web analytics

Daily review 01/05/2019

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, May 1st, 2019 - 94 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

94 comments on “Daily review 01/05/2019 ”

  1. SPC 1

    Our debt law

    Man takes out loan gets partner to co-sign and then they separate. He is unable to pay and so the other party gets WINZ to take money out of her DPB each week to repay the debt

    Our bankruptcy law

    Owner of whaleoil declares bankruptcy. Partner takes over ownership of whaleoil and puts it up on new site (sounds like a finance company boss transferring assets to wifes trust fund before the firm goes under).

    Our new credit contracts law – a limit of 100 % payment on top of a loan

    AB borrows a $500 pay day loan from company A – 2 months to pay $1000 (maximum allowed in law).

    CS borrows a $500 pay day loan from Company B – 2 months to pay $1000 (maximum allowed in law).

    AB borrows a $1000 pay day loan from company B – 4 months to pay $2000 (maximum allowed in law).

    CS borrows a $1000 pay day loan from Company A – 4 months to pay $2000 (maximum allowed in law).

    A little collusion and company A and B have easily subverted the proposed new laws around lending.

    Company C (owned by the partners of the owners of company A and Company B) then lends each borrower $2000 with $4000 payable at the end of the year (maximum allowed in law) – the money owed tied to their car ownership. . They pay, or lose their car. They will try and pay, who wants to lose their car. So on a $1000 loan they have to pay $4000 within a year, or lose their car.

  2. Ankerrawshark 2

    https://www.nzherald.co.nz/entertainment/news/article.cfm?c_id=1501119&objectid=12226410

    and now for some light relief. Hilarious in my opinion

  3. Dennis Frank 3

    Just saw a TVNZ newsreader telling us the govt has issued a statement critical of the Maduro regime, particularly its failure to act in accord with human rights. Video showing an army vehicle driving over protestors had featured in the report from Caracas earlier. Google didn't find any such statement, but we'll see if it shows up later.

    Pro-Maduro folks here will be keen to continue their claims that the regime and the people aren't on opposite sides. The notion will be tested tomorrow, when we see how many respond to Guaido's call for an uprising. I predict that Maduro will not declare that the driver of the army vehicle will be charged with attempted murder. Why not? It would make him seem humanitarian, using the rule of law. Wrong look.

    • SPC 3.1

      A crisis created by economic sanctions on Venezuala.

      • Dennis Frank 3.1.1

        If you replace created with compounded, I would agree. Corruption began with Chavez, apparently. If he had been an authentic socialist, distributing the oil money to the people, the crisis would not have happened. Instead, his daughter is now widely-known to be the richest woman in Venezuela, according to media reports.

        • SPC 3.1.1.1

          The use of the money for health, education and social housing is well known to those who voted for him time and time again.

          • Dennis Frank 3.1.1.1.1

            Is it? If so, he deserves credit. If the BBC sent a doco crew to verify that, using random street interviews rather than Maduro-selected stooges, we would have a basis to form a more balanced view. To counter claims that regime officials have been siphoning off the oil revenues to enrich themselves, I mean.

            • mauī 3.1.1.1.1.1

              First mistake is getting your information on Venezuela from well known propaganda sources TVNZ and the BBC.

              • Dennis Frank

                Why just those two? All online news sources carry propaganda. Al Jazeera, for instance, provides us with this US propaganda: "It's still very important for three figures in the Maduro regime who have been talking to the opposition over these last three months to make good on their commitment to achieve the peaceful transition of power from the Maduro clique to interim president Juan Guaido," Bolton told reporters.

                Such mediators doing non-violent conflict resolution seem a good option. Are they real, or just a figment of Bolton's fevered imagination? Until a journalist interviews them, we can't tell. You think Maduro would allow them to report the news to the media? No, any words of disloyalty and he'd lock them up pronto!

            • SPC 3.1.1.1.1.2

              It's true enough, the evidence as to the change in that country during his years is largely positive but so dependent on oil revenue for continuance.

              Thus the impact of change in the world oil market, poor management of the state oil company and sanctions.

              As to corruption, US financial sanctions because Chavez was not an ally in the war against terrorism or the war on drugs – original excuses, just lead to backdoor operations that people skim off (loss of official channels and accountability). In a world where realpolitic reigns people become cynical and more selfish.

    • Cinny 3.2

      I doubt that anyone here is pro Maduro.

      What I do know is that many, myself included are anti Guaido (who is a USA puppet) and pro the Venezuelan people.

      • Dennis Frank 3.2.1

        Several commenters here have been consistently pro-Maduro over the past year. I've attempted to open their minds by providing evidence in support of the residual democracy, which Guaido represents. I understand why he seems like a puppet, but I see him as authentic representative of the Venezuelan middle class, using Trump as leverage.

        As with Putin, collusion is a reasonable perception, but an alignment of interests is the more reasonable view. Maduro originated as an authentic representative of the Venezuelan lower class. Too bad absolute power corrupts absolutely.

        • Cinny 3.2.1.1

          For reals? I haven't been actively commenting as much on here, but I've still been reading TS, and following Venezuelan comments/posts. Can't recall reading anything obviously pro Maduro, maybe I missed it.

          It's really sad how power corrupts some leaders, meanwhile the people suffer. I think there is also much pride involved with this particular power struggle, and once again the people suffer, that's what really blows.

          • Dennis Frank 3.2.1.1.1

            Yeah, seems to me the people are split along class lines, unfortunately. And Maduro is not obviously evil. His humanity is evident in some of his videos, such as a wry sense of humour at times.

            I've opposed US foreign policy most of my adult life, so it's only in recent years I've trended towards a more-balanced view. In such nuanced situations, generalising can lead us astray. I agree US policy errs in trying to recycle 1980s hegemony (Eliot Abrams). Trump is too thick to realise he's reinforcing the polarisation – reconciliation is the only good way out.

          • Dennis Frank 3.2.1.2.1

            Ends well: "we must encourage efforts to build trust and dialogue across the political divide while marginalizing hardliners who oppose any form of compromise."

            Trump ought to delegate someone to go there & make it happen! He lacks the vision, and statesmanship, to do so. A credible Democratic contender for the US presidency would issue a public call for him to pull finger & solve the problem via this method. I bet nobody demonstrates such leadership capacity!

            Also interesting that your link piece says Trump is continuing Obama's policy line in Venezuela. Now there's a thought: he ought to get Obama to solve the problem. Call him in to the Oval Office, suggest Obama use the opportunity to provide a model of bipartisan collaboration. Obama is a good talker, let's see if he's also a good actor…

        • SPC 3.2.1.3

          If Guaido represented residual democracy why did he not run against Maduro in the 2018 Presidential elections?

          The USA recognition of someone who chose not to contest that election is dubious, their opinion does not count for more than that of the local population.

          • Brigid 3.2.1.3.1

            Dennis

            Dennis

            Dennis you haven't answered this question.

            Dennis where are yuuuuuuuuu

            • Dennis Frank 3.2.1.3.1.1

              I'd gone to bed. Unprejudiced people can easily discover the lengthy sequence of anti-democratic moves made by the Maduro regime. Evidence of their policy of faking democracy has been compiled onto several different interlinking Wikipedia pages by researchers. Not hard to find!

          • Dennis Frank 3.2.1.3.2

            I presume it was due to Maduro's moves to rig the election. Elections in a democracy are supposed to be free and fair. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2018_Venezuelan_presidential_election

            "On 11 December 2017, President Maduro announced that many of the main opposition parties, including Justice First and Popular Will, would be banned from participating in the 2018 presidential election… In February 2018, the government announced that elections would be held on 22 April 2018, less than three months before the date. Popular Will announced on 16 February that it would boycott the elections."

            • SPC 3.2.1.3.2.1

              I am not convinced, given the performance of opposition parties in the previous parliamentary election (sure the Court removed 3 of those elected to take away a 66% super majority, but beating the government party in the election was done decisively)

              There was nothing to stop anyone running as an opposition candidate supported by all of those parties – if anything what Maduro did was to make it easier to unite the opposition behind one candidate. Maybe he wanted to lose, but the opposition taking direction from DC, wanted another course for reasons we can only guess at.

              • Dennis Frank

                No point participating in an election that has been rigged in advance. The regime stacked their equivalent of our Electoral Commission with its supporters, likewise their Supreme Court. Elections are only viable when designed to be free and fair. The opposition sensibly refused to endorse the charade.

                • SPC

                  Demonstrably not so, the earlier parliamentary election result being evidence.

                  • Dennis Frank

                    Well, the people who compiled the evidence on Wikipedia disagree. The governments who recognised Guaido as president on the constitutional basis that he cited disagree. When facts are in dispute, opinions will differ. No point arguing against human nature, eh?

                    • SPC

                      Sure not, the same (US backed) entitled middle class made the same effort to remove the elected President Chavez in 2002.

          • Cinny 3.2.1.3.3

            Well said SPC.

    • Dennis Frank 3.3

      "U.S. National Security Adviser John Bolton said the Trump administration was waiting for three key officials, including Maduro's defense minister and head of the supreme court, to act on what he said were private pledges to remove Maduro. He did not provide details." https://www.tvnz.co.nz/one-news/world/anti-government-protesters-in-venezuela-clash-troops-close-president-maduro

      Some of the armed forces are with Guaido: "Leopoldo Lopez, his political mentor and the nation's most-prominent opposition activist, stood alongside him. Detained in 2014 for leading a previous round of anti-government unrest. Lopez said he had been released from house arrest by security forces adhering to an order from Guaidó. "I want to tell the Venezuelan people: This is the moment to take to the streets and accompany these patriotic soldiers," Lopez declared."

      • adam 3.3.1

        Far right nut job.

        Promoting violence, thus showing us all you’re just another white nationalist.

    • Siobhan 3.4

      https://fair.org/home/venezuela-its-only-a-coup-if-the-us-government-says-so/?awt_l=CnT3e&awt_m=jCYO.gMRaIR._TQ

      I recommend reading this piece. it may help explain why you are being told that there is mass support for Guaido, from the people and the military..and yet.."bizarrely"..Maduro is still in power.

      • Dennis Frank 3.4.1

        Thanks, but that writer believes Maduro was "democratically elected". Wikipedia provides contrary evidence, which I compiled here several months ago.

        All we can do when facts are disputed is to appraise competing claims critically. We will then disagree, because we interpret them in accord with our prior bias. My bias is neither left nor right, so ideology doesn't handicap me.

        • solkta 3.4.1.1

          ideology doesn't handicap me.

          Your ideology handicaps you more than most as you are not able to understand the basis of your ideas.

          • Dennis Frank 3.4.1.1.1

            What part of being Green do you not get? Half a century of non-alignment and it remains a principle too hard for you to comprehend? Try harder.

            • solkta 3.4.1.1.1.1

              If you are saying that your ideology is Green as in the NZ Green Party then i call bullshit on that. Your opinion often varies widely from that of the Party as you often complain about.

              If you are saying that the Greens don't have ideology then i call bullshit on that for reasons that should be obvious.

              • Dennis Frank

                You seem unaware that the Green movement has always been neither left nor right. Such ignorance makes you unqualified for political commentary. Go back to kindergarten and pay attention this time…

                • solkta

                  You seem to be unaware that there is more political ideologies than left and right. You take a holier-than-thou attitude like somehow everybody has ideology except you. There are many types of political ideology: left, right, centrist, green, libertarian, authoritarian, anarchist..

                  You are too fucking stupid to understand your own ideas. And no you aren't Green, that is so obvious from the crap you talk.

                  • Dennis Frank

                    How would you know? You've never demonstrated any ability in your comments here that you have the faintest clue about the world that surrounds you. You just get off on being abusive. Pathetic.

  4. gsays 4

    While researching a good design for a rocket stove/gasifier/charcoal maker I came across this clip

    Talking about bamboo as improving soil health, erosion prevention, housing.

    Then the biochar, carbon sequestering, retaining nitrous oxide in the soil and lots of benefits for mycorrhizal fungi.

    Really inspiring and positive.

    • greywarshark 4.1

      What a great link about bamboo. I'm sold on that.

    • Bruce 4.2

      timely facebook page on bamboo uses not sure it worked as intended you may need to scroll down a couple of post.

      https://www.facebook.com/SprinkleDrinkingWater/photos/pcb.2343354775727402/2343350685727811/?type=3&theater

    • Pingau 4.3

      Bamboo is an awesome material but many species are very invasive and very difficult to control – repeated use of boosted concentrated herbicide is probably the only practical way to get rid of it.

      The problem with that is it can spread into places where it will create issues for the property (under your house, in cracks in the driveway, etc.) or into places where it will not be controlled (a neighbours place, a reserve) or that dug up or cut bamboo will be dumped and start a new colony.

      So … If you are going to plant bamboo please pick a species that spreads very slowly (depends on your local climate as well) and cannot spread into somewhere where it will not be controlled.

      • gsays 4.3.1

        Hi Pingau, it does ring a bell the invasive nature of the plant.

        The trick would be to plant the right sort in the right place.

        In the clip, there is an example of bamboo being planted on a barren hill of mine tailings and in a few months the soil is viable.

        Lots of upsides to the plant.

        • Pingau 4.3.1.1

          Hi Gsays – there sure are many upsides to bamboo but it is good to check out the downsides as well and also to check out alternatives. In NZ there has been a bit of research over the years on phytoremediation and whatnot on mine tailings and land stabilisation. It's a pretty interesting field.

          • gsays 4.3.1.1.1

            I had to look up phytoremediation.. I did come at this from a charcoal making angle, with a view to make wood vinegar (liquid smoke) as a fertiliser, herbicide and perhaps in conjunction with biochar as a soil conditioner.

            I suppose why bamboo stood out is because of its quick growing nature (also part of why it can be a pest, as you alluded to).

            Fast growing, a bit like hemp, another plant that can offer so many solutions to the problems we face. But that is another story.

  5. SPC 5

    The mentor and the pupil

    “The weak crumble, are slaughtered and are erased from history while the strong, for good or for ill, survive. The strong are respected, and alliances are made with the strong, and in the end peace is made with the strong…our enemies know very well what Israel is capable of doing. They are familiar with our policy. Whoever tries to hurt us—we hurt them”

    “I like soft power, but hard power is usually better. You need F-35s (fighter jets), cyber (security), lot of intelligence… Where does the power for hard power come from? It comes from economic power,” 

    US economic sanctions on North Korea
    US economic sanctions on Iran – now extended to all nations that trade with Iran
    US economic sanctions on Venezuala – to be extended to Cuba if it does not withdraw its military from Venezuala
    US economic sanctions on Russia
    US cuts funds to the UN agency for Palestinian refugees (UNWRA) and cuts off aid to the PA
    US declares Moslem Brotherhood a terrorist organisation (even though it is not)

    As to why none of this seems to work – see

    https://www.timesofisrael.com/those-ineffectual-us-sanctions/

    But then it’s not about winning – it’s about inspiring fear of being isolated by association with those cut off from the world market. It’s about us and them and fearing the nation which can do this to others. And fear of the USA when it is 100% behind Israel is fear of Israel.

  6. vto 6

    The Chch terror attacks have led to a wholly misplaced questioning of our ways in NZ.

    It should be clear: it was a foreigner who invaded and attacked New Zealanders on our own soil.

    The attack had nothing to do with New Zealand, other than being a victim.

    All this conflating with 'white New Zealand' this and 'racist New Zealand' that and 'haters in New Zealand' the other – it is all a nonsense and without basis in this context.

    It was a foreign invasion and attack on New Zealanders on their own soil.

    • solkta 6.1

      You know i can't live in your ghost NZ.

    • marty mars 6.2

      I wonder what the characteristics of the people that subscribe to that view are? Doesn't take a mensa score to work it out i'd say lol

      • vto 6.2.1

        The opening line in this months NZ Geographic article on the attacks;

        "After the attack on two Christchurch mosques, after the number of dead and injured climbed and climbed, New Zealand came to several hard realisations: This is not a peaceful and equitable country." https://www.nzgeo.com/stories/brothers-and-sisters/?source=homepage

        On what basis is this claim that New Zealand is not a peaceful and equitable country made? What is the evidence?

        edit: those questions are open to anyone. marty mars will likely only reply with smartarsery again and avoid them.

        • Drowsy M. Kram 6.2.1.1

          Characterising the mass murderer as an "invader" is potentially misleading – he may have 'invaded' places of religious worship, but he came to NZ legally.

          1. Is NZ a peaceful country? It's certainly 'peaceful' for some.

          2. Is NZ an equitable country? Less so with each passing day (see answer to Q. 1).

          • vto 6.2.1.1.1

            A foreigner entering the country for the purpose of murder and terrorism is not a legal entry, no.

            But I don't think the question has been answered – it wasn't "is NZ a peaceful and equitable country?"… it was , in the context of the foreign attack on New Zealanders, "On what basis is this claim that New Zealand is not a peaceful and equitable country made? What is the evidence? "

            So, what features of the foreign terror attack make it thus?

            • McFlock 6.2.1.1.1.1

              Except for the actual NZers who aided fucky mcfuckwit by sharing his manifesto and streaming video with others, and requested a "kill counter" to be added to the video.

              Whether or not there were NZers who provided active assistance prior to the act (money, information, advice) is unknown, but we definitely had next-level supporters assisting the PR aspect that every terrorist requires. And then there are the less active supporters, too.

              So, yeah, it is a NZ problem.

            • Drowsy M. Kram 6.2.1.1.1.2

              Maybe 1% of NZ citizens have been raised in the Muslim faith.

              Vto, you views wiil naturally seem valid from your perspective. I'm suggesting that for those 1% of citizens, NZ perhaps feels like a less peaceful place after a visitor (who entered NZ legally in 2017) murdered 50 of those 1% in an afternoon. To be fair, some of the murder victims were probably too young to be devout Muslims, but it was a very calculated act.

              At the risk of making an assumption, I would encourage you to try to examine the events from alternative points of view – walk a mile in their shoes and all that.

              • vto

                Thanks Kram, but I have been viewing the events from the others point of view, and that time spent in said consideration has led to the above questioning… I would encourage others to take up your suggestion and consider it more factually, rather than racing off to conflate anything and everything with the tragedy.

                It was a foreigner who attacked New Zealanders.

                How does that make New Zealanders less peaceful and equitable?

                There is a disconnect going on which has been activated by emotion rather than due consideration.

                • Drowsy M. Kram

                  I accept that most New Zealanders are largely peaceful (although we can each of us have our moments, no?) and probably view NZ as a peaceful, safe country to live in. I certainly count my lucky stars.

                  It's even possible that the majority of NZers view NZ as an equitable country, although more citizens might contest that view.

                  The NZ Geographic contention appears to be that "New Zealand" is not a peaceful or equitable country. Based on the events of 15 March 2019 onward, I would really struggle to present the contrary view to those who had partners and/or relatives murdered that day.

                  This was a targetted massacre. You may cling to the fact that the mass murderer was not raised in NZ, but IMHO it's hazardous to ignore or (worse) deny the racist, violent underbelly in NZ. Just last Sunday anti-Mulsim propaganda was left on church-goers cars in Palmerston North.

                  "The pamphlet itself uses really extreme language such as 'Islam is the enemy, this is a declaration of war, this is them versus us'," he [Reverend Andy Hickman] said.

                  Is NZ really that peaceful for all? Is there no room for improvement?

                  If you believe that you have given these questions “due consideration“, then perhaps we can agree to disagree?

                  • vto

                    "This was a targetted massacre" … by a foreigner who came to our shores for that specific purpose.

                    New Zealand is the victim here, not the perpetrator.

                    I am not ‘clinging’ to the terrorist’s foreign status. That is a basic and important fact. The fact you describe it as ‘clinging’ indicates a desire on your part to subjectively view the evidence.

                    If the Australian had committed this act in Australia, would this contention about New Zealand even reach people’s frontal lobes? I dont think so. So how does this foreign attack make New Zealand less peaceful and equitable?

                    • RedLogix

                      It's not even clear that if he had been a New Zealander that he represented us in any meaningful fashion. All the evidence in the public domain strongly suggests he had little to no contact with anyone local, and was radicalised overseas in Europe and the Middle East.

        • marty mars 6.2.1.2

          Your question is idiotic and shows a complete myopic view that doesn't consider the many reported and unreported instances of violence, political, domestic, racial, ethnic, gender based and so on. You seem to be reverting back to your old ways which is sad cos I was liking the new considerate and peaceful vto. You live in a complete bubble I think.

          • vto 6.2.1.2.1

            The question is perfectly legitimate. The Standard requires those making claims to provide evidence in support of their claims. I got banned for not doing such.

            So the question is repeated. What is the evidence?

            • marty mars 6.2.1.2.1.1

              Try going right up to the top of this post and following the wee flowchart – your answer is there.

              • vto

                You are a useless smartarse all the time

              • vto

                You too scared to answer the question? Chicken book book

                • marty mars

                  You ignore the nazis and skinheads in christchurch the white supremacist that ran for mayor twice, the marches – all against others from the 'white' supremacists point of view, they bragged about it and flaunted it. But you, who live in christchurch can't see any evidence, never saw nothing – pull your head out your arse mate, the evidence has been presented for fucken years.

                  • vto

                    Those people exist in every country = not specifically related to the foreigner attacks = not evidence that supports the contention as so succinctly put, without evidence, by NZ Geo above.

                    • marty mars

                      You wrote

                      "After the attack on two Christchurch mosques, after the number of dead and injured climbed and climbed, New Zealand came to several hard realisations: This is not a peaceful and equitable country." https://www.nzgeo.com/stories/brothers-and-sisters/?source=homepage

                      On what basis is this claim that New Zealand is not a peaceful and equitable country made? What is the evidence?

                      On the basis of the first part of the sentence – the attack on the mosques in Christchurch are the evidence. The mass murder, by a killer, of a group of New Zealanders at prayer. This is not hard stuff. Do you dispute the evidence or diminish the attacks?

                    • vto

                      That is evidence of an attack by a foreigner on New Zealanders.

                      How does that make New Zealand less peaceful and equitable? It doesn't.

                      That evidence perhaps shows that New Zealand is less safe than previously perceived because our border controls and domestic laws are useless when it comes to terrifying Australians, but it does not support the contention that New Zealand is less peaceful and equitable.

                      In fact, the opposite should be the contention in light of the outpouring of emotion towards the muslim community in the aftermath.

                      You do understand Marty that it was not a New Zealander who did this don't you

                    • marty mars

                      You are sad and delusional – keep your stupid head in the sand – people like you are the support structure for hate – I hope you're proud of yourself.

                    • vto

                      It is you who is the delusional hater marty mars. All your comments ever have is personal attack. Have a look back at your comments in this thread and count the number of personal comments you have made and then count the number of actual points on the issue you have made. Go on – add them up.

                      dickhead

                    • marty mars

                      yeah play the victim card – you dudes always get to that one lol sadsack

                    • vto

                      Oh and there you go doing it again. What a dick.

                      You need to stop the abuse

              • vto

                The question is repeated

                What is the evidence?

      • BM 6.2.2

        Do you have an issue with white people Mars?

  7. OnceWasTim 7

    Quite obviously, gone are the days of the Dominion reading room of proof readers and sub editors:

    https://www.stuff.co.nz/national/christchurch-shooting/112374374/police-investigation-into-leaked-watchlist-contradictory-security-analyst-paul-buchanan-says

    (even if most of them were off their faces half the time)

    “Buchanan also explained tha, mere mention ………….”
    “Stuff chose has chosen not to publish the names of the those on the list.”

  8. alwyn 8

    I have no personal knowledge of what the Brian Tamaki Man Up program does.

    However Hone Harawira does and he claims it really does work. Any chance that Ardern, Robertson, and Davis might just pull their heads in and look at it? Do they really need to simply come out with smart arse comments and refuse to go anywhere near it because they won't get the credit and they don't like Tamaki dissing them?

    Andrew Little at least seems willing to consider it. Why not the others? After all you can hardly accuse Hone of being a National Party mouthpiece can you?

    https://thedailyblog.co.nz/2019/05/01/guest-blog-hone-harawira-kelvin-davis-time-to-man-up/

    • vto 8.1

      Its all a con for Tamaki's political purposes… a trojan horse… to get engagement with current politicians so he can become one himself…

      nothing more

      • alwyn 8.1.1

        Can you please answer the question I brought up?

        Why does Hone say the system works? I am not aware that Hone is trying to get Tamaki to go into politics. I'm not a great fan of Hone's but I believe he really is trying to do something for his people. Ardern, Robertson and Davis show no evidence of any such intention. They are only interested in themselves and in attacking anyone they can't control. Ban anyone who says anything that doesn't flatter them seems to be their style

        • vto 8.1.1.1

          sure alwyn, tho the question was "addressed"…

          I have no idea why Hone would say such, and don't consider it relevant because of Tamaki's political aspirations. Hone seeks headlines as well – maybe that is why he commented, plus the fact that he does do good work for his people, including those the programs are aimed at.

          If a political aspiration is wrapped around Tamaki's deeds and words then it all makes sense, imo

          • alwyn 8.1.1.1.1

            " the question was "addressed"

            My God, vto is unmasked. Who but Trevor Mallard can make a statement like that without even a giggle?

            smiley

            • vto 8.1.1.1.1.1

              no bananas for that one

              i was aping our great leaders, in the hope of exposing their inadequacies and failings

        • Stuart Munro. 8.1.1.2

          It may well work – but assuming without evidence that it is best or even good practice is quite a step. Tamaki will have a chance to establish its benefits and may get to implement a trial. Trying to obtain more on prophetic grounds is also quite a step. Had Ardern et al bought Tamaki's claims at face value I expect you still would not be happy.

    • Cinny 8.2

      tamaki needs to man up with the paperwork. Interesting that seems to have been overlooked in the link.

      Man up can't even provide the proper documentation by the sounds of it, I heard only one piece of paper was produced. A government can't analyse a proposal with out the information/documentation.

      If tamaki's program is not copyrighted, then why not create a new improved model of it, without a patched up wanna be christian gang milking running it…..

      Maybe Hone could man up and help brian with the paperwork….

    • SPC 8.3

      If it worked the MP would have backed it when they were in coalition with National.

    • However Hone Harawira does and he claims it really does work.

      Do you consider Hone Harawira to be a person of excellent judgement and discernment? Because I don't, and I'd be very surprised if you do.

      There's also the matter of the Harawiras not having a great history when it comes to dealing with others' mental problems. His opinion on the efficacy of the Man Up programme may actually be of less value than other people's.

      Then there's the documented instances of Man Up "counsellors" telling abusers the violence is their wife's fault for provoking them. If that "really does work," what is the "work" that's being achieved?

      Any chance that Ardern, Robertson, and Davis might just pull their heads in and look at it?

      Why would they look at it? There's a process for getting your programme into prisons, and it doesn't involve either standing outside Parliament shouting, or the PM and Minister of Corrections examining your programme to see if they personally think it's a good idea or not. There's nothing to stop Tamaki following that process, although I doubt his application would get a very welcome reception at Corrections now.

    • Gabby 8.5

      Maybe Hone could provide a copy of the programme wally. Then they could 'look at it'.

  9. A 9

    Don Brash seeks legal advice after being called out by the Maori Council for inciting racisim and violence. I’m not much of a Maori…lighter skin and disconnected from my culture. Even so I wouldn’t feel comfortable eating dinner with the guy. I find him judgemental, misinformed.

    https://www.stuff.co.nz/national/112386350/divisive-group-of-haters-in-hobsons-pledge-must-be-investigated-mori-council-says

    Tukaki also said Hobson’s Pledge was “nothing more than a divisive group of haters who would do nothing more than send us all back to the dark ages”.

    “They may wear suits and drive around in late model expensive European cars … but they are nothing more than a gang of misfits that seek to incite hate and divide the country.

    “They should be held to account,” Tukaki said.

    “They’re creating an environment…in which hate is breeding and not just breeding but duplicating and replicating.”

    He said if the lobby group wanted to become a political party it should “go for it” because “then all of your policies will be seen for what they are.”

    Tukaki said the Māori Council was concerned that comments Hobson’s Pledge leaders had made in public constituted “incitement to both violence and racism, hate and the segregation of New Zealand society”.

    Hobsons’ Pledge spokesman Don Brash said claims of racism were “absolutely outrageously stupid” and he was taking legal advice.

    Unfortunately I don’t have faith in our HRC. Do they even care? Are they resourced enough to investigated, or should we start a GoFundMe page?

  10. Incognito 10

    That flow diagram is awesome.

    • AB 10.1

      Yes – very elegant. But it has a logical flaw – if you are being a dick, you mostly can't tell whether you are being a dick of not.

      So as well as YES and NO options, there should be a DON'T KNOW option. The flow from the DON"T KNOW option should return to the question "Are you being a dick?"

      Thus, unwitting dicks are trapped in a potentially endless loop of self-questioning. The time-consuming anxiety of endless self-analysis might just stop them from being dicks.

      • Incognito 10.1.1

        No, I think many dicks have issues with reading comprehension and they’ll read the question as “do you have a dick?”. The result is the same though: an infinite loop. And that’s how you know somebody is a dick wink

  11. McFlock 11

    Assange gets 50 weeks for skipping bail.

    Probably doesn't make much difference to him – bail might have been hard to get while he works through the US (and possibly revitalised Swedish) extradition case(s).

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • NCEA Level 1 changes give students a broader foundation
    The Government is making changes to NCEA Level 1 to ensure it remains a strong, credible qualification that supports young people into employment and further education, Education Minister Chris Hipkins said today. “Last term, the Government initiated a wide-scale review of the National Certificates of Educational Achievement (NCEA), involving consultation ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    22 hours ago
  • Crown accounts reflect positive economic trend
    The Government’s books were again better than expected as the economy continued to recover post COVID lockdown, the Finance Minister Grant Robertson says. The Crown Accounts for the four months to the end of October were far more favourable than what was forecast in the Pre-election Economic and Fiscal Update ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 day ago
  • Increase to supplier diversity through new procurement target for Maori Business
    Māori enterprises are in line for greater opportunities to do business with government agencies under an initiative to spread the benefits of the economic recovery.  The Ministers for Māori Development and Economic and Regional Development have announced a new target to encourage public service agencies to cast the net ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 days ago
  • Climate emergency declaration will be matched with long-term action
    Today’s climate emergency declaration will be backed with ambitious plans to reduce emissions, the Minister for Climate Change, James Shaw today. “Our Government has put New Zealand at the forefront of climate action over the last three years. Declaring a climate emergency and backing this with long-term action to reduce ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 days ago
  • Celebrating the success of Prime Minister’s Oranga Tamariki Award winners
    28 young achievers who have been in the care of Oranga Tamariki or involved with the youth justice system have received Oranga Tamariki Prime Minister Awards in recognition of their success and potential, Children’s Minister Kelvin Davis announced today. At the awards ceremony in Parliament, Kelvin Davis congratulated the rangatahi ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 days ago
  • Public sector to be carbon neutral by 2025
    Public sector to be carbon neutral by 2025 Immediate focus on phasing out largest and most active coal boilers Government agencies required to purchase electric vehicles and reduce the size of their car fleet Green standard required for public sector buildings The Government has launched a major new initiative to ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 days ago
  • Government fulfils election undertaking on new top tax rate
    The Government will today keep its election promise to put in place a new top tax rate of 39 per cent on income earned over $180,000. “This will only affect the top two per cent of earners. It is a balanced measure that is about sharing the load so everyone ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 days ago
  • Sir Robert Martin re-elected to UN Committee
    New Zealand welcomes the news that Sir Robert Martin has been re-elected to the Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities, says Foreign Minister Nanaia Mahuta and Minister for Disability Issues Carmel Sepuloni. “Sir Robert has been a lifetime advocate for persons with disabilities and his experience brings a ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 days ago
  • New rules to protect Kiwis from unaffordable loans
    The Government is making sure all consumers who borrow money get the same protections, regardless of where they get their loans.   “Building on the work to crack down on loan sharks last year, we’re now making the rules clearer for all lenders to help protect borrowers from unaffordable loans” ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 days ago
  • New visitor attraction to boost tourism
    The opening of the first major new tourism attraction since the global outbreak of COVID-19 closed borders to international travellers will provide a welcome boost to visitor numbers in our largest city, says Tourism Minister Stuart Nash. Mr Nash has this afternoon taken part in the official opening ceremony of ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 days ago
  • Govt moves on drug checking to keep young New Zealanders safer this summer
    The Government will pass time limited legislation to give legal certainty to drug checking services, so they can carry out their work to keep New Zealanders safer this summer at festivals without fear of prosecution, Health Minister Andrew Little says. Next year the Government will develop and consult on regulations ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 days ago
  • Public Service Commissioner reappointed
    Minister for the Public Service Chris Hipkins announced today that Public Service Commissioner Peter Hughes CNZM has been reappointed for three years. The Public Service Commissioner is appointed by the Governor-General on the recommendation of the Prime Minister. “Mr Hughes’ reappointment reflects the need for strong leadership and continuity to ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 days ago
  • Pōwhiri marks the start of a critical year for APEC
    New Zealand kicked off its APEC host year today, with a pōwhiri taking place on Wellington’s waterfront with local iwi Te Atiawa, and a number of Government ministers welcoming representatives from the other 20 APEC economies. “APEC is a hugely important international event, and New Zealand is hosting amidst the ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 days ago
  • Speech at APEC 21 Opening Pōwhiri
    9am, Tuesday 1 DecemberTe Whare Waka o Pōneke, Wellington Central He Mihi Kei aku rangatira no ngātapito e whā o te ao huri noa, tātou e huihui mai nei. Tēnā rā kōutou katoa. He tangiapakura ki ngā tini aituā kei waenganui i a tātou, ka tangi tonu te ngākau ki ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 days ago
  • Government extends business debt relief to October 2021
    To assist with the ongoing economic recovery from COVID-19, rules allowing affected businesses to put their debt on hold have been extended by 10 months. “New Zealand’s economy is recovering better than we expected, but the impacts of the pandemic are far-reaching and some businesses need continued support to keep ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 days ago
  • Bill introduced to support workers with 10 days sick leave
    The Government is delivering on a key commitment by introducing a Bill to Parliament to expand sick leave entitlements from five days to ten days a year, Workplace Relations and Safety Minister Michael Wood announced today. “COVID-19 has shown how important it is to stay at home when people are ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    4 days ago
  • Progress on pay equity for DHB staff
    Today’s initial agreement between DHBs and the PSA on pay equity for clerical and administration staff is an important step toward better, fairer pay for this crucial and largely female workforce, Health Minister Andrew Little says. If ratified, the agreement between the Public Service Association and the country’s 20 District ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    4 days ago
  • Iconic Milford Track officially reopens
    One of New Zealand’s premier hikes and a cornerstone of the Te Anau community, the Milford Track has officially reopened, “From today, hikers booked on the popular Great Walk will be able to complete the walk end-to-end for the first time since early February,” Minister of Conservation Kiri Allan says. ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    4 days ago
  • Support for farmers beefed up ahead of La Niña
    Further funding for feed support services and new animal welfare coordinators will help farmers who continue to feel the effects of an extended drought, says Rural Communities Minister Damien O’Connor. “In March this year, I classified the drought in the North Island, parts of the South Island and the Chathams ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    6 days ago
  • Next steps for Christchurch Hospital campus redevelopment
    Canterbury DHB will be better placed to respond to future demand for services and continue to deliver high quality care, with the next stage of the campus redevelopment programme confirmed, Health Minister Andrew Little says. The Government has approved $154 million in funding for the construction of a third tower ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    7 days ago
  • Five Power Defence Arrangements Defence Ministers’ Joint Statement
    The Defence Ministers from Australia, Malaysia, New Zealand, Singapore and United Kingdom reaffirmed their nations’ continued commitment to the Five Power Defence Arrangements (FPDA), and commended the achievements over the past 49 years as the FPDA moves towards its 50th Anniversary in 2021.  The Ministers recognised the FPDA’s significant role ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    7 days ago
  • Jobs for Nature funding protects health of Hawke’s Bay waterways
    A joint Government and Hawke’s Bay Regional Council project will invest $4.2 million to protect local waterways, enhance biodiversity and employ local people, Environment Minister David Parker announced today.   Over two years, the Hāpara Takatū Jobs for Nature project will fence 195km of private land to exclude stock from vulnerable ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    7 days ago
  • New Year border exception for seasonal workers in the horticulture and wine industries
    2000 additional RSE workers to enter New Zealand early next year employers must pay these workers at least $22.10 an hour employers will cover costs of managed isolation for the RSE workers RSE workers will be paid the equivalent of 30 hours work a week while in isolation From January ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Government increases support for New Zealanders to work in seasonal jobs
    The Government is offering further financial support for unemployed New Zealanders to take on seasonal work. These new incentives include: Up to $200 per week for accommodation costs $1000 incentive payment for workers who complete jobs of six weeks or longer increasing wet weather payments when people can’t work to ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Government receives Royal Commission of Inquiry report into the Terrorist Attack on Christchurch Mos...
    Minister for Internal Affairs Jan Tinetti has today received the Royal Commission of Inquiry report into the Terrorist Attack on Christchurch Mosques, and will table it in Parliament on Tuesday December 8. “I know this will have been a challenging process for whānau, survivors and witnesses of the terrorist attack ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • New Zealand Government to declare a climate emergency
    The Government will declare a climate emergency next week, Climate Change Minister James Shaw said today.                                       “We are in the midst of a climate crisis that will impact on nearly every ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Call for urgent action on Pacific conservation
    A declaration on the urgency of the global biodiversity crisis and the need for immediate, transformative action in the Pacific was agreed at a pan-Pacific conference today. The 10th Pacific Islands Conference on Nature Conservation and Protected Areas is taking place this week across the Pacific.  Minister of Conservation Kiritapu ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Speech from the throne
    E aku hoa i te ara o te whai, Kia kotahi tā tātou takahi i te kō, ko tōku whiwhi kei tō koutou tautoko mai. Ko tāku ki a koutou, hei whakapiki manawa mōku. He horomata rangatira te mahi, e rite ai te whiwhinga a te ringatuku, me te ringakape ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Keynote address to Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand conference
    Speech to the CAANZ conference - November 19, 2020 Thank you, Greg, (Greg Haddon, MC) for the welcome. I’d like to acknowledge John Cuthbertson from CAANZ, the Commissioner of Inland Revenue Naomi Ferguson, former fellow MP and former Minister of Revenue, Peter Dunne, other guest speakers and CAANZ members. I ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Expert independent advisory group appointed to strengthen the future of Māori broadcasting
    A panel of seven experts are adding their support to help shape the future of Māori broadcasting, Minister for Māori Development Willie Jackson has announced today. “Today I will meet with some of the most experienced Māori broadcasters, commentators and practitioners in the field. They have practical insights on the ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Government to review housing settings
    New Zealand’s stronger-than-expected economic performance has flowed through to housing demand, so the Government will review housing settings to improve access to the market, the Finance Minister Grant Robertson announced today. “Our focus is on improving access to the housing market for first home buyers and ensuring house price growth ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Crown accounts reflect Govt’s careful economic management
    The better-than-expected Crown accounts released today show the Government’s careful management of the COVID-19 health crisis was the right approach to support the economy. As expected, the Crown accounts for the year to June 2020 show the operating balance before gains and losses, or OBEGAL, was in deficit. However that ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Community launch marks next step in addressing racism in education
    The launch of Te Hurihanganui in Porirua today is another important milestone in the work needed to address racism in the education system and improve outcomes for Māori learners and their whānau, Associate Education Minister Kelvin Davis says. Budget 2019 included $42 million over three years to put Te Hurihanganui ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Government to consider recommendations on DNA use in criminal investigations
    The Minister of Justice has received the Law Commission’s recommending changes to the law governing the way DNA is used in criminal investigations. The report, called The Use of DNA in Criminal Investigations – Te Whahamahi I te Ira Tangata I ngā Mātai Taihara, recommends new legislation to address how ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Speech to Wakatū Nelson regional hui on trade
    First, I want to express my thanks to Te Taumata for this hui and for all the fantastic work you are doing for Māori in the trade space. In the short time that you’ve been operating you’ve already contributed an enormous amount to the conversation, and developed impressive networks.  I ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Speech to Primary Industries Summit
    Thank you for the opportunity to speak to you today about the significant contribution the food and fibres sector makes to New Zealand and how this Government is supporting that effort. I’d like to start by acknowledging our co-Chairs, Terry Copeland and Mavis Mullins, my colleague, Agriculture Minister Damien O’Connor, ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Fast track referrals will speed up recovery and boost jobs and home building
    The Government is taking action to increase jobs, speed up the economic recovery and build houses by putting three more projects through its fast track approval process. “It’s great to see that the fast-track consenting process is working. Today we have referred a mix of potential projects that, if approved, ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Papakāinga provides critically needed homes in Hastings
    A papakāinga opened today by the Minister for Māori Development the Hon Willie Jackson will provide whānau with much needed affordable rental homes in Hastings. The four home papakāinga in Waiōhiki is the first project to be completed under the ‘Hastings Place Based’ initiative. This initiative is a Government, Hastings ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • New Zealand ready to host APEC virtually
    Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern took over the leadership of APEC earlier today, when she joined leaders from the 21 APEC economies virtually for the forum’s final 2020 meeting. “We look forward to hosting a fully virtual APEC 2021 next year. While this isn’t an in-person meeting, it will be one ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Revival of Māori Horticulturists
    The rapid revival of Māori horticulture was unmistakeable at this year’s Ahuwhenua Trophy Awards, with 2020 marking the first time this iconic Māori farming event was dedicated to horticulture enterprises. Congratulating finalists at the Awards, Māori Development Minister Willie Jackson said growing large-scale māra kai is part of Māori DNA. ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago