Daily Review 18/02/2016

Written By: - Date published: 6:00 pm, February 18th, 2016 - 16 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Labour Housing package

 

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

16 comments on “Daily Review 18/02/2016”

  1. Manuka AOR 1

    Whenever questions about surveillance/ spying/ investigation of the population have arisen under this govt, they have quickly suggested that only very few people are being spied on here in nz. I think they even said “Less than ten” one time not long ago. And suggested that these were all ISIS jihadis or their would-be teenage brides, iirc.

    Two articles in today’s news paint rather a different picture. In the first, “Thousands” of requests were made by the gov for information about us here in Aotearoa NZ. And almost all of those met with full disclosure – more so than in any other country apparently: http://www.stuff.co.nz/business/77024791/Govt-agencies-made-thousands-of-information-requests-to-just-10-companies

    • weka 1.1

      So if my bank gives information to IRD or WINZ without any legal onus to do so, they’re not breaking the law? I’m not sure what point the Privacy Commissioner is making.

  2. Gangnam Style 2

    “According to official documents released to me yesterday, the panel didn’t consult the advice of any vexillologists. Instead, they asked for the ‘expert’ advice of a Nike sportshoe designer who previously designed washing machines.” http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=11510969 from Sept 2015. Wasn’t someone arguing (Alwyn) that the flag process included ‘expert designers’ or something? I can’t find any info to support that.

  3. Karen 3

    Somebody may have already referred to this Australian Financial Review article about John Key’s upcoming visit but just in case you missed it:

    http://www.afr.com/brand/rear-window/anz-20160217-gmwfz2

    Seems there are some murky connections that could be exposed. Loved the intro too:

    “New Zealand Prime Minister John Key is in Sydney on Thursday. Lock up your ponytailed daughters!”

  4. weka 4

    Following on from the previous convos on having some additional public holidays, maybe we should try this here.

    Sen. Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.) has introduced a bill in the Senate that would make Election Day a national holiday called “Democracy Day.”

    “We should be doing everything possible to make it easier for people to participate in the political process,” Sanders said in statement about the bill. “Election Day should be a national holiday so that everyone has the time and opportunity to vote. While this would not be a cure-all, it would indicate a national commitment to create a vibrant democracy.”

    http://mic.com/articles/123713/bernie-sanders-just-introduced-a-bill-that-would-transform-voting-in-america#

    • McFlock 4.1

      ooo that’s a good one

      • weka 4.1.1

        Probably should be midweek, otherwise it would just be a long weekend 😉

        • Pasupial 4.1.1.1

          Weka

          I note your link is from August 2015, which makes sense; as I understood that the senate was in recess, and I imagine Sanders has quite enough on his plate at the moment! The proposal is similar to a notion that Bradbury has been suggesting for a few years now:

          I would suggest election day becomes a Wednesday and that Wednesday is considered a public holiday and we work at building election day into a celebration of our democratic process. If we want to build national identity and lift participation rates then we have to invest in that relationship and not leave it to the free market.

          – See more at: http://thedailyblog.co.nz/2014/05/29/why-making-the-election-a-public-holiday-would-lift-voting-numbers/#sthash.lUmIQ4fh.dpuf

        • Andre 4.1.1.2

          In the US, Election Day is always the Tuesday after the first Monday in November. Ie, the Tuesday that falls between November 2 and November 8.

          Some states already make it a civic holiday, government departments are shut and some businesses also close.

  5. Foreign Waka 5

    Prime Range Meat in Southland, 75% owed by Chinese investor Lianhua cannot be contacted whilst the company has no stock, workers are sent home not knowing whether they will see any money or compensation, there is no right to a benefit either as technically they are not unemployed. No notice was given prior to this situation. What a scandal and no one in Parliament is making a peep – shame on them. There are families with no income and they are just left stranded. What utter disgrace, inhuman really, no culture – like cattle.

    • sabine 5.1

      Yes, i linked to this the other day.

      Foreign investment its good for us, jobs n such. Pretty sad situation all around.

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Compliance strengthened for property speculation
    Inland Revenue is to gain greater oversight of land transfer information to ensure those buying and selling properties are complying with tax rules on property speculation. Cabinet has agreed to implement recommendation 99 of the Tax Working Group’s (TWG) final ...
    1 week ago
  • Plan to expand protection for Maui and Hector’s dolphins
    The Government is taking action to expand and strengthen the protection for Māui and Hector’s dolphins with an updated plan to deal with threats to these native marine mammals. Minister of Conservation Eugenie Sage and Minister of Fisheries Stuart Nash ...
    1 week ago
  • Cameras on vessels to ensure sustainable fisheries
    Commercial fishing vessels at greatest risk of encountering the rare Māui dolphin will be required to operate with on-board cameras from 1 November, as the next step to strengthen our fisheries management system. Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern and Fisheries Minister ...
    3 weeks ago
  • Greatest number of new Police in a single year
    A new record for the number of Police officers deployed to the regions in a single year has been created with the graduation today of Recruit Wing 326. Police Minister Stuart Nash says the graduation of 78 new constables means ...
    3 weeks ago