web analytics

Daily Review 24/01/2019

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, January 24th, 2019 - 68 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

68 comments on “Daily Review 24/01/2019 ”

  1. joe90 1

    Happy 109th to Django Reinhardt, one of the most important jazz guitarists of all time.

    (dude had only two functional fingers on his left hand)

    • McFlock 1.1

      That dude is off the chain! [couldn’t resist 🙂 ]

      • joe90 1.1.1

        Fun fact, in tribute to Django Reinhard the Allman Brothers Band’s Dickey Betts attempted to write a song that could be played using only two fingers on the left hand.

        • Dennis Frank 1.1.1.1

          It made my collection of four thousand all-time rock classics (few from after the early nineties). The long original version, I mean. It really hums along, and climbs the heights too. I never really considered Betts as a guitarist, actually, having become a fan of the Allmans before Duane died on his motorbike. Same fate for Les Harvey of Stone the Crows same year (I think), and he was even better than Duane!! I actually bought a Django album back then, but it was too jazzy so didn’t keep it. You’re right that Betts deserves credit, for sure!

  2. Kat 2

    One of the many examples of why we have a housing crisis: https://www.stuff.co.nz/business/110119264/mahana-property-owner-fined-10k-for-illegal-alterations

    The Kiwi “can do” “no 8” values only exist if the wee officious bureaucrats allow them.

    • Anne 2.1

      … if the wee bureaucrats allow it.

      Yes, it was on TV1 this evening. It seems it is the bureaucrats who are causing the KiwiBuild delays. It’s holding back the builders and property developers from getting involved. Twyford is going to free up the regulations so they will hopefully come on board.

      Not the least surprised. It wouldn’t be the first time these bureaucratic little Hitlers with a modicum of power have trashed govt initiatives. In saying that, I readily concede both Nat. and Lab. led governments have been affected.

      Anyone who has worked for the Public Service in any capacity will know what I’m talking about,

      • ScottGN 2.1.1

        Be nice to blame the faceless bureaucrats Anne. But sadly the government’s KiwiBuild travails are pretty much self inflicted.

        • Anne 2.1.1.1

          I know what some faceless bureaucrats are like ScottGN. I worked with a few but not in the building industry. I do accept it was a problem Labour should have been alerted to well in advance of implementation.

          Its not the first time Labour has found itself in hot water over a policy plank due to lack of due diligence when cobbling the policy together. However it should be a problem that can be overcome.

        • Kat 2.1.1.2

          There are many opinions on the govts “travails” with Kiwibuild, it just depends on which ones you choose to run with.

          • ScottGN 2.1.1.2.1

            Maybe Kat but I pretty much can promise you that Kiwibuild’s inherent failings are not the fault of pen-pushers in Council offices up and down the land. Labour needs to own this and try and move the dial. Twyford and his ministry could at least try and get to grips with what makes the building industry tick. Why is he surprised that builders and developers are only really interested in the big builds? They all clip the ticket on every set of taps and shower head and everything else they install for fucks sake.

            • Kat 2.1.1.2.1.1

              With regards your comments on Kiwibuild, what makes the building industry “tick” is precisely the point as it is mainly the threat of sustained, long-term economic and urban transformation that is fueling opposing and negative views at the moment. Especially from the opposition and poodles in the media. This govt will continue to build houses one way or another.

            • Doogs 2.1.1.2.1.2

              Scott, I have to say from agonising personal experience that dealing with our dearly beloved Auckland Council is not something i would wish on even my worst enemy.

              Having dealt with them over a personal subdivision I was creating by knocking a piece off the property I live on, I was dragged through a series of events over a 2 year period which created for me and my wife the most angst we have collectively experienced in our 35 years together.

              The little tin Hitlers in that meandering rabbit warren called ‘council offices’ led us on a protracted and unnecessarily troublesome journey that could have been achieved in a third of the time. They charged us for every single minute they interacted with us, and that was on top of the regular set charges which are written down in their little book of words and numbers.

              They were unhelpful, difficult, arrogant, contradictory, threatening, ignorant, unapproachable, hard to contact and a dozen other things which I am disinclined to list here. It cost us somewhere between 40 and 50 thousand in council costs and fees just to subdivide off a 467 sq metre section.

              Usurious, uncaring and fucking disgraceful as a public service. You can’t go anywhere else. They’ve got you, and they let you know that in all they do and say.

              Thus – I heartily concur with those who say that tiny little puffed up bureaucratic numpties are probably the major cause of road blocks in the Kiwibuild process.

    • tc 2.2

      So what you’re saying is any kiwi should be able to do What they like even if it’s possibly unsafe, unsound and let the buyer beware.

      Regulations are there to pull up cowboys like him, especially when an indoor fire is in the mix. Note there’s no mention of what an inspection revealed……if ones been done at all.

      • greywarshark 2.2.1

        I can quote family member good builder now retired as to bureaucracy and housing. The right regulations properly implemented are what is needed. (Auckland based.)

        • Tamati Tautuhi 2.2.1.1

          WE USED TO DO THINGS PROPERLY IN THE 1930’S=1970’S WHY DID THINGS CHANGE ????

          • Kat 2.2.1.1.1

            Creeping bureaucracy and red tape. Theory over practice became the norm. Lack of proper training in the building trade as apprenticeships were given the heave ho. We the sheeple are the masters of our own demise. Thats what happened.

        • McFlock 2.2.1.2

          I certainly agree with that, but most of the problem is that the council services are money-making but not customer-focused. The worst of both worlds.

          You get charged through the nose in order to sit on your arse and wait.

          In this particular case, though, I have no sympathy. If you can’t work within the plan, you don’t just ignore the consent issue.

          • Kat 2.2.1.2.1

            If it can be shown that the building work is up to standard then what is the problem, why are we sanctioning punitive fines just for the sake of rules. This is the creeping web of bureaucratic autocracy that is infecting the spirit of people in New Zealand and quashing any form of self reliance.

            So a house plan is submitted and consent is given. The house is under construction and the builder discovers a window, door or wall is in the wrong place or should be changed, enlarged, made smaller or removed. That just can’t be done on site like it once was, it has to be redrawn and the amended plan submitted for consent with an extra fee before modification on site.

            We have become a nation of comfortably numb sheeple.

            • joe90 2.2.1.2.1.1

              If it can be shown that the building work is up to standard then what is the problem

              Aside from planning issues, the purpose of the consenting process is to show that the building work is up to standard.

              Although there was that time when accredited persons were permitted to carry out inspections. But it didn’t work out too flash.

              • Kat

                Up to standard like the “leaky buildings fiasco”……that planning worked well didn’t it.

                • joe90

                  The permitted codes might have been shit but ultimately, it was the inspection processes that failed.

            • McFlock 2.2.1.2.1.2

              Nah, this case is more than that – they asked to build a barn and instead built a house. Logburner emissions, plumbing, power, even access and road use – you can’t just increase the population density of a property and pretend it affects nobody else.

              The only problem I have with that case is that the fine wasn’t ten times bigger. Ten grand is probably within the budget estimate for the illegal house.

              • joe90

                Dude’s about to find out just how big the fine could be.

                A man has admitted to doubling the floor area of a house without getting building consents for the work.

                Failing to get consents means Manawatū District Council is unable to check if Richard James Easther’s work complies with the Building Code, the Palmerston North District Court heard on Tuesday.

                […]

                He did extensive work on the house between 2011 and 2018, putting in a new kitchen, bedroom and covered deck, as well as other internal renovations.

                He effectively doubled the floor area of the house, but failed to get any building consents for the work.

                […]

                Easther is scheduled to be sentenced in February.

                He faces a fine of up to $200,000.

                https://www.stuff.co.nz/national/crime/110078659/man-faces-massive-fine-for-doubling-houses-floor-area-without-consent

              • Kat

                Who said there is any pretending and how does a fine solve anything. The reality is the barn is most likely a reasonably built building affording shelter and a home to humans. Has to be more aesthetic in that particular environment than a Keith Hay type box or some cheep move on.

                • McFlock

                  Barns don’t tend to have a kitchen, bathroom, mezzanine, logburner, and chimney.

                  Times might have changed since the last time I was on a farm, though.

                  • Kat

                    Yes times have changed, what were once American style barns that gave shelter to hay, chickens, model T fords and the occasional cow hand are now country lifestyle-block homes.

      • A 2.2.2

        Friend says he isn’t allowed to put in his own gib. Has to be a register builder ffs. One eg of many I’m sure.

      • Kat 2.2.3

        “So what you’re saying is any kiwi should be able to do What they like even if it’s possibly unsafe, unsound and let the buyer beware….”

        No, and in this particular case if the building is shown to be unsafe, unsound and dangerous then it should be pulled down. But its most likely not and that is the point.

        • mpledger 2.2.3.1

          Once all the linings are up then how can you tell if the wiring and plumbing are sound? Electricity is so dangerous.

          We had a garage built and there were 11 checks that had to be done by council (IIRC) although the builders were able to work around that so that a lot of the checks could be done on the same day – something like 3 or 4 visits. And that was just for a garage!

    • joe90 2.3

      The barn now had a kitchen, bathroom, mezzanine and logburner installed with all of the work, including the plumbing, done by Reilly himself, despite not being a registered plumber

      Yeah, the risks of the improper installation of heating and sanitary services – house fires, scoldings, legionella, hepatitis, campylobacter etc, etc, are a fucking doddle.
      /

      • greywarshark 2.3.1

        Just burst pipes every ten years or so are a bit of a nuisance. That was from dodgy grey piping installed in the 1980s about.

      • Cinny 2.3.2

        Lolz Mahana $$$ JS, funny, will have to check out the clip.

        Beautiful spot mind you.

  3. ianmac 3

    Fancy the National Party being “blindsided.” Blinkered perhaps?

    “The National Party and a female MP whose text to disgraced MP Jami-Lee Ross triggered a police investigation appear to have been blindsided by the move.

    Ross revealed on Tuesday police had approached him about the text in which he said the woman told him he deserved to die. ……”

    “….National had no idea police were investigating till Ross dropped his bombshell on Tuesday – and has confirmed that the female MP at the centre of the investigation had been just as much in the dark.

    She has not responded to messages and National said she would not be commenting.”

    https://www.stuff.co.nz/national/politics/110119860/police-inquiry-into-text-to-jamilee-ross-text-takes-national-by-surprise

    • Tamati Tautuhi 3.1

      Which woman was that one ?

      That is not very nice obviously a bit sour about the relationship breakdown ?

    • ScottGN 3.2

      Wonder if there will be a by-election down south before this is over?

    • mickysavage 3.3

      I am amazed it took so long to investigate. These sorts of complaints usually take a week or so to finalise.

      • ScottGN 3.3.1

        Tracy Watkins article says that National was aware of media reports of an investigation so I don’t really know how they could have been blindsided by the revelations that police were investigating?

        “National had no idea police were investigating till Ross dropped his bombshell on Tuesday – and has confirmed that the female MP at the centre of the investigation had been just as much in the dark.

        She has not responded to messages and National said she would not be commenting.

        A party spokesman said it was aware of media reports of an investigation but had not heard from police.”

        • Robert Guyton 3.3.1.1

          “the female MP at the centre of the investigation had been just as much in the dark.”
          It’s these sorts of gratuitous details of the affair we just don’t need to have splashed all over the newspapers!

      • aj 3.3.2

        I think she may have familial connections to police force.

    • Robert Guyton 3.4

      “The National Party and a female MP whose text to disgraced MP Jami-Lee Ross”

      Shouldn’t that read, “The disgraced National Party and the disgraced female MP whose text to disgraced MP Jami-Lee Ross…”?

  4. ScottGN 4

    46.6 degrees in Adelaide.

    https://www.abc.net.au/news/2019-01-24/sa-heating-up-with-records-expected-to-be-broken/10745220

    And BOM is warning that businesses in Melbourne May need to power down overnight if Victoria is to escape widespread heat related power outages tomorrow.

    https://www.theage.com.au/business/companies/watchdog-widens-warnings-on-power-as-victoria-swelters-20190124-p50tat.html

    • Exkiwiforces 4.1

      That’s not unusual for Melbourne to have what they cal “brown outs” since they flog off the power companies under old Kennett. When I was based in Melbourne from 2009 to the end of 2011 they happened a lot during the summer and to be quite frank the wife and while glad to get out of that shit hole called Melbourne.

  5. ScottGN 5

    Trump’s approval rating has slumped below 40% on fivethirtyeight’s aggregated tracking. And today he got totally owned by Nancy.

    https://projects.fivethirtyeight.com/trump-approval-ratings/?ex_cid=rrpromo

    • joe90 5.1

      Only the bigliest growth figures, too.

      • Sacha 5.1.1

        I would not expect federal employees to keep working for much longer either. Maybe using the military to put down mass strikes is the national emergency Chump has in mind?

    • Cinny 5.2

      Wonder if it’s part of a master plan to privatise certain govt dept’s?

  6. A 6

    Simon Black, Sovereign Man, is offering to pay rent of employees affected by the shutdown.

  7. Meanwhile, … out on the tundra something strange is happening … that sorta… just shows how myopic things seem at times…

  8. greywarshark 8

    Please can someone who remembers seeing that simple and telling image or chart rather than shows outlines of the countries of the world and the livable days at certain temperatures from yellow to dark red.

    Please can you tell me where on this blog you saw it, give me link? I think I need it to remind me each day of what is important to keep in mind.

    • joe90 8.1

      This?

      edit:

      this post

      • Exkiwiforces 8.1.1

        The Northern Australian Monsoon has finally arrived, mth and half late. So go figure and the gap between the a good season and a bad season is getting smaller weather you are in the Northern or the in the South.

        • joe90 8.1.1.1

          Here on the Whanganui coast we’re experiencing equinox like (Oct-Nov) gales coming out of the NW rather than the SW.

          They’re sucking the heat and moisture out of the ground and making gardening tough.

          • Exkiwiforces 8.1.1.1.1

            Yeah, I notice the storms of late in NZ are a little unusual for this time of the yr. Until the Monsoon turned up all our winds were coming from the west, south west instead of the Nth west through to the Nth East as we would expect for our Northern Wet Season.

            Then we have the Polar blasts in the Norther hemisphere as well.

            Not good atm.

  9. Stop whinging about your gardening. One volcano caused the sunsets to be red and hazy continually as far away as England for fives years and caused a mist of the same to last even longer, globally.

    One volcano.

    Dwarfing anything man could ever do.

    Krakatoa – The Great Volcanic Eruption – YouTube

    • Or try Mt St Helens.

      Minute by Minute: The Eruption of Mount St. Helens – YouTube

    • joe90 9.2

      Dwarfing anything man could ever do.

      The USG Volcanic Survey calls bullshit on your assertion.

      Which emits more carbon dioxide (CO2): Earth’s volcanoes or human activities?
      Research findings indicate unequivocally that the answer to this frequently asked question is human activities.

      https://volcanoes.usgs.gov/vsc/file_mngr/file-154/Gerlach-2011-EOS_AGU.pdf

      • WILD KATIPO 9.2.1

        I call bullshit on your assertions.

        For one you still haven’t explained the many ice ages and the warm period of Europe. Until you can do that , go talk to a woolly mammoth. Ask em how it happened. Then get back to me.

        Earth cycles , bud.

        And there aint nothing you , Al Gore or the Bilderbergers can do about it

        Thats the problem with you woke humanist lefties… using anything and everything to further your agendas. I can tell you right now you have more to fear from this than any deep olive oil fried somewhere – in – the – future calamity that you try to postulate.

        Atomic Bomb Explosion – YouTube

    • gsays 9.3

      Heartily recommend Simon Winchester’s ‘Krakatoa, the day the world exploded’.

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • New Public Housing Plan announced
    The Government has released its Public Housing Plan 2021-2024 which outlines the intention of where 8,000 additional public and transitional housing places announced in Budget 2020, will go. “The Government is committed to continuing its public house build programme at pace and scale. The extra 8,000 homes – 6000 public ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    22 hours ago
  • Prime Minister congratulates President Joe Biden on his inauguration
    Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern has congratulated President Joe Biden on his inauguration as the 46th President of the United States of America. “I look forward to building a close relationship with President Biden and working with him on issues that matter to both our countries,” Jacinda Ardern said. “New Zealand ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 day ago
  • Jobs for Nature funding will create training and employment opportunities
    A major investment to tackle wilding pines in Mt Richmond will create jobs and help protect the area’s unique ecosystems, Biosecurity Minister Damien O’Connor says. The Mt Richmond Forest Park has unique ecosystems developed on mineral-rich geology, including taonga plant species found nowhere else in the country. “These special plant ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 days ago
  • Pre-departure testing extended to all passengers to New Zealand
    To further protect New Zealand from COVID-19, the Government is extending pre-departure testing to all passengers to New Zealand except from Australia, Antarctica and most Pacific Islands, COVID-19 Response Minister Chris Hipkins said today. “The change will come into force for all flights arriving in New Zealand after 11:59pm (NZT) on Monday ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 days ago
  • Bay Cadets learn skills to protect environment
    Bay Conservation Cadets launched with first intake Supported with $3.5 million grant Part of $1.245b Jobs for Nature programme to accelerate recover from Covid Cadets will learn skills to protect and enhance environment Environment Minister David Parker today welcomed the first intake of cadets at the launch of the Bay ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    4 days ago
  • Cook Islanders to resume travel to New Zealand
    The Prime Minister of New Zealand Jacinda Ardern and the Prime Minister of the Cook Islands Mark Brown have announced passengers from the Cook Islands can resume quarantine-free travel into New Zealand from 21 January, enabling access to essential services such as health. “Following confirmation of the Cook Islands’ COVID ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    7 days ago
  • Supporting communities and landowners to grow employment opportunities
    Jobs for Nature funding is being made available to conservation groups and landowners to employ staff and contractors in a move aimed at boosting local biodiversity-focused projects, Conservation Minister Kiritapu Allan has announced. It is estimated some 400-plus jobs will be created with employment opportunities in ecology, restoration, trapping, ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Border exception for some returning international tertiary students
    The Government has approved an exception class for 1000 international tertiary students, degree level and above, who began their study in New Zealand but were caught offshore when border restrictions began. The exception will allow students to return to New Zealand in stages from April 2021. “Our top priority continues ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Tiwai deal gives time for managed transition
    Today’s deal between Meridian and Rio Tinto for the Tiwai smelter to remain open another four years provides time for a managed transition for Southland. “The deal provides welcome certainty to the Southland community by protecting jobs and incomes as the region plans for the future. The Government is committed ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • New member for APEC Business Advisory Council
    Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern has appointed Anna Curzon to the APEC Business Advisory Council (ABAC). The leader of each APEC economy appoints three private sector representatives to ABAC. ABAC provides advice to leaders annually on business priorities. “ABAC helps ensure that APEC’s work programme is informed by business community perspectives ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Govt’s careful economic management recognised
    The Government’s prudent fiscal management and strong policy programme in the face of the COVID-19 global pandemic have been acknowledged by the credit rating agency Fitch. Fitch has today affirmed New Zealand’s local currency rating at AA+ with a stable outlook and foreign currency rating at AA with a positive ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Additional actions to keep COVID-19 out of NZ
    The Government is putting in place a suite of additional actions to protect New Zealand from COVID-19, including new emerging variants, COVID-19 Response Minister Chris Hipkins said today. “Given the high rates of infection in many countries and evidence of the global spread of more transmissible variants, it’s clear that ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • 19 projects will clean up and protect waterways
    $36 million of Government funding alongside councils and others for 19 projects Investment will clean up and protect waterways and create local jobs Boots on the ground expected in Q2 of 2021 Funding part of the Jobs for Nature policy package A package of 19 projects will help clean up ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • New Zealand Government acknowledges 175th anniversary of Battle of Ruapekapeka
    The commemoration of the 175th anniversary of the Battle of Ruapekapeka represents an opportunity for all New Zealanders to reflect on the role these conflicts have had in creating our modern nation, says Associate Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage Kiri Allan. “The Battle at Te Ruapekapeka Pā, which took ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Better care for babies with tongue-tie
    Babies born with tongue-tie will be assessed and treated consistently under new guidelines released by the Ministry of Health, Associate Minister of Health Dr Ayesha Verrall announced today. Around 5% to 10% of babies are born with a tongue-tie, or ankyloglossia, in New Zealand each year. At least half can ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • Prisoner disorder event at Waikeria Prison over
    The prisoner disorder event at Waikeria Prison is over, with all remaining prisoners now safely and securely detained, Corrections Minister Kelvin Davis says. The majority of those involved in the event are members of the Mongols and Comancheros. Five of the men are deportees from Australia, with three subject to ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • Pre-departure COVID-19 test for travellers from the UK and the US from 15 January
    Travellers from the United Kingdom or the United States bound for New Zealand will be required to get a negative test result for COVID-19 before departing, and work is underway to extend the requirement to other long haul flights to New Zealand, COVID-19 Response Minister Chris Hipkins confirmed today. “The new PCR test requirement, foreshadowed last ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago