web analytics

Daily Review 14/08/2015

Written By: - Date published: 6:00 pm, August 14th, 2015 - 40 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Hillary Clinton Bernie Saunders donors

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other.

40 comments on “Daily Review 14/08/2015 ”

  1. Draco T Bastard 1

    Solar bill will help power NZ’s transition to green economy

    Parliament will get to vote on a simple amendment to the Electricity Industry Act that would guarantee households a fair price for any excess renewable electricity they supply back to the grid, the Green Party said today.

    It will be interesting to see what National and Act do but I’m reasonably certain that they’ll both come down on the side of the new private owners of electricity generation.

    The Māori Party and Dunne’s Future may come down on the side of the people.

    • DH 1.1

      The Greens seem to be always one step behind on it Draco. Selling power back to the grid isn’t the way to go, that really only works out financially when the Govt mandates an artificially high feed-in tariff like they do in Aus.

      For the average householder its better to figure out ways to use the surplus solar power rather than send it to the grid. That’s not as hard as people might think; just needs a few smarts, some habit changes and a bit of research.

      Two five minute showers in the morning will use about 4kW/hrs of power. With a 2kW water heater that’s two hours to reheat the water after our morning showers. Typically we’d use that power from the grid, the solar panels will barely have started generating power by the time the water is back to temperature.

      It doesn’t make a lot of sense to buy 4kW/hrs off the grid in the morning & then sell it back later in the day at a lower rate. 4kW/hrs is about $1 worth of power and we’re unlikely get more than 50% on feed-ins so we’d be spending $1 per day and receiving back less than 50c from the solar generation.

      Put a timer on the water heater so it turns on around 11am and you’d reduce the feed-in on a 3Kw solar system to bugger all most days. Work out other items you can turn on with a timer, such as washing machine, dishwasher, drier etc, and you’d pretty much dispense with the bother of feed-in tariffs.

      • Draco T Bastard 1.1.1

        I don’t view it as a feed in tariff – I view the present set up as the power companies looking to make a profit from other peoples investment and work while those people still lose money.

        You right that the Greens are going about it the wrong way though. The correct way would be to have it so that households and businesses are charged the same rate* for electricity and are paid that amount back for any power that they produce. This has two benefits:

        1. People aren’t ripped off by the power companies as they are now
        2. Households will be far better off financially giving a boost to other areas of the economy

        * Businesses are charged about a third of the rate of households but both use the total same amount so it’s obviously not a question of scale. What this means effectively is that households are subsidising business to a huge amount. Fully two thirds of the power companies income comes from households.

        • ianmac 1.1.1.1

          Very timely for us as we are trying to decide whether or not to go solar electric. A 3kw unit would cut usage by about 44% and by going onto low user charges the cut in line charges would help. A lot of money though as a capital outlay. About $11,000! To get a guaranteed buy back price would help and later efficient battery storage would also help. Go the Greens Amendment. To be continued.

          • DH 1.1.1.1.1

            You’d really want to shop around a bit more there ianmac. $11k is quite outrageous for a 3kW system, it also makes solar rather uneconomic.

            If you funded it by adding to the mortgage $11k over 20yrs is about $900 annually. You’d need the panels to generate more than $900 of power each year to make it worthwhile.

            A typical solar system will generate around 1100 kW/hrs annually per Kw of panels, that’s 3300 units for a 3kW system. If you’re feeding it back to the grid at 10c unit that’s only $330 worth of power generated annually. Use that solar power and it’s $825 worth of power at 25c unit.

            You should be able to buy a 3kW system for closer to $5k which is only $400 per year to pay off. Then it starts to add up but only if you use the power.

            • dv 1.1.1.1.1.1

              We have an installed solar system, and we get about 8% return. Mind you we have a17cent buy back.

            • ianmac 1.1.1.1.1.2

              You might be right DH.3.16kw $11400 incGST,percent of bill covered 43.09%, annual savings $840. annual output 4666kwh. Return on investment7.37%. Using the Micro System. What do you think DH?
              (I think Solar water is about $5,000.)

              • DH

                Solar panels are definitely worth it if you’re going to be in the same house for a long period ianmac, well as long as you get it all for a reasonable price anyway. You just need to do the quiet research; get to know what you’re buying & what you’re getting for your dollar.

                $11k would either be top brands or an unreasonable profit margin (or both). The top brands don’t really gain you much and you need to weigh up the risk/reward picture between the expensive German & Japanese stuff and reasonable Chinese manufactured equipment at half that price.

                • dv

                  Apparently you can remove to panel to your next house- about 1k I was told

                  • ianmac

                    Yes dv. Wondered about that. In time we could advertise a house for sale excluding solar unit. Then offer it to the house buyer at cost price or take it to the new house. On the other hand a house with solar installed would sell for more and more easily.

        • ianmac 1.1.1.2

          Draco, I think the power providers argue that they want to charge buyback at the same rate that they buy on the wholesale market, which they say, is about 7cents.

          • DH 1.1.1.2.1

            That’s correct ianmac, and the Govt is very unlikely to force them to buy back at above cost. I respect the Greens efforts on this but I can’t see it going anywhere.

            IMO it’s best to think of the grid more as a load balancer and work to export as little back to the grid as possible. It does take some thinking and a little bit of work but it also makes us more aware of power and how we use it which is a good thing IMO.

            • Draco T Bastard 1.1.1.2.1.1

              Thinking of the grid as a load balancer is the best reason to make it a government monopoly that maintained and expanded via taxes as it would become an integral part of the necessary infrastructure of the country and competition in it would cost too much – same as roads really.

              • DH

                I don’t see it that way. Grid-tie is only a temporary measure that we use because it works & makes for the lowest capital cost.

                Solar is already way cheaper than mains power, its the cost of storing electricity that presently costs too much. So we use the grid, but that’s not a permanent thing. When a cheap battery (finally) comes on the market we’ll ditch the grid-tie inverter and swap it for an inverter/charger.

                Longer term we’ll be getting off the grid completely. There’s no inflation on sunshine, there is inflation on electricity generation, so there’s only one logical direction this can go.

                • Draco T Bastard

                  Ah, false economics.

                  Everyone having a battery is going to cost more, in real terms, than having the grid and not using the hydro stations. The hydro stations become the battery. We can point to wind farms as well as they, too, can be turned off.

                  Maintaining and upgrading the grid and even the huge power generators doesn’t really cost that much. In fact, I suspect that it would cost less than the maintaining and replacement of millions of batteries.

                  This is the problem when people view themselves in isolation rather than as a functioning society. More resources get used up rather than it being cheaper but it’s all seen as good as there’s more profit in it.

                  • DH

                    It’s your economics which are flawed Draco. It does cost that much to maintain and upgrade the grid, and each year it costs more. That’s what inflation does, it increases prices. Sunlight has zero inflation.

                    • Draco T Bastard

                      It does cost that much to maintain and upgrade the grid, and each year it costs more. That’s what inflation does, it increases prices.

                      Actually, increasing productivity means that it costs less.

                      Increasing productivity means that, if all else remains the same, prices should decrease.

                      So why do monetary prices keep going up when real costs keep going down?

  2. Sanctuary 2

    Can anyone explain to me why the death of Connor Morris led the news tonight? Morris was a two bit street hoodlum totally inculcated to the ways of a destructive criminal organisation that has contributed precisely nothing constructive to society.

    That a slightly more than ordinary member (it appears his father was/is also a senior member of this gang) of a criminal organisation that relies on casual violence and intimidation should be killed in the utterly banal circumstances of a pointless and squalid drunken street brawl concerns me not a jot; It appears the only point of marginal interest is that his tragically stupid girlfriend of precisely no personal importance is the daughter of a long deceased broadcaster.

    And that is enough for it to lead the news? Really? tell me it isn’t so!

    • Jilly Bee 2.1

      ‘Tis the (Elder) Holmes effect I would think.

      • Sanctuary 2.1.1

        Does my head in.

        • Anne 2.1.1.1

          Me too. Haven’t watched the news since the trial began. I think of the many victims of murderous crimes and how few people cared a hoot about them – especially if they were Maori. But just because this one involved a former celebrity’s daughter we have to endure endless false and cloying stories relating to her every word and deed. If Ms Elder was someone of maturity and integrity she would have sent the media wolves packing a long time ago.

          • Draco T Bastard 2.1.1.1.1

            f Ms Elder was someone of maturity and integrity she would have sent the media wolves packing a long time ago.

            If she was any of that she wouldn’t have been hanging out with the Head Hunters.

    • b waghorn 2.2

      Drug dealer two the elite of Auckland plus the soap opera value of Paul’s daughter being invloved , at a guess!

    • Tricledrown 2.3

      Soap opera news

      • Rodel 2.3.1

        Soap opera news…yes. I call it easynews. News papers are especially culpable with big visuals and little text. Not evil but not a lot of professional effort required .

    • Draco T Bastard 2.4

      And that is enough for it to lead the news? Really? tell me it isn’t so!

      Nope, can’t tell you that because that’s exactly what it appears to be.

      The question that I raised tonight was: Would it have been reported to this depth if it was the person Conner Morris was beating up had died?

      Because I’m pretty sure that the answer to that question would be: Hell NO!!!
      And for the same reason that this one was so massively over reported.

  3. Pat 3

    Gerry dear – now listen here –
    ‘Tis very sad to see
    The troubles mounting daily
    For your precious EQC.

    Do not blame the builders –
    For it may come to pass
    That some of them were members
    Of your High School woodwork class!

    The fault lies so much nearer –
    Just accept it like a man,
    And plead for our forgiveness
    ‘Ere more sh%t hits the fan.

    To us it is so obvious-
    You are in it to the hilt –
    And your legacy will long remain
    In houses Gerry-built.

    anon

  4. CnrJoe 4

    (an exchange from twitter just now)

    – “Glad we got beef tonight cos we didn’t want lamb, those suckers are all in Saudi Arabia anyway” – John Key, Warehouse Gala dinner #TWGgala

    – NO! He didn’t really make that joke? Did he?

    – honest he did. He’s now making a case for flag change

  5. maui 5

    Sanders overtakes Hillary in New Hampshire polling, was unthinkable a couple of months ago:
    http://www.bostonherald.com/news_opinion/us_politics/2015/08/poll_bernie_sanders_surges_ahead_of_hillary_clinton_in_nh_44_37

  6. greywarshark 7

    A nasty headline in a British on line paper. Russia ‘preparing for war’ against Britain and Nato as Ukraine conflict escalates
    http://www.express.co.uk/news/uk/597746/russia-nato-war-michael-fallon-ukraine
    Is followed by a couple of paras talking about an organisation called a think tank (with apparently the name ‘The European Leadership’), outside the government, which is talking up war with Russia.

    A leading European think tank has said a Russian military exercise in March demonstrated that Russia “is actively preparing for a conflict with Nato”.
    The European Leadership network also claimed a similar exercise by Nato in June indicated that the two powers were training their forces to get to grips with each other’s strengths and military plans.

    Further down there was a picture of the Defence Secretary who should be called Fatuous Fallon, looking smug as if he has just made a good play in golf.
    Questions:
    Do these politicians take their job seriously?
    Does that job include conducting politics so as to maintain strength, co-operate as much as possible with other countries, and limit moves that involve avoidable conflict?
    Do they have to do some sort of political studies at uni which involve international relations and conflict deflation?
    And does government discourage the role of outside advisors who are not beholden to the people, and have their own agendas different from those of the taxpayers?

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Government's response to preliminary referendums' results
    Minister of Justice Andrew Little has acknowledged the provisional results of the two referendums voted on in the 2020 General Election. New Zealanders were asked whether they supported the proposed Cannabis Legalisation and Control Bill, and whether they supported the End of Life Choice Act 2019 coming into force. On ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 day ago
  • New testing requirements for international maritime crew arriving in NZ
    The Government is moving to provide further protection against the chance of COVID-19 entering New Zealand through the maritime border.  “Yesterday I instructed officials to consult with the maritime sector around tightening of the requirements for international maritime crew entering the country,” Health Minister Chris Hipkins said.  “Ultimately, this will ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 day ago
  • Fast-tracked Northland water project will accelerate economic recovery
    The Government has welcomed the decision to approve a new water storage reservoir in Northland, the first of a number of infrastructure projects earmarked for a speedy consenting process that aims to accelerate New Zealand’s economic recovery from Covid-19.  The Matawii Water Storage Reservoir will provide drinking water for Kaikohe, ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 days ago
  • Tokelau Language Week reminds us to stay united and strong
    Staying strong in the face of challenges and being true to our heritage and languages are key to preserving our cultural identity and wellbeing, is the focus of the 2020 Tokelau Language Week. Minister for Pacific Peoples, Aupito William Sio, says this year’s theme, ‘Apoapo tau foe, i nā tāfea ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • NZ announces a third P-3 deployment in support of UN sanctions
    The Government has deployed a Royal New Zealand Air Force P-3K2 Orion (P-3) maritime patrol aircraft to support the implementation of United Nations Security Council (UNSC) resolutions imposing sanctions against North Korea, announced Minister of Foreign Affairs Winston Peters and Minister of Defence Ron Mark. “New Zealand has long supported ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Pacific trade and development agreement a reality
    Pacific regional trade and development agreement PACER Plus will enter into force in 60 days now that the required eight countries have ratified it. Trade and Export Growth Minister David Parker welcomed the announcement that the Cook Islands is the eighth nation to ratify this landmark agreement. “The agreement represents ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Securing a pipeline of teachers
    The Government is changing its approach to teacher recruitment as COVID-19 travel restrictions continue, by boosting a range of initiatives to get more Kiwis into teaching. “When we came into Government, we were faced with a teacher supply crisis,” Education Minister Chris Hipkins said. “Over the past three years, we ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • Border exceptions for a small number of international students with visas
    The Government has established a new category that will allow 250 international PhD and postgraduate students to enter New Zealand and continue their studies, in the latest set of border exceptions. “The health, safety and wellbeing of people in New Zealand remains the Government’s top priority. Tight border restrictions remain ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • First COVID-19 vaccine purchase agreement signed
    The Government has signed an agreement to purchase 1.5 million COVID-19 vaccines – enough for 750,000 people – from Pfizer and BioNTech, subject to the vaccine successfully completing all clinical trials and passing regulatory approvals in New Zealand, say Research, Science and Innovation Minister Megan Woods and Health Minister Chris Hipkins. ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • International statement – End-to-end encryption and public safety
    We, the undersigned, support strong encryption, which plays a crucial role in protecting personal data, privacy, intellectual property, trade secrets and cyber security.  It also serves a vital purpose in repressive states to protect journalists, human rights defenders and other vulnerable people, as stated in the 2017 resolution of the ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • Ministry of Defence Biodefence Assessment released
    The Ministry of Defence has today released a Defence Assessment examining Defence’s role across the spectrum of biological hazards and threats facing New Zealand. Biodefence: Preparing for a New Era of Biological Hazards and Threats looks at how the NZDF supports other agencies’ biodefence activities, and considers the context of ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago