Daily Review 21/02/2018

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, February 21st, 2018 - 62 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

62 comments on “Daily Review 21/02/2018”

  1. AsleepWhileWalking 1

    http://www.radionz.co.nz/news/national/350943/damaged-highway-causes-major-disruption-in-wellington

    “350 tonnes of rock have been dumped into the sea…”

    Since yesterday? I wish all roadworks were this fast.

  2. eco maori 2

    This is ECO MAORI link to my credit card through PayPal it is a safe transfer of DONATIONS.
    I will use all donations in a honest honorably why to sue the New Zealand police force for breach my Privacy rights and Human rights.
    If I get more DONATIONS than I need to sue I will start up a trust and administer it I will put up a email address for all the common unfortunate people in Atoearoa who are getting wroughted by the system. Anyone can apply for funding to sue for privacy rights and human rights breaches.
    When I Win I will put the money in the Trust that I used to SUE the police and it will be used to help others.
    KIA KAHA

    https://www.paypal.com/myaccount/wallet/card/CC-TCLPXX8B6RJTS

  3. eco maori 3

    Eco Maori is not so dumb after all.
    I’m just like the Rooster sign says a procasternator.
    I will have to employ strategies to counter this trait I inherited from my Great Tepunas.
    Ka kite ano

    • eco maori 3.1

      I have to get a new sim card so you can use that phone number to link to my credit card for Donations.
      I can’t y
      Use my email because the police will get it deleted I will get it sorted soon. The other link doesn’t work sorry. The sandflys are pissed they poured on the intimidation tonight people.
      Ka kite ano

  4. One Anonymous Bloke 4

    Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

    Inquiry announced into HRC.

    I like this government a little bit. When they match this inquiry with another one into WINZ human rights abuses and another into the NZDF and Operation Burnham.

    • Anne 4.1

      I like Andrew Little a lot. He’s prepared to tackle the hard tasks. I expect him to hold all his portfolio agencies – ie. Courts, GCSB, Justice, NZSIS, Pike Rover and Treaty Issues – to the same high level of stringent accountability.

    • Ad 4.2

      If they can evaluate the Human Rights Commission by their conduct of human rights, evaluate Work and Income by their take-home pay, evaluate the New Zealand Defence Forces by their capacity to defend the country, evaluate the education system by its capacity to make young people wise, confident and skilled, and evaluate District Health Boards by how well they are making actual people, they should put some real hard KRA questions in the next budget about why they can’t do what they were set up to do in the first place.

      • One Anonymous Bloke 4.2.1

        You lost me at “if”.

      • eco maori 4.2.2

        The western society system is made by the 00.1% for the 00.1 so they have control over the 99.9% that the way of the western society there is heaps of proff out there ECO MAORI is going to change this in Atoearoa.
        Ka kite ano

      • Stuart Munro 4.2.3

        I’m inclined to suppose making young people wise was never on the syllabus, it certainly doesn’t seem to have survived in tertiary.

    • weka 4.3

      Nice comment.

      In the case of WINZ, all Labour have to do is let beneficiaries in the door, who will then hold them accountable 😉 I can imagine a useful inquiry, harder to imagine Labour organising one.

    • eco maori 5.1

      Stop trying to act like a leftys and using that trump link to cover your trolling neo liberal reality ECO MAORI can smell you muppet it’s not hard only neoliberals trolls have a problem with me Ana to kai

      • JohnSelway 5.1.1

        WTF?

      • JohnSelway 5.1.2

        I don’t have a problem with you – I’m just really confused by you

      • Doogs 5.1.3

        Look eco warrior, I’m as left as it gets and I have a problem with almost every post you put up. Your ideas ramble, you use punctuation atrociously, your grammar is awful and your spelling is worst of all.

        I have some suggestions.

        Think – plan – get your key idea straight – draft – check – edit – get someone else to look at it – then post. Otherwise you are just going to continue to be ignored, or worse still you’ll just piss everyone off.

        Please . . . these are genuine suggestions.

        • JohnSelway 5.1.3.1

          For me it was asking for donations from people without clearly stating what the money would be used for. That a bit on the nose I reckon. With all due respect and without trying to be offensive

  5. cleangreen 6

    Yes Andrew is very cautious.

    I know this as he attended a labour Party finger lunch in Gisborne last year.

    Our local representative of our community fighting to get our Gisborne rail going again after laying waste for six years and she asked Andrew to consider re-opening the rail service again then, and he said ‘ I will go away and think about it.’

    He was very strategic and did not want to be pressured to answer the question on the spot.

    Natiional doesn’t even answer our calls to meet them so Andrew went up in our books there appearing to discuss the rail issue where National just ignore rail entirely and ignore our request to meet them.

    I Hope the Friday release of the ‘regional economic plan being released will include the reopening of the Gisborne rail again as promised by Labour to the Gisborne folks in 2015 they said ‘when next in government we will reopen the Gisborne to Napier rail service.

    Fingers crossed here.

    It was the first labour Government under Michael Joseph Savage that built the rail from Wairoa to Gisborne in 1937 to 1942.

    So it would be fitting to reopen this Gisborne section of the Napier to Gisborne rail again now.

  6. Ed 7

    Bradbury nails it.
    Again.

    “Are we honestly considering a blood drenched mercenary to lead the largest political party in NZ? Really?”

    https://thedailyblog.co.nz/2018/02/21/are-we-honestly-considering-a-blood-drenched-mercenary-to-lead-the-largest-political-party-in-nz-really/

    • Ed 7.1

      Which led me here.

      To this article.

      “Why aspiring National leader Mark Mitchell’s war-for-profit past matters

      To be clear, it isn’t the man that is necessarily cause for concern here. Rather, it is the relationship that Mitchell has with a highly unregulated and profit-oriented part of violent conflict that should raise concern for New Zealanders. Private military and security contractors have become a fundamental part of war. They have been instrumental in creating the increasingly murky and ethically bankrupt landscape of modern warfare. Quite apart from the absence of any real accountability for violations of human rights, the United Nations states that the use of PMSCs fundamentally threatens democracy in several ways. For instance, the use of contractors absolves nation states from their responsibilities to their own citizens around transparency and democratic control. Additionally, incentivising conflict through massive expenditure of public funds to the private sector increases the influence of private business on political choices and national policies.”

      https://thespinoff.co.nz/politics/21-02-2018/why-aspiring-national-leader-mark-mitchells-war-for-profit-past-matters/

    • weka 7.2

      no, we’re not. National are (and some of the MSM).

      • Ed 7.2.1

        I know we’re not.
        But if he gets elected the ‘we’ Bradbury’s referring to is the New Zealand public and could vote for a mercenary.

        • Puckish Rogue 7.2.1.1

          Has he done anything illegal, has there been any investigations against him, has the UN made any moves against him?

          • patricia bremner 7.2.1.1.1

            No America has. In regard to a military contract. Taking him to court.

          • Doogs 7.2.1.1.2

            That comment PR is totally irrelevant to the fact of who he is and what he has done. It’s a morality issue, if you can understand that.

            • Puckish Rogue 7.2.1.1.2.1

              The problem with morality issues is where does it end? If what he did is sanctioned by governments and the UN and presumably it was then why should that ban him from office. Some would say being an unmarried mother is immoral, others would say being a former sex worker is immoral and there’s still plenty of people that wouldn’t mind homosexuality being illegal.

              • JohnSelway

                Is there an absolute morality? A question that has plagued philosophy since the beginning of time

              • Incognito

                The problem with morality issues is where does it end?

                Yes, I know, pesky stuff all that ‘moral shit’, and hard too. Must have been the same plonker who said “eternal vigilance is the price of liberty”. Just write it in stone and hand it down for generations to obey, no more questions asked.

                • Puckish Rogue

                  Bradburys own article started with in my opinion and he’s just not a credible source for anything. It then went more into Blackwater and then attempts to smear Mitchell by association. So no unless more information comes to light (from someone other than the left’s version of whaleoil) there should be no issue with Mark Mitchell running for leader

            • SpaceMonkey 7.2.1.1.2.2

              And ethics and values. Scores low across all three.

          • Incognito 7.2.1.1.3

            Oh, I see, it’s pretty legal …

            That makes it ok then. Phew!

            • Puckish Rogue 7.2.1.1.3.1

              It’s not a bad place to start though

              • Incognito

                Singularity: where beginning and end meet and become identical. The means justify the ends and the ends justify the means. The circle is closed. Simple really.

            • Ed 7.2.1.1.3.2

              It just isn’t worth our time talking to pr an his repulsive crew.

              • Incognito

                It’s my time and I choose the way I use it, but I do get your point and for the remainder of this evening I will try to use it wiser 😉

          • Draco T Bastard 7.2.1.1.4

            Legal != Moral

            He runs mercenaries which is immoral.

            • mikes 7.2.1.1.4.1

              I would be more inclined to think that lawful=moral as opposed to legal. There’s probably a shitload of legislation that has immoral stuff in it. In fact just the way the legal system tricks people by changing the meaning of words is immoral.

  7. patricia bremner 8

    We all should remember Mitchell is “friendly” with Whaleoil and Lusk. Says it all.

    His comment about “Shambolic current Government” told me he is an attack dog.

    Some members of caucus “Approached him 3 weeks ago”, before Bill resigned.

    So, who would that group be?…. More friends of Whaleoil and Lusk?

    Maybe that is why Judith is smiling. Smile on the face of the Tiger?

    Good cop Bad cop maybe?

  8. Puckish Rogue 9

    Bradbury own article started with in my opinion and he’s just not a credible source for anything. It then went more into Blackwater and then attempts to smear Mitchell by association. So no unless more information comes to light (from someone other than the left’s version of whaleoil) there should be no issue with Mark Mitchell running for leader

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • New digital service to make business easy
    A new digital platform aims to make it easier for small businesses to access services from multiple government agencies, leaving them more time to focus on their own priorities. Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern and Minister for Small Business Stuart Nash ...
    4 days ago
  • Million-dollar start to gun collection events
    Million-dollar start to gun collection events  Police Minister Stuart Nash says a solid start has been made to the gun buyback and amnesty after the first weekend of community collection events. “Gun owners will walk away with more than ...
    5 days ago
  • Praise after first firearms collection event
    Police Minister Stuart Nash has praised Police and gun owners after the first firearms collection event saw a busy turnout at Riccarton Racecourse in Christchurch. “Police officers and staff have put a tremendous effort into planning and logistics for the ...
    5 days ago
  • New Police constables deployed to regions
    Seventy-eight new Police constables are heading out to the regions following today’s graduation of a new recruit wing from the Royal New Zealand Police College. Police Minister Stuart Nash says the record high number of new Police officers being recruited, ...
    2 weeks ago