I’ve never met such a sore loser as you – bet everyone hates beating you all the time lol

          • McFlock 2.1.1.4.1

            Which means BM is anything but a dick, if my teenage years are anything to go by…

          • BM 2.1.1.4.2

            I’m sure you’d like to “beat me” mm, unfortunately for you I don’t swing that way.

            • marty mars 2.1.1.4.2.1

              Oh dear cracking under the truth eh – good to see a gnat lover like you going for one of your big three standard approaches when unable to face defeat. bill is goneburger mate just like johnny whatisface. Sad. ☺

        • Cinny 2.1.1.5

          sad as narrative you are attempting to spin tonight BM, sad as.

  3. eco Maori/kiwi 3

    OUR new prime minister is onto it going to our Aussie cousins for advice as this is all new to her Ka pai

  4. eco Maori/kiwi 4

    We need more Maori and Pacific Island Police Officers recruited Kia Kaha

  5. patricia bremner 5

    1000% Carolyn_nth

  6. Ed 6

    Before heading off to the shops for Christmas, read this article by the inspirational George Monbiot.
    It should make you reconsider your consumption.

    ‘Researching her film The Story of Stuff, Annie Leonard discovered that of the materials flowing through the consumer economy, only 1% remain in use six months after sale(1). Even the goods we might have expected to hold onto are soon condemned to destruction through either planned obsolescence (breaking quickly) or perceived obsolesence (becoming unfashionable).

    But many of the products we buy, especially for Christmas, cannot become obsolescent. The term implies a loss of utility, but they had no utility in the first place. An electronic drum-machine t-shirt; a Darth Vader talking piggy bank; an ear-shaped i-phone case; an individual beer can chiller; an electronic wine breather; a sonic screwdriver remote control; bacon toothpaste; a dancing dog: no one is expected to use them, or even look at them, after Christmas Day. They are designed to elicit thanks, perhaps a snigger or two, and then be thrown away.
    The fatuity of the products is matched by the profundity of the impacts. Rare materials, complex electronics, the energy needed for manufacture and transport are extracted and refined and combined into compounds of utter pointlessness. When you take account of the fossil fuels whose use we commission in other countries, manufacturing and consumption are responsible for more than half of our carbon dioxide production. We are screwing the planet to make solar-powered bath thermometers and desktop crazy golfers.
    People in eastern Congo are massacred to facilitate smart phone upgrades of ever diminishing marginal utility. Forests are felled to make “personalised heart-shaped wooden cheese board sets”. Rivers are poisoned to manufacture talking fish. This is pathological consumption: a world-consuming epidemic of collective madness, rendered so normal by advertising and the media that we scarcely notice what has happened to us…..

    ….Bake them a cake, write them a poem, give them a kiss, tell them a joke, but for god’s sake stop trashing the planet to tell someone you care. All it shows is that you don’t.’

    http://www.monbiot.com/2012/12/10/the-gift-of-death/

    • timeforacupoftea 6.1

      Haa ha don’t be a killjoy, we can afford this crap but we don’t earn enough to feed our children.
      Thank God for food in schools and milk from Fonzterror.

      • Cinny 6.1.1

        Imagines a population of people educated on the effects of mass marketing and human consumption…

    • eco maori 6.2

      When my children were young we splashed out at Christmas and 6 months later most of the gift’s end up in the dump. We would get sick of picking up cleaning these plastic rubbish .I now see the same senaro happening with my moko and when my children buy some gifts I say to them those are going to end up in my Museum I.E they will use them for 2 months and that’s it LOL what a waste of money.Ka pai

      • Cinny 6.2.1

        I’m hearing you lovely, around here we do home made christmas presents or recycled/2nd hand pressies, it’s really awesome and lots of fun, kids love going ‘treasure hunting’ for chrissie pressies at garage sales and recycling centre. Love upcycling and it’s a great habit to teach the kids.

        Apart from the kids, who get things like stationary for the new school year, new togs etc, or something like a bigger bike or boogie board etc as they grow up. There’s enough junk around with out us collecting more.

  7. joe90 7

    No water, food, power, medical treatment, or security and it’s 30C+ on Manus Island.

  8. weka 8

    Left wing humour,

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • New digital service to make business easy
    A new digital platform aims to make it easier for small businesses to access services from multiple government agencies, leaving them more time to focus on their own priorities. Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern and Minister for Small Business Stuart Nash ...
    5 days ago
  • Million-dollar start to gun collection events
    Million-dollar start to gun collection events  Police Minister Stuart Nash says a solid start has been made to the gun buyback and amnesty after the first weekend of community collection events. “Gun owners will walk away with more than ...
    6 days ago
  • Praise after first firearms collection event
    Police Minister Stuart Nash has praised Police and gun owners after the first firearms collection event saw a busy turnout at Riccarton Racecourse in Christchurch. “Police officers and staff have put a tremendous effort into planning and logistics for the ...
    6 days ago
  • New Police constables deployed to regions
    Seventy-eight new Police constables are heading out to the regions following today’s graduation of a new recruit wing from the Royal New Zealand Police College. Police Minister Stuart Nash says the record high number of new Police officers being recruited, ...
    2 weeks ago