Daily review 10/05/2019

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, May 10th, 2019 - 61 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

 

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

61 comments on “Daily review 10/05/2019”

  1. Milly 1

    The government must declare a climate emergency.

    Today.

    • Milly 1.1

      The Zero Carbon Bill is a pathetic attempt to tackle climate change.

      What is more important?
      Big Ag or our children and grandchildren.

      • Milly 1.1.1

        From Radio New Zealand.

        Time to wake up New Zealand.

        This is NOT normal.

         

        “Temperatures across New Zealand will reach the late teens and early 20s today – that's 5 to 8 degrees above normal.

        Weather commentator Richard Green said that, unusually, it's most the country that's been getting the warm weather.

        He said Napier and Hastings today should be looking at 24-25C – "It really is like late summer."

        • New view 1.1.1.1

          Settle down Milly. Monday will see Hastings with a high of 17c and a low of 3c

          • cleangreen 1.1.1.1.1

            NEW VIEW is 'Climate change denier number one'today 

            • greywarshark 1.1.1.1.1.1

              New View's view seems to be from the ants viewpoint, looking down at one's little patch and concentrating on that; too small a brain to contemplate larger areas extending into space, and larger periods of time extending from millions of past years imperfectly known to lessening future years imperfectly imagined.

    • James 1.2

      dont worry Jacinda said this is our generations nuclear free moment – and this is the year of delivery. 

      So no doubt they have it sorted. 

      • cleangreen 1.2.1

        James said "So no doubt they ( Labour coalition) have it sorted". I feel so secure with your words of assurance; – thanks for making us secure.(sac) smiley

  2. Puckish Rogue 2

    Prisoners will not be getting slushies on my watch (unless by slushie you mean pepper spray…)

  3. Puckish Rogue 3

    https://www.newshub.co.nz/home/politics/2019/05/judith-collins-tells-the-men-in-parliament-to-calm-down.html

    "Everyone just needs to calm down in Parliament. My view is the moment anyone's blood starts to rise, you start to lose the game. I think that the Speaker has shown some interesting, or made some interesting rulings this week, which I think were probably very difficult for many of us to accept, but we had to because those are the rules."

    She said accusing Bridges of making a "barnyard noise" was "pejorative" and would only result in escalating the situation.

    "I just say to the guys, calm down. Just imagine if it was a few women in Parliament whose voices were getting raised, I imagine what they'd be saying to us. So I'm going to say it to them – calm down guys, get onto the business."

    Wise words indeed, the sage words of an experienced hand, dare I say…a leaders words

    • Muttonbird 3.1

      Just highlights the deep, deep division in the National Party right now. That she'd take such a direct public swipe at her own leadership is telling.

      • Stuart Munro. 3.1.1

        I think the division was always there – under Key reportage of it was somehow suppressed.

    • cleangreen 3.2

      Hey Puckish Rouge we always saw David Carter (Nasty National MP speaker of the last parliament always throw any MP (mostly labour/NZF MP's) out for simple words of disagreements.

      Carter was  and still is the most of the nastiest speakers/MP's we have experienced in the last 50 yrs that I can recall.

      Trevor Mallard is a soft touch in comparison.smiley

  4. Cinny 4

    Two days in a row of cardboard boxes on a pallet outside guncity, was two days to many.

    Rang the police.

    No pallets with long cardboard boxes on the footpath outside guncity today, or hopefully any other day in the future.

    • Muttonbird 4.1

      Well done, Cinny. Get the police to look at the gun nuts. We'll all be a little more safe.

      • greywarshark 4.1.1

        Gun nuts, or gumnuts?   They are an Australian icon, embedded in their culture.

        It could be that Australians have become, unwittingly, involved in our travails here of late, simply because of mistakes in spelling or thinking or understanding of words and events!

  5. adam 5

    Remember John Key.



     

  6. Muttonbird 7

    This story describes the Right Wing Nut Job in training.

    Cameron Slater used to whip up a frenzy against cyclists by calling them road maggots and the guy here who deliberately used his vehicle to hit a cyclist is a disciple of that kind of hatred.

    It's the same hatred which fuelled the Christchurch attack. It's a hatred peculiar to right wing people.

    I'm glad right wing people are for once being shown the damage their intolerance of other people does.

    https://i.stuff.co.nz/national/crime/110620819/serves-you-right–reckless-young-drivers-callous-response

  7. Puckish Rogue 8

    https://thespinoff.co.nz/politics/09-05-2019/our-mps-pecuniary-interests-in-10-numbers/

    The number of ‘family homes’ owned by Labour MP Willie Jackson.

     

    To be fair when I started reading this I thought which National MP was it going to be…

    • The most interesting number:

      648: The number of times the words trust or trustee are mentioned in the register.

      • Poission 8.1.1

        648… 6+4+8 =18 +648= 666

        • Macro 8.1.1.1

          devil

          but 6+4+8  666 which is what your statement above says.

          More correctly:

          6 + 4 + 8 = 18

          18 + 648 = 666

          Just my pedantry coming to the fore.

    • cleangreen 8.2

      PR owns 13?

    • patricia bremner 8.3

      Willie,  like a number of my Maori friends have their homes in trusts.  They seldom sell property,  passing it in trust to family.   If it is let it is often to whanau.

  8. Anne 9

    To lighten the load:

    For anyone yet to buy a Mothers Day present here is the perfect gift. 

    https://i.stuff.co.nz/life-style/homed/latest/112446278/purple-washing-machine-negligee-creates-havoc-on-twitter

    Don't miss the twitter responses but suggest you pay a quick trip to the loo first.

  9. Pat 10

    "Three of the largest ports in Europe – Rotterdam, Antwerp and Ghent – are to be used to capture and bury 10m tonnes of CO2 emissions under the North Sea in what will be the biggest project of its kind in the world.

    The ports, which account for one-third of the total greenhouse gas emissions from the Belgium, Netherlands and Luxembourg region, are to be used to pipe the gas into a porous reservoir of sandstone about two miles (3km) below the seabed.

    It is hoped the project could be completed by 2030 but the scale of the storage, in two empty gas fields, is unprecedented and raises questions about how the CO2 will affect the deep subsurface, according to the Dutch government."

     

    https://www.theguardian.com/environment/2019/may/09/empty-north-sea-gas-fields-bury-10m-tonnes-c02-eu-ports

     

    10 million tonnes sounds impressive…until you realise its 0.025 % of one years CO2 emissions and it will take over 10 years to implement….a 1% reduction in aviation would achieve as much.

    • cleangreen 10.1

      Pat
      I watched that article on BBC yesterday and the Man explaining the project said he cant prove success but hopes it will help but warmed that it will only take a fraction of the damage away.

      He said we emit 50 billion tones of CO2 into the air every year so pumping into the atmosphere that much now will be a disaster.

      So at best it will not even stop climate change, but at best may only reverse some small damages done.

      But by the time of 2030 he warned that he has no idea if we will still have ‘any Greenland ice’ by then as if that all melts we will all not survive as he said sea levels will rise 7 meters. and all cities will be inhabitable by then.

  10. Incognito 11

    Oh no! Instagram blocks vaccine hoax hashtags.

    https://www.bbc.com/news/technology-48227377

Leave a Comment

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Safety focus in improved drug driver testing
    Improving the safety of all road users is the focus of a new public consultation document on the issue of drug driver testing. Plans for public consultation on options to improve the drug driver testing process have been announced by ...
    4 days ago
  • Making it easier to get help from Police
    Police Minister Stuart Nash says calling a cop suddenly got a whole lot easier with the launch of a ground-breaking new service for non-emergency calls. “The single non-emergency number ‘ten-five’ is designed to provide better service for the public and ...
    1 week ago
  • More Police deployed to the regions
    Frontline Police numbers have been boosted with today’s deployment of 77 new officers to the regions. Police Minister Stuart Nash today congratulated the recruits of Wing 325 who graduated at a formal ceremony at the Royal New Zealand Police College. ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Taxpayers get a smarter and fairer system
    One of the biggest IT projects ever undertaken in the state sector has successfully passed its latest hurdle with the transition of more than 19.7 million taxpayer accounts from one Inland Revenue computer system to another. Revenue Minister Stuart Nash ...
    3 weeks ago
  • Early insights into use of restricted drugs
    The first nationwide snapshot of the consumption of restricted drugs indicates the prevalence of methamphetamine use in New Zealand, says Police Minister Stuart Nash. “The first quarterly analysis of the nationwide wastewater testing programme reinforces the coalition government’s determination to ...
    3 weeks ago