web analytics

Daily review 17/09/2020

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, September 17th, 2020 - 65 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

65 comments on “Daily review 17/09/2020 ”

  1. Ad 1

    Surely if little old Barbados can remove the Queen as Head of State, we can too?

    • Cinny 1.1

      And they are still able to remain a member of the Commonwealth.

      I'm sold, where do we vote please?

      • greywarshark 1.1.1

        I think that is a little Precipi-state. Knee-jerk responses following Pavlovian stimulation.

  2. Cinny 2

    Was speaking to a lady today whose life has changed dramatically. She has suffered from seizures her whole life, which has limited her ability to do many things. Just going to the supermarket was a nightmare for her, as she would worry about having a seizure.

    Four weeks ago she got some CBD oil via the black market. She looked at getting CBD oil on prescription but could not afford it. She has not had a seizure for four weeks and it's changed her life beyond compare. She is so happy, a huge comparison to the depressed individual she was when I last saw her around three months ago. Am over the moon for her. She really has become a different person who now has the confidence to join community groups, which she has. Such a good buzz, she was near on suicidal before. Life changing for the better.

    It's because of people like her that I will be voting YES in the referendum.

    • Barfly 2.1

      yes Thank you I will be voting yes as well

    • weka 2.2

      same, I know someone whose severe epilepsy went into remission.

      there are lessons here for people who believe that RCTs are the only way to do medicine. So many more people could be helped.

    • Shanreagh 2.3

      I had thought this referedum did not affect access to medical cannabis

      'The proposed Bill does not cover medicinal cannabis, hemp, driving while impaired, or workplace health and safety issues. These are covered by existing laws.

      Medicinal cannabis is already legal under the Medicinal Cannabis Scheme.'

      from

      https://www.referendums.govt.nz/cannabis/index.html

      So if people are voting yes so that others can get access to cannabis health products then I suggest a little more thought may be in order. If you are voting 'yes' so you or others can get access to cannabis because it makes you/them feel good ie recreational cannabis and they don't have to hassle to get it then that is what this referendum covers.

      So a Majority yes vote

      Yes I support the proposed Cannabis Legalisation and Control Bill.

      The Bill legalises restricted access to cannabis

      The Bill's purpose is to reduce harm to people and communities

      The Bill controls the production and supply of cannabis

      Medicinal cannabis and hemp will not be affected by the outcome of the referendum. Medicinal use of cannabis will still be allowed if prescribed by a doctor, and hemp will still be legal.

      There are still many people who are not taking the option of seeing their Dr to get a prescription for medicinal cannabis. One family I know has had access to medicinal cannabis for their epileptic son and it has made a difference.

      I worry about people venturing into what is the criminal world accessing unregulated oil ie the methods and ingredients are not controlled oil etc

      So the referendum is about social or recreational use not medical use.

      https://www.referendums.govt.nz/cannabis/index.html

    • Ad 2.4

      The referendum doesn't cover medicines which you describe.

      I'm over the moon for her as well.

      But it's not a reason to vote yes in the referendum.

      • Shanreagh 2.4.1

        Agree Ad. Make sure we are voting for the reasons in the referendum ie for use as a recreational drug. if you are happy about this then vote 'yes' and if not vote 'no'…..

        Affordability of medical cannabis is whole other ball-game & not connected with the referendum.

      • weka 2.4.2

        it's one reason that a lot of people will vote yes. We don't have equitable or full access to medicinal cannabis, this Bill will go a long way to redressing that. Atm people make their medicine themselves, after the Bill is passed they and others will continue to do so only they won't have to be afraid of being arrested, or having their supply confiscated.

  3. Wayne 3

    Yes we could. However, it should be by referendum, not just by parliament.

  4. Stuart Munro 4

    The more I look at the senior NZ politicians most likely to take her place, the better Lizzy & Charlie look.

    • weka 4.1

      fair point. Not that impressed with the electorate either.

    • JanM 4.2

      And just look at the USA! Would they be in quite this mess if they had a further brake on their shenanigins?

    • RedBaronCV 4.3

      What I like about Liz & Charlie is they don't cost us a bean unless we ask them to visit and the next one in the queue is always known. Very low maintenance.

      And we don't then have to fight over who gets the top ceremonial job. I mean could you imagine a 70 year old Judith Collins swanning around in a tiara. I rest my case.

      • Draco T Bastard 4.3.1

        What I like about Liz & Charlie is they don't cost us a bean unless we ask them to visit and the next one in the queue is always known. Very low maintenance.

        And also a load of bollocks.

        Our governor General, does, as a matter of fact, cost us. It's unlikely that a president would cost us any more.

        And we don't then have to fight over who gets the top ceremonial job.

        But we should. We should be the ones that set the direction of the country should also be the ones who sets the face and voice.

        I mean could you imagine a 70 year old Judith Collins swanning around in a tiara.

        Why the insult?

        • RedBaronCV 4.3.1.1

          Yeah except NZ is a small horribly cliquey little country on a bad day – and if you are not part of the in crowd tough. I could see a president costing more frankly but who knows.

          I've always regretted the demise of the privy council legal appeals. , I would far rather it had been replaced by a "commonwealth council" with top judges from Aust Canada etc. It would have been a bit further removed from the small legal cohort here.

          As to Judith – I can see her in a tiara but I really wouldn't want her as a president. Not sure where you get the insult in that.

          • Stuart Munro 4.3.1.1.1

            Even a Corgi would do – active, intelligent, charismatic, and not corrupt beyond a decent enthusiasm for treats.

            There are times I'd like to replace most of parliament with them.

          • Draco T Bastard 4.3.1.1.2

            I've always regretted the demise of the privy council legal appeals.

            Why?

            Our High Court is more responsive and costs less.

            I would far rather it had been replaced by a "commonwealth council" with top judges from Aust Canada etc.

            Last time I looked, we call on them as well even with out High Court.

            As to Judith – I can see her in a tiara but I really wouldn't want her as a president.

            I wouldn't want her as president either but you most definitely phrased what you you said as an insult. Hence the swanning around.

            • RedBaronCV 4.3.1.1.2.1

              Oh for heavens sake DTB pretty much anyone wearing a tiara except for actual royalty is swanning around in one. It's a figure of speech I guess not necessarily to be interpreted as an insult.

              • Draco T Bastard

                pretty much anyone wearing a tiara except for actual royalty is swanning around in one.

                No, they'd just be wearing one.

                And why do you think that tiaras are only for royalty? They're just another piece of jewellery.

                Do you think that only royals should be wearing purple as well?

        • woodart 4.3.1.2

          president would need mirrored sunnys and gold braid. as with anything the costs would blow out. better to stick with what works.

  5. ScottGN 5

    @Ad 1

    Canada, Australia and Aotearoa will be the last to go.

    @Cinny 1.1

    Of the 54 countries in the Commonwealth only 16 are Commonwealth Realms who have QEII as Head of State.

  6. greywarshark 6

    Pie in the sky? Millions to be spent. Not from the regions growth fund I hope. Would Maori like the land back and they could choose what they do with it? The government to take this out of the hands of chancers and big-talkers.

    https://www.rnz.co.nz/programmes/the-detail/story/2018764224/finally-a-plan-for-abandoned-waiwera-hot-pools

    But there’s a potentially happy ending to the tale: the present owners have just this month made preliminary decisions on a $250m masterplan which could see the pools and the slides return to Waiwera, along with a day spa, a hotel spa complex, a micro-brewery and apartments. Evan Vertue, Waiwera project director for property company Urban Partners talks about the plans.

  7. ScottGN 7

    On a brighter note. Had the first asparagus of the season tonight. It’s Spring people!

  8. ScottGN 8

    Just saw a tweet from one of the party insiders.

    Labour still 50%+

    Nats below 30%

    Greens in trouble.

    • mauī 8.1

      and most importantly what was Advance NZ on??

      • Graeme 8.1.1

        what was Advance NZ on??

        Well, whatever it was I don't want any….

        • mauī 8.1.1.1

          Third biggest party in New Zealand according to some sources… Billy TK was ranked 34th preferred Prime Minister in the latest COlmar Brunton, which he himself says is "unheard of". They've had over 2 million social medias interactions which is mind boggling too.

          • Drowsy M. Kram 8.1.1.1.1

            "Billy TK was ranked 34th preferred Prime Minister" – “unheard of” in his own words.

            Maui, please can you provide a link to these "latest COlmar Brunton" poll results.

            • mauī 8.1.1.1.1.1

              It's all in the latest July Colmar:
              https://static.colmarbrunton.co.nz/wp-content/uploads/2019/05/25-29-July-2020_1-NEWS-Colmar-Brunton-Poll-report-.pdf

              Sorry 34th ranked was wrong…. Billy TK is ranked 5th equal with Christopher Luxon for Preferred PM at 0.7% and more than twice as popular as John Key on 0.3%.

              Remarkable. Of course if you want to look outside yourself and hear the Colmar results first hand you can seek out the latest video between Billy TK and Dr Buttar.

              • Drowsy M. Kram

                A 0.7% share of the preferred PM choice is indeed "remarkable" – one in every 143 people polled said they actually preferred Billy TK for PM – that's six out of the 843 people who responded to the ‘Preferred PM‘ question.

                Unfortunately for Billy TK, apparently no-one polled chose to support the political party he and Jami-Lee Ross lead. An optimist might say that Advance NZ's party vote poll results can only get better. Best of luck ANZ.

    • McFlock 8.2

      Don't the polls usually start coming thick and fast about a month out from the election?

      might be worth beginning to pay attention to the trends lol

  9. bwaghorn 9

    This turned up on my fb feed by some dude called David Clark, me and numbers dont get on so I have know idea if hes right or not.

    ""Over the weekend I had a phone call from a mate who lives in urban Auckland and he wanted to have a yarn about the new Green Party Agricultural Policy, that to his mind seemed logical, fair and reasonable, almost an exciting step forward, but he wanted to see the policy through the lens of a farmer as well,

    I have been reflecting on his question regarding the launching of the Green Party Agricultural "Policy" trying to quantify the feeling of hopeless that I and many farmers feel.

    So let's unpack this a bit.

    How our business works is we have a farm income, that is the culmination of all the stock we sell and the grain and seed crops that we grow and sell to processors as it's eventually makes it way to your local Supermarket.

    Out of that income, we pay our farm expenses, seed, fertiliser, fuel and electricity, farm supplies, and various other goods and services. Most of this expenditure benefits businesses in our local town Ashburton and across the wider Canterbury economy.

    Once we have sold our produce and paid for our expenses, there is hopefully a wee bit left over, which is what most business owners refer to as their return on investment.

    Last year our arable and stock farming business made a pre-tax return on total assets of 3.6%.

    The Greens intend to impose a "Wealth Tax" of 2%.

    That leaves us with 1.6% return on assets before we pay any Income Tax.

    The Greens then plan to "charge a fair price" for the Methane burped by our sheep. I have previously heard prices of $50-$250/t of Carbon Equivalent suggested by the Greens, but let's say at the low end of that range, our Climate Change cost just for Methane will be 1.5% of total assets.

    That leaves us with 0.1%.

    The Greens intend to develop a Water Charge in consultation with Iwi.

    Previously the Greens have stated that charge should be 10 cents per cubic metre. David Parker publicly stated an intention for a water charge of 2 cents per cubic metre.

    Here a Valetta, even at the lower charge of 2 cents per cube, the cost of watering our arable crops would be another 0.4% of total assets annually.

    That leaves us making a 0.3% loss.

    The Greens then want to impose a levy of fertiliser, want us to run a zero-till or minimum-till system, not sure how that works in a long term seed production system and adopt Regenerative principles.

    But here's the clanger, they intend to impose a Dissolved Inorganic Nitrogen (DIN) level of 1mg/litre for all waterways in NZ. Currently water flows out of DoC land at western side of Mid Canterbury at 3.2mg/l.

    To meet a DIN of 1mg/l, Environment Canterbury's own report from 2017 found that land use in the neighbouring Selwyn Te Waihora Catchment would have to revert to dryland sheep grazing.

    We have budgeted that impact on this farm and it looks like this-

    Crop Income, down 92%
    Sheep Gross, down 62%
    Expenditure, down 70%
    Wages, down 91%
    EBIT, down 68%
    Capital Re-investment, down 74%
    Net Profit, down 105%
    Tax Paid, down 75%

    The actual numbers are irrelevant, because the percentage drops will be seen across many or most farm businesses, regardless of size.

    Of course, that is before any of the other new taxes and levies they wish for detailed above.

    This conversation hasn't even begun to touch on the significant investment in technology and infrastructure we have made in the last 15 years to reduce our environmental impact, all of which would be both unaffordable, and irrelevant because none of it will get us even close to meeting the limits the Greens wish for.

    The end result of all this is we would now own a totally unviable, un-bankable business that is not much more than a glorified life style block and has no economic future in food production. The knock on impact is that land values will collapse.

    My suggestion to my mate, or anyone else in urban New Zealand reading this is to enjoy and savour the standard of living that you currently enjoy, make diary notes, take photographs so that you can look back on the "good ole days" as we embark on our journey to becoming a Zimbabwe or Venezuela of the South Pacific.

    It was not sensible policy announced this last weekend, it was the framework for economic destruction.

    Given the catastrophic economic news released in the PERFU today, I'm not sure we can afford to take a wrecking ball to the agricultural and horticultural sectors right now.

    (Feel free to share)""

    • McFlock 9.1

      I can't argue accounting very well, and I've no idea if all those numbers claimed are broadly accurate.

      But even without the wealth tax, if everything there is true, essentially that person is arguing that they can't operate their business without polluting what little water they leave behind.

      • Draco T Bastard 9.1.1

        Yeah, looks like he's demanding that an uneconomical business be subsidised.

        • woodart 9.1.1.1

          yes looking at it, may as well throw in the towel and walk off the land right now. if they are only making 3.6% before tax, their rate of return is nearly as bad as hollywood moviemaking, and we know how much they need to be propped up.

      • millsy 9.1.2

        Sounds like something that was planted by the National campaign. This is too contrived to be real and I'm surprised everyone is falling for it.

        • Draco T Bastard 9.1.2.1

          Yeah, smells like a load of lies to me.

          Two accountants in my family tell me that farmers don't pay tax.

    • Stuart Munro 9.2

      The best hope in respect of nitrogen, in my humble opinion, is for the Greens to encourage bioremediation of some kind – a gross feeding crop like hemp, or pollarded white poplars, which are used for waste treatment in parts of Europe. Of course you'd need the space for such a thing, but as a mitigation measure it wouldn't send you broke out of the box – it might even be able to be made to pay.

    • arkie 9.3

      The Greens intend to impose a "Wealth Tax" of 2%.

      Except:

      • A 1% wealth tax for those with a net-worth over $1 million.

      https://www.greens.org.nz/poverty_action_plan

    • Incognito 9.4

      The net wealth tax will be set at 1% on net wealth over $1 million and 2% on net wealth over $2 million. … No one whose individual net wealth is less than $1 million would pay this tax.

      We have designed the tax to apply at an individual level, which means that couples who own their assets jointly will only start paying tax if they jointly have over $2 million in net wealth, such as a $2 million house.

      What’s there not to like?

      • Pingao 9.4.1

        I don't like the whole couples thing. A house that was bought years ago can now be "worth" close to or over 1 million dollars so if that house is owned by a person who is now single, they will have to pay the wealth tax (or pay it later) even if they have bugger all other assets or income whereas if a couple live in that same house, they will not.

        Ordinary people do not set house prices, so I think there needs to be some kind offset on the home such as, say, the first $500,000 Is disregarded or a different starting rate for singles.

        • Incognito 9.4.1.1

          The threshold for individual net wealth is the same for single individuals as for individuals in a long-term relationship: $1 million. Why should it be $1.5 million because an individual is single? People who are asset-rich but cash-poor can defer payments until sale of assets, usually a house. You do realise that an individual with net wealth of $999,999 will not pay a cent in wealth tax under the scheme, yes?

          • Pingao 9.4.1.1.1

            Yes maybe 500k is too much but my point is why should a couple get an advantage over a single person what with house prices being so mental in Auckland etc. I knew a young couple who bought an old house for 27,000 or thereabouts in the late 70s in Grey Lynn – now I would assume it's worth over a million so if one partner died or whatever, that remaining person would be asset rich which is great if the person has enough income to pay the rates and insurance and whatnot.

            Deferred payments still mean the single person pays when they downsize or go into care. It costs more per capita to live as a single person and that is reflected in pensions and other benefits as far as I understand it so I think something similar should be applied here. It is likely that this would likely hit older single cash-poor women harder. Sure you are still better off than many but still if the tax hits one group harder than another, it is unfair.

            I don't know what the mechanism would be or what amount of $$ is right but there should be some kind of offset in my opinion. Why should couples only get to live in a high priced house? It would be great if there were decent smaller houses in the more "desirable" places rather than the choice of a either a massive house or a rabbit hutch (shitboxes my boss calls them) or apartment but that just doesn't happen.

            Hope that makes sense …

    • Graeme 9.5

      There's not enough substance, or actual figures in it make any judgement about it's accuracy. But there's some misrepresentation of the Green's wealth tax, 1%, not 2%, and net, and going by the supposed development that would be financed by debt rather than cashflow, so probably not enough net wealth to be paying it, which would put the whole thing under a bit of a cloud.

      Whole thing looks like someone who's over capitalised their farm and the whole thing is falling apart financially and environmentally. But that's a pretty common picture all around the country.

      Bottom line though, it's political spin designed to make people fearful.

    • Cinny 9.6

      Wait, he doesn't run his farm under a company or trust business model? Crikey.

      Doesn't the wealth tax only apply to individual wealth, so a company etc would be exempt?

    • weka 9.7

      There's a David Clark who is president of mid Canterbury Fed Farmers. So colour me skeptical of that post.

    • UncookedSelachimorpha 9.8

      This propaganda piece lacks crucial bits of information that would allow you to work out if it is true. Either his property is incredibly valuable so the wealth-tax threshold is diluted to nothing, or he has incorrectly applied the tax to the entire property….

      DIN of 3.2mg/L is incredibly high for an unmodified catchment in NZ. So there is almost certainly something very unusual about "Currently water flows out of DoC land at western side of Mid Canterbury at 3.2mg/l ". Is the entire catchment DOC land, or is there a DIN-creating activity further upstream perhaps??

      I smell misleading bullshit!!

  10. ScottGN 10

    @maui 8.1

    No info on Advance NZ but safe to say they’re sub 5%.

    @McFlock 8.2

    IMO there will be less public polls this election. The media outlets are all too skint and the change of election date has caught them on the hop. And, yes, the trend line has been really strong for 6 months now.

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Celebrating the Entry Into Force of the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons
    [Opening comments, welcome and thank you to Auckland University etc] It is a great pleasure to be here this afternoon to celebrate such an historic occasion - the entry into force of the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons. This is a moment many feared would never come, but ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    15 hours ago
  • Supporting disabled people to stay connected
    The Government is providing $3 million in one-off seed funding to help disabled people around New Zealand stay connected and access support in their communities, Minister for Disability Issues, Carmel Sepuloni announced today. The funding will allow disability service providers to develop digital and community-based solutions over the next two ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    19 hours ago
  • Voluntary saliva testing offered to quarantine workers from Monday
    Border workers in quarantine facilities will be offered voluntary daily COVID-19 saliva tests in addition to their regular weekly testing, COVID-19 Response Minister Chris Hipkins said today. This additional option will be rolled out at the Jet Park Quarantine facility in Auckland starting on Monday 25 January, and then to ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    21 hours ago
  • Next steps in firearms buy-back
    The next steps in the Government’s ambitious firearms reform programme to include a three-month buy-back have been announced by Police Minister Poto Williams today.  “The last buy-back and amnesty was unprecedented for New Zealand and was successful in collecting 60,297 firearms, modifying a further 5,630 firearms, and collecting 299,837 prohibited ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    22 hours ago
  • New Public Housing Plan announced
    The Government has released its Public Housing Plan 2021-2024 which outlines the intention of where 8,000 additional public and transitional housing places announced in Budget 2020, will go. “The Government is committed to continuing its public house build programme at pace and scale. The extra 8,000 homes – 6000 public ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 days ago
  • Prime Minister congratulates President Joe Biden on his inauguration
    Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern has congratulated President Joe Biden on his inauguration as the 46th President of the United States of America. “I look forward to building a close relationship with President Biden and working with him on issues that matter to both our countries,” Jacinda Ardern said. “New Zealand ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 days ago
  • Jobs for Nature funding will create training and employment opportunities
    A major investment to tackle wilding pines in Mt Richmond will create jobs and help protect the area’s unique ecosystems, Biosecurity Minister Damien O’Connor says. The Mt Richmond Forest Park has unique ecosystems developed on mineral-rich geology, including taonga plant species found nowhere else in the country. “These special plant ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    4 days ago
  • Pre-departure testing extended to all passengers to New Zealand
    To further protect New Zealand from COVID-19, the Government is extending pre-departure testing to all passengers to New Zealand except from Australia, Antarctica and most Pacific Islands, COVID-19 Response Minister Chris Hipkins said today. “The change will come into force for all flights arriving in New Zealand after 11:59pm (NZT) on Monday ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    4 days ago
  • Bay Cadets learn skills to protect environment
    Bay Conservation Cadets launched with first intake Supported with $3.5 million grant Part of $1.245b Jobs for Nature programme to accelerate recover from Covid Cadets will learn skills to protect and enhance environment Environment Minister David Parker today welcomed the first intake of cadets at the launch of the Bay ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    5 days ago
  • Cook Islanders to resume travel to New Zealand
    The Prime Minister of New Zealand Jacinda Ardern and the Prime Minister of the Cook Islands Mark Brown have announced passengers from the Cook Islands can resume quarantine-free travel into New Zealand from 21 January, enabling access to essential services such as health. “Following confirmation of the Cook Islands’ COVID ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Supporting communities and landowners to grow employment opportunities
    Jobs for Nature funding is being made available to conservation groups and landowners to employ staff and contractors in a move aimed at boosting local biodiversity-focused projects, Conservation Minister Kiritapu Allan has announced. It is estimated some 400-plus jobs will be created with employment opportunities in ecology, restoration, trapping, ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Border exception for some returning international tertiary students
    The Government has approved an exception class for 1000 international tertiary students, degree level and above, who began their study in New Zealand but were caught offshore when border restrictions began. The exception will allow students to return to New Zealand in stages from April 2021. “Our top priority continues ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Tiwai deal gives time for managed transition
    Today’s deal between Meridian and Rio Tinto for the Tiwai smelter to remain open another four years provides time for a managed transition for Southland. “The deal provides welcome certainty to the Southland community by protecting jobs and incomes as the region plans for the future. The Government is committed ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • New member for APEC Business Advisory Council
    Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern has appointed Anna Curzon to the APEC Business Advisory Council (ABAC). The leader of each APEC economy appoints three private sector representatives to ABAC. ABAC provides advice to leaders annually on business priorities. “ABAC helps ensure that APEC’s work programme is informed by business community perspectives ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Govt’s careful economic management recognised
    The Government’s prudent fiscal management and strong policy programme in the face of the COVID-19 global pandemic have been acknowledged by the credit rating agency Fitch. Fitch has today affirmed New Zealand’s local currency rating at AA+ with a stable outlook and foreign currency rating at AA with a positive ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Additional actions to keep COVID-19 out of NZ
    The Government is putting in place a suite of additional actions to protect New Zealand from COVID-19, including new emerging variants, COVID-19 Response Minister Chris Hipkins said today. “Given the high rates of infection in many countries and evidence of the global spread of more transmissible variants, it’s clear that ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • 19 projects will clean up and protect waterways
    $36 million of Government funding alongside councils and others for 19 projects Investment will clean up and protect waterways and create local jobs Boots on the ground expected in Q2 of 2021 Funding part of the Jobs for Nature policy package A package of 19 projects will help clean up ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • New Zealand Government acknowledges 175th anniversary of Battle of Ruapekapeka
    The commemoration of the 175th anniversary of the Battle of Ruapekapeka represents an opportunity for all New Zealanders to reflect on the role these conflicts have had in creating our modern nation, says Associate Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage Kiri Allan. “The Battle at Te Ruapekapeka Pā, which took ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Better care for babies with tongue-tie
    Babies born with tongue-tie will be assessed and treated consistently under new guidelines released by the Ministry of Health, Associate Minister of Health Dr Ayesha Verrall announced today. Around 5% to 10% of babies are born with a tongue-tie, or ankyloglossia, in New Zealand each year. At least half can ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • Prisoner disorder event at Waikeria Prison over
    The prisoner disorder event at Waikeria Prison is over, with all remaining prisoners now safely and securely detained, Corrections Minister Kelvin Davis says. The majority of those involved in the event are members of the Mongols and Comancheros. Five of the men are deportees from Australia, with three subject to ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • Pre-departure COVID-19 test for travellers from the UK and the US from 15 January
    Travellers from the United Kingdom or the United States bound for New Zealand will be required to get a negative test result for COVID-19 before departing, and work is underway to extend the requirement to other long haul flights to New Zealand, COVID-19 Response Minister Chris Hipkins confirmed today. “The new PCR test requirement, foreshadowed last ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago