Daily Review 24/01/2019

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, January 24th, 2019 - 68 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

68 comments on “Daily Review 24/01/2019”

  1. joe90 1

    Happy 109th to Django Reinhardt, one of the most important jazz guitarists of all time.

    (dude had only two functional fingers on his left hand)

    • McFlock 1.1

      That dude is off the chain! [couldn’t resist 🙂 ]

      • joe90 1.1.1

        Fun fact, in tribute to Django Reinhard the Allman Brothers Band’s Dickey Betts attempted to write a song that could be played using only two fingers on the left hand.

        • Dennis Frank 1.1.1.1

          It made my collection of four thousand all-time rock classics (few from after the early nineties). The long original version, I mean. It really hums along, and climbs the heights too. I never really considered Betts as a guitarist, actually, having become a fan of the Allmans before Duane died on his motorbike. Same fate for Les Harvey of Stone the Crows same year (I think), and he was even better than Duane!! I actually bought a Django album back then, but it was too jazzy so didn’t keep it. You’re right that Betts deserves credit, for sure!

  2. Kat 2

    One of the many examples of why we have a housing crisis: https://www.stuff.co.nz/business/110119264/mahana-property-owner-fined-10k-for-illegal-alterations

    The Kiwi “can do” “no 8” values only exist if the wee officious bureaucrats allow them.

    • Anne 2.1

      … if the wee bureaucrats allow it.

      Yes, it was on TV1 this evening. It seems it is the bureaucrats who are causing the KiwiBuild delays. It’s holding back the builders and property developers from getting involved. Twyford is going to free up the regulations so they will hopefully come on board.

      Not the least surprised. It wouldn’t be the first time these bureaucratic little Hitlers with a modicum of power have trashed govt initiatives. In saying that, I readily concede both Nat. and Lab. led governments have been affected.

      Anyone who has worked for the Public Service in any capacity will know what I’m talking about,

      • ScottGN 2.1.1

        Be nice to blame the faceless bureaucrats Anne. But sadly the government’s KiwiBuild travails are pretty much self inflicted.

        • Anne 2.1.1.1

          I know what some faceless bureaucrats are like ScottGN. I worked with a few but not in the building industry. I do accept it was a problem Labour should have been alerted to well in advance of implementation.

          Its not the first time Labour has found itself in hot water over a policy plank due to lack of due diligence when cobbling the policy together. However it should be a problem that can be overcome.

        • Kat 2.1.1.2

          There are many opinions on the govts “travails” with Kiwibuild, it just depends on which ones you choose to run with.

          • ScottGN 2.1.1.2.1

            Maybe Kat but I pretty much can promise you that Kiwibuild’s inherent failings are not the fault of pen-pushers in Council offices up and down the land. Labour needs to own this and try and move the dial. Twyford and his ministry could at least try and get to grips with what makes the building industry tick. Why is he surprised that builders and developers are only really interested in the big builds? They all clip the ticket on every set of taps and shower head and everything else they install for fucks sake.

            • Kat 2.1.1.2.1.1

              With regards your comments on Kiwibuild, what makes the building industry “tick” is precisely the point as it is mainly the threat of sustained, long-term economic and urban transformation that is fueling opposing and negative views at the moment. Especially from the opposition and poodles in the media. This govt will continue to build houses one way or another.

            • Doogs 2.1.1.2.1.2

              Scott, I have to say from agonising personal experience that dealing with our dearly beloved Auckland Council is not something i would wish on even my worst enemy.

              Having dealt with them over a personal subdivision I was creating by knocking a piece off the property I live on, I was dragged through a series of events over a 2 year period which created for me and my wife the most angst we have collectively experienced in our 35 years together.

              The little tin Hitlers in that meandering rabbit warren called ‘council offices’ led us on a protracted and unnecessarily troublesome journey that could have been achieved in a third of the time. They charged us for every single minute they interacted with us, and that was on top of the regular set charges which are written down in their little book of words and numbers.

              They were unhelpful, difficult, arrogant, contradictory, threatening, ignorant, unapproachable, hard to contact and a dozen other things which I am disinclined to list here. It cost us somewhere between 40 and 50 thousand in council costs and fees just to subdivide off a 467 sq metre section.

              Usurious, uncaring and fucking disgraceful as a public service. You can’t go anywhere else. They’ve got you, and they let you know that in all they do and say.

              Thus – I heartily concur with those who say that tiny little puffed up bureaucratic numpties are probably the major cause of road blocks in the Kiwibuild process.

    • tc 2.2

      So what you’re saying is any kiwi should be able to do What they like even if it’s possibly unsafe, unsound and let the buyer beware.

      Regulations are there to pull up cowboys like him, especially when an indoor fire is in the mix. Note there’s no mention of what an inspection revealed……if ones been done at all.

      • greywarshark 2.2.1

        I can quote family member good builder now retired as to bureaucracy and housing. The right regulations properly implemented are what is needed. (Auckland based.)

        • Tamati Tautuhi 2.2.1.1

          WE USED TO DO THINGS PROPERLY IN THE 1930’S=1970’S WHY DID THINGS CHANGE ????

          • Kat 2.2.1.1.1

            Creeping bureaucracy and red tape. Theory over practice became the norm. Lack of proper training in the building trade as apprenticeships were given the heave ho. We the sheeple are the masters of our own demise. Thats what happened.

        • McFlock 2.2.1.2

          I certainly agree with that, but most of the problem is that the council services are money-making but not customer-focused. The worst of both worlds.

          You get charged through the nose in order to sit on your arse and wait.

          In this particular case, though, I have no sympathy. If you can’t work within the plan, you don’t just ignore the consent issue.

          • Kat 2.2.1.2.1

            If it can be shown that the building work is up to standard then what is the problem, why are we sanctioning punitive fines just for the sake of rules. This is the creeping web of bureaucratic autocracy that is infecting the spirit of people in New Zealand and quashing any form of self reliance.

            So a house plan is submitted and consent is given. The house is under construction and the builder discovers a window, door or wall is in the wrong place or should be changed, enlarged, made smaller or removed. That just can’t be done on site like it once was, it has to be redrawn and the amended plan submitted for consent with an extra fee before modification on site.

            We have become a nation of comfortably numb sheeple.

            • joe90 2.2.1.2.1.1

              If it can be shown that the building work is up to standard then what is the problem

              Aside from planning issues, the purpose of the consenting process is to show that the building work is up to standard.

              Although there was that time when accredited persons were permitted to carry out inspections. But it didn’t work out too flash.

              • Kat

                Up to standard like the “leaky buildings fiasco”……that planning worked well didn’t it.

                • joe90

                  The permitted codes might have been shit but ultimately, it was the inspection processes that failed.

            • McFlock 2.2.1.2.1.2

              Nah, this case is more than that – they asked to build a barn and instead built a house. Logburner emissions, plumbing, power, even access and road use – you can’t just increase the population density of a property and pretend it affects nobody else.

              The only problem I have with that case is that the fine wasn’t ten times bigger. Ten grand is probably within the budget estimate for the illegal house.

              • joe90

                Dude’s about to find out just how big the fine could be.

                A man has admitted to doubling the floor area of a house without getting building consents for the work.

                Failing to get consents means Manawatū District Council is unable to check if Richard James Easther’s work complies with the Building Code, the Palmerston North District Court heard on Tuesday.

                […]

                He did extensive work on the house between 2011 and 2018, putting in a new kitchen, bedroom and covered deck, as well as other internal renovations.

                He effectively doubled the floor area of the house, but failed to get any building consents for the work.

                […]

                Easther is scheduled to be sentenced in February.

                He faces a fine of up to $200,000.

                https://www.stuff.co.nz/national/crime/110078659/man-faces-massive-fine-for-doubling-houses-floor-area-without-consent

              • Kat

                Who said there is any pretending and how does a fine solve anything. The reality is the barn is most likely a reasonably built building affording shelter and a home to humans. Has to be more aesthetic in that particular environment than a Keith Hay type box or some cheep move on.

                • McFlock

                  Barns don’t tend to have a kitchen, bathroom, mezzanine, logburner, and chimney.

                  Times might have changed since the last time I was on a farm, though.

                  • Kat

                    Yes times have changed, what were once American style barns that gave shelter to hay, chickens, model T fords and the occasional cow hand are now country lifestyle-block homes.

      • A 2.2.2

        Friend says he isn’t allowed to put in his own gib. Has to be a register builder ffs. One eg of many I’m sure.

      • Kat 2.2.3

        “So what you’re saying is any kiwi should be able to do What they like even if it’s possibly unsafe, unsound and let the buyer beware….”

        No, and in this particular case if the building is shown to be unsafe, unsound and dangerous then it should be pulled down. But its most likely not and that is the point.

        • mpledger 2.2.3.1

          Once all the linings are up then how can you tell if the wiring and plumbing are sound? Electricity is so dangerous.

          We had a garage built and there were 11 checks that had to be done by council (IIRC) although the builders were able to work around that so that a lot of the checks could be done on the same day – something like 3 or 4 visits. And that was just for a garage!

    • joe90 2.3

      The barn now had a kitchen, bathroom, mezzanine and logburner installed with all of the work, including the plumbing, done by Reilly himself, despite not being a registered plumber

      Yeah, the risks of the improper installation of heating and sanitary services – house fires, scoldings, legionella, hepatitis, campylobacter etc, etc, are a fucking doddle.
      /

      • greywarshark 2.3.1

        Just burst pipes every ten years or so are a bit of a nuisance. That was from dodgy grey piping installed in the 1980s about.

      • Cinny 2.3.2

        Lolz Mahana $$$ JS, funny, will have to check out the clip.

        Beautiful spot mind you.

  3. ianmac 3

    Fancy the National Party being “blindsided.” Blinkered perhaps?

    “The National Party and a female MP whose text to disgraced MP Jami-Lee Ross triggered a police investigation appear to have been blindsided by the move.

    Ross revealed on Tuesday police had approached him about the text in which he said the woman told him he deserved to die. ……”

    “….National had no idea police were investigating till Ross dropped his bombshell on Tuesday – and has confirmed that the female MP at the centre of the investigation had been just as much in the dark.

    She has not responded to messages and National said she would not be commenting.”

    https://www.stuff.co.nz/national/politics/110119860/police-inquiry-into-text-to-jamilee-ross-text-takes-national-by-surprise

    • Tamati Tautuhi 3.1

      Which woman was that one ?

      That is not very nice obviously a bit sour about the relationship breakdown ?

    • ScottGN 3.2

      Wonder if there will be a by-election down south before this is over?

    • mickysavage 3.3

      I am amazed it took so long to investigate. These sorts of complaints usually take a week or so to finalise.

      • ScottGN 3.3.1

        Tracy Watkins article says that National was aware of media reports of an investigation so I don’t really know how they could have been blindsided by the revelations that police were investigating?

        “National had no idea police were investigating till Ross dropped his bombshell on Tuesday – and has confirmed that the female MP at the centre of the investigation had been just as much in the dark.

        She has not responded to messages and National said she would not be commenting.

        A party spokesman said it was aware of media reports of an investigation but had not heard from police.”

        • Robert Guyton 3.3.1.1

          “the female MP at the centre of the investigation had been just as much in the dark.”
          It’s these sorts of gratuitous details of the affair we just don’t need to have splashed all over the newspapers!

      • aj 3.3.2

        I think she may have familial connections to police force.

    • Robert Guyton 3.4

      “The National Party and a female MP whose text to disgraced MP Jami-Lee Ross”

      Shouldn’t that read, “The disgraced National Party and the disgraced female MP whose text to disgraced MP Jami-Lee Ross…”?

  4. ScottGN 4

    46.6 degrees in Adelaide.

    https://www.abc.net.au/news/2019-01-24/sa-heating-up-with-records-expected-to-be-broken/10745220

    And BOM is warning that businesses in Melbourne May need to power down overnight if Victoria is to escape widespread heat related power outages tomorrow.

    https://www.theage.com.au/business/companies/watchdog-widens-warnings-on-power-as-victoria-swelters-20190124-p50tat.html

    • Exkiwiforces 4.1

      That’s not unusual for Melbourne to have what they cal “brown outs” since they flog off the power companies under old Kennett. When I was based in Melbourne from 2009 to the end of 2011 they happened a lot during the summer and to be quite frank the wife and while glad to get out of that shit hole called Melbourne.

  5. ScottGN 5

    Trump’s approval rating has slumped below 40% on fivethirtyeight’s aggregated tracking. And today he got totally owned by Nancy.

    https://projects.fivethirtyeight.com/trump-approval-ratings/?ex_cid=rrpromo

    • joe90 5.1

      Only the bigliest growth figures, too.

      • Sacha 5.1.1

        I would not expect federal employees to keep working for much longer either. Maybe using the military to put down mass strikes is the national emergency Chump has in mind?

    • Cinny 5.2

      Wonder if it’s part of a master plan to privatise certain govt dept’s?

  6. A 6

    Simon Black, Sovereign Man, is offering to pay rent of employees affected by the shutdown.

  7. Meanwhile, … out on the tundra something strange is happening … that sorta… just shows how myopic things seem at times…

  8. greywarshark 8

    Please can someone who remembers seeing that simple and telling image or chart rather than shows outlines of the countries of the world and the livable days at certain temperatures from yellow to dark red.

    Please can you tell me where on this blog you saw it, give me link? I think I need it to remind me each day of what is important to keep in mind.

    • joe90 8.1

      This?

      edit:

      this post

      • Exkiwiforces 8.1.1

        The Northern Australian Monsoon has finally arrived, mth and half late. So go figure and the gap between the a good season and a bad season is getting smaller weather you are in the Northern or the in the South.

        • joe90 8.1.1.1

          Here on the Whanganui coast we’re experiencing equinox like (Oct-Nov) gales coming out of the NW rather than the SW.

          They’re sucking the heat and moisture out of the ground and making gardening tough.

          • Exkiwiforces 8.1.1.1.1

            Yeah, I notice the storms of late in NZ are a little unusual for this time of the yr. Until the Monsoon turned up all our winds were coming from the west, south west instead of the Nth west through to the Nth East as we would expect for our Northern Wet Season.

            Then we have the Polar blasts in the Norther hemisphere as well.

            Not good atm.

  9. Stop whinging about your gardening. One volcano caused the sunsets to be red and hazy continually as far away as England for fives years and caused a mist of the same to last even longer, globally.

    One volcano.

    Dwarfing anything man could ever do.

    Krakatoa – The Great Volcanic Eruption – YouTube

    • Or try Mt St Helens.

      Minute by Minute: The Eruption of Mount St. Helens – YouTube

    • joe90 9.2

      Dwarfing anything man could ever do.

      The USG Volcanic Survey calls bullshit on your assertion.

      Which emits more carbon dioxide (CO2): Earth’s volcanoes or human activities?
      Research findings indicate unequivocally that the answer to this frequently asked question is human activities.

      https://volcanoes.usgs.gov/vsc/file_mngr/file-154/Gerlach-2011-EOS_AGU.pdf

      • WILD KATIPO 9.2.1

        I call bullshit on your assertions.

        For one you still haven’t explained the many ice ages and the warm period of Europe. Until you can do that , go talk to a woolly mammoth. Ask em how it happened. Then get back to me.

        Earth cycles , bud.

        And there aint nothing you , Al Gore or the Bilderbergers can do about it

        Thats the problem with you woke humanist lefties… using anything and everything to further your agendas. I can tell you right now you have more to fear from this than any deep olive oil fried somewhere – in – the – future calamity that you try to postulate.

        Atomic Bomb Explosion – YouTube

    • gsays 9.3

      Heartily recommend Simon Winchester’s ‘Krakatoa, the day the world exploded’.

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • New digital service to make business easy
    A new digital platform aims to make it easier for small businesses to access services from multiple government agencies, leaving them more time to focus on their own priorities. Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern and Minister for Small Business Stuart Nash ...
    17 hours ago
  • Million-dollar start to gun collection events
    Million-dollar start to gun collection events  Police Minister Stuart Nash says a solid start has been made to the gun buyback and amnesty after the first weekend of community collection events. “Gun owners will walk away with more than ...
    2 days ago
  • Praise after first firearms collection event
    Police Minister Stuart Nash has praised Police and gun owners after the first firearms collection event saw a busy turnout at Riccarton Racecourse in Christchurch. “Police officers and staff have put a tremendous effort into planning and logistics for the ...
    2 days ago
  • New Police constables deployed to regions
    Seventy-eight new Police constables are heading out to the regions following today’s graduation of a new recruit wing from the Royal New Zealand Police College. Police Minister Stuart Nash says the record high number of new Police officers being recruited, ...
    1 week ago