Daily Review 29/05/2017

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, May 29th, 2017 - 21 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

21 comments on “Daily Review 29/05/2017”

  1. mickysavage 1

    Interesting …

    Some dickhead is sending right wing Auckland Councillors a feather for not going for a 2% rates rise. Spinoff thought it was the Ratepayers alliance and said so. They were threatened with defamation and immediately retracted.

    But someone sent the feathers. Who was it?

    https://thespinoff.co.nz/auckland/29-05-2017/threats-legal-threats-and-cowardice-auckland-councils-budget-battle-gets-nasty/

    • Carolyn_nth 1.1

      White feathers? Meaning cowardice? So shouldn’t the senders of the feathers show bravery and front up?

      • mickysavage 1.1.1

        Yep good point. Wont be the first time that a right winger does not comprehend the hypocrisy of what they are doing.

  2. Ed 2

    Vanessa Beeley on the White Helmets and Syria.
    Worth watching as an antidote to the propaganda we hear 24/7 on corporate news.

  3. Muttonbird 3

    Apart from the Greens and NZF voting with the government, the most depressing thing I read today is the removal of the insulation grant.

    On top of this last year…

    http://www.labour.org.nz/government_freezes_elderly_out_of_insulation_subsidy

    …Cone Head has now cut the subsidy altogether. While slack landlords who have not insulated their properties yet will now have to complete the work (with presumably much higher costs – supply and demand, innit) in 12 months in order to get the subsidy (instead of two years), the real cost his with those home owners who struggle with heating costs but further struggle with $3000 insulation costs.

    We, a young family in Auckland, just had our home done and haven’t turned the heating on since. The benefits of this program are widely accepted; Healthier children in low income households. Lower heating costs in normally inefficient homes. And a lower use of energy infrastructure and of non-renewable energy resources.

    Yet what does Cone Head do? Firestorms the lot in order to save a few pennies in the short term with an eye to winning another term in government.

    This, like the removal of the Kiwisaver incentive is typical thinking from this government.

    • mickysavage 3.1

      It’s not rocket science. The scheme was justifiable on so many fronts. Yet the bastards still cut it …

    • Draco T Bastard 3.2

      We, a young family in Auckland, just had our home done and haven’t turned the heating on since. The benefits of this program are widely accepted; Healthier children in low income households. Lower heating costs in normally inefficient homes. And a lower use of energy infrastructure and of non-renewable energy resources.

      Yes but with all of that you also get lower profits for the newly privatised power companies and the new shareholders are National’s ‘base’.

  4. rob 4

    i am really starting to worry about how nz first look like sticking with the dark side,and i say that because there seems no light or glimmer from the wrinkled one and i am just as if not equal with the wrinkle haha

  5. rob 5

    but i will not vote nat or act ever in my life! i would not handle this type of dictatorship well.

  6. rob 6

    i also found PB is 82 on the periodic table? lead ie: good for weight ie;slowing things down also poisonous with to much exposure fancy that.

  7. JC 7

    “We want to pull our weight as an international contributor in parts of the world that generate instability for us and our citizens,…. ”

    http://www.radionz.co.nz/news/political/331859/govt-considers-sending-extra-nzdf-staff-to-afghanistan

  8. joe90 9

    Yup. looks like clouds, I reckon.

    Animation of clouds moving over #Mars made from tinted images captured by NASA's Phoenix lander on Sept. 18, 2008 over ~1/2 hour pic.twitter.com/oqtSD26pct— Jason Major (@JPMajor) May 26, 2017

  9. NZJester 10

    Anyone else read the story “Kiwi drink SOS needs more sugar, says Government” in the NZ Herald?
    Talk about stupid that they must add a lot more sugar in NZ to be able to claim it is a hydration drink when it is much better at the job than all the high sugar ones on the market.

    In a letter to SOS Hydration in February, MPI said “a food sold as an electrolyte drink base must contain no less than 50g/L and no more than 100g/L of various sugars”. SOS Hydration only contained 10g/L.

    http://beta.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=11865673

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Cameras on vessels to ensure sustainable fisheries
    Commercial fishing vessels at greatest risk of encountering the rare Māui dolphin will be required to operate with on-board cameras from 1 November, as the next step to strengthen our fisheries management system. Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern and Fisheries Minister ...
    1 week ago
  • Greatest number of new Police in a single year
    A new record for the number of Police officers deployed to the regions in a single year has been created with the graduation today of Recruit Wing 326. Police Minister Stuart Nash says the graduation of 78 new constables means ...
    1 week ago
  • Ensuring multinationals pay their fair share of tax
    New Zealand is pushing on with efforts to ensure multinational companies pay their fair share of tax, with the release of proposed options for a digital services tax (DST). In February Cabinet agreed to consult the public on the problem ...
    2 weeks ago