web analytics

Daily review 25/03/2020

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, March 25th, 2020 - 143 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

143 comments on “Daily review 25/03/2020 ”

  1. SPC 1

    But on the Newstalk ZB talk show on Wednesday morning, Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment deputy chief executive Paul Stocks said butchers and produce stores would not be considered an essential service.

    Not a smart decision – what are they doing taking out local competition to supermarkets? Many neighbourhoods/suburbs have a dairy, butcher and grocer. (mine has a 4 Square, sort of a combo).

    It’s just sad for those businesses and their local walk-in (no transport issues) customers. Needless.

    Next it will be farmers markets – as if buying outdoors makes buying fruit and veges more unsafe.

    Do they have a bias against locally grown and locally sold fresh food and want us to stock up on processed food out of cans or something.

    • And some of us would prefer the local butcher / green grocer / bakery. Far fewer people packed into these shops, fresher produce and less waiting in great long queues.

      • I Feel Love 1.1.1

        Well Farmers Markets would be wouldn't they? Unless they were in stadium size areas with strict patrolling of distance between people. This is not a holiday, this is a state of emergency, and I agree about butchers but fuck it, this sucks for everyone.

        • Carolyn_Nth 1.1.1.1

          i.e. Stay in your bubble. loose bubbles cost lives.

        • SPC 1.1.1.2

          The produce is no more spread out in a supermarket, than in an outdoor market.

          • I Feel Love 1.1.1.2.1

            Not the produce, the people. The reasons playgrounds are shut as it's a place people congregate, they're trying to limit people congregating.

            • SPC 1.1.1.2.1.1

              Yeah the social distancing, there are no crowds in local butchers, greengrocers – more at the supermarket – and no more crowding at an open market than at the supermarket (except for distance caused by trolleys).

              Then there those without cars having to travel by PT to get to a supermarket.

              • I Feel Love

                Apparently they're staggering people in supermarkets, but who knows, no one knows right now, personally, when I go shopping, if I see crowds of people, I'll turn around and leave. Like I said, I agree, butchers, but they are told to shut, so they will shut. I'm just gonna deal with the here and now.

              • Carolyn_Nth

                It's not just about physical closeness, but limiting the number of people we regularly come into contact with – and also limiting the number of locations, because surfaces.

                • SPC

                  You may only see the operator-owner and maybe one other staff member and maybe one other person at the local shop – butcher and greengrocer and dairy (milk) would cover shopping of fresh goods for the month (a lot of people would have already done a supermarket shop to cover their storage for pantry and freezer).

                  • Carolyn_Nth

                    Bottom line is, the fewer places open the better. Too many businesses (and others) trying to stretch it too much. Too many seem to think they're a special case and the strict measures don't apply to them.

                    Supermarkets are upping their game with perspex between checkout operators & customers. Customers to load own bags, and limiting numbers in the store at anyone time.

                    We all need to shrink the number of places we are visiting.

    • ScottGN 1.2

      I think the aim is to minimise the number of places in the public arena where cross-infection can occur.

      Modelling from Uni of Sydney I saw in the SMH this morning says that compliance by at least 80% of the population needs to happen if the containment is to be successful, anything less than that and we will have put ourselves through enormous grief and trashed the economy for nothing. Our health system will still be at risk and Covid-19 will still be out there.

      • SPC 1.2.1

        Increasing the number of people who have to use use the supermarket is not great for increasing social distancing.

        And local spread is – where it occurs easier to identify and contain.

        • ScottGN 1.2.1.1

          Supermarkets have implemented a one in, one out policy at the door with social distancing applied to the resulting queue. Expect to see a fair bit of security when you go to the supermarket to enforce this.

          • satty 1.2.1.1.1

            At the last small bakery in my area open today, they allowed only one customer inside at the any time. That single person can’t touch any produce, which is a significant distance away. Contactless payment. And the shopping is done in one or two minutes, so hardly any outside queue at all.
            No way any supermarket in NZ is safer than this place to get bread.

            I also think the small shop has a much better idea which of their 1-2 employees had contact with produce / places within the shop in case of infection.

            In this case I think the government screwed up.

        • ScottGN 1.2.1.2

          And “local spread” or any spread can be fully avoided if everything is shut down.

          its all or nothing now, no half measures or we might as well just give up and let the thing do what it wants.

          • SPC 1.2.1.2.1

            This is how authoritarianism occurs. No restraints, step by step until there is total itarian) and singular focus on the objective – because any identified "weakness" is risking defeat.

            And all because of fear of community spread – fear because we did not have the the testing kit resources (our pandemic planning was weak) to identify it and its extent.

            The irony we are developing such capacity and may have it after the month (for a few weeks prioritised to those returning kiwis going into their lockdown).

    • weka 1.3

      SPC, please put a link if you are going to cut and paste. I'm getting sick of having to ask this, but it's especially important at this time.

      • mac1 1.4.1

        This butcher is a decent and community-minded man who has a social conscience and is generous. I'd buy from him even if I were a vegan. I know him and I have an idea of what he does for his town. I'd have said he was too busy, in too small a serving area, and I can see why his customers were queued outside. For dinner tonight I had some of his pork belly, and tomorrow night probably his mince on a pizza. Then, I fear I won't see Mike for a month, and have to patronise the supermarket shelves more.

        Just like the wine grower I praised recently, a hard worker and an ethical businessman, Mike Newman, too, puts a human face on the huge problems being faced by people dealing with the corona virus.

  2. pat 2

    The Gods smiled upon NZ when Andrew Little realised Jacinda Ardern had a better chance of saving the NZ Labour Party than himself….the series of events that followed couldnt have been bet upon.

  3. Muttonbird 3

    Was standing in line at PB Tech this afternoon listening to conversations 2m away. The woman behind me, apparently in health, was on the phone worried about several things among them the addicts who will basically go ballistic in a couple of days when they can't meet their needs.

    Expect crime to go through the roof. Police will not be able to handle this.

    I’m of the opinion that a lot more people will die during this event from non Covid-19 related circumstances than from the virus itself.

    • I Feel Love 3.1

      You mean illicit drugs? I wouldn't worry too much, drug addicts know what they're doing and weirdly think ahead, Divo and other dispensaries have plans in place, they're used to people not sparing them much of a thought, I doubt they thought things would change now. (ex addict, with friends still doing naughty things, not one violent criminal or thief among them).

      • weka 3.1.1

        Nice one IFL.

      • Muttonbird 3.1.2

        Do you work in primary health?

        Ok if not, but what about the wider dependent community not so prepared for such an eventuality. I'm think the mass of new methamphetamine users.

        • I Feel Love 3.1.2.1

          No, I don't, but I know users. Users think ahead, users already use illicit channels to get their drugs, users are used to keeping their drug use hidden, users are used to being ignored, places like Divo and mental health workers know these people, it's quite a community, with characters and stories, some funny, some sad. I just think your fear is unwarranted, druggies lives will go on like the rest of us, I'd be more worried about the drunk home renovators quite frankly.

          • Robert Guyton 3.1.2.1.1

            "I'd be more worried about the drunk home renovators quite frankly. "

            smiley

    • Gabby 3.2

      Well you'd hope so wouldn't you. I mean, think about it.

  4. bill 4

    And the homeless….?

    • pat 4.1

      are surprisingly being considered….at least in Auckland and Wellington if theMayors are to be believed

      • Carolyn_Nth 4.1.1

        Goff said they will use empty motels and hotels to house rough sleepers.

        • Macro 4.1.1.1

          Except some of the ones I know would be very unhappy with being in a motel with others. They have been offered accommodation before, especially in severe weather conditions. A nice quiet space where they could come and go. But turned down – preferring to find their own space. Quite a few are suffering anxiety and prefer to be alone, which is why they sleep rough. If they can find a safe place where no one can bother them, that is their goal. Here we are hoping to be able to do a "cook up " and leave it on the front step for them to pick up every other day. if the local police agree.

          I'm not saying they are all like that, but we must understand that for some this is a life that they choose, because this is how they are coping with their circumstances right now. We need to be there for when they are ready to move on.

  5. Muttonbird 5

    Government Covid-19 response to housing costs:

    Homeowners = massive high level talks with banks resulting in a mortgage holiday and you don't have to pay anything while out of work.

    Renters = pay full rent while you are out of work unless you personally can negotiate with your landlord.

    • Pingao 5.1

      Muttonbird – this afternoon on Radio NZ there was an interview in which the ANZ person said the interest would still accrue so no one will take a mortgage "holiday" unless they absolutely have to as it will cost them more. If renters got the same treatment, they would simply be in rent arrears and I know how hard it is to catch up if you are skint to start with. There does need to be some backup though from government of course for people to be able to make their rent payments.

      I will try to find the link – not sure it's up yet.

      https://www.rnz.co.nz/national/programmes/checkpoint/audio/2018740152/anz-boss-assures-customers-cash-available-duing-lockdown

      • pat 5.1.1

        yes I heard that too…which appeared to contradict yesterdays statement that there was an interest holiday as well

        "The six-month principal and interest payment holiday for mortgage holders and small business customers whose incomes have been affected by the economic disruption from Covid-19."

        https://www.rnz.co.nz/news/political/412511/retail-banks-agree-to-a-mortgage-holiday-repayment-scheme

        • alwyn 5.1.1.1

          The comment was by Grant Robertson, wasn't it?

          He is a truly masterful spinner of yarns. Just take his comments with a very large dollop of salt.

          • pat 5.1.1.1.1

            yes was Robertson…he did qualify his statements by saying the banks were working on details and to wait a couple of days for them to do so….but it appears it was unnecessarily loose language

        • James Thrace 5.1.1.2

          "principal and interest" holiday

          So P and I repayments would be put on hold. However, interest will still be charged on the loan itself.

          Over a six month period, that is interest being charged on interest.

          The deal is a bit of a rort. The best thing to do would have been to just freeze the loan for six months. No interest. No repayments.

          But noooooo, the banks still gotta get their slice of fat.

      • Muttonbird 5.1.2

        Thanks mate but the crux of the situation is that in this lockdown and post lockdown period affected renters still have to pay full rent. Affected homeowners do not have to pay anything.

        I'm really tired of pointing this out.

        • pat 5.1.2.1

          you appear to misunderstand how a mortgage holiday works….it generally adds to your long term costs (and appears will do so in this case)

          • Muttonbird 5.1.2.1.1

            Did you actually read what I just wrote?

            • pat 5.1.2.1.1.1

              you wrote…."Affected homeowners do not have to pay anything."

              not the case (unless there was an interest holiday as well)….it is essentially an addition to the mortgage principle and adds both interest costs and extends the term

              • McFlock

                The Warehouse said they'd remain open, the ANZ said they'd still charge interest.

                If they try, let's just see what the government does.

                • pat

                  theres always that possibility…though I expect ANZ is a little more careful than the Warehouse

                  • McFlock

                    We're talking about bankers, here. GFC, all that jazz.

                    • pat

                      lol…yep but I expect they have better legal advice on tap plus the experience of what happened to the big box stores….not to mention more clout

                    • McFlock

                      Once the chargeout is four digits an hour, is the advice really all that much more impressive?

                      Basically it comes down to what the government really wants: with emergency powers, legal fripparies can be waived aside.

                    • pat

                      I understand the best legal advice seldom references the law…..but perhaps a lawyer may have a different view

              • Muttonbird

                "In the lockdown and post lockdown period". Read it!

        • Molly 5.1.2.2

          Hi Muttonbird,

          The only reason we are landlords is because we no longer require the small attached unit for our 'grannies'. Since then we have rented it out, electricity, water and internet included to several people. We've never charged the cost of the flat on our mortgage – because I am of the mind that housing is too expensive and thought we need to follow those values in our decisions. Three young couples have saved enough to get deposits on homes, while we have paid 65% of our income on mortgage costs.

          We gave our current tenants the required six-weeks notice in three weeks ago so our son could return home, and as we try to never give notice, we gave them two weeks rent free so that they would have more money for a deposit when looking for a new place. The Covid-19 alerts have put paid to that and my son will have to stay where he is and the tenancy notice end date will be extended to include the time of the lockdown, however long it is.

          If your suggestion is imposed, and we do have to take a payment holiday – god forbid – we will not be having a gift from the bank that we pass on to our tenants. We will be accruing further interest and it will not be amortised over a term of twenty five years, because we don't have that much working lives left. If we had passed on the cost of having the unit to our tenants, those couples may not have left to move into their own first homes.

          Our tenants are already receiving the government wages, and their board to us takes 27% of that income. Blanket requirements such as the one you propose will include landlords who are already trying to do the right thing for tenants. And will quite honestly for us, be financial pressure that is too much to accommodate. Consider those of us who are already trying to look after their tenants at personal costs already.

          • Muttonbird 5.1.2.2.1

            Molly. You do touch on an important point. That is that there is no consistency in the landlord group in terms of what they offer in rent relief for their tenants.

            Everyone would feel they were 'in this together' if there was government direction on this rather than tenants being thrown to the hounds.

            I say again, my issue is with the short term discrepancy where out of work tenants have to pay full rent and out of work homeowners can defer payments.

            This is crucial for the young families of the renting class.

            They are ignored though. As it ever was.

            • Molly 5.1.2.2.1.1

              I also touch on another important point.

              Assuming all landlords are the same, and need to be required to do something specific because it makes sense to you, does not allow for diversity in tenant experiences, and may very well penalise those landlords who are already trying hard to do the right thing.

              Once again,
              “If your suggestion is imposed, and we do have to take a payment holiday – god forbid – we will not be having a gift from the bank that we pass on to our tenants. We will be accruing further interest and it will not be amortised over a term of twenty five years, because we don’t have that much working lives left.”

              • Molly

                And I also suspect that for those on higher fixed rates – it will be those higher fixed rates interest that will be charged and accrued to the loan.

              • Muttonbird

                But if there was proper government structured guidance then landlords trying to do the right thing would not be disadvantaged at all – rather they would be joined and part of a scheme which serviced everyones needs.

                And on the extra interest – this would be accounted for in a decent government scheme where tenants would pay a reduced rent for the time period which covered costs like rates and insurance and extra costs like heightened interest on the loan.

    • Incognito 5.2

      Homeowners will have to negotiate with their banks. Falling behind in rent is not a good enough reason to kick out tenants until 60 days have passed, which is almost three times as long as previously. If the current new rules are abused, I’d expect further ‘adjustments’ will be introduced by Government.

    • RedBaronCV 5.3

      basically looks like the banks are going to suggest interest only on mortgages where they can, which makes sense to prevent the debt increasing – just delays final repayment.

      Now say everyone was tossed onto that, then rents could also go down to the interest amount plus the other overheads. That way no tenant is retiring outstanding principal so rents drop with a thud. It would put domestic rentals well within benefit levels and save small business by them having hopefully on a tiny lease while income is low.In effect a gain pause button on capital movements but expenses being paid .

      To implement something like this needs somebody like the ird – they have sector figures – to estimate what % of rental income is nationally swallowed by rates interest insurance and other cash overheads and then the rent freeze becomes anational rent fall of the required %

      • Incognito 5.3.1

        You seem to be assuming that mortgage payments on rentals are the same as on owner-occupied home loans with maximum principal payments. In addition, most loans are on fixed rates.

        • RedBaronCV 5.3.1.1

          Well if the rental mortgage is interest only then likely to mean taking funds they are using elsewhere and yes there are fixed rates of varying amounts on mortgages as are rates insurances etc. Hence using sector averages which could be refined by region. Something is used to set the general housing top up benefit so there are figures there.

          It wouldn't work perfectly for all but the current default certainly doesn't so this could be a different starting point. Then some form of top up negotiations

    • SPC 5.4

      Then there are rental property managers – reminds one of the executives hired to remove labour so vulture capitalism (private funds) can on-sell for CG.

      https://www.nzherald.co.nz/business/news/article.cfm?c_id=3&objectid=12319904

  6. weston 6

    Fuck it pays to just turn the damn radio off after a while the extra stentorian tones of the health warnings emergency alert signals on the phone ect are giving me the shits .They're just scaring people imo and its not necessary after all the build up .anyone with half a brain has surely got the message .Today at a press conference the PM said we could go for a walk but dont talk to anyone is that being kind to each other ?ffs the other day it was sing out to your neigbour over the fence .The thought of weeks if not longer of your own company with little or no respite is bad enough without setting out to ignore people .Say hello !!

    • I Feel Love 6.1

      I'll still be working, I work for NZ Post, I see people waving at each other and being kind and yelling "All good?" to each other, more so than usual. Common sense, we are social animals, we adapt, give it time there will be new funny ideas people come up with (the teddy bear example below). Fuck, maybe we'll start learning morse code or sign language… I shift from despair and cynicism to cheery upbeat optimism, and yes, turn off the news!

    • Gabby 6.2

      Say it, don't spray it weston, that's the point.

      • In Vino 6.2.1

        Some of it is a bit silly, too. "Pretend you've already got the virus…" For Heaven's sake, if I've already got the virus, why on earth keep trying to avoid catching it? Some bumkum is getting made up at times..

        • I Feel Love 6.2.1.1

          To stop you spreading it?

          • JanM 6.2.1.1.1

            Exactly!

            • In Vino 6.2.1.1.1.1

              Yes, of course that is the obvious aim. But if I am pretending that I already have it, why would I continue to wash my hands in cases where that act protects only me?

              I think they got this idea from war stories where soldiers performed brave acts in the heat of action – pretending they were already dead helped clear their heads.

              I don't think it suits this situation. We must all try above all to avoid catching it (if we haven't already, but do not know) and we should also do all we can to avoid spreading it. But pretending we already have it is naff to my mind.

              • I Feel Love

                Maybe because the advice is broad, for the brightest amongst us, and the stupidest. Lockdown for Dummies.

                • In Vino

                  Fair enough. I would be happier with "Imagine you already have it," rather than "Pretend". But now I'm quibbling, so I shall quietly withdraw…

  7. Anne 7

    I like this:

    https://www.rnz.co.nz/news/national/412602/teddy-bears-in-windows-to-cheer-up-kids-during-lockdown

    It's hard enough for adults to fully comprehend the situation. It must be impossible for the kids. I don't live on a street front but a nice way to give them some fun counting the teddy bears.

  8. joe90 8

    Family Fist's weed expert.

  9. Fireblade 9

    My washing machine is rooted. I'm going to hang the dirty laundry on the clothesline and attack it with the water blaster.

    • I Feel Love 9.1

      Ha!!!!

    • The Al1en 9.2

      Bath tub, hot water, sprinkle of washing powder, shorts on and pretend your squishing grapes for 15 minutes.

      Pain in the arse come to rinse time, mind, especially 'cause the tap has to be running and hot water is burny. Tip – use use cold water. lol

      • Fireblade 9.2.1

        Doing the laundry in the bath tub sounds like a good idea, thanks The Al1en.

        • The Al1en 9.2.1.1

          If you do the stomp method, beware, it does comes with a slippery health warning. It does work, had to do it a few times, and my nan use to always do it, though she had willing (or press ganged) grand kids to do the mashing, and kids were tougher back then, so falling out of the bath didn't seem to matter so much.

          Rinsing is the pain, not just for having to use cold water, but because it never seems to run thoroughly clean. I always found it best to rinse just one or two items, squeeze and redo, but at least you can do that from outside the tub.

    • Incognito 9.3

      Followed by the leave blower. I hope you use industrial strength pegs.

    • Anne 9.4

      Fireblade @ 9
      You won't have any clothes left mate. 😯

      • Anne 9.4.1

        Seriously:

        I've just had a pair of relatives drop by with TV dinners and puds in case I don't always feel like cooking during the lockdown. They said there are military helicoptors flying all over Auckland tonight. Must be expecting trouble.

        I popped in to my local dairy earlier today and the Indian family who own it are scared stiff. They know they are going to be at the front of the firing line when the kids high on drugs – having discovered everything is closed – start vandalising and burglarising the dairies for cigarettes and the like.

        • Carolyn_Nth 9.4.1.1

          Haven't heard any helicopters over Mt Eden way.

          • Anne 9.4.1.1.1

            They travelled from Pt Chev to Browns Bay and then to Devonport using the Northern Motorway so maybe there was something going down further north.

            Edit: I have a nephew currently training in Waiuru and he told his mother the military have been gearing up to assist the police for some weeks now. His training schedule has been halted so they are available for police assistance work. His sister (my niece) is a recently graduated cop working in Rotorua and she says things are building up there at the moment.

            • Carolyn_Nth 9.4.1.1.1.1

              Interesting. A helicopter did fly overhead a few minutes ago – just passing.

        • I Feel Love 9.4.1.2

          Those high on drugs burglarizers will have to wait in line like the rest of us.

  10. Muttonbird 10

    Big landlords, particularly those who do regular opinion pieces in the media might want to action some well publicised rent relief for their customers.

    Otherwise they might look like greedy and mean charlatans…

    …just saying.

  11. Carolyn_Nth 11

    People with holiday homes and little sense of social responsibility, heading to their holiday homes in small communities for the lock down – putting pressure on communities that don't have the health resources to support them, adding extra bodies in supermarkets, and possibly taking Covid-19 with them.

    RNZ Checkpoint

    Reporter Susan Strongman has spoken to Coromandel peninsula residents, who are worried by the influx of out-of-towners they've seen in the last few days.

    • I Feel Love 11.1

      I do wish that was stressed a bit more, "this is NOT a holiday", we were asked to stay in our regions. They've already had to ask people to not go tramping or hunting, what's the bet we hear of a hunting tragedy and or people missing on some range, c'mon people, prove me wrong!

      • Graeme 11.1.1

        Yeah, this could turn really nasty for someone who's infected but yet to know about it, who goes bush and then gets sick.

    • RedBaronCV 11.2

      Yeah iwi should have closed a few more areas.

    • SPC 11.3

      If we are going to require people to give up their local shops and use supermarkets – why not allow people to spread out and isolate themselves further away?

      Neither local fear of the outsider (welcome each summer for business), nor resentment at others being able to use their time in this way, is a good thing. They can isolate as much there as their usual residence (not really a burden if they bring their own shopping).

      • Carolyn_Nth 11.3.1

        Nonsense. Resources like health care are based on year round resident numbers. Great for some well-off townies to think they'll be better of in a smaller community – except the locals are a small community most of the year, and these insensitive townies are adding to their stress and vulnerability

      • I Feel Love 11.3.2

        Read what Graeme said, what if they're sick and they don't know it, and above weren't you advocating staying local? We still might see Regions, towns, even suburbs get further locked down, so maybe these holiday makers might find themselves locked in, or locked out, like in a Bollard novel. We were told to stay home, because it was the simplest thing to do, but oh no, people have to stretch definitions and be contrary. I feel for the police, having to babysit us.

        • SPC 11.3.2.1

          They, or partner, can drive to their primary residence from the "bach" if someone feels sick.

          There are not going to be any regional lockdowns – not until they can identify a singular area of community spread. They would have their own shopping with them.

          Why should those foreign tourists still here be the only ones enjoying our isolated outdoor areas – these people are not in contact with anyone else going from one place to another.

          • I Feel Love 11.3.2.1.1

            ""And local spread is – where it occurs easier to identify and contain. " you said. -How do you know there won’t be regional lockdowns? I’d say right now, anything is possible.

            • SPC 11.3.2.1.1.1

              In so far as track and trace local makes for easier follow up, regional lockdowns require community testing – which we will not be doing this month (focus is on incoming kiwis for now)

          • McFlock 11.3.2.1.2

            Well, for one thing an itinerant population makes contact tracing a bugger.

            You go bush tomorrow, someone you contacted with yesterday comes down with it on the weekend, phones are unreliable – I mean, we can hope you don't encounter anyone else and the only one in danger is you…

            • SPC 11.3.2.1.2.1

              Only a problem if the bach has no landline, or poor mobile reception – there is still email to their devices.

        • Muttonbird 11.3.2.2

          Gawd. Would so hate for the Covid-19 fleeing wealthy to be locked out of their primary homes.

    • Macro 11.4

      Well I have seen a couple – but frankly I think that report is over egging it somewhat. Today was my last last chance to go and mow the lawns at Whiritoa. The beach was pretty empty, and no where near the numbers around over the summer holidays. Tomorrow of course they won't be able to.

  12. RedBaronCV 12

    I see on RNZ that Virgin airlines are basically closing their New Zealand operations making redundancies but are wondering what to do with the wages ssubsidy from the government. Greed like rust seems to never sleep and why are we funding Richard Branson

  13. Incognito 13

    To avoid queues and minimise contact time, why don’t supermarkets do the shopping for us? You give them your list (in advance), they fill your trolley, you paywave (they can even use mobile EFTPOS), collect your shoppings and drive home. My kind of shopping.

    • Andre 13.1

      Most big supermarkets already have a click and collect system set up. The two big ones on Lincoln Rd have it. But it seems they are heavily used at the moment so the first available slots are quite a way ahead. You pay online when you place the order, no need for an unclean disease riddled mobile EFTPOS machine to even come within sneezing distance.

      • Incognito 13.1.1

        Good. Maybe they can increase capacity and shift from physical shopping presence to collection-only. With paywave, the only thing you touch is that disgusting piece of plastic in your wallet 😉

      • Carolyn_Nth 13.1.2

        I have registered for Countdown. I looked at the click and collect PickUp several times and have never seen an available slot for my local supermarket- always every time-day slot booked up for the next 7 days. Ditto for home delivery, which costs more. I finally DID manage to get a home delivery for Sunday, but that was a bit of luck. Although the cost is fairly steep, but it's cheaper for a big order, and they give a discount on your first delivery.

        I have a scratchy throat, on antibiotics, and been told by the GP to self isolate and to stay away from people, just in case I have a mild does of THE virus. I prefer to do my own shopping, but, will make do in this extraordinary time. I see my local Countdown have expanded the number of slots for home delivery, but it's still over subscribed – all slots full for the next 7 days.

        So I am eaking out the meagre fruit & veg I have left so I last til Sunday. Have plenty of protein. I'd rather leave calling out a nephew to shop for me for another week or 2 if I can, and that should take me thru the 4 weeks.

        These are not normal times, and we need to make do without some of the luxuries and on-tap stuff we are used to, in order to limit our contacts and keep ourselves and others safe

        Up side is, I think I have painlessly lost a little weight. That won't hurt me in the long run.

        • SPC 13.1.2.1

          Register for New World as well – and go with the one with the earliest, or most convenient time slot. And do so early or late to avoid difficulty logging in.

          • Carolyn_Nth 13.1.2.1.1

            There is no New World anywhere near me. Countdown is it.

            • SPC 13.1.2.1.1.1

              Pity, that choice can be useful. I found this week that New World was available a day quicker (and still had specials, if some were sold out by my delivery today).

              • Macro

                It's Pac and Slave or nothing here.

                They have just finished a major refit and the installed the cabinets for online ordering. About 100 I guess. Totally insufficient for even a small town of around 8000.

          • mary_a 13.1.2.1.2

            New World doesn't do online shopping in the South Island, where I live. I have registered with Fresh Choice here in Cromwell and getting our groceries delivered late tomorrow afternoon/early evening. No problems registering. Because I'm slow, sorting through what I wanted online took me a while, although it was very easy. But I'm sure I will get used to it. Incidently, it worked out a lot cheaper than physically shopping.

        • mary_a 13.1.2.2

          Take good care of yourself Carolyn_Nth. Keep safe.

    • Muttonbird 13.2

      A lot of people prefer to choose they own fruit and meat. They like to use the time in the isles to think about what they need and imagine recipes.

      A lot of people don't do rigid lists.

      • Incognito 13.2.1

        Well, maybe this is a good time to plan ahead more and better. I know many shoppers like to touch, pinch, smell, and feel produce and then put it back again for the next shopper to do the same thing again. Would you like to buy avocados, bananas or apples that have been touched by countless strangers before? There are very good apps that take the recipe and list the ingredients as a shopping list but you have to plan the meals for the week. But we shall not inconvenience shoppers, shall we? Least of all, at Alert Level 4.

        • McFlock 13.2.1.1

          For me, it's not really about planning ahead. Seeing the thing reminds me of shit I need, or can do better than what I had actually planned.

          As for poking and prodding, yeah, that's why I tend to wash any produce that doesn't peel anyway.

          • Muttonbird 13.2.1.1.1

            + 1.

            It's not about feeling the fruit, it's about busy culinary minded people wanting to cook for themselves and like to be inspired when looking at produce in the supermarket for the inspiration on a lovely dish for their family.

            Still, at alert level 4 no one is busy, are they? Perhaps we should all just do Ubermarkets instead and be done with any personal creativity?

            • I Feel Love 13.2.1.1.1.1

              Dot a month, we're asked to sacrifice our normal patterns, and we laugh at Trump being bored of his lockdown after a week.

              • McFlock

                We laugh at that fool because otherwise one would cry at the people he's killed through laziness and incompetence. We haven't touched the tip of the iceberg on that one.

            • Incognito 13.2.1.1.1.2

              Pak’nSave allows you 30 min in the shop to get creative.

              • Muttonbird

                But you just said supermarkets should be taking lists.

                Which is it?

                • Incognito

                  You just said you like to be inspired in a supermarket. Well, you’ll have 30 min as off midnight. Knock yourself out with some exotic recipes.

              • Macro

                Gezz 10 mins is long enough for me. 15 mins is too long.

                • Incognito

                  Those were the days when filling up the trolley once a fortnight and be done with it, except for occasional re-stocking milk and fruit & vege. The less time spent in a supermarket, the better.

                  • Macro

                    Actually I don't use a trolley.

                    I have a decent sized carry bag.I also carry my own bags for veg. Knowing what I want, and where it is, I can quickly get around the store, and usually with less than 12 items go to the fast lane and check out.

                  • weka

                    there are people in my family who go to the supermarket every day. Don't get me started.

          • Carolyn_Nth 13.2.1.1.2

            Yes, I did leave off some stuff I would have liked from my Sunday home delivery order. Plus, I didn't think to get something probiotic to counter the antibiotics. But, I will get it sooner or later. The stuff I forgot is more what I like, rather than what I absolutely need.

  14. joe90 14

    Some good stuff in the google doc.

  15. joe90 15

    Despite official figures reporting few to no new domestic Covid-19 cases on the Chinese mainland in recent days, authorities continue to detect more infections, with those in the city at the heart of the country’s outbreak often amounting to more than a dozen a day, Caixin has learned.

    According to a member of the infectious disease prevention and control team in Wuhan, every day the city continues to record “several or more than a dozen asymptomatic infected individuals”, which are people that have tested positive for Covid-19, but do not feel ill and are excluded from published numbers.

    Beware the asymptomatic.

    As of Sunday (March 22), Hubei province, where Wuhan is located, had four consecutive days of zero new “confirmed cases.”

    The person, who asked not to be named, said that these asymptomatic people are found by tracing the contacts of others who are infected and by screening quarantine workers who are at high risk of infection, as opposed to en masse testing.

    “It’s not possible at the moment to tell if transmission has stopped,” the person said.

    https://www.straitstimes.com/asia/east-asia/despite-official-figures-wuhan-continues-to-find-new-asymptomatic-coronavirus-cases

  16. Fireblade 16

    A classic Beatles song with a very clear video from 1966.

    Paperback Writer

  17. Fireblade 17

    Stay home, stay safe, be kind, we will get through this.

    God Defend New Zealand
    Te Reo Māori and English

  18. millsy 18

    It would be interesting to see what the birth rates are 9-10 months from now.

  19. Fireblade 19

    Prince Charles has tested positive for Covid-19.

    He is currently experiencing mild symptoms and is at home in Scotland.

    https://www.stuff.co.nz/national/health/coronavirus/120576564/coronavirus-prince-charles-tests-positive-displaying-mild-symptoms

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Tokelau Language Week reminds us to stay united and strong
    Staying strong in the face of challenges and being true to our heritage and languages are key to preserving our cultural identity and wellbeing, is the focus of the 2020 Tokelau Language Week. Minister for Pacific Peoples, Aupito William Sio, says this year’s theme, ‘Apoapo tau foe, i nā tāfea ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 days ago
  • NZ announces a third P-3 deployment in support of UN sanctions
    The Government has deployed a Royal New Zealand Air Force P-3K2 Orion (P-3) maritime patrol aircraft to support the implementation of United Nations Security Council (UNSC) resolutions imposing sanctions against North Korea, announced Minister of Foreign Affairs Winston Peters and Minister of Defence Ron Mark. “New Zealand has long supported ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    6 days ago
  • Pacific trade and development agreement a reality
    Pacific regional trade and development agreement PACER Plus will enter into force in 60 days now that the required eight countries have ratified it. Trade and Export Growth Minister David Parker welcomed the announcement that the Cook Islands is the eighth nation to ratify this landmark agreement. “The agreement represents ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Securing a pipeline of teachers
    The Government is changing its approach to teacher recruitment as COVID-19 travel restrictions continue, by boosting a range of initiatives to get more Kiwis into teaching. “When we came into Government, we were faced with a teacher supply crisis,” Education Minister Chris Hipkins said. “Over the past three years, we ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Border exceptions for a small number of international students with visas
    The Government has established a new category that will allow 250 international PhD and postgraduate students to enter New Zealand and continue their studies, in the latest set of border exceptions. “The health, safety and wellbeing of people in New Zealand remains the Government’s top priority. Tight border restrictions remain ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • First COVID-19 vaccine purchase agreement signed
    The Government has signed an agreement to purchase 1.5 million COVID-19 vaccines – enough for 750,000 people – from Pfizer and BioNTech, subject to the vaccine successfully completing all clinical trials and passing regulatory approvals in New Zealand, say Research, Science and Innovation Minister Megan Woods and Health Minister Chris Hipkins. ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • International statement – End-to-end encryption and public safety
    We, the undersigned, support strong encryption, which plays a crucial role in protecting personal data, privacy, intellectual property, trade secrets and cyber security.  It also serves a vital purpose in repressive states to protect journalists, human rights defenders and other vulnerable people, as stated in the 2017 resolution of the ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Ministry of Defence Biodefence Assessment released
    The Ministry of Defence has today released a Defence Assessment examining Defence’s role across the spectrum of biological hazards and threats facing New Zealand. Biodefence: Preparing for a New Era of Biological Hazards and Threats looks at how the NZDF supports other agencies’ biodefence activities, and considers the context of ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • New Approaches to Economic Challenges: Confronting Planetary Emergencies: OECD 9 October 2020
    New Approaches to Economic Challenges: Confronting Planetary Emergencies: OECD 9 October 2020 Hon David Parker’s response following Thomas Piketty and Esther Duflo. Good morning, good afternoon, and good evening, wherever in the world you might be. I first acknowledge the excellent thought provoking speeches of Thomas Piketty and Esther ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Kaipara Moana restoration takes next step
    A Memorandum of Understanding has been signed today at Waihāua Marae between the Crown, local iwi and councils to protect, restore and enhance the mauri of Kaipara Moana in Northland. Environment Minister David Parker signed the document on behalf of the Crown along with representatives from Ngā Maunga Whakahī, Ngāti ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • New Zealand and Uruguay unite on reducing livestock production emissions
    Agriculture Minister Damien O’Connor and Uruguayan Minister of Livestock, Agriculture and Fisheries Carlos María Uriarte have welcomed the launch of a three-year project that will underpin sustainable livestock production in Uruguay, Argentina, and Costa Rica.  The project called ‘Innovation for pasture management’ is led by Uruguay’s National Institute of Agricultural ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • 3100 jobs created through marae upgrades
    Hundreds of marae throughout the country will be upgraded through investments from the Provincial Growth Fund’s refocused post COVID-19 funding to create jobs and put money into the pockets of local tradespeople and businesses, Regional Economic Development Minister Shane Jones and Māori Development Minister Nanaia Mahuta have announced. “A total ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Health volunteers recognised in annual awards
    Health Minister Chris Hipkins has announced 9 teams and 14 individuals are the recipients of this year’s Minister of Health Volunteer Awards.  “The health volunteer awards celebrate and recognise the thousands of dedicated health sector volunteers who give many hours of their time to help other New Zealanders,” Mr Hipkins ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Community COVID-19 Fund supports Pacific recovery
    The Minister for Pacific Peoples, Aupito William Sio says a total of 264 groups and individuals have successfully applied for the Pacific Aotearoa Community COVID-19 Recovery Fund, that will support Pacific communities drive their own COVID-19 recovery strategies, initiatives, and actions. “I am keen to see this Fund support Pacific ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Community benefits from Māori apprenticeships
    Up to 50 Māori apprentices in Wellington will receive paid training to build houses for their local communities, thanks to a $2.75 million investment from the Māori Trades and Training Fund, announced Employment Minister Willie Jackson today. “This funding will enable Ngāti Toa Rangatira Incorporated to provide its Ngā Kaimahi ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Training fund supports Māori jobseekers
    Rapidly growing sectors will benefit from a $990,000 Māori Trades and Training Fund investment which will see Wellington jobseekers supported into work, announced Employment Minister Willie Jackson today. “This funding will enable Sapphire Consultants Ltd. to help up to 45 Māori jobseekers into paid training initiatives over two years through ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Ruakura Inland Port development vital infrastructure for Waikato
    The Government is investing $40 million to develop an inland port at Ruakura which will become a freight super-hub and a future business, research and residential development for the Waikato, Urban Development and Transport Minister Phil Twyford, and Māori Development Minister Nanaia Mahuta announced today. The funding has been has ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • Appointments made to Defence Expert Review Group
    Defence Minister Ron Mark announced today the establishment of an Expert Review Group to review a number of aspects of the New Zealand Defence Force’s (NZDF) structure, information management and record-keeping processes.  The Expert Review Group’s work arises out of the first recommendation from the Report of the Government’s Inquiry ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • No active community cases of COVID-19
    There are no active community cases of COVID-19 remaining in the country after the last people from the recent outbreak have recovered from the virus, Health Minister Chris Hipkins said today. “This is a big milestone. New Zealanders have once again through their collective actions squashed the virus. The systems ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • Clean energy upgrade for more public buildings
    More public buildings will be supported by the Government to upgrade to run on clean energy, the Minister for Climate Change James Shaw announced today. Minister Shaw announced that Lincoln and Auckland universities will receive support through the Clean-Powered Public Service Fund to replace fossil fuel boilers. Southern, Taranaki, and ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago