Daily Review 22/01/2019

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, January 22nd, 2019 - 80 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

80 comments on “Daily Review 22/01/2019”

  1. I see that jonkey and Richie McCaw are guests on Seven Sharp this evening. Good reason not to watch.

  2. Dennis Frank 2

    3News led with an interview with JLR, in which he replied to Tova O’Brien’s asking him if he’s a narcissist by saying his psychiatrist told him he is not. They don’t seem to have it up on Newshub yet. He’s been found well enough to return to parliament.

    • Chris T 2.1

      Up until fairly recently he used to be paid to lie and manipulate on behalf of the biggest and highest funded party in the country, for a living.

      I wouldn’t be putting a huge amount of faith in his honesty

      • Dennis Frank 2.1.1

        Yeah, but lying about what his psychiatrist said would be way too risky for him. All it would take to destroy his credibility would be for the psychiatrist to tell the media the truth. His demeanour in the interview was polite & friendly. He seems in good shape.

        • Chris T 2.1.1.1

          A psychiatrist who leaked info on a patient tends to never work as a psychiatrist again

          • Dennis Frank 2.1.1.1.1

            Yes, good point. An interesting situation, then. Real cool, these ethical dilemmas… 🤣

      • Gabby 2.1.2

        He’s not in parliament to be honest christy, what are you on.

        • Chris T 2.1.2.1

          He is in parliament still

          And nothing, unless you’re denying he was their chef spin doctor, which would basically mean you calling him a liar

      • greywarshark 2.1.3

        But JLR is probably a very nice person when you get to know him. /sarc

  3. Fireblade 3

    Jami-Lee Ross has written a rather long statement.

    https://m.facebook.com/671185716364183/posts/1251258188356930/

    • Chris T 3.1

      Far out man

      Talk about a self obsessed, tedious, load of blahh.

      Was he going for the record for most paragraphs you can write that start with the word “I”?

    • Dennis Frank 3.2

      Thanks, very interesting. I’m only half-way thro but this is significant: ” I was in his leadership team and I was one of about half a dozen that saw the full polling we were doing each week – the detailed polling report that the rest of the Caucus isn’t allowed to see.”

      I wasn’t aware that the Nat leadership routinely keeps Farrar’s polling details secret from the Nat caucus. I doubt if anyone outside their caucus was apart from Farrar. And what about those inside?? A caucus divide between the privileged and the serfs, huh? 😎

  4. What the hell, it is misogyny day in the NZ media or something?

    Roastbusters on Newshub, JLR on 3 News, John Key on Seven Sharp.

    This is why I hate TV

  5. Ad 5

    Sorry Federer got pushed out of the Australian Open so fast.

    Hope he gets to retire to the Masters series gracefully, soon.

    • tc 5.1

      Yup the 4 greats are all about to bow out. Murray’s gone already, Rogers close, Rafael and Novak are no spring chooks.

      Men’s tennis will miss those warriors, they’ve been great for the game going head to head over the years.

  6. Anne 6

    I mentioned this case on yesterday’s Daily Review.

    The Roper victim’s lawyer responds to the $28,000 court case charge.

    https://i.stuff.co.nz/national/110070447/mariya-taylor-case-outcome-huge-barrier-to-justice-lawyer-says

    I made the same noises yesterday:

    Anyone who has been brutally bullied or sexually assaulted knows that fear of the perpetrator and/or fear of what will happen to them if they dare complain, is the biggest obstacle they have to overcome. In this victim’s case she did come forward to her Defence Force superiors and they did nothing. It can often take a further example of criminality by the same person coming to light before the victim feels bold enough to take legal action themselves.

    For the court to turn around and say… sorry dear, we know its all true but you’re too late so you’re going to have to pay for the perpetrator’s court costs.

    What kind of a message does that send to victims of sexual crimes?

    Daily Review 21/01/2019

    • mickysavage 6.1

      With my hard headed lawyer’s hat on the message I have is that if you have been attacked or bullied or traumatised get in quick. Don’t let the bastards think that you have given up.

      • Sabine 6.1.1

        Can you explain how someone who was attacked, bullied or traumatized to get in quick?

        this is not tongue in cheek or anything, this is a serious question. How do you suggest to ‘get in quick’. Especially when that stuff happened at a time where women were held responsible for their own rapes/assaults etc simply by choosing a profession that was considered ‘male’. You sure it was not her own fault? And how long does she have to make herself believe that it was not her own fault and that she should report it, go through the shitstorm of telling in smallest detail what happened, be shamed publicly and and and and.

        • mickysavage 6.1.1.1

          Sure six year limitation period for most things. Although it gets complicated because occasionally the clock only starts ticking after the effects become apparent.

          I said “get in quick” because for a human to process what has happened after something traumatic that can be a quick time.

          • Sabine 6.1.1.1.1

            i was raped as a preteen, at 19 i was a street kid with all the assorted problems that comes with it. I was no drug taker or alcoholic, but everything else applied.
            I am 50 now.
            let me assure you, there is no limitation to the damage done. But there would have been no way that i could have gotten in quick or within the limitation period, i was honestly too fucked up emotionally – traumatized does not being to cover it.

            And in saying that, women have also been accused of lying and making shit up because they were not crying, not distraught enough, but calm and collected and angry when they went to the police.

            It should be that if the accusation is credible and verifiable limitation should not apply. The case should be heard. She should not be forced to pay 28.000$
            That is simply adding insult to injury.

            • Ad 6.1.1.1.1.1

              Agree.

              New Zealand Air Force should have stepped in and written out the cheque.

              If her lawyer had half a brain she would have been advised that the case was going to get chucked out and she faced this costs risk, so the only thing to get out of taking it to court in the first place was a good round of media to shame him again.

              Sure she got her day in the sun as is her right, but it’s a pretty expensive one.

      • gsays 6.1.2

        hi mickey, “With my hard headed lawyer’s hat on…”, isn’t the advice the victim received from her lawyer a big part of the injustice in all this?
        perhaps the lawyer is a source of funds to right this wrong.

    • Dennis Frank 6.2

      I agree this is worth recycling. When I heard it on the radio it rang an alarm bell in my head. I hope the appeal works for the victim. Is the judge male or female???

      Seems to me either the judge or the system or both is/are seriously flawed! Good on Ali Mau for reporting it, anyway. Really, a gross breach of natural justice. Perhaps the justice minister will have to enact an amendment to the law…

      • Anne 6.2.1

        Minister Little has already said he’s going to study the case and the law as it currently stands. I have sufficient faith in Andrew Little he will do exactly that and likely move at some point in the near future to amend the law.

    • Pat 6.3

      On the face of it , it looks ridiculous BUT the Judge has to apply the law as written…if there is one thing that the ChCH quakes has taught us is that the law has nothing to do with justice and a lot to do with influence

      There were lay people in post quakes CHCH years ahead of the legal fraternity with regard to the implications but rest assured the best closed shop in the country made it work for them

  7. Sabine 7

    the intended message :

    don’t come forward if you get yourself raped.

    you joined the arm forces, you wore a short skirt, you showed of your collar bone, knee caps, you drank a glass of wine, you were out after dark without a chaperone or husband/father etc etc etc etcetc

    its your fault, should have come forward earlier, did i tell you the myriad of ways you are at fault for getting raped, harrassed , assaulted etc etc etc here is the bill for your transgression, please pay quickly lest we bring legal action against you for failure to pay the legal costs of your rapist.

    File this under “Why did she not come forward?!’

  8. Anne 8

    Two or more decades ago it was a recipe for disaster mickysavage. When I tried to tell my superiors what was going on I was punished. I was even made to write a letter of apology to the perpetrator – at least one of the perpetrators. In my case there were several over a period of time and they were directly or indirectly linked – a complex situation. I went to the police over specific incidents but they seemed unable or unwilling to investigate.

    That is how women were treated back then. In the end I was too frightened to take further action for fear of more humiliation and ‘punishment’.

    Fortunately things have changed for the better in the last few years. But there’s still a long way to go.

    • Sabine 8.1

      consider teh victims of the roast busters.
      they came forward.
      they laid complaints
      they were under age
      they were plied with alcohol

      they got in quick
      and nothing happened.

      we are still were we are then.

    • Anne 8.2

      The above comment was in answer to mickysavage @ 6.1

      • Sabine 8.2.1

        i know.
        But its funny that at the same time this travesty comes to light , we have the little roastbuster shit making a tour of nz to sell his record of how he found god and is now all washed free of sin and how unfair life is to his rapey little self.

        We can’t win, if we come forward right after it happens and we can’t win if we come forward years later.
        There simply is no will in our society to take rape and assault of women and young girls seriously.

        i will go and plant some flowers now.

        • Anne 8.2.1.1

          Yep. I’m off to read a book about the stately homes of England.

        • Pat 8.2.1.2

          you may be right but the same applies to so many aspects of law….it is a money game and the preserve of the well heeled…im not sure it is specifically anti woman

    • mickysavage 8.3

      On ya Anne.

      Going to court is a really big step. Ordinary normal decent people avoid it for years and then suddenly it is too late.

      The classic sign of a bully is to claim they are the victim and to then claim victimhood when the real victim gives up. Looks like you had to go through that experience,

      Then the real victims take a break and then suddenly it is too late.

      I felt really sorry for the woman who failed in her case because she was too late.

      And to the asshole who sought costs well …

      • Sabine 8.3.1

        No Mickey, she did not fail because she was too late, she failed because the system is set up to fail us women.
        The system worked as intended. Protect men who rape. Punish women who come forward, no matter when they come forward.

        • mickysavage 8.3.1.1

          When I say “too late” I mean in terms of the Limitation Act 2010.

          http://www.legislation.govt.nz/act/public/2010/0110/23.0/contents.html

          I agree and accept that our justice system fail many people.

          But the solution is not that simple.

          • Sabine 8.3.1.1.1

            there is no solution as there is no will.

            roast busters in case. these girls where failed from beginning to end. and the rapists gets five minutes of fame to whore for his record and to get to publicly beg for money.

            the system is set against victims of sexual assault, it is set to protect rapists and there is absolutely no will in the police, the body of law etc to change a single thing.
            Might it be that many of those charged with protecting us in the police and in the law are actually not interested in changes and thus short limitation periods and no recourse and a court system set up to shame, humiliate and diminish victims that actually have the guts and the emotional wherewithal to come forward.

  9. Anne 9

    Thanks micky.

    You’re right the court procedure is terrifying. Especially when you know the guilty parties will lie through their teeth. The risk seemed too great at the time.

  10. Pat 10

    “We knew we had one big problem with increasing rates of ice discharge by some large outlet glaciers,” said Michael Bevis, lead author of the paper and a professor of geodynamics at Ohio State University. “But now we recognize a second serious problem: increasingly, large amounts of ice mass are going to leave as meltwater, as rivers that flow into the sea.”

    https://www.theguardian.com/world/2019/jan/21/greenland-ice-melting-faster-than-scientists-previously-thought-study

    no worries

    • Ad 10.1

      Went to Fox Glacier a week ago. Sucked.

      Went to Rob Roy Glacier the week before that. Tiny.

      Just a melancholy to go with the sublime.

      But since I’m from Labour I’m used to that feeling.

  11. joe90 11

    Because it’s Martin Luther King day.

    Full interview.

    • gsays 11.1

      we were in the states in the early ’90s, staying with a lions youth exchange family in phoenix, arizona.
      this was when there was a vote for a Martin Luther King holiday.
      two states voted against it, new hampshire and arizona. our host was a lovely family man. he opposed it because there were too many holidays already and would cost his business too much.

      around the same time public enemy released their third album, fear of a black planet.
      (an album i thrashed on a walkman.)

      here is p.e. ‘by the time i get to arizona’.

      incidentally, public enemy were great for invoking powerful images in this young kiwi from a, from my sheltered naive view, utopia in the pacific.
      eg slave ships sailing for 200 years, slaves sleeping while standing up, no decent roles in hollywood for blacks.
      chuck d was, tongue in cheek, called a prophet as pe released ‘burn hollywood burn’ before the riots in l.a.

    • joe90 11.2

  12. mickysavage 12

    Yep and it is really fucked up when the right usurp his power for their own ends

    • Ad 12.1

      Reasonable and exceedingly sane guy for a man leading a massive social movement:

    • joe90 12.2

      But on the bright side, Huckabooboo got a proper shellacking in the replies.

      • tc 12.2.1

        That just emboldens them, they thrive on it with orange45 openly courting ridicule and anger.

        It’s all part of the neolib strategy…….throw that petrol, Stoke those flames.

        • greywarshark 12.2.1.1

          tc
          That’s my feeling. Create a situation to distract situation from another worse situation that can’t be handled in a politically advantageous way.

  13. Pat 13

    The most beneficial thing that could happen for the world is if Davos (and all that are there) was wiped off the map this week.

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Membership: Australia and New Zealand Electronic Invoicing Board
    The Governments of Australia and New Zealand have announced the membership of the Australia and New Zealand Electronic Invoicing Board (ANZEIB) today. This is an important step towards implementing e-Invoicing across both countries to help businesses save time and money ...
    1 week ago
  • An end to unnecessary secondary tax
    Workers who are paying too much tax because of incorrect secondary tax codes are in line for relief with the passage of legislation through Parliament late last night. The Taxation (Annual Rates for 2018-19, Modernising Tax Administration, and Remedial Matters) ...
    1 week ago
  • Chatham Islands pāua plan approved
    Efforts to reverse the decline in the Chatham Islands pāua fishery are the focus of a new plan jointly agreed between government, the local community and industry. Fisheries Minister Stuart Nash says the plan was developed by the PauaMAC4 Industry ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Bill introduced for synthetics crackdown
    The Police will get stronger powers of search and seizure to crackdown on synthetic drugs under new legislation, which makes the two main synthetics (5F-ADB and AMB-FUBINACA) Class A drugs. The Government has today introduced the Misuse of Drugs Amendment ...
    2 weeks ago
  • Blasphemous libel law repealed
    The archaic blasphemous libel offence will be repealed following the passing of the Crimes Amendment Bill today, says Justice Minister Andrew Little. ...
    3 weeks ago
  • Coalition Government lassos livestock rustling
    New rules to crack down on livestock rustling will come into force following the passing of the Crimes Amendment Bill says Justice Minister Andrew Little. ...
    3 weeks ago
  • Medieval law axed
    The ‘year and a day rule’ rule will be repealed following the passing of the Crimes Amendment Bill, says Justice Minister Andrew Little. ...
    3 weeks ago
  • Further steps to combat tax evasion
    Further steps to combat tax evasion Revenue Minister Stuart Nash has announced New Zealand is expanding its global ability to combat tax evasion by joining forces with authorities in 30 countries and jurisdictions. Cabinet has agreed to add another ...
    3 weeks ago