Daily review 24/06/2019

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, June 24th, 2019 - 29 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Happy birthday to you …

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

29 comments on “Daily review 24/06/2019”

  1. Macro 2

    😂 

    I don't remember that sign when I drove up the A7 to Galasheils 2 years back.

    That's telling him.

  2. Dot 3

    I love the Scots

  3. Anne 4

    Glad to see PM Ardern show irritation with journos at her weekly post cabinet conference today.

    Boy, have those bloodthirsty bunch of sharks got it in for Phil Twyford. They give him no credit for what he's done thus far, just almighty brickbats because Kiwibuild is proving more difficult to achieve than anticipated. It's only a part of the whole housing programme and they conveniently ignore the ongoing success of the state and other social housing schemes as if they don't exist.

    My bet is:

    In the upcoming reshuffle Phil Twyford will retain his housing portfolio, but he will gain a further under-secretary to help with the huge workload involved in the programme.

    https://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=12243484

    • Crikey you're an optimist.

    • Ad 4.2

      Twyford is a true workhorse and it was great to see the PM back him fulsomely. 

      Trouble with splitting transport off his portfolio is twofold: who else is senior enough and competent to take it, and the Urban Development Agency at Select Committee now is a pretty tight integrator of both transport and housing together.

      I do think the Minister of Education needs a fresh face. Hipkins is fighting on too many fronts and his policy programme is simply pissing too many sectors off for little benefit. 

      I'd like to see Genter either step up or simply join the staff of MoT. Top brain but her political skills are very limited. I'd shuffle her off to help Shaw with Climate Change.

      But the big shuffle needs to be Carmel Sepuloni. Her portfolios are a disaster, and that's not excusable under a Labour-led government. She's nowhere.

      If I were slightly less charitable I'd say Nanaia has done her time, and like Dyson has long since peaked under this kind of leadership. Give local government to Jones, like Bad Santa   III walks into the Kaikohe Cossie Club and does standup about his wife, then throws out wads of cash.

       

      • RedLogix 4.2.1

        Speaking of which, how did the Transport forum go last week? Anything interesting?

        • Ad 4.2.1.1

          There's dump trucks of money to spend on rail projects across New Zealand and Australia, and a total shortage of people to do them. 

          Rail link project to Marsden is accelerating.

          Whole of rail line to Northland is stuffed and they are likely to get accelerated funding to do it.

          And Kiwirail are functioning as the de facto seaport regulator – which is a pretty interesting development. 

      • Sacha 4.2.2

        "Top brain but her political skills are very limited"

        Interested to hear what you are basing that on?

    • Louis 4.3

      +1 Anne.

    • CHCoff 4.4

      They've made a proper start.

      A poorly functioning wreck was inherited that was teetering off a cliff.

      Stopping things going further backwards or decelerating their decline was a realist point of entry into starting to get back things on a societal track, like with housing for instance. Things are often a work in progress when starting at square one in finding the best ways to do things.

      With that in mind, there are lots of reasons to be happy with the govts. direction in how things are being handled – if in 9 years time still the same situations persist in many of these type of areas, then yes, not so much the case then.

  4. Blazer 5

    just saw ex Detective Graeme Bell on T.V.

     

    Was asked did he miss the days when you' roughed up a suspect in the back of the van'.

     

    His reply ..'it never happened under my watch ,but when it did…'!Too funny.

     

    Scumbags,mongrels,etc,etc…thought he was talking about that supparating sore on the face of humanity=bankers.

  5. Peter 6

    It was a lot easier being a Housing Minister in the previous Government. The main thing in the job was remembering the mantra (which was not a complicated one) and say it and say it and say it : "There is no housing crisis." have the rest of the team do the same.

    Secondly, I admit there was one, you had to tell the country there was all this publicly owned land in Auckland to be used for housing and put journos on a bus and take them on a big tour to show them.  In the next year you'd hope the journos and everyone else had  forgotten all about it.

    "Housing Minister Nick Smith has so far only managed to secure 25ha of spare Crown land for housing in Auckland after promising to deliver 500ha in last year's Budget."

    https://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=11621306

  6. WeTheBleeple 7

    If you ask me… I'd have asked for his resignation – Winston on Key

    https://www.stuff.co.nz/business/113740487/peters-i-would-have-called-for-keys-resignation

    • Blazer 7.1

      Winston is dead right.

       

      Interesting that the justification the ANZ board uses is that it was made in 'writing'! (re cap requirements)

       

      This highly paid 'talent' seems just so incompetent,so often,it makes me wonder if executive remuneration is based on anything more than 'being in the club'!

    • Kevin 7.2

      At what level of management is the cut-off point for accepting responsibility?

       

  7. Kat 8

    Hipkins is most likely the best minister of education in the last decade. Ask any teacher.

    • Peter 8.1

      With Tolley, Parata and Kaye on the block my mother would've done a better job. And she's been dead longer than 10 years. 

    • Herodotus 8.2

      wait until Friday, when Hipkins will have to make a decision on tomorrow’s school reforms. He will it be able to hide then and watch out for if he supports there reforms the billions that will have to be spent implementing them, for what gain ?? Even the report states that only a small minority of schools are struggling. Better IMO to spend the $ on those schools in need, there are some amazing educationalist out there, many Maori and Polynesians who know what is wrong and how to correct that – pity those in Wellington are too superior to listen .

  8. Pat 9

    "Hernández will oversee a series of new projects by IPBES in the coming years, including a detailed assessment of the connections between biodiversity and food, water and human health. “If we don’t understand the relationship between biodiversity and the very basic needs of our lives then we are not going to understand how deeply biodiversity is important to maintain our own survival,” she said.

    https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2019/jun/24/survival-of-natural-world-is-in-balance-says-wildlife-chief

     

  9. Dennis Frank 10

    Could be something for the essay-writers here to get their teeth into:  https://croakingcassandra.com/2019/06/24/the-creeping-corruption-of-official-new-zealand/

    Inasmuch as we still have an international reputation for lack of corruption in public life!  For Michael Reddell, an insider (even if retired), to write this up, there's probably cause for concern…

  10. Ad 11

     

    Great to see our Deputy Prime Minister directly asking for the resignation of John Key from the ANZ:

    https://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=12243523

    (Sorry WTB beat me to it)

    • Blazer 11.1

      I was so disappointed to see that Honky Tonks ..who loves everything about America'..was not off and gone..to Hawaii..Better earn here I guess,.

  11. greywarshark 12

    Can't we do more for the Pacific Islands.   They are having difficulties, fish are important to them, they have sea level rises, and big power competition, they could do with more practical help.

    https://www.rnz.co.nz/international/pacific-news/392822/pacific-coastal-fishery-watchdog-facing-shutdown

  12. WeTheBleeple 13

    Knitting website Ravelry with 8 million subscribers bans support for Trump.

    "We are banning support of Donald Trump and his administration on Ravelry. We cannot provide a space that is inclusive of all and also allow support for open white supremacy"

    Nice work crafty folk.

    https://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2019/jun/24/white-supremacy-popular-knitting-website-ravelry-bans-support-for-trump

Leave a Comment

Use WYSIWYG comments on next comment (inactive new feature)

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • New digital service to make business easy
    A new digital platform aims to make it easier for small businesses to access services from multiple government agencies, leaving them more time to focus on their own priorities. Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern and Minister for Small Business Stuart Nash ...
    4 days ago
  • Million-dollar start to gun collection events
    Million-dollar start to gun collection events  Police Minister Stuart Nash says a solid start has been made to the gun buyback and amnesty after the first weekend of community collection events. “Gun owners will walk away with more than ...
    5 days ago
  • Praise after first firearms collection event
    Police Minister Stuart Nash has praised Police and gun owners after the first firearms collection event saw a busy turnout at Riccarton Racecourse in Christchurch. “Police officers and staff have put a tremendous effort into planning and logistics for the ...
    5 days ago
  • New Police constables deployed to regions
    Seventy-eight new Police constables are heading out to the regions following today’s graduation of a new recruit wing from the Royal New Zealand Police College. Police Minister Stuart Nash says the record high number of new Police officers being recruited, ...
    2 weeks ago