Daily Review 18/06/2015 #CampbellLives

Written By: - Date published: 6:30 pm, June 18th, 2015 - 53 comments
Categories: open mike - Tags:

murray mccully cowering sheepSlightly redesigned in support of #CampbellLives.

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standarnistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other.

53 comments on “Daily Review 18/06/2015 #CampbellLives”

  1. Clemgeopin 1

    Three Puzzles for you :

    [1] The puzzle writer says this problem can be solved by preschoolers in a few minutes, by programmers and highly educated adults in a few hours !

    Q: What number goes next to 2581?

    http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Guardian/Pix/pictures/2015/6/8/1433773168752/1a8fb32e-b81f-4871-9591-80cf1af22652-300×180.png
    —————————————

    [2] Which animal is the odd one one out and why?

    Pig
    Cow
    Hen
    Sheep

    —————————————

    [3] Pick the odd ones…and why?

    Key

    English

    Joyce

    McCully

    Smith

    Bennett

    Bridges

    Guy

    Barry

    Woodhouse

    Collins

    Goldsmith

    —————————————-

    • mickysavage 1.1

      [3] Goldsmith because he has not made a pillock of himself lately?

    • Bill 1.2

      4 (took about 10 secs, so probably wrong)

      Hen because…bird…wasn’t in ‘Animal farm’ (i think)…2 legs, not 4 (unrelated to animal farm)… etc.

      They’re all bloody odd – and that’s only on a very kind take.

      edit – 2581 = 2.

    • Clemgeopin 1.3

      Keep trying your answers. In a way, no answers are always wrong!

      I will give my take on them sometime later in the night…..or tomorrow sometime.

    • Charles 1.4

      1) 7
      2) Hen – be two legs (oooh also be only gender specific animal)
      3) They’re all odd, and all were picked. Why? That’s what I keep asking myself.

    • Anne 1.5

      Okay
      1. God only knows.
      2 Hen because it’s a bird with feathers.
      3.English, McCully and Smith were part of the 1990s brat pack. The others didn’t become MPs until after 2000?

    • adam 1.6

      3
      sheep – because of the 70% mortality rate
      Joyce because he was Mr fix it, and if this is how it fixed it – I think I prefer it broken.

    • the pigman 1.7

      The hen is the only one that isn’t a mammal, I think that’s the most straightforward explanation.

      Goldsmith and Woodhouse are the only ones who have never won an electorate seat? There must be a million answers to 3 though.

      Can’t be bothered with 1, I’ll leave that to the preschoolers.

      Gosman?

    • weka 1.8

      1. 2

      2. hen (only one to lay eggs, or the other reasons already listed)

      3. Bennet, Barry, Woodhouse, Goldsmith don’t have a current scandal hanging over them, all the others do.

      3. Guy, Smith, and Goldsmith are the only ones not mentioned in DIrty Politics.

      • the pigman 1.8.1

        Goldsmith comes up in DP pretty prominently IIRC.

        I will check the index when I get home.

        Edit: If not, he was at least mentioned clearly in one of the raw shark pastebin convos. I recall WO/Lusk/Bhatnagar scheming re: JLR in and various distasteful remarks about other National candidates, of which one was dying (not GS). My recollection is that some choice words were said about Goldsmith.

        • weka 1.8.1.1

          My list came from searching a digital copy of DP. Just checked again, the only Goldsmith is Zac Goldsmith.

    • Clemgeopin 1.9

      Here are the answers:

      [1]
      Q: What number goes next to 2581?
      http://static.guim.co.uk/sys-images/Guardian/Pix/pictures/2015/6/8/1433773168752/1a8fb32e-b81f-4871-9591-80cf1af22652-300×180.png

      A : Simply count the shapes of zeros in each number.
      For example, 8=2, 88=4, 886=5, 3331=0, 9532=1

      So, 2581=2
      Well done Bill and Weka!
      —————————————
      [2] Q: Which animal is the odd one one out and why?
      Pig, Cow, Hen, Sheep

      A : There is no one correct answer because, as the author says, these kinds of questions are subjective and restrict ‘creativity’. Different answers are possible for different reasons.

      You can see his answer here:
      http://www.theguardian.com/science/video/2015/jun/08/alex-bellos-puzzle-solution-hong-kong-six-year-olds
      ——————————————
      [3] Q: Pick the odd ones…and why?

      Key, English, Joyce, McCully, Smith, Bennett, Bridges, Guy, Barry, Woodhouse, Collins, Goldsmith

      A : There is only ONE answer to this question: They are all odd!
      Odd for various reasons, such as being dodgy, crooked, lying, bullshitting, poorly behaved, useless and being shockingly inefficient.

      However, if you are looking for a mathematical reason, count the number of letters in each of their names :
      3, 7, 5, 7, 5, 7, 7, 3, 5, 9, 7 and 9.
      Amazingly and quite uncannily, each one is an odd number. Yep, odd people, alright!

      ————————————-
      Here is a bonus puzzle:

      KING=1
      LANGE=1
      PHIL=1
      ANDREW=2
      DAVID=2
      GRANT=2
      SAVAGE=2

      KEY=?

      • ianmac 1.9.1

        Key=1

        • Clemgeopin 1.9.1.1

          Why?…Your reasoning would be good to read.

        • Anne 1.9.1.2

          King =1
          Lange =1
          Phil =1
          Andrew/drew =2
          David/avid =2
          Grant/ant =2
          Savage/age =2

          Key = 1

          • Clemgeopin 1.9.1.2.1

            Interesting that you have the same answer as Bill. Why? What logic did you use?

            • Anne 1.9.1.2.1.1

              Andrew, David, Grant and Savage all end in letters spelling an actual word – drew/avid/ant and age. Hence =2. King, Lange, Phil and Key don’t. Hence =1.

              I have no idea if that was ianmac’s reasoning.

              • Clemgeopin

                Wow! That is brilliant and works so well!
                Even better than my own made up ‘preschool type’ of criteria which gives the result for KEY as 0 !

                My criteria was this:
                Count the number of letters that have a curve in it.

                KING=1 [G]
                LANGE=1 [G]
                PHIL=1 [P]

                ANDREW=2 [D and R]
                DAVID=2 [D and D]
                GRANT=2 [G and R]
                SAVAGE=2 [S and G]

                Therefore, KEY=0 [No letters with a curve]
                (though he has often shown himself to be a big spinning curve ball and not quite straight up, of course!)

                Thanks and cheers, Anne.

          • Clemgeopin 1.9.1.2.2

            Whoops, the same answer as inamac for this question.

        • Clemgeopin 1.9.1.3

          I would like to know your reasoning /logic to get the answer for Key as 1

          My own made up criteria which gives the result for KEY as 0 !

          My preschool type of criteria was this:
          Count the number of letters that have a curve in it.

          KING=1 [G]
          LANGE=1 [G]
          PHIL=1 [P]

          ANDREW=2 [D and R]
          DAVID=2 [D and D]
          GRANT=2 [G and R]
          SAVAGE=2 [S and G]

          Therefore, KEY=0 [No letters with a curve]
          (though he has often shown himself to be a big spinning curve ball and quite not straight up, of course!)

          Thanks and cheers, Ian!

      • Bill 1.9.2

        Well, I was counting features of the numbers…just not the zeros contained in them, but I’ll take a chocolate fluke? 😉

        • Clemgeopin 1.9.2.1

          That is interesting, Bill.

          I am not sure what you mean by counting ‘features’.

          For example,
          8096=5
          What features did you count?

          • Bill 1.9.2.1.1

            Heh, well…in the first instance I got 4 because I didn’t realise there was a table through the link. In that instance (2581) each number was 3 above the other assuming that numbers ran 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,0,1,2,3…

            Then I clicked the link and quickly scanned only a couple of the examples…too fast!…and thought the results were merely the total of odd numbers, hence 2 for 2581.

            Then I looked properly and realised that odd numbers had nothing to do with it and that I had no fcking idea what the pattern or key might be. 🙂

            • Clemgeopin 1.9.2.1.1.1

              I like your thinking !
              Nevertheless, you got the answer right!
              As Key, the foreign money changing TPP Puller would say, awktully, at the end of the day, you got it right! Thanks and Cheers!

    • tracey 1.10

      2582

      • Clemgeopin 1.10.1

        OK, correct…Sort of! That could be the number that follows!

        Dr Watson, (the Smart Dicky Watson), would solve it the same simple way, I presume!

        I am sure you have seen the joke that follows below:

        ———–

        Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson decide to go on a camping trip. After dinner and a bottle of wine, they lay down for the night, and go to sleep.

        Some hours later, Holmes awoke and nudged his faithful friend.

        “Watson, look up at the sky and tell me what you see.”

        Watson replied, “I see millions of stars.”

        “What does that tell you?”

        Watson pondered for a minute.

        “Astronomically, it tells me that there are millions of galaxies and potentially billions of planets.”
        “Astrologically, I observe that Saturn is in Leo.”
        “Horologically, I deduce that the time is approximately a quarter past three.”
        “Theologically, I can see that God is all powerful and that we are small and insignificant.”
        “Meteorologically, I suspect that we will have a beautiful day tomorrow.”
        “What does it tell you, Holmes?”

        Holmes was silent for a minute, then spoke: “Watson, you witnit! Someone has stolen our tent, bro!”

        ——————–

  2. mickysavage 2

    Spil, spil, spil, spil …

    Apparently the Conservative Party executive is going to vote on replacing Colin Craig tomorrow. Pretty brave really as he is their moneybags although they have another significant donor. I wonder if he will call up his loans if he loses, presuming he has lent money to the party.

  3. Draco T Bastard 3

    The benevolent firm introduced new work hours for summer interns…
    Because why?

    Wall Street’s shift to caring capitalism comes in the wake of the death of a 21-year-old Bank of America Merrill Lynch intern who had regularly pulled all-nighters in a desperate bid to impress his bosses.

    Oh, that’s right, their previous practices were killing people.

    Seems we still haven’t learned anything over the last few centuries of working people to death to enrich somebody else.

    • Charles 3.1

      I still havent worked out what all the hurry is about. Dead is dead everyone gets it in the end.

    • tracey 3.2

      Someone told me recently that some US firms “employ” interns for 2 years now. By employ they mean work for no pay for the experience and the possibility of a full time job at the end…

  4. weka 4

    Russell Norman tweeted this chart today about the increase in NZ’s total coal consumption over the past 5 years (due mostly to farming etc and industry). That’s interesting, but also interesting is to see the huge decrease in the past 25 years in residential use. I assume that coincides with regional councils cleaning up air pollution, the introduction of better solid fuel burners and the shift to heatpumps. I find that interesting because it demonstrates that change is possible. It also suggests that were the will there, it could happen in other sectors too.

    • Colonial Rawshark 4.1

      Change is possible not because people are using less energy, but because people have gone to heat pumps.

  5. Weepus beard 5

    Dairy prices down. GDP down. Current account deficit up. Ministries spending up large. Growth down and growth forecast figures slashed.

    All Labour’s fault, I suppose…

    • tracey 5.1

      http://renegadeinc.com/try-as-he-may-the-chancellor-cannot-eliminate-the-deficit-by-ann-pettifor/

      “While you and I can cut our overdrafts by cutting our spending, or by increasing our income – the all-mighty Chancellor cannot do the same. The public sector deficit is not dependent on his actions, or the government’s policies. It is dependent on economic activity in the economy as a whole. If the economic ‘cake’ (that is employment) shrinks, the government deficit will rise. As the ‘cake’ expands, the government deficit will fall.

      The OBR puts it well:

      The budget deficit is an outcome – of decisions made by both the private and public sectors to expand or contract activity; of the levels of both public and private employment; of the amount collected in tax revenues…”

  6. Weepus beard 6

    I don’t know if it is just me but I cannot think of a worse place, other than Antarctica, for sheep farming than dry, barren, 21st century Saudi Arabia.

  7. Ovid 7

    The pope’s encyclical, Laudato Si, has now been released. In it he writes:

    Politics must not be subject to the economy, nor should the economy be subject to the dictates of an efficiency-driven paradigm of technocracy. Today, in view of the common good, there is urgent need for politics and economics to enter into a frank dialogue in the service of life, especially human life. Saving banks at any cost, making the public pay the price, foregoing a firm commitment to reviewing and reforming the entire system, only reaffirms the absolute power of a financial system, a power which has no future and will only give rise to new crises after a slow, costly and only apparent recovery. The financial crisis of 2007-08 provided an opportunity to develop a new economy, more attentive to ethical principles, and new ways of regulating speculative financial practices and virtual wealth. But the response to the crisis did not include rethinking the outdated criteria which continue to rule the world.

    That’s something I can get behind.

    • Draco T Bastard 7.1

      The more I hear from this pope the more I like him. He seems to be somebody grounded in reality.

      • weka 7.1.1

        I’ve started retweeting the Pope, which is not something I would have ever predicted.

      • TheContrarian 7.1.2

        “He seems to be somebody grounded in reality.”

        If it weren’t for his belief in a sky-daddy who watches, and judges you, for engaging in sexual activity with yourself you’d be right.

    • tracey 7.2

      So, the gold leaf off the roof of the alcove of the vatican is being peeled off and shared with the poor? The vaults are being opened to cleanse and shine the light once and for all, the Vatican of its sins and its wealth fairly re-distriubuted. Or does he just mean the rest of us?

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Swiss tax agreement tightens net
    Opportunities to dodge tax are shrinking with the completion of a new tax agreement with Switzerland, Revenue Minister Stuart Nash announced today. Mr Nash and the Swiss Ambassador David Vogelsanger have today signed documents to update the double tax agreement (DTA). The previous DTA was signed in 1980. “Double tax ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Maintaining momentum for small business innovation
    Small Business Minister Stuart Nash says the report of the Small Business Council will help maintain the momentum for innovation and improvements in the sector. Mr Nash has thanked the members of the Small Business Council (SBC) who this week handed over their report, Empowering small businesses to aspire, succeed ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Seventy-eight new Police constables
    Extra Police officers are being deployed from Northland to Southland with the graduation of a new wing of recruits from the Royal New Zealand Police College. “The graduation of 78 constables today means that 1524 new constables have been deployed since the government took office,” says Police Minister Stuart Nash. ...
    3 weeks ago
  • Tax refund season ends near $600 million
    Almost $600 million has been paid into taxpayers’ bank accounts in the past two months, after the first season of automatic tax assessments. Revenue Minister Stuart Nash says the completion of this year’s tax refund season is a significant milestone. “The ability of Inland Revenue to run auto calculations for ...
    3 weeks ago