Daily Review 15/02/2016

Written By: - Date published: 6:00 pm, February 15th, 2016 - 42 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Steven Joyce John Oliver

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

42 comments on “Daily Review 15/02/2016”

  1. weka 1

    And the video we’ve all been waiting for. Haven’t laughed out loud so much in ages. It explains what Peter Jackson is up to as well.

    https://www.tvnz.co.nz/one-news/new-zealand/the-people-have-spoken-john-oliver-presents-new-dildo-flag-in-outstanding-mocking-of-steven-joyce

    • sabine 1.1

      this was an awesome thing to watch…..bwhahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

      • Anne 1.1.1

        Don’t mess with John Oliver Stevie boy. Hilarious………

        To be fair to Steven Joyce he does have a real sense of humour which is more than you can say for his boss who is all predetermined show biz.

    • I almost pissed myself. This whole week has just been one long list of Dildo jokes and this was the Price!

  2. Ad 2

    Never, in the history of human endeavor, has so much political capital been blown, in so small a time, for so little. Sorry Churchill, but Key had they whole Parliamentary term in front of him with tax cuts coming and an otherwise incoherent opposition, but he’s getting rinsed by Maori, his Ministers humiliated on tv, tens of thousands marching against him, booed at the Rugby, booed by the gays, and tanking in every flag poll. Does Key have anything in the tank now that the charm has gone?

    • vto 2.1

      he will just have to get dildo baggins to do all the jokes now

      ha ha ha ha that john oliver thing is funny

      and there goes the flag – bwahahaha

    • weka 2.2

      Twerking For Daddy

      Methinks we’re going to end up with a BLiP-esque list of Key’s humiliations 😀

      • Ad 2.2.1

        Any crowd he goes in to other than Federated Farmers and the Institute of Directors, he’ll feel the little shiver of anxiety, and then have to do his own dildo jokes just to get it out of the way. On ZB, they’ll make him go there anyway.

    • BM 2.3

      Surprised you don’t understand this stuff is political gold for Key.
      All these micro minority groups have pretty much sown up Keys fourth term.

      I’m picking outright win in 2017.

      • Ad 2.3.1

        Happy to see how the polls go.
        Meantime, look who’s laughing now?

        • BM 2.3.1.1

          Apart from a few militant lefties, who’s laughing?

          Middle NZ just sees a group of left wingers insulting the PM and by association Labour.

          And they don’t find it funny.

          • Ad 2.3.1.1.1

            The Sevens audience didn’t look too militant.
            The gays weren’t too militant.
            All those Maori down Queen Street got as far as a theatrical challenge for the cameras and poked their tongues out. Scary!

            Apart from that, if you want to find out who’s laughing at New Zealand’s Prime Minister, you can look up Mr Oliver’s viewing stats for yourself. It’s a fair few.

          • te reo putake 2.3.1.1.2

            Do you seriously think the young woman featured in the twerking post is a militant lefty? When the people Key used to take for granted start laughing at him, your lot are in deep trouble. Think how quickly Muldoon went from being a three term winner to a public laughing stock. Best your lot keep Key off the sauce or we’ll be having another snap election.

  3. Glenn 3

    John Oliver cheered up my day no end.

  4. Macro 4

    Thank you Roger Douglas and Ruth Richardson You did us proud! NZ is the worst performer in the developed world beating Mexico, UK, US and Italy amongst many others – all thanks to you.

    • Ad 4.1

      That’s worth a whole post by itself.
      Go into the OECD report and unpack it.

      • BM 4.1.1

        It’s complete horse shit and over a year old.

        Seriously, they put up Spain as one of the top performers with unemployment in the mid 20’s and youth unemployment around 50%.

        • Draco T Bastard 4.1.1.1

          Reality doesn’t fit the mind of the deluded and thus they fight vociferously against it.

        • Macro 4.1.1.2

          So you know better than the OECD BM!
          Far out!

          Actually your comment shows that you don’t even understand what was being measured! You just saw Spain and thought – “Hey we’re better than them!” and rushed off half cock with some ridiculous comparison which completely misses the point of the report.

          Complete fail.

          Go back and read the report S L O W L Y this time. And you will see that it is a measure of just how much NZ’s economy has suffered under the experiment of Roger and Ruth. Remember also that of any country in the world – NZ implemented the neo-liberalist night mare to the fullest extent, and we still wonder why other countries don’t follow suit.

        • darth smith 4.1.1.3

          BM bubble work is exploding in front of him and doing his brain in

    • Draco T Bastard 4.2

      Yes, the rich are the problem and not the solution as we’ve been told over the last thirty plus years.

  5. Macro 5

    according to the OECD:

    1. New Zealand: New Zealand’s economy could have grown by 44 percent between 1990 and 2010, but the country did only achieve 28 percent growth due to inequality. Hence, it lost 15.5 percentage points — more than any other country. This is particularly surprising, given that New Zealand was once considered a paradise of equality, as Max Rashbrooke, the author of a book called Inequality: A New Zealand Crisis, pointed out in the Guardian newspaper.

    “New Zealand halved its top tax rate, cut benefits by up to a quarter of their value, and dramatically reduced the bargaining power – and therefore the share of national income – of ordinary workers. Thousands of people lost their jobs as manufacturing work went overseas, and there was no significant response with increased trade training or skills programs, a policy failure that is ongoing,” Rashbrooke writes in the op-ed. He also blames New Zealand for a lack of affordable homes which led to higher rents and unpaid mortgages.

    From the above link

  6. weka 6

    New tv series based on Ponytailgate starts tonight 8.30pm

    REMINDER: at 8:30 tonight @milkshakebot will be live doodling the Filthy Rich premiere from this very account.

    https://www.tvnz.co.nz/ondemand/filthy-rich (although by ‘on demand’ I assume they mean you can watch it later when we get round to putting the video up).

    http://tvnz.co.nz/filthy-rich/index-group-6433880

  7. weka 7


    We’d like to invite you to join The Green Room – TVNZ’s online community.

    We’ll be asking you to share your thoughts and experiences on a huge range of topics that relate to television, video on demand,the content we show in New Zealand along with other general topics not necessarily relating to TV. Discussions will include how you prefer to watch TV, what you love about our content , what you would like to change and maybe how you feel about living in New Zealand . It’s an exciting time to let you, our viewers, help shape the future of TVNZ!

    The Green Room is going to be a constantly evolving space and we’re very excited about we’ll learn from you. Your feedback and contribution is really important to us! We know your time is valuable and for every survey you complete each month, you’ll be in the monthly prize draw to win 5x $100 cash, as well as other prizes along the way.

    Please fill in the details below to register your interest in joining The Green Room, TVNZ’s Online Community.

    That’s a bit tempting (and I don’t mean the $) 😈

    🙄 at the URL,

    http://surveys.colmarbrunton.co.nz/scripts/dubinterviewer.dll/Frames?Quest=12

  8. Jenny Kirk 8

    Sorry to go off topic re the PM and I see he’s been up to his usual antics -hair fondling at the BGO see “Twerking for Daddy” above,

    but here’s a serious and urgent issue : 2 days left to make submissions on whether we should see bigger trucks on our roads – for us in the north, where logging trucks are a regular occurrence on our narrow winding roads, then this is a major issue. Is this an issue for the rest of the country?

    If you are worried about the plan for bigger trucks on our roads, you have two days in which to make a submission. The Campaign for Better Transport has put a pro-forma submission on-line. See below, or click onto this link.

    You have until 17 Feb 2016 to make this submission.

    http://www.bettertransport.org.nz/2016/02/vehicle-mass-and-dimension-rule-submission/

    • Jilly Bee 8.1

      I really need to get my head together and make a submission – we moved to Matamata mid last year and have been absolutely gobsmacked by the trucks moving through ‘Broadway’, the main street in Matamata, which is also part of Highway 24 through to Tauranga from Highway 27. There is a constant stream of big rigs winding their way through Broadway which to me is a great problem – for goodness sake do we really need the great big rigs as well. What really pisses me off is the railway from both the south and north via Hamilton to Tauranga seems to be totally under utilized – there is the occasional train from the south going to Mt Maunganui, but there are just so many trucks – it just doesn’t seem right. I have heard that the triangle from Mt Maunganui – Hamilton – Auckland via rail link is the busiest in the country, but I have yet to be convinced having driven north to Hamilton via Morrinsville several times and have yet to see a freight train travelling east to the Mount. NZTA have embarked on a road rehabilitation of Broadway which will help us locals driving around our town at the behest of the locals, but the bloody big rigs will still plough their way through and if the trucks are allowed to be enlarged, well it will probably make for more calls out for our local fire brigade to drive helter skelter up to the Kaimai summit road to assist at yet another accident. Yeah, OK, end of rant.

  9. @ BM …. ‘Surprised you don’t understand this stuff is political gold for Key’.

    L00L!!!…..spoken like a true neo liberal supporter… our only question is …

    Why did the PM Glitter Bomb John have such a sour view of poor old Minister Dildo Baggin’s adventures after he was booed and slunk head held down into the shelter of the stadium at the rugby league nines?

    Was he jealous of the attention perhaps?

    He certainly seemed like he was…

    Or was it that good old Dildo actually to his credit saw at least a little humour in it that Glitter Bomb didn’t?… professional rivalry ?

    And then he got booed again royally at the Big Gay Out…

    Meh …perhaps like you say it is all part of the master plan to appear as the most ludicrous pair of political leaders this country and any other country has ever witnessed… so that both Glitter Bomb and Dildo will get more recognition from the big players in the TTPA in future instead of being unrecognized and marginalized ….

  10. Whispering Kate 10

    The Jon Oliver show was brilliant, its just a shame it won’t be seen here on free TV, so many people are kept out of the loop on international news, and satire like this as well. We have to be, without doubt, a laughing stock of the world and how shameful is that. That, we have gone from having a Stateswoman governing the country and now at the UN and admired for her work and no matter what people think of Helen Clarke, she hasn’t put this country to shame in any way or form not like this leader we have now and his number 1 hatchet man, actually inviting Jon Oliver to bring it on.

    Double Dip Bill will be gritting his teeth and wondering what will happen next, Crusher or Paula Benefit will be girding the loins for a take over – what a disgusting state of affairs this country is in. We have been brought down to a third world status with income, housing, education and every other necessity which makes a great country. The PM is a currency trader and he is not suitable for the position, he needs to be removed quietly and put out to pasture or sent back to Hawaii.

    • weka 10.1

      I agree with most of that, Key is a disgrace and Nationsl don’t care. However I think that Key going down in a pile of public humiliation and ridicule will ultimately be good for NZ especially if it comes with a revitalisation of activism and some good old fashion fun. God knows we need something to laugh about, even if it’s at times grim humour.

  11. Hmmmm … perhaps the Famous Five could be presented to Peter Jackson as a matinee project….

    Introducing …the adventures of the Famous Five starring …

    Glitter Bomb John

    Dildo Baggins

    Bill Double Dipper English

    Paula Nick yer Training Allowance Bennett

    Judith Orivida Collins

    And backed up by supporting cast :
    ……………………………………………………..

    Gerry Oops! Security Door Brownlee

    Simon Bridges Bridges

    Jason Disappearing Act Ede

    Ian Never Met Before Fletcher

    Murray Sweetener Deal MacCully

    With a special cameo appearance starring James R Spook Clapper

    I think that would pan out to a 3 feature film epic and be a box office smash… I’m sure Glitter Bomb could still bend a few more labour laws with the Actors union as well to clinch the deal for Hollywood preferential treatment ….

  12. sabine 12

    have we reached gutterpolitics? Dildo Baggings. Ouch. 🙂

  13. Richard Christie 14

    Jeezuz, the Nats rewrote employment law for Peter Jackson and he goes and gives Key’s vanity project the finger like that.

    With friends like that…

    Or, it’s merely a case of no honour amongst theives and they all deserve each other.

    • pat 14.1

      as you say….curious innit

    • vto 14.2

      Yes wondered the same..

      Another sign of the end times for Key when Jackson takes the piss like that for sure for sure …..

      • arkie 14.2.1

        Perhaps he thought that would be the extent of it? That that would ‘get it over with’? Maybe underestimated the show writers? That’d be my guess.

      • Molly 14.2.2

        I thought it was more a case of Jackson helping them out by showing that NZers (including Joyce) are “able to take a joke” and are charmingly self-deprecating. A deflection of sorts.

        In terms of PR, there is no way that anything other than a muted and self-deprecating response would be advised.

        (Not really a fan of Peter Jackson, after the employment law changes, so have little faith that he is anything other than a supporter of National. )

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Membership: Australia and New Zealand Electronic Invoicing Board
    The Governments of Australia and New Zealand have announced the membership of the Australia and New Zealand Electronic Invoicing Board (ANZEIB) today. This is an important step towards implementing e-Invoicing across both countries to help businesses save time and money ...
    2 weeks ago
  • An end to unnecessary secondary tax
    Workers who are paying too much tax because of incorrect secondary tax codes are in line for relief with the passage of legislation through Parliament late last night. The Taxation (Annual Rates for 2018-19, Modernising Tax Administration, and Remedial Matters) ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Chatham Islands pāua plan approved
    Efforts to reverse the decline in the Chatham Islands pāua fishery are the focus of a new plan jointly agreed between government, the local community and industry. Fisheries Minister Stuart Nash says the plan was developed by the PauaMAC4 Industry ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Bill introduced for synthetics crackdown
    The Police will get stronger powers of search and seizure to crackdown on synthetic drugs under new legislation, which makes the two main synthetics (5F-ADB and AMB-FUBINACA) Class A drugs. The Government has today introduced the Misuse of Drugs Amendment ...
    3 weeks ago
  • Blasphemous libel law repealed
    The archaic blasphemous libel offence will be repealed following the passing of the Crimes Amendment Bill today, says Justice Minister Andrew Little. ...
    3 weeks ago
  • Coalition Government lassos livestock rustling
    New rules to crack down on livestock rustling will come into force following the passing of the Crimes Amendment Bill says Justice Minister Andrew Little. ...
    3 weeks ago
  • Medieval law axed
    The ‘year and a day rule’ rule will be repealed following the passing of the Crimes Amendment Bill, says Justice Minister Andrew Little. ...
    3 weeks ago
  • Further steps to combat tax evasion
    Further steps to combat tax evasion Revenue Minister Stuart Nash has announced New Zealand is expanding its global ability to combat tax evasion by joining forces with authorities in 30 countries and jurisdictions. Cabinet has agreed to add another ...
    3 weeks ago