Daily Review 01/02/2018

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, February 1st, 2018 - 43 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

43 comments on “Daily Review 01/02/2018”

  1. Cinny 1

    Thank you so very much Tracey Martin and our new government for making the state care abuse inquiry happen.

    Dad’s half brother had a completely different life. Dad was adopted in to a good family and had a good life and education. Uncle was shoved around from home to home and suffered horrific abuse. They only found each other by accident last year, when Uncles grandaughter begin to research his family history, previously they didn’t even know each other existed.

    When Dad told me part of Uncles story, I was shocked and appalled at the suffering he went through. Am hoping the inquiry will give Uncle some closure.

    Thanks again with all of my heart, this means so much to so many.

    • patricia bremner 1.1

      I hope it helps your uncle Cinny. I remember your girls’ excitement at meeting Jacinda. This confirms our choices. Promises kept.

      • Cinny 1.1.1

        Hugs and loves to you Patricia and thank you 🙂 Promises kept yes 🙂

        And the compassion towards helping others shown by our new government. A stark contrast from the nat’s who were using our taxes to showcase their own selfish extravagances (ie joyces super ministry).

        Absolutely delighted with our new government.

        PS The girls were buzzing about baby, lead to some insightful talks about the ‘olden days’ as they like to call it (anything 30 years ago is olden lololol). All in agreement that Jacinda will be a fantastic mum because she gives warm cuddles, it’s all about the vibe.

  2. Eco Maori 2

    In 2 years 8 months papatuanuku is going to leave no doubt about man made climate change and global warming ECO Maori says Labour and the Greens will storm home in the 2020 elections .That is when they will be able to make policies changes that benefit all the people and papatuanuku .
    We have know plan for climate changes heance flooding roads power cuts this is all shonky key dilly joice bill they prefered to ignore the facts so they could dish out money to there m8 .Who pays in the end it’s the people it the people who ultimately pay the price for ignoring climate change .
    I enjoy watching 1 news on TVNZ Wendy and Simon are excellent reporter s .Reporting in a fair and unbiasedhumble kiwi style
    Ka kite ano

    • Jilly Bee 2.1

      Kia Ora Eco Maori – I enjoy reading your posts, but have to say that TV1 to my thinking isn’t the only channel to watch for news, I’m fairly content with Newshub, followed by The Project – will probably have a look at Seven Sharp next week. I’m now retired and don’t watch early morning TV – happy to turn on RNZ Morning Report and also make sure to watch Checkpoint – and often don’t switch over to TV News.

  3. Ed 3

    When is New Zealand going to wake up?
    Our country is being battered by floods, cyclones, tidal surges, droughts, heatwaves….

    New Zealand’s net greenhouse gas emissions increased 54 percent between 1990 and 2014.
    Road vehicle emissions were up 80 percent from 1990, and made up 37 percent of all CO2 emissions in 2015.
    Manufacturing and construction emissions were up 43 percent from 1990,
    We have intensified our dairy herd. CH4 from livestock digestion increased 5 percent from 1990 and made up 35 percent of all emissions in 2015. This was 82 percent of all CH4 emissions and 73 percent of all agricultural emissions

    Join.
    The.
    Dots.

    Before it is too late.

    In 1939 a war economy was established to win World War 2.
    People made sacrifices.
    There was rationing.
    People worked together.
    Across party lines.

    For their children.
    And their grandchildren.

    Why can’t we follow their example?

    • One Anonymous Bloke 3.1

      …they didn’t set an example that’s relevant to this context:

      Mit der Dummheit kämpfen Götter selbst vergebens.

      People worked together.
      Across party lines.

      Well, at first, Stalin and Hitler were mates (carving up Europe in much the same way that the National Party is currently carving up Bill English), so that’s an example of people working together across party lines. The “Liberals” (we tar all “centrists” with the same brush, eh) put aside their differences to defeat a common enemy.

      But the metaphor is faulty. The fascists wanted to do their thing, Stalin wanted to get approval from his mummy, or whatever, but we’re all doing this existential threat (of AGW) together, and we didn’t mean it in the first place.

      How can we defeat stupidity?

      • Ed 3.1.1

        Quite similar.
        A crisis that needs to be faced.
        My making sacrifices.

        Caroline Lucas from the UK Greens, like me, can see similarities.

        Two reasons. First, climate change is one of the greatest threats to our country since the last world war. It’s not only environmentalists who are saying this. Business leaders, prime ministers, major charities and generals have all recognised the level of risk.

        Second, if we are to overcome this threat – and the alternative is simply too awful to contemplate – then we need to mobilise as a nation in a way we haven’t seen since 1945.

        https://www.theguardian.com/environment/blog/2011/jan/20/home-front-war-climate-change

        • One Anonymous Bloke 3.1.1.1

          Ed, the fascists were defeated because we got control of more fossil fuels than them. More planes in the air, more tanks on the ground.

          Sure, our story was better than theirs too, but the same story ain’t gonna work this time. The enemy is us.

          • Ed 3.1.1.1.1

            I agree that we are the enemy.

            However, you need a good story to motivate people to change their ways.

            So we stop being the enemy.

            • One Anonymous Bloke 3.1.1.1.1.1

              No shit Ed. We need a better story, That’s what I was saying: your world war two metaphors are getting in the way. Please stop getting in the way.

              • Ed

                I disagree.

                How do you think we motivate people to change then?
                By the way, is there any change you could adopt a less aggressive tone in discussion? I am aware you don’t share my opinion and there are ways of expressing that without the language and stance you take.

              • weka

                am curious what story/stories you think would be better.

                • McFlock

                  Savage, FDR, Baldwin, even LBJ’s domestic policy (would have been a pretty good pres if not for the war).

                  Those are good stories about massive social change being pursued and achieved, rather than conflict between societies.

                  We need to build, not dehumanise.

                  • weka

                    The value in the war effort thing is what people did at home. I agree it’s limited in terms of the bigger picture. And at this point we really need to avoid anything that frames nature as the enemy.

                • One Anonymous Bloke

                  So am I. I already mentioned the reduction in cfc emissions, which provides an example of co-operation. I can’t see how anything else (other than international cooperation) will work, and yet I can also see the reality that while there are fossil fuel reserves, there will be an immediate military advantage to anyone who controls them.

                  In the context of the predicted social consequences of AGW, it’s a bit late to be writing new stories where old ones might serve us better. Personally I draw on the Tao te Ching, but the Greek myths might do as good a job in the right hands.

                  Climatologists acknowledged that their communication (as opposed to scientific) skills were inadequate years ago. Those who’re motivated by money are far more likely to pay attention to Munich Re.

                  Where this leaves us I don’t know. Edit: and what McFlock said.

                  • weka

                    CFC reduction was government and industry driven. I think what Ed was pointing to is the need for the public to be drivers (hence the comparison with the war effort, as per above it’s about what was happening at home. Although I think Ed was probably thinking govt rather than citizens).

                    My concern atm is that we’re about to shift into adaptation mode rather than prevention mode. That story needs sorting out quickly.

          • Stuart Munro 3.1.1.1.2

            Oil counted, but intelligence and effort counted too. This is an interesting perspective on WWII, and goes some way to explaining Ian Fleming’s writing. https://www.amazon.com/Man-Called-Intrepid-Incredible-Narrative/dp/1531813135

      • Stunned Mullet 3.1.2

        Always liked Schiller.

  4. eco maori 4

    I have intended to Congratulat Steve Adams you certainly are making those people who doubt your basketball skills eat there words KA PAI BRO. That’s the way go hard you are a good role model for all our mokos. Ka kite ano

  5. Ed 5

    There are many on this site who argue that a plant based diet does not provide sufficient nutrition.
    Maybe they should follow these sports players example.

    NFL players’ surprising new performance hack—going vegan

    When you think of what NFL players eat, you might imagine hulking athletes tearing into juicy steaks and scarfing fattening food. ………

    However, for an increasing number of players, that’s changing. With quarterback Tom Brady headed to his eighth Super Bowl with the New England Patriots on Sunday, others in the league have taken notice of his healthy habits. As the Boston Globe points out: “It’s a movement being led by Tom Brady, who dominated the league in his late 30s and is still going strong at 40, thanks to his vegetable-based diet and flexibility training over muscle mass.”……

    The Titans players are convinced a plant-based diet “helps them lose weight, recover faster and, believe it or not, play better,” according to ESPN.

    Other professional athletes have made the switch to vegan or vegetarian diets in the past year or so, too. The list includes NBA stars Damian Lillard, Kyrie Irving, Wilson Chandler, Al Jefferson, Garrett Temple, Enes Kanter JaVale McGee and Jahlil Okafor, according to Bleacher Report.

    Veganism has also been championed for years by tennis player Venus Williams and snowboarder Hannah Teter.

    https://www.cnbc.com/2018/01/31/why-nfl-players-and-other-athletes-are-going-vegan.html

    • One Anonymous Bloke 5.1

      sufficient nutrition*

      *terms and conditions may vary 😉

    • weka 5.2

      There are individuals that can be vegan, but I’ll note that the people you list are very well resourced financially. This means they can buy the industrial foods that make being vegan easier (and probably have support staff and families). Also noting they’re mostly short term vegans, lets see if they still are in a few decades. And we don’t know if they are actually vegan, or eating mostly vegan but supplementing with meat and dairy occasionally.

      Try doing that on a normal income, especially if you are a solo mum with a couple of kids. And yes, there are women with kids who are vegan. But there are no vegan cultures, because you loose embodied nutritional status over time. Some people can sustain that over a lifetime, few can do it for multiple generations.

      I’d have less of a problem with your politics if you allowed that many people could manage a largely vegetarian diet but still eating meat and dairy as they need to. I find the vegan movement’s conflation of animal welfare with environmental issues a problem. If it weren’t about the ideology, then it would be pushing for people to eat small amounts of meat/dairy instead of none.

    • James 5.3

      If you are going to cite sports players as an example – probably good to point out that 99.99% prefer to have a balanced healthy diet that is NOT plant based.

    • mauī 5.4

      +100, Correct once again Ed.

  6. joe90 6

    Best of the web.

    30 years ago on January 26, my grandfather Burnum Burnum planted the Aboriginal flag in England to claim it like they did to us. He had his own declaration too. It outraged so many people. It was great #InvasionDay #ChangeTheDate pic.twitter.com/mLLc5CVPxV— Zachary (@ZedAyySeeKay) January 26, 2018

    I've found video from an ABC News report of my Grandpa, Burnum Burnum, planting the Aboriginal flag in England and reading his declaration on #InvasionDay in 1988. pic.twitter.com/fjs0FxbGjd— Zachary (@ZedAyySeeKay) January 29, 2018

    https://twitter.com/ZedAyySeeKay/status/957837555277287424

  7. Pat 7

    “You can rule out a silver bullet,” said Prof John Shepherd, at the University of Southampton, UK, and an author of the report. “Negative emissions technologies are very interesting but they are not an alternative to deep and rapid emissions reductions. These remain the safest and most reliable option that we have.”

    https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2018/feb/01/silver-bullet-to-suck-co2-from-air-and-halt-climate-change-ruled-out

    Just in case anyone needed it confirmed

  8. Bearded Git 8

    Madrid banned all pre 2006 cars this week to get emissions under control. Imagine if they did that in NZ!

    Mind you it is all over the media here and many people are rabid about it. (I’m in Spain)

    • AB 8.1

      Knee-jerk reactions to problems that have been a very long time in the gestation – expect we’ll see a lot of this in response to AGW and it won’t be pretty or equitable. In this case you deprive your poorest citizens of personal transport while the rich continue to drive.

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • New digital service to make business easy
    A new digital platform aims to make it easier for small businesses to access services from multiple government agencies, leaving them more time to focus on their own priorities. Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern and Minister for Small Business Stuart Nash ...
    5 days ago
  • Million-dollar start to gun collection events
    Million-dollar start to gun collection events  Police Minister Stuart Nash says a solid start has been made to the gun buyback and amnesty after the first weekend of community collection events. “Gun owners will walk away with more than ...
    6 days ago
  • Praise after first firearms collection event
    Police Minister Stuart Nash has praised Police and gun owners after the first firearms collection event saw a busy turnout at Riccarton Racecourse in Christchurch. “Police officers and staff have put a tremendous effort into planning and logistics for the ...
    6 days ago
  • New Police constables deployed to regions
    Seventy-eight new Police constables are heading out to the regions following today’s graduation of a new recruit wing from the Royal New Zealand Police College. Police Minister Stuart Nash says the record high number of new Police officers being recruited, ...
    2 weeks ago