web analytics

Daily review 21/10/2022

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, October 21st, 2022 - 63 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

63 comments on “Daily review 21/10/2022 ”

  1. Anne 1

    Love this:

  2. Cricklewood 2

    So NCEA results on reading writing and math are crashing… in my opinion this is directly attributable to Covid lockdowns although no one seems to talk about it.

    I was lucky my wife and I had the means to have a good internet connection enough devices for my wife and our daughter and even then it was tough just through lack of space.

    Both my wife and I had colleagues that had 2-3 children that really struggled they basically had to ration time in 'class' through lack of devices.

    Worse through my wifes work, dealing with families in desperate need, we got a real understanding that it was impossible. Both parents 'essential' having to go into work to keep a roof provide food… their children fell behind in a huge way… how can they afford 2 or 3 devices and the internet connection to match plus provide the help and supervision….

    Talk about a slow moving disaster….

    • Anne 2.1

      Yes. It has had a huge impact on school children and students generally. And its going to take a long time to redress the situation.

      But lest we forget:

      we were in the first throes of a worldwide pandemic. We had no vaccines… no nothing to fight the virus other than isolationist policies and mask wearing. It took 12 plus months to get the country into a position where Covid could be managed and to ensure a minimum of death and economic destruction.

      Many NZers have incredibly short memories. Too many have already forgotten how much we owe this government for saving the lives of so many of our mums, dads, grandparents, aunts, uncles, friends and indeed children. Rather sad.

    • Nic the NZer 2.2

      Really, ours weakest areas all improved dramatically due to the extra attention to the subjects.

    • X Socialist 2.3

      For me the problem more stems from our education system focusing too much on environmental and cultural topics, and inadequate time on basics. The first move to remedy this situation should be streaming. But they are currently removing the last vestiges of streaming from our education system.

      The pathetic quality of teachers is another problem. My grandchild's tattooed teacher is current up on charges for assaulting a police officer. She had previously told me she loved the open plan classrooms as it allowed he to wander into the adjoining class to have coffee and a break. I thought the staff room was the place teachers went to have refreshments?

      • Nic the NZer 2.3.1

        Sampling error, all the high quality teachers use the staff room.

        • Incognito 2.3.1.1

          From a fairly limited sample, admittedly, I’d say that ≥ 95% of NZ teachers have a tattoo, somewhere. There’s only a weak correlation between teacher performance and inked skin area.

        • X Socialist 2.3.1.2

          Your facetiousness is duly noted. Not all teachers using the staff room are high quality. But I bet most teachers who dawdle into an adjoining classroom to have a cuppa during class time are piss poor educators. Maybe that's one reason why open plan classes are under review? There's much more I could say about my case and why open plan classroom where implemented into our education system. However, such candour would have me moderated faster than you could say ''Aotearoa grows dumber by the year.''

          • Incognito 2.3.1.2.1

            So many cheap and lazy stereotypes in such short space of time. You must have enjoyed excellent education once upon a time.

      • Cricklewood 2.3.2

        From my experience it's more down to individual teachers rather than the system per say, but at school age a missed year is absolutely massive developmentally especially for those that do best in person or with practical teaching in person.

        • X Socialist 2.3.2.1

          My comments aren't meant to negate the undoubted affects Covid had on education. I said at the time the hardest thing regarding Covid and education would be getting kids back to school. That has been proven the case with many kids who pre Covid had poor school attendance records. Covid gave them the means and excuse to go completely off the grid.

          • Cricklewood 2.3.2.1.1

            I dont agree when it come to means and excuse… schools a habit once broken it's very hard to recover from. You're correct in that kids with poor attendance pre covid dissapeared completely but covid sent a whole lot more kids into that group and a heap more through no fault of their ownand in got left behind. Current NCEA results back that up.

            • X Socialist 2.3.2.1.1.1

              It's not good however you look at the situation. Do you expect improvements under National? Or will it be more of the same?

              • Cricklewood

                No I don't… it needs massive investment all the way through the system, Nats wont do that.

        • Muttonbird 2.3.2.2

          All the best teachers are poached by private schools which are now advertising for 2029 enrolments.

          Work it out.

          • Peter 2.3.2.2.1

            Work it out? Does 'working it out' include working out how it is worked out who the 'best teachers' are?

            • Muttonbird 2.3.2.2.1.1

              From my experience, one thing which has a huge effect is teacher movement rather than teacher quality.

              This is amplified in a market where private schools are free to raid state schools for the best performers. The movement and the loss felt by state schools affects student performance.

              It is yet another example of how the rich get richer and the poor get poorer.

          • Cricklewood 2.3.2.2.2

            Just had a quick look…the teachers that for my daughter and from my perspective were fantastic at are still at the same public schools.

            • Muttonbird 2.3.2.2.2.1

              Good for you! What are you complaining about then?

              • Cricklewood

                Sadly they were in the minority and that's probably where you are right. But there are some great teachers in the public system just wanted to point that out I guess.

          • Jack 2.3.2.2.3

            That’s because the private schools have the freedom.

            So the good teachers have a choice. Move and be rewarded for their skills. Or stay in the public system for the love of the job but accept they get the same pay and conditions as the completely hopeless ones.

            • Muttonbird 2.3.2.2.3.1

              Thanks for that.

              What is your point?

              • Incognito

                I think Jack’s point is that hopeless teachers & staff stay stuck in the slimy sewers of public schools and that the best and only the best rise to luminous and lofty heights of private schools. Metaphorically speaking.

                • Muttonbird

                  I'm trying to get Jack to comment on his vision. It must be for all schools to "have the money freedom" to poach good teachers from other schools.

                  The described environment is David Seymour's wet dream. Education vouchers distributed to parents as soon as a child is produced.

                  Then it's a game of Rob the Nest, with real life children involved!

      • Peter 2.3.3

        You know enough of the specific day to day workings of your local schools, in their classrooms, to be able to stay they focus too much on environmental and cultural topics, and inadequate time on basics?

        • Cricklewood 2.3.3.1

          In hindsight yes, to a degree anyway. Actually think that was also down to the confidence of the teachers especially with subjects like maths.

          Also think some moving away wrote learning for things like basic maths was mistake and that's a governance issue. To be fair I didnt realize that myself until lockdown and having the ability to sit in class with daughter. Not knowing by memory the answer to say 7*9 slows down working through more complex equations by quite alot. Hurts in timed exams.

      • GaynorChapman 2.3.4

        Unfortunately , focusing on the basics will not fix the problem since the teaching of the basics has been thoroughly corrupted by many destructive philosophies in education.

        For rigorous reading scientists,the evidence that the sound pathway is used in reading is as conclusive as research on complex human behaviour can get. Yet less than 20% of new entrants in NZ are taught to read using phonics early ,thoroughly, systematically and explicitly which is what is needed for the pathway in the brain to be established for at least 60% of children . This teaching is structured literacy.The token phonic readers introduced recently by the MoE combined with predictable readers could do more harm than good since for many children they are incompatible reading systems and It can cause them to become overwhelmed.

        Failure to have children learn their tables by rote assures the child is disadvantaged in arithmetic. The numeracy project adds more destruction with its failing experimental approaches to basic arithmetic manipulations, instead of using time tested methods as Asian countries do .NZ is now right at the bottom on international achievement tests.

        The horrible philosophies cooked up in academia and promoted by MoE has produced all this stupidity and failure . Don't blame classroom teachers for this ..

    • Muttonbird 2.4

      The both parents working scenario is not peculiar to the pandemic. This idea has been central to the neoliberal cause for many years.

      Every adult must work to achieve the growth required to support the high castle. This means kids which in generations gone by would have had some parent support at home no longer have any.

      Now, we pay one parent for a few months of work to rear the child and call it job done!

      • Cricklewood 2.4.1

        Once schools were closed there was nothing left to paper over the cracks wrought by Neoliberalism.

    • Shanreagh 2.5

      So NCEA results on reading writing and math

      As they say, 'this grinds my gears'

      math instead of maths.

      I always wonder about the focus when people use Americanisms when they are in a different country. I wonder about the point of view……

      After every disaster there have been affects on those who can least afford it……children having to leave school during the depression to help bring food to the table, people who were little more than children going to fight in various wars, children who never had the support of a father because he had been killed during WW2.

      I know that we had to educate via device and that this meant some lost years of their education, though it is simplistic to throw the blame on the 'Gummint' for everything. There are some who will make up, some that won't.

      I think we will have to be clear eyed about this and have a realistic safety net for those who may not have achieved, cannot achieve. This could be with second chance education, and adequate access to suitable housing and benefits and supplementary payments. Fair wages etc.

  3. Jack 3

    Main criticism of Truss seems to be she never admitted when she was wrong and never listened to advice.

    Sounds amazingly familiar to 2022 NZ.

    • AB 3.1

      Absolutely – it's amazingly similar to Luxon in New Zealand in 2022. Because he:

      • still believes the 40 year old neoliberal fantasy that tax cuts favouring the rich produce economic growth rather than just asset price inflation
      • is a craven disciple of the same mad, libertarian, privately-funded, right-wing think-tanks (such as the IEA) as Truss – and which celebrated her mini-budget as essentially their own creation implanted into her mind
      • won't accept or admit that when it comes to economic matters he is consistently wrong-headed, won't listen to advice and mistakenly thinks he is some sort of incisive genius
      • has only one tool in the toolbox – tax cuts for the big end of town
      • like Truss, can barely form a sentence that has any meaningful content – rather than slogans raided from a tatty 1980''s neoliberal rucksack he picked up somewhere along the way

      I said to a family member earlier today – "how long before the RW media start inverting reality and compare Truss to Ardern?" Little did I know that someone called 'Jack on the Standard would be leading the pack on this distortion. Well done mate!

      • Jack 3.1.1

        I suspect the reason you were already discussing it this afternoon is because you too could see the obvious comparisons. Well done.

    • mary_a 3.2

      "sounds amazingly familiar to 2022 NZ"…

      In what respect @ Jack (3)?

  4. joe90 4

    The wheelbarrow.

    • Cricklewood 4.1

      Good odds on the stoats… although a Yorkshirmans trousers stuffed with ferrets would definitely be better.
      Compo for pm?

    • AB 4.2

      It has to be someone who doesn't care that they will probably lose and so never get another shot. Or someone who is deluded enough to think they can win. That means a masochist or a lunatic. Tories prefer to inflict pain rather than receive it (cue Uffindell) which means masochists will be short on the ground.

      • Cricklewood 4.2.1

        I dunno wouldnt surpise me at all if a more than a few of Tories liked to be on the receiving end behind closed doors.

      • joe90 4.2.2

        I reckon Johnson will be in the running. Apparently he fancies himself to be another Churchill so he'd be keen on emulating him with a come-back term.

  5. pat 5

    "The energy strategy follows a recommendation from the Climate Change Commission. It will be developed over the next two years, with the final strategy due in December 2024."

    https://www.interest.co.nz/public-policy/118118/energy-and-resources-minister-megan%C2%A0woods-unveils-terms-reference-energy

    What have they been doing for the past 5 plus years?

    • Poission 5.1

      What have they been doing for the past 5 plus years?

      Planning for change with a zero discount rate,now the reality of real interest rates (the post gfc low or negative central bank rates were an anomaly)

      The reality now is it will cost a lot of money,with an appreciating interest burden and a Government that has a high current account burden,and budget deficit which will worsen,munting the export sector will not lessen the economic emergency.

      The options they were exploring was for more overseas investment into generation,but that was effectively just a transfer of profits,and interest rates offshore increasing the current account deficit.

      There are big differences in the aspirational goals of 100% renewable electricity by 2030 and the engineering and economic reality.

      Its a bit like the high speed rail problem.

      • pat 5.1.1

        It would appear that they havnt even reached the point of determining viability of anything irrespective of funding costs….all they appear capable of is announcing reports and aspirations….and then re-announcing the revised reports and aspirations…ad infinitum.

  6. joe90 6

    Life imitating art.

  7. weka 7

    anyone know what happens if none of the tory leader candidates get the 100 votes needed to be PM?

    • Anne 7.1

      It won't be allowed to happen. If it looked dicey, a deal would be done behind closed doors and the losing candidate would be 'compensated' either by way of a rapid promotion or their personal finances would take a rapid turn for the better.

      Getting paid off under the table is normal practice among the Tory political elite – and their equivalents elsewhere.

  8. Grey Area 8

    The NZ Herald and RNZ report that Charles Windsor may visit our shores (at our expense I'm sure). Do we get a vote to tell the parasite to fuck off?

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Advancing our relationship in India
    Foreign Minister Nanaia Mahuta departs for India tomorrow as she continues to reconnect Aotearoa New Zealand to the world.  The visit will begin in New Delhi where the Foreign Minister will meet with the Vice President Hon Jagdeep Dhankar and her Indian Government counterparts, External Affairs Minister S. Jaishankar and ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 days ago
  • Government Northland housing investment to spark transformational change
    Over $10 million infrastructure funding to unlock housing in Whangārei The purchase of a 3.279 hectare site in Kerikeri to enable 56 new homes Northland becomes eligible for $100 million scheme for affordable rentals Multiple Northland communities will benefit from multiple Government housing investments, delivering thousands of new homes for ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 days ago
  • Battle of Ohaeawai remembered
    A memorial event at a key battle site in the New Zealand land wars is an important event to mark the progress in relations between Māori and the Crown as we head towards Waitangi Day, Minister for Te Arawhiti Kelvin Davis said. The Battle of Ohaeawai in June 1845 saw ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    4 days ago
  • More Police deployed to the frontline
    More Police officers are being deployed to the frontline with the graduation of 54 new constables from the Royal New Zealand Police College today. The graduation ceremony for Recruit Wing 362 at Te Rauparaha Arena in Porirua was the first official event for Stuart Nash since his reappointment as Police ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    4 days ago
  • Further support for upper North Island regions hit by significant weather
    The Government is unlocking an additional $700,000 in support for regions that have been badly hit by the recent flooding and storm damage in the upper North Island. “We’re supporting the response and recovery of Auckland, Waikato, Coromandel, Northland, and Bay of Plenty regions, through activating Enhanced Taskforce Green to ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    5 days ago
  • The Princess Royal to visit New Zealand
    Prime Minister Chris Hipkins has welcomed the announcement that Her Royal Highness The Princess Royal, Princess Anne, will visit New Zealand this month. “Princess Anne is travelling to Aotearoa at the request of the NZ Army’s Royal New Zealand Corps of Signals, of which she is Colonel in Chief, to ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    5 days ago
  • Government and horticulture sector target $12b in exports by 2035
    A new Government and industry strategy launched today has its sights on growing the value of New Zealand’s horticultural production to $12 billion by 2035, Agriculture Minister Damien O’Connor said. “Our food and fibre exports are vital to New Zealand’s economic security. We’re focussed on long-term strategies that build on ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    5 days ago
  • Cost of living support extended for families and businesses
    25 cents per litre petrol excise duty cut extended to 30 June 2023 – reducing an average 60 litre tank of petrol by $17.25 Road User Charge discount will be re-introduced and continue through until 30 June Half price public transport fares extended to the end of June 2023 saving ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    6 days ago
  • More Kiwis in work as rising wages match inflation
    The strong economy has attracted more people into the workforce, with a record number of New Zealanders in paid work and wages rising to help with cost of living pressures. “The Government’s economic plan is delivering on more better-paid jobs, growing wages and creating more opportunities for more New Zealanders,” ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    6 days ago
  • Government boosts fund for Auckland flooding
    The Government is providing a further $1 million to the Mayoral Relief Fund to help communities in Auckland following flooding, Minister for Emergency Management Kieran McAnulty announced today. “Cabinet today agreed that, given the severity of the event, a further $1 million contribution be made. Cabinet wishes to be proactive ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    6 days ago
  • New Cabinet focused on bread and butter issues
    The new Cabinet will be focused on core bread and butter issues like the cost of living, education, health, housing and keeping communities and businesses safe, Prime Minister Chris Hipkins has announced. “We need a greater focus on what’s in front of New Zealanders right now. The new Cabinet line ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    6 days ago
  • Prime Minister to meet with PM Albanese
    Prime Minister Chris Hipkins will travel to Canberra next week for an in person meeting with Australian Prime Minister, Anthony Albanese. “The trans-Tasman relationship is New Zealand’s closest and most important, and it was crucial to me that my first overseas trip as Prime Minister was to Australia,” Chris Hipkins ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    6 days ago
  • Government makes first payment to Auckland Flooding fund
    The Government is providing establishment funding of $100,000 to the Mayoral Relief Fund to help communities in Auckland following flooding, Minister for Emergency Management Kieran McAnulty announced. “We moved quickly to make available this funding to support Aucklanders while the full extent of the damage is being assessed,” Kieran McAnulty ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Government steps up to assist Auckland during flooding
    As the Mayor of Auckland has announced a state of emergency, the Government, through NEMA, is able to step up support for those affected by flooding in Auckland. “I’d urge people to follow the advice of authorities and check Auckland Emergency Management for the latest information. As always, the Government ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Poroporoaki: Titewhai Te Huia Hinewhare Harawira
    Ka papā te whatitiri, Hikohiko ana te uira, wāhi rua mai ana rā runga mai o Huruiki maunga Kua hinga te māreikura o te Nota, a Titewhai Harawira Nā reira, e te kahurangi, takoto, e moe Ka mōwai koa a Whakapara, kua uhia te Tai Tokerau e te kapua pōuri ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Enhanced Task Force Green Approved following Cyclone Hale
    Carmel Sepuloni, Minister for Social Development and Employment, has activated Enhanced Taskforce Green (ETFG) in response to flooding and damaged caused by Cyclone Hale in the Tairāwhiti region. Up to $500,000 will be made available to employ job seekers to support the clean-up. We are still investigating whether other parts ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • General Election to be held on 14 October 2023
    The 2023 General Election will be held on Saturday 14 October 2023, Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern announced today. “Announcing the election date early in the year provides New Zealanders with certainty and has become the practice of this Government and the previous one, and I believe is best practice,” Jacinda ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern announces resignation
    Jacinda Ardern has announced she will step down as Prime Minister and Leader of the Labour Party. Her resignation will take effect on the appointment of a new Prime Minister. A caucus vote to elect a new Party Leader will occur in 3 days’ time on Sunday the 22nd of ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago