Daily Review 10/12/2018

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, December 10th, 2018 - 83 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

83 comments on “Daily Review 10/12/2018”

    • BM 1.1

      You have to wonder how much taxpayer money is getting pushed Stuffs way to peddle this bull shit.

      And people try to make out Labour doesn’t do dirty politics.

      • greywarshark 1.1.1

        You two are showing your Right side a bit much and getting sunburned there.
        I think you are suffering from heat exhaustion and need a lie down, perhaps a cup of tea to recover from the bad National news. Be strong, there will be more of this.

        • BM 1.1.1.1

          What bad news? the last neutral poll had National on 46%

          If I was going to make a prediction I’ll be surprised if Cindy makes it to 2020 I think the pressure and grind will get to her and she’ll’ chuck it in.

          I don’t think she’ll even show up for parliament this week, that’s the level of her commitment.

          • Grey Area 1.1.1.1.1

            Delusional yet again. You need to get it through your head – just because you say something doesn’t make it true.

            She is not a flake like John Key – can’t you get that? Or perhaps you do but it’s all shit and giggles as usual.

          • marty mars 1.1.1.1.2

            Yeah no bad news for the gnats LOL it’s all bad news so you and waggy will have to cry into your stouts.

          • Chris 1.1.1.1.3

            Bridges on 6 or whatever it is and the nats in the 40s just shows how damaged our culture really is. The nats are in disarray (for now) but support for what the nats stand for these days is as strong as ever. Selfishness and hateful attitudes became the norm after the 1990s and it’s extremely hard to reverse that stuff. The task has now been left to Ardern and her band of merry people because of course Clark et al in her nine years not only made no effort to fix things but added to the cultural filth she inherited, campaigned to end and then finally adopted as her own. Ardern’s job has become that much harder because of it. Whether she can make a dent remains to be seen, especially given some of the people around her. But I think she’s very capable of being underestimated. And given the extent of the damage inherited by the previous governments from both sides even the slightest bit of progress towards erasing the cultural filth would be no mean feat.

            • Muttonbird 1.1.1.1.3.1

              I can’t see many getting into the polling booth and actually ticking National if Bridges is at the helm. That’s the test. TV polls are just anonymous words on the phone. They don’t require ticking the box with the marker.

              • Chris

                Maybe the result under the current scenario is likely to be how you describe, especially given the nats’ current leadership crisis etc. But the cultural stuff, the cultural damage, until it’s fixed up, will always mean the they won’t be far behind. That’s what keeps them within striking distance even without coalition partners. All they need to come along is a half-interesting leader, its opponent to fall into leadership crisis or some other positive variable and they’re back in the game. Labour won’t have that luxury until NZ becomes a caring and compassionate nation again and will remain on the back foot until that happens.

                • Muttonbird

                  Yes, New Zealand has become such a mean place. Perhaps was always this way but as a child of the middle I wasn’t aware of it. Interesting the the PM was though. She cites the lives of those around her growing up as a big reason for entering politics.

                  I totally believe the foot needs to be kept firmly on the throat of the National Party. They need to be kept in the dungeon for as long as possible because as you say they will eventually come up with an acceptable leader and the base vote of selfish NZ will fall in behind. Another period of division, zero government, and cutbacks will then follow. Communities will be broken and isolated. Those with power will have that power further entrenched. And services will be difficult to access.

                  • Chris

                    And the foot kept on the nats’ throat also gives much needed time to develop the caring society. I sense Ardern knows that, too, and while she’s hampered by those around her, and that cultural change is helped by economic change, it doesn’t necessarily require it. Economic change can follow on. Some would say that a by stealth approach is in fact required.

        • Fireblade 1.1.1.2

          Yep, lots of bad news for the National Party.

          No updates on the Police investigations into the National Party illegal donations, the Young Nat attempted rape or Maggie’s bullying and illegal use of staff resources. Haven’t heard anything about the death threats sent by the female MP either.

          Have the many National Party leakers been silenced for simply telling the truth? It’s very strange. They must have all been paid off to keep quite. National needs the big donations to silence those annoying little people who expose the rot within.

          • Chris 1.1.1.2.1

            Well, all that might change after Jami-Lee’s welcome return to the House next year.

          • Muttonbird 1.1.1.2.2

            Ross will have been paid off I suspect. His speech on Thursday will be a walk-back from the brutally candid revelations a month ago.

            It’ll be all about how he’s found peace (and a big payout from Peter Goodfellow).

            • tc 1.1.1.2.2.1

              That’s how national roll. Money talks, shouts gets what it’s masters want….silence or mea culpa it was all JLR.

            • Chris 1.1.1.2.2.2

              I didn’t see anywhere that Ross was coming back to the House this Thursday. Is that happening?

              • Muttonbird

                I thought he was due to speak on 13 December.

                • veutoviper

                  Back when JLR resigned from National/was thrown out, Mallard as Speaker was said to have assigned him a speaking slot on Thurs, 13 December but nothing formal was ever issued/published on this.

                  This Thursday, 13 December, was set down as the last 2017 sitting day for the House, when the afternoon is taken up with (usually light-hearted) speeches from the leaders of each political party plus any Independent MPs, which is what JLR is now classified as. This is probably what was meant by the rumours of his having been assigned a speaking slot that day.

                  However. JLR advised (on Twitter?) that he would not be back this year on medical advice.

                  In mid-November when setting the House sitting programme for 2019, Parliament also agreed to extend their sitting days in December until Weds next week (19 December) when the House will rise and not resume until 12 Feb 2019, after Waitangi Day etc.

                  JLR apparently quietly slipped into Parliament last week. It has been suggested this was to clean out or move his office.

      • McFlock 1.1.2

        How is it “dirty politics”? Labour didn’t hire a shill to manipulate and abuse people in order for another shill to pick it up and pass it to the MSM.

      • Graeme 1.1.3

        Media are there to sell stuff. They do that by backing winners, like who the most people support. That’s not sigh.moan at 7% and declining. Same goes for Stuff’s position on the future of our planet.

        As for the word cloud, I spent today at a social event with people who would have been around 70% National voters. Stuffs word cloud was a pretty good reflection of opinions about National’s current leader, although today’s sample would have had Muppet quite prominent. But that might have been omitted from the Stuff sample on copyright grounds.

      • swordfish 1.1.4

        UMR’s David Talbot

        It shows that Bridges’ net favourability – the difference between those who have a positive impression and a negative one – was negative 31 per cent, the lowest of any leader since Jenny Shipley, around the time that National was removed from office in 1999 …

        … “That’s just borne out by those [favourability] numbers. We’ve never had, I don’t think, an Opposition leader in such a net negative space,” Talbot said, adding that a string of unsuccessful Labour leaders had not seen such low numbers.

        “We never saw that for [Phil] Goff, we never saw that for [David] Cunliffe, we never saw that for [Andrew] Little.

        “You get a lot of ‘unsures’ and ‘don’t knows’, but not that almost vitriolic stuff that you’ve got there.

        “I’m not having a crack at the guy [Bridges], Talbot said. “I’ve never met him and I don’t know him, but clearly, people are having a sort of quite deep negative emotional reaction to him.”

        One should bear in mind, of course, that these results are from UMR’s Late October 2018 Poll, when we were witnessing Peak Jamie-Lee Ross.

      • swordfish 1.1.5

        BM

        You have to wonder how much taxpayer money is getting pushed Stuffs way to peddle this bull shit.

        And people try to make out Labour doesn’t do dirty politics.

        In fact, UMR have been conducting these Leader-description word clouds for quite some time … and in an entirely objective / robust way.

        For example, in early 2011 – when Key was near his height in popularity – UMR’s word cloud was overwhelmingly positive for him: Charismatic / Honest / Personable / Intelligent were prominent … (so no pro-Labour bias)

        … although by late 2016 the terms assoicated with Key had – like his Favourability ratings – taken a bit of a tumble: Arrogant / Untrustworthy / Smarmy / Liar being paramount.

    • mickysavage 1.2

      The results are sent to corporates and this particular piece of research was not commissioned by the Labour party.

      • bwaghorn 1.2.1

        I hope not . Higher standard and all that.

        • mickysavage 1.2.1.1

          I can tell you that Labour is relishing doing no dirty politics and watching National burn itself to the ground!

      • alwyn 1.2.2

        Of course not. The Labour Party had nothing to do with it and the first Cindy knew about it was when she saw it on TV.
        Now perhaps you will answer this question.
        Why has your nose grown by 3 centimetres Pinocchio?

    • Gabby 1.3

      Where’s ‘slick’ waggers? That’d be my choice but nobody asked.

  1. Ad 2

    Hey Minister Twyford losing two agency CEs in a day is not a good look

    Go kick State Services ass and settle this in January. More fun than DPMC involved where you don’t need them.

    And stay safe: we need you driving for multiple terms

  2. joe90 3

    Best of the webs

    When someone asks me why I’ve deleted all my drunken tweets pic.twitter.com/JeUpw1lEd2— Scouse Ma (@Scouse_ma) December 3, 2018

  3. Fireblade 5

    Simon Bridges urgently demanded that the Police name the leaker.

    The Police told him to fuck off.

    https://www.newshub.co.nz/home/politics/2018/12/exclusive-simon-bridges-urged-top-cop-to-reveal-expenses-leaker-s-identity.html

  4. BM 6

    I’m finding the pack hysteria surrounding the death of the English girl a bit disturbing.

    • Ankerrawshark 6.1

      My god BM that’s an extraordinary thing to say. You are implying that people are feeling exaggerated or uncontrollable feeling about this tragedy.

      Perhaps you have difficulty empathizing. Why other people’s very understandable deep sadness over this is disturbing to you, is IMO disturbing…….

      • joe90 6.1.1

        Yet their was little hysteria about the killing of Ariana Eva Mahu,Te Awhiahua Toko, Chozyn Koroheke, Lynace Parakuka, and Aroha Kerehoma.

        • McFlock 6.1.1.1

          Yeah it’s an interesting one, going back in my mind over the various cases that had massive coverage vs those that got a brief report then nothing.

          BM phrased it in their usual way, and might be approaching it from the opposite direction for all I know, but as a society we do seem more upset when the murdered person is young, pretty, and pale. We should take all the other murders just as seriously, now they barely get a mention.

          • Ankerrawshark 6.1.1.1.1

            Gosh can’t we just allow people the compassionate response they are having.

            • McFlock 6.1.1.1.1.1

              It’s a good response.
              It’s the correct response.
              It’s the response we should have to every murder. And I include myself in that.
              So it’s also a moment of self reflection about how we, including me, regard our fellow residents as well as our visitors.

          • Muttonbird 6.1.1.1.2

            There’s more interest when the victim is a visitor, a guest if you like. The tragedy too has global coverage which NZ media seems to gag for. There’s no global coverage on the death of Maori women.

            Also, young tourists have an innocence applied to them by the right rump of NZ which Maori women simply don’t. As Joe90 has pointed out they see Maori victims as bad buggers themselves and not-so-innocent which is why they are ignored and forgotten.

            • greywarshark 6.1.1.1.2.1

              There’s truth in that Muttonbird. I remember the death of a young Pacific Island woman where the police decided that her morals were lacking and that her death was collateral damage of behaving in an immoral way. (Could have been in the 1990s.)
              So she was downgraded because they thought she was prostituting or having casual outdoor sex, and they came to that conclusion because she was brown and I think from South Auckland Assumptions, and lack of care about looking closely at a violent death; all blase’ and prejudiced.

              There was a journalist who looked into the matter and it was later shown that she had been attacked, and I think had managed to get away and been pursued before being killed.

              There was another nasty attack that nearly was a death about that time.
              A young Pacific Island woman went into Auckland city and then missed the last bus home to South Auckland. She had to walk home, a long way.
              A car drove up behind her and knocked her over, injuring one leg. She managed to get away to a house where she found a gap in the foundations and crawled under there for safety.

              There are a thousand stories in the big city goes a saying, and it sure applies to Auckland, most of them ignored by the ‘comfortable other’ people.

          • patricia bremner 6.1.1.1.3

            She was missing for a week, so it drew attention. The Father arriving created a new level of sadness. Their worst fears were correct. She was a guest.

    • Molly 6.2

      Can you articulate why? Not that I am trying to dismiss your reaction, just wondering if you are able to dissect it?

      • bwaghorn 6.2.1

        I think a lot of it is fake bandwagoning .the media running it hard to get views and clicks .

      • greywarshark 6.2.2

        I was just looking back a few decades and this comment from an overseas visitor with a NZ spouse on how NZ struck him, death-wish came to his mind:

        A ski resort in winter, Whakapapa has a bizarrely posh hotel with interiors circa 1961, a grocery store, a nature centre and some cheap chalets with views across a hundred miles. …We went on a two-hour walk to Taranaki Falls (it took one hour), and slipped behind its thundering curtains. The falls have their dark side. At sunset that evening, two passers-by stopped for a chat. I said how lovely Taranaki was, and one of them, tilting his hat back and creasing up his craggy face, said: ‘Yeah, but did you hear what happened there?’ Pause for effect. ‘Bloke in a wheelchair got pushed off the top by his wife and her lover.’

        The story was complicated, a confusing web of murderous threads involving the adulterous wife having sex (pronounced ‘six’ in New Zealand) in a cupboard. A few days later, we were in the Wairarapa, the heat-racked hills and valleys to the west of Wellington, staying with friends in a white clapboard house a few miles from anywhere….A carpenter called John was there and, like most New Zealanders, he was an affable, down-to-earth sort of bloke. He stopped for a drink. After he’d gone, our hostess sighed and shook her head. ‘Poor John,’ she said. ‘His wife tried to cut his head off with a chain saw.’ Poor John! ‘She’s doing life, of course,’ our hostess added. And it just kind of went on like that: everywhere we went, someone had a weird story, often involving menace and crime.
        https://www.theguardian.com/theobserver/1999/aug/15/life1.lifemagazine2

        We are said to be dour. Was he unlucky or just meeting that 2-3 degrees of separation here head-on and fast because of movement ariund the country and people impressing the visitor with their dramatic tales?

    • Gabby 6.3

      Do you struggle to comprehend other people’s emotions BMmer?

  5. joe90 7

    Petrogarchs united.

    The United States joined a controversial proposal by Saudi Arabia and Russia this weekend to weaken a reference to a key report on the severity of global warming, sharpening battle lines at the global climate summit in Poland aimed at gaining consensus over how to combat rising temperatures.

    Arguments erupted Saturday night before a United Nations working group focused on science and technology, where the United States teamed with Russia, Saudi Arabia and Kuwait to challenge language that would have welcomed the findings of the landmark report, which said that the world has barely 10 years to cut carbon emissions by nearly half to avoid catastrophic warming.

    https://www.washingtonpost.com/politics/trump-administration-resists-global-climate-efforts-at-home-overseas/2018/12/09/b94a9ef0-fa41-11e8-863c-9e2f864d47e7_story.html?

  6. joe90 8

    I wonder if they’re there to correct mistakes.

    Satellite imagery from Google Earth taken on November shows hundreds of Russian main battle tanks at a new military base on the outskirts of the Kamensk-Shakhtinsky.

    The large-scale military base only 18 kilometers away from the border with toward rebel-held territory in eastern Ukraine. Images show hundreds of main battle tank like as T-64 and also T-62M, while a thousand military trucks, artillery systems and tankers are located slightly higher.

    https://defence-blog.com/army/satellite-imagery-shows-hundreds-of-russian-tanks-near-the-border-with-ukraine.html

    • marty mars 8.1

      Not looking very friendly all of that weaponry. Vlad must be getting ready for something…

      • McFlock 8.1.1

        Just some army-surplus cub scouts going to pop over to say “hi”, honest.

      • joe90 8.1.2

        Well, you’d need lots of kit if you were going to take the entire southwestern portion of Kherson Oblast, up to Nova Kakhovka where the canal takes in its water from the Dnipro.

        The weak international response to the Kerch Strait incident might well embolden Putin to take the canal feeding Crimea, as per Illarionov (below). It appears Russian OPE (propaganda and recon) north of Crimea in Kherson/Zaporozhye is getting more intense. https://t.co/q6GCa1KRmP— Michael Carpenter (@mikercarpenter) December 9, 2018

        That would mean taking the entire southwestern portion of Kherson Oblast, up to Nova Kakhovka where the canal takes in its water from the Dnipro. A large-scale military operation, and done under the Russian flag. How would West respond?— Euan MacDonald (@Euan_MacDonald) December 9, 2018

  7. joe90 9

    Seventy four years old, fourth album in fourteen months, and sounding as good as he ever has.

    Van Morrison – The Prophet Speaks – Ain’t Gonna Moan No More

    • swordfish 9.2

      Despite its occasional Hippy excesses, VM’s Astral Weeks must surely be one of the greatest Albums of the last 60 years.

      Interesting Doco on RNZ a few weeks ago, exploring the production of that seminal album … and emphasising that his session musicians exerted a profound influence on the final sound / arrangement. They really didn’t get their due.

      • joe90 9.2.1

        With the likes of .. If I ventured in the slipstream, between the viaducts of your dream/ Where immobile steel rims crack, and the ditch in the back roads stop .. it had to be.

  8. Muttonbird 10

    Leighton Smith’s last day on Friday. What a great day for New Zealand.

    • tc 10.1

      His herald regular column awaits whilst another red neck rant host is lined up.

      • mary_a 10.1.1

        tc (10.1) … Desperate Natz keeping their gobshites in employment, courtesy NZH.

        Then come the 2020 election, Natz is likely to commission NZH to dig up the other putrid corpses of Armstrong and Prebble again, to throw the muck at the coalition, in an attempt to keep Natz alive and kicking.

        Quite sad really!

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Strong first week of firearms buy-back events
    The first full week of the firearms buy-back and amnesty has produced a strong turnout as events roll out nationwide for the first time. “Momentum is slowly starting to build as community collection events are held across the entire country, ...
    2 days ago
  • New digital service to make business easy
    A new digital platform aims to make it easier for small businesses to access services from multiple government agencies, leaving them more time to focus on their own priorities. Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern and Minister for Small Business Stuart Nash ...
    1 week ago
  • Million-dollar start to gun collection events
    Million-dollar start to gun collection events  Police Minister Stuart Nash says a solid start has been made to the gun buyback and amnesty after the first weekend of community collection events. “Gun owners will walk away with more than ...
    1 week ago
  • Praise after first firearms collection event
    Police Minister Stuart Nash has praised Police and gun owners after the first firearms collection event saw a busy turnout at Riccarton Racecourse in Christchurch. “Police officers and staff have put a tremendous effort into planning and logistics for the ...
    1 week ago
  • New Police constables deployed to regions
    Seventy-eight new Police constables are heading out to the regions following today’s graduation of a new recruit wing from the Royal New Zealand Police College. Police Minister Stuart Nash says the record high number of new Police officers being recruited, ...
    2 weeks ago