web analytics

Daily review 25/03/2020

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, March 25th, 2020 - 143 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

143 comments on “Daily review 25/03/2020 ”

  1. SPC 1

    But on the Newstalk ZB talk show on Wednesday morning, Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment deputy chief executive Paul Stocks said butchers and produce stores would not be considered an essential service.

    Not a smart decision – what are they doing taking out local competition to supermarkets? Many neighbourhoods/suburbs have a dairy, butcher and grocer. (mine has a 4 Square, sort of a combo).

    It’s just sad for those businesses and their local walk-in (no transport issues) customers. Needless.

    Next it will be farmers markets – as if buying outdoors makes buying fruit and veges more unsafe.

    Do they have a bias against locally grown and locally sold fresh food and want us to stock up on processed food out of cans or something.

    • And some of us would prefer the local butcher / green grocer / bakery. Far fewer people packed into these shops, fresher produce and less waiting in great long queues.

      • I Feel Love 1.1.1

        Well Farmers Markets would be wouldn't they? Unless they were in stadium size areas with strict patrolling of distance between people. This is not a holiday, this is a state of emergency, and I agree about butchers but fuck it, this sucks for everyone.

        • Carolyn_Nth 1.1.1.1

          i.e. Stay in your bubble. loose bubbles cost lives.

        • SPC 1.1.1.2

          The produce is no more spread out in a supermarket, than in an outdoor market.

          • I Feel Love 1.1.1.2.1

            Not the produce, the people. The reasons playgrounds are shut as it's a place people congregate, they're trying to limit people congregating.

            • SPC 1.1.1.2.1.1

              Yeah the social distancing, there are no crowds in local butchers, greengrocers – more at the supermarket – and no more crowding at an open market than at the supermarket (except for distance caused by trolleys).

              Then there those without cars having to travel by PT to get to a supermarket.

              • I Feel Love

                Apparently they're staggering people in supermarkets, but who knows, no one knows right now, personally, when I go shopping, if I see crowds of people, I'll turn around and leave. Like I said, I agree, butchers, but they are told to shut, so they will shut. I'm just gonna deal with the here and now.

              • Carolyn_Nth

                It's not just about physical closeness, but limiting the number of people we regularly come into contact with – and also limiting the number of locations, because surfaces.

                • SPC

                  You may only see the operator-owner and maybe one other staff member and maybe one other person at the local shop – butcher and greengrocer and dairy (milk) would cover shopping of fresh goods for the month (a lot of people would have already done a supermarket shop to cover their storage for pantry and freezer).

                  • Carolyn_Nth

                    Bottom line is, the fewer places open the better. Too many businesses (and others) trying to stretch it too much. Too many seem to think they're a special case and the strict measures don't apply to them.

                    Supermarkets are upping their game with perspex between checkout operators & customers. Customers to load own bags, and limiting numbers in the store at anyone time.

                    We all need to shrink the number of places we are visiting.

    • ScottGN 1.2

      I think the aim is to minimise the number of places in the public arena where cross-infection can occur.

      Modelling from Uni of Sydney I saw in the SMH this morning says that compliance by at least 80% of the population needs to happen if the containment is to be successful, anything less than that and we will have put ourselves through enormous grief and trashed the economy for nothing. Our health system will still be at risk and Covid-19 will still be out there.

      • SPC 1.2.1

        Increasing the number of people who have to use use the supermarket is not great for increasing social distancing.

        And local spread is – where it occurs easier to identify and contain.

        • ScottGN 1.2.1.1

          Supermarkets have implemented a one in, one out policy at the door with social distancing applied to the resulting queue. Expect to see a fair bit of security when you go to the supermarket to enforce this.

          • satty 1.2.1.1.1

            At the last small bakery in my area open today, they allowed only one customer inside at the any time. That single person can’t touch any produce, which is a significant distance away. Contactless payment. And the shopping is done in one or two minutes, so hardly any outside queue at all.
            No way any supermarket in NZ is safer than this place to get bread.

            I also think the small shop has a much better idea which of their 1-2 employees had contact with produce / places within the shop in case of infection.

            In this case I think the government screwed up.

        • ScottGN 1.2.1.2

          And “local spread” or any spread can be fully avoided if everything is shut down.

          its all or nothing now, no half measures or we might as well just give up and let the thing do what it wants.

          • SPC 1.2.1.2.1

            This is how authoritarianism occurs. No restraints, step by step until there is total itarian) and singular focus on the objective – because any identified "weakness" is risking defeat.

            And all because of fear of community spread – fear because we did not have the the testing kit resources (our pandemic planning was weak) to identify it and its extent.

            The irony we are developing such capacity and may have it after the month (for a few weeks prioritised to those returning kiwis going into their lockdown).

    • weka 1.3

      SPC, please put a link if you are going to cut and paste. I'm getting sick of having to ask this, but it's especially important at this time.

      • mac1 1.4.1

        This butcher is a decent and community-minded man who has a social conscience and is generous. I'd buy from him even if I were a vegan. I know him and I have an idea of what he does for his town. I'd have said he was too busy, in too small a serving area, and I can see why his customers were queued outside. For dinner tonight I had some of his pork belly, and tomorrow night probably his mince on a pizza. Then, I fear I won't see Mike for a month, and have to patronise the supermarket shelves more.

        Just like the wine grower I praised recently, a hard worker and an ethical businessman, Mike Newman, too, puts a human face on the huge problems being faced by people dealing with the corona virus.

  2. pat 2

    The Gods smiled upon NZ when Andrew Little realised Jacinda Ardern had a better chance of saving the NZ Labour Party than himself….the series of events that followed couldnt have been bet upon.

  3. Muttonbird 3

    Was standing in line at PB Tech this afternoon listening to conversations 2m away. The woman behind me, apparently in health, was on the phone worried about several things among them the addicts who will basically go ballistic in a couple of days when they can't meet their needs.

    Expect crime to go through the roof. Police will not be able to handle this.

    I’m of the opinion that a lot more people will die during this event from non Covid-19 related circumstances than from the virus itself.

    • I Feel Love 3.1

      You mean illicit drugs? I wouldn't worry too much, drug addicts know what they're doing and weirdly think ahead, Divo and other dispensaries have plans in place, they're used to people not sparing them much of a thought, I doubt they thought things would change now. (ex addict, with friends still doing naughty things, not one violent criminal or thief among them).

      • weka 3.1.1

        Nice one IFL.

      • Muttonbird 3.1.2

        Do you work in primary health?

        Ok if not, but what about the wider dependent community not so prepared for such an eventuality. I'm think the mass of new methamphetamine users.

        • I Feel Love 3.1.2.1

          No, I don't, but I know users. Users think ahead, users already use illicit channels to get their drugs, users are used to keeping their drug use hidden, users are used to being ignored, places like Divo and mental health workers know these people, it's quite a community, with characters and stories, some funny, some sad. I just think your fear is unwarranted, druggies lives will go on like the rest of us, I'd be more worried about the drunk home renovators quite frankly.

          • Robert Guyton 3.1.2.1.1

            "I'd be more worried about the drunk home renovators quite frankly. "

            smiley

    • Gabby 3.2

      Well you'd hope so wouldn't you. I mean, think about it.

  4. bill 4

    And the homeless….?

    • pat 4.1

      are surprisingly being considered….at least in Auckland and Wellington if theMayors are to be believed

      • Carolyn_Nth 4.1.1

        Goff said they will use empty motels and hotels to house rough sleepers.

        • Macro 4.1.1.1

          Except some of the ones I know would be very unhappy with being in a motel with others. They have been offered accommodation before, especially in severe weather conditions. A nice quiet space where they could come and go. But turned down – preferring to find their own space. Quite a few are suffering anxiety and prefer to be alone, which is why they sleep rough. If they can find a safe place where no one can bother them, that is their goal. Here we are hoping to be able to do a "cook up " and leave it on the front step for them to pick up every other day. if the local police agree.

          I'm not saying they are all like that, but we must understand that for some this is a life that they choose, because this is how they are coping with their circumstances right now. We need to be there for when they are ready to move on.

  5. Muttonbird 5

    Government Covid-19 response to housing costs:

    Homeowners = massive high level talks with banks resulting in a mortgage holiday and you don't have to pay anything while out of work.

    Renters = pay full rent while you are out of work unless you personally can negotiate with your landlord.

    • Pingao 5.1

      Muttonbird – this afternoon on Radio NZ there was an interview in which the ANZ person said the interest would still accrue so no one will take a mortgage "holiday" unless they absolutely have to as it will cost them more. If renters got the same treatment, they would simply be in rent arrears and I know how hard it is to catch up if you are skint to start with. There does need to be some backup though from government of course for people to be able to make their rent payments.

      I will try to find the link – not sure it's up yet.

      https://www.rnz.co.nz/national/programmes/checkpoint/audio/2018740152/anz-boss-assures-customers-cash-available-duing-lockdown

      • pat 5.1.1

        yes I heard that too…which appeared to contradict yesterdays statement that there was an interest holiday as well

        "The six-month principal and interest payment holiday for mortgage holders and small business customers whose incomes have been affected by the economic disruption from Covid-19."

        https://www.rnz.co.nz/news/political/412511/retail-banks-agree-to-a-mortgage-holiday-repayment-scheme

        • alwyn 5.1.1.1

          The comment was by Grant Robertson, wasn't it?

          He is a truly masterful spinner of yarns. Just take his comments with a very large dollop of salt.

          • pat 5.1.1.1.1

            yes was Robertson…he did qualify his statements by saying the banks were working on details and to wait a couple of days for them to do so….but it appears it was unnecessarily loose language

        • James Thrace 5.1.1.2

          "principal and interest" holiday

          So P and I repayments would be put on hold. However, interest will still be charged on the loan itself.

          Over a six month period, that is interest being charged on interest.

          The deal is a bit of a rort. The best thing to do would have been to just freeze the loan for six months. No interest. No repayments.

          But noooooo, the banks still gotta get their slice of fat.

      • Muttonbird 5.1.2

        Thanks mate but the crux of the situation is that in this lockdown and post lockdown period affected renters still have to pay full rent. Affected homeowners do not have to pay anything.

        I'm really tired of pointing this out.

        • pat 5.1.2.1

          you appear to misunderstand how a mortgage holiday works….it generally adds to your long term costs (and appears will do so in this case)

          • Muttonbird 5.1.2.1.1

            Did you actually read what I just wrote?

            • pat 5.1.2.1.1.1

              you wrote…."Affected homeowners do not have to pay anything."

              not the case (unless there was an interest holiday as well)….it is essentially an addition to the mortgage principle and adds both interest costs and extends the term

              • McFlock

                The Warehouse said they'd remain open, the ANZ said they'd still charge interest.

                If they try, let's just see what the government does.

                • pat

                  theres always that possibility…though I expect ANZ is a little more careful than the Warehouse

                  • McFlock

                    We're talking about bankers, here. GFC, all that jazz.

                    • pat

                      lol…yep but I expect they have better legal advice on tap plus the experience of what happened to the big box stores….not to mention more clout

                    • McFlock

                      Once the chargeout is four digits an hour, is the advice really all that much more impressive?

                      Basically it comes down to what the government really wants: with emergency powers, legal fripparies can be waived aside.

                    • pat

                      I understand the best legal advice seldom references the law…..but perhaps a lawyer may have a different view

              • Muttonbird

                "In the lockdown and post lockdown period". Read it!

        • Molly 5.1.2.2

          Hi Muttonbird,

          The only reason we are landlords is because we no longer require the small attached unit for our 'grannies'. Since then we have rented it out, electricity, water and internet included to several people. We've never charged the cost of the flat on our mortgage – because I am of the mind that housing is too expensive and thought we need to follow those values in our decisions. Three young couples have saved enough to get deposits on homes, while we have paid 65% of our income on mortgage costs.

          We gave our current tenants the required six-weeks notice in three weeks ago so our son could return home, and as we try to never give notice, we gave them two weeks rent free so that they would have more money for a deposit when looking for a new place. The Covid-19 alerts have put paid to that and my son will have to stay where he is and the tenancy notice end date will be extended to include the time of the lockdown, however long it is.

          If your suggestion is imposed, and we do have to take a payment holiday – god forbid – we will not be having a gift from the bank that we pass on to our tenants. We will be accruing further interest and it will not be amortised over a term of twenty five years, because we don't have that much working lives left. If we had passed on the cost of having the unit to our tenants, those couples may not have left to move into their own first homes.

          Our tenants are already receiving the government wages, and their board to us takes 27% of that income. Blanket requirements such as the one you propose will include landlords who are already trying to do the right thing for tenants. And will quite honestly for us, be financial pressure that is too much to accommodate. Consider those of us who are already trying to look after their tenants at personal costs already.

          • Muttonbird 5.1.2.2.1

            Molly. You do touch on an important point. That is that there is no consistency in the landlord group in terms of what they offer in rent relief for their tenants.

            Everyone would feel they were 'in this together' if there was government direction on this rather than tenants being thrown to the hounds.

            I say again, my issue is with the short term discrepancy where out of work tenants have to pay full rent and out of work homeowners can defer payments.

            This is crucial for the young families of the renting class.

            They are ignored though. As it ever was.

            • Molly 5.1.2.2.1.1

              I also touch on another important point.

              Assuming all landlords are the same, and need to be required to do something specific because it makes sense to you, does not allow for diversity in tenant experiences, and may very well penalise those landlords who are already trying hard to do the right thing.

              Once again,
              “If your suggestion is imposed, and we do have to take a payment holiday – god forbid – we will not be having a gift from the bank that we pass on to our tenants. We will be accruing further interest and it will not be amortised over a term of twenty five years, because we don’t have that much working lives left.”

              • Molly

                And I also suspect that for those on higher fixed rates – it will be those higher fixed rates interest that will be charged and accrued to the loan.

              • Muttonbird

                But if there was proper government structured guidance then landlords trying to do the right thing would not be disadvantaged at all – rather they would be joined and part of a scheme which serviced everyones needs.

                And on the extra interest – this would be accounted for in a decent government scheme where tenants would pay a reduced rent for the time period which covered costs like rates and insurance and extra costs like heightened interest on the loan.

    • Incognito 5.2

      Homeowners will have to negotiate with their banks. Falling behind in rent is not a good enough reason to kick out tenants until 60 days have passed, which is almost three times as long as previously. If the current new rules are abused, I’d expect further ‘adjustments’ will be introduced by Government.

    • RedBaronCV 5.3

      basically looks like the banks are going to suggest interest only on mortgages where they can, which makes sense to prevent the debt increasing – just delays final repayment.

      Now say everyone was tossed onto that, then rents could also go down to the interest amount plus the other overheads. That way no tenant is retiring outstanding principal so rents drop with a thud. It would put domestic rentals well within benefit levels and save small business by them having hopefully on a tiny lease while income is low.In effect a gain pause button on capital movements but expenses being paid .

      To implement something like this needs somebody like the ird – they have sector figures – to estimate what % of rental income is nationally swallowed by rates interest insurance and other cash overheads and then the rent freeze becomes anational rent fall of the required %

      • Incognito 5.3.1

        You seem to be assuming that mortgage payments on rentals are the same as on owner-occupied home loans with maximum principal payments. In addition, most loans are on fixed rates.

        • RedBaronCV 5.3.1.1

          Well if the rental mortgage is interest only then likely to mean taking funds they are using elsewhere and yes there are fixed rates of varying amounts on mortgages as are rates insurances etc. Hence using sector averages which could be refined by region. Something is used to set the general housing top up benefit so there are figures there.

          It wouldn't work perfectly for all but the current default certainly doesn't so this could be a different starting point. Then some form of top up negotiations

    • SPC 5.4

      Then there are rental property managers – reminds one of the executives hired to remove labour so vulture capitalism (private funds) can on-sell for CG.

      https://www.nzherald.co.nz/business/news/article.cfm?c_id=3&objectid=12319904

  6. weston 6

    Fuck it pays to just turn the damn radio off after a while the extra stentorian tones of the health warnings emergency alert signals on the phone ect are giving me the shits .They're just scaring people imo and its not necessary after all the build up .anyone with half a brain has surely got the message .Today at a press conference the PM said we could go for a walk but dont talk to anyone is that being kind to each other ?ffs the other day it was sing out to your neigbour over the fence .The thought of weeks if not longer of your own company with little or no respite is bad enough without setting out to ignore people .Say hello !!

    • I Feel Love 6.1

      I'll still be working, I work for NZ Post, I see people waving at each other and being kind and yelling "All good?" to each other, more so than usual. Common sense, we are social animals, we adapt, give it time there will be new funny ideas people come up with (the teddy bear example below). Fuck, maybe we'll start learning morse code or sign language… I shift from despair and cynicism to cheery upbeat optimism, and yes, turn off the news!

    • Gabby 6.2

      Say it, don't spray it weston, that's the point.

      • In Vino 6.2.1

        Some of it is a bit silly, too. "Pretend you've already got the virus…" For Heaven's sake, if I've already got the virus, why on earth keep trying to avoid catching it? Some bumkum is getting made up at times..

        • I Feel Love 6.2.1.1

          To stop you spreading it?

          • JanM 6.2.1.1.1

            Exactly!

            • In Vino 6.2.1.1.1.1

              Yes, of course that is the obvious aim. But if I am pretending that I already have it, why would I continue to wash my hands in cases where that act protects only me?

              I think they got this idea from war stories where soldiers performed brave acts in the heat of action – pretending they were already dead helped clear their heads.

              I don't think it suits this situation. We must all try above all to avoid catching it (if we haven't already, but do not know) and we should also do all we can to avoid spreading it. But pretending we already have it is naff to my mind.

              • I Feel Love

                Maybe because the advice is broad, for the brightest amongst us, and the stupidest. Lockdown for Dummies.

                • In Vino

                  Fair enough. I would be happier with "Imagine you already have it," rather than "Pretend". But now I'm quibbling, so I shall quietly withdraw…

  7. Anne 7

    I like this:

    https://www.rnz.co.nz/news/national/412602/teddy-bears-in-windows-to-cheer-up-kids-during-lockdown

    It's hard enough for adults to fully comprehend the situation. It must be impossible for the kids. I don't live on a street front but a nice way to give them some fun counting the teddy bears.

  8. joe90 8

    Family Fist's weed expert.

  9. Fireblade 9

    My washing machine is rooted. I'm going to hang the dirty laundry on the clothesline and attack it with the water blaster.

    • I Feel Love 9.1

      Ha!!!!

    • The Al1en 9.2

      Bath tub, hot water, sprinkle of washing powder, shorts on and pretend your squishing grapes for 15 minutes.

      Pain in the arse come to rinse time, mind, especially 'cause the tap has to be running and hot water is burny. Tip – use use cold water. lol

      • Fireblade 9.2.1

        Doing the laundry in the bath tub sounds like a good idea, thanks The Al1en.

        • The Al1en 9.2.1.1

          If you do the stomp method, beware, it does comes with a slippery health warning. It does work, had to do it a few times, and my nan use to always do it, though she had willing (or press ganged) grand kids to do the mashing, and kids were tougher back then, so falling out of the bath didn't seem to matter so much.

          Rinsing is the pain, not just for having to use cold water, but because it never seems to run thoroughly clean. I always found it best to rinse just one or two items, squeeze and redo, but at least you can do that from outside the tub.

    • Incognito 9.3

      Followed by the leave blower. I hope you use industrial strength pegs.

    • Anne 9.4

      Fireblade @ 9
      You won't have any clothes left mate. 😯

      • Anne 9.4.1

        Seriously:

        I've just had a pair of relatives drop by with TV dinners and puds in case I don't always feel like cooking during the lockdown. They said there are military helicoptors flying all over Auckland tonight. Must be expecting trouble.

        I popped in to my local dairy earlier today and the Indian family who own it are scared stiff. They know they are going to be at the front of the firing line when the kids high on drugs – having discovered everything is closed – start vandalising and burglarising the dairies for cigarettes and the like.

        • Carolyn_Nth 9.4.1.1

          Haven't heard any helicopters over Mt Eden way.

          • Anne 9.4.1.1.1

            They travelled from Pt Chev to Browns Bay and then to Devonport using the Northern Motorway so maybe there was something going down further north.

            Edit: I have a nephew currently training in Waiuru and he told his mother the military have been gearing up to assist the police for some weeks now. His training schedule has been halted so they are available for police assistance work. His sister (my niece) is a recently graduated cop working in Rotorua and she says things are building up there at the moment.

            • Carolyn_Nth 9.4.1.1.1.1

              Interesting. A helicopter did fly overhead a few minutes ago – just passing.

        • I Feel Love 9.4.1.2

          Those high on drugs burglarizers will have to wait in line like the rest of us.

  10. Muttonbird 10

    Big landlords, particularly those who do regular opinion pieces in the media might want to action some well publicised rent relief for their customers.

    Otherwise they might look like greedy and mean charlatans…

    …just saying.

  11. Carolyn_Nth 11

    People with holiday homes and little sense of social responsibility, heading to their holiday homes in small communities for the lock down – putting pressure on communities that don't have the health resources to support them, adding extra bodies in supermarkets, and possibly taking Covid-19 with them.

    RNZ Checkpoint

    Reporter Susan Strongman has spoken to Coromandel peninsula residents, who are worried by the influx of out-of-towners they've seen in the last few days.

    • I Feel Love 11.1

      I do wish that was stressed a bit more, "this is NOT a holiday", we were asked to stay in our regions. They've already had to ask people to not go tramping or hunting, what's the bet we hear of a hunting tragedy and or people missing on some range, c'mon people, prove me wrong!

      • Graeme 11.1.1

        Yeah, this could turn really nasty for someone who's infected but yet to know about it, who goes bush and then gets sick.

    • RedBaronCV 11.2

      Yeah iwi should have closed a few more areas.

    • SPC 11.3

      If we are going to require people to give up their local shops and use supermarkets – why not allow people to spread out and isolate themselves further away?

      Neither local fear of the outsider (welcome each summer for business), nor resentment at others being able to use their time in this way, is a good thing. They can isolate as much there as their usual residence (not really a burden if they bring their own shopping).

      • Carolyn_Nth 11.3.1

        Nonsense. Resources like health care are based on year round resident numbers. Great for some well-off townies to think they'll be better of in a smaller community – except the locals are a small community most of the year, and these insensitive townies are adding to their stress and vulnerability

      • I Feel Love 11.3.2

        Read what Graeme said, what if they're sick and they don't know it, and above weren't you advocating staying local? We still might see Regions, towns, even suburbs get further locked down, so maybe these holiday makers might find themselves locked in, or locked out, like in a Bollard novel. We were told to stay home, because it was the simplest thing to do, but oh no, people have to stretch definitions and be contrary. I feel for the police, having to babysit us.

        • SPC 11.3.2.1

          They, or partner, can drive to their primary residence from the "bach" if someone feels sick.

          There are not going to be any regional lockdowns – not until they can identify a singular area of community spread. They would have their own shopping with them.

          Why should those foreign tourists still here be the only ones enjoying our isolated outdoor areas – these people are not in contact with anyone else going from one place to another.

          • I Feel Love 11.3.2.1.1

            ""And local spread is – where it occurs easier to identify and contain. " you said. -How do you know there won’t be regional lockdowns? I’d say right now, anything is possible.

            • SPC 11.3.2.1.1.1

              In so far as track and trace local makes for easier follow up, regional lockdowns require community testing – which we will not be doing this month (focus is on incoming kiwis for now)

          • McFlock 11.3.2.1.2

            Well, for one thing an itinerant population makes contact tracing a bugger.

            You go bush tomorrow, someone you contacted with yesterday comes down with it on the weekend, phones are unreliable – I mean, we can hope you don't encounter anyone else and the only one in danger is you…

            • SPC 11.3.2.1.2.1

              Only a problem if the bach has no landline, or poor mobile reception – there is still email to their devices.

        • Muttonbird 11.3.2.2

          Gawd. Would so hate for the Covid-19 fleeing wealthy to be locked out of their primary homes.

    • Macro 11.4

      Well I have seen a couple – but frankly I think that report is over egging it somewhat. Today was my last last chance to go and mow the lawns at Whiritoa. The beach was pretty empty, and no where near the numbers around over the summer holidays. Tomorrow of course they won't be able to.

  12. RedBaronCV 12

    I see on RNZ that Virgin airlines are basically closing their New Zealand operations making redundancies but are wondering what to do with the wages ssubsidy from the government. Greed like rust seems to never sleep and why are we funding Richard Branson

  13. Incognito 13

    To avoid queues and minimise contact time, why don’t supermarkets do the shopping for us? You give them your list (in advance), they fill your trolley, you paywave (they can even use mobile EFTPOS), collect your shoppings and drive home. My kind of shopping.

    • Andre 13.1

      Most big supermarkets already have a click and collect system set up. The two big ones on Lincoln Rd have it. But it seems they are heavily used at the moment so the first available slots are quite a way ahead. You pay online when you place the order, no need for an unclean disease riddled mobile EFTPOS machine to even come within sneezing distance.

      • Incognito 13.1.1

        Good. Maybe they can increase capacity and shift from physical shopping presence to collection-only. With paywave, the only thing you touch is that disgusting piece of plastic in your wallet 😉

      • Carolyn_Nth 13.1.2

        I have registered for Countdown. I looked at the click and collect PickUp several times and have never seen an available slot for my local supermarket- always every time-day slot booked up for the next 7 days. Ditto for home delivery, which costs more. I finally DID manage to get a home delivery for Sunday, but that was a bit of luck. Although the cost is fairly steep, but it's cheaper for a big order, and they give a discount on your first delivery.

        I have a scratchy throat, on antibiotics, and been told by the GP to self isolate and to stay away from people, just in case I have a mild does of THE virus. I prefer to do my own shopping, but, will make do in this extraordinary time. I see my local Countdown have expanded the number of slots for home delivery, but it's still over subscribed – all slots full for the next 7 days.

        So I am eaking out the meagre fruit & veg I have left so I last til Sunday. Have plenty of protein. I'd rather leave calling out a nephew to shop for me for another week or 2 if I can, and that should take me thru the 4 weeks.

        These are not normal times, and we need to make do without some of the luxuries and on-tap stuff we are used to, in order to limit our contacts and keep ourselves and others safe

        Up side is, I think I have painlessly lost a little weight. That won't hurt me in the long run.

        • SPC 13.1.2.1

          Register for New World as well – and go with the one with the earliest, or most convenient time slot. And do so early or late to avoid difficulty logging in.

          • Carolyn_Nth 13.1.2.1.1

            There is no New World anywhere near me. Countdown is it.

            • SPC 13.1.2.1.1.1

              Pity, that choice can be useful. I found this week that New World was available a day quicker (and still had specials, if some were sold out by my delivery today).

              • Macro

                It's Pac and Slave or nothing here.

                They have just finished a major refit and the installed the cabinets for online ordering. About 100 I guess. Totally insufficient for even a small town of around 8000.

          • mary_a 13.1.2.1.2

            New World doesn't do online shopping in the South Island, where I live. I have registered with Fresh Choice here in Cromwell and getting our groceries delivered late tomorrow afternoon/early evening. No problems registering. Because I'm slow, sorting through what I wanted online took me a while, although it was very easy. But I'm sure I will get used to it. Incidently, it worked out a lot cheaper than physically shopping.

        • mary_a 13.1.2.2

          Take good care of yourself Carolyn_Nth. Keep safe.

    • Muttonbird 13.2

      A lot of people prefer to choose they own fruit and meat. They like to use the time in the isles to think about what they need and imagine recipes.

      A lot of people don't do rigid lists.

      • Incognito 13.2.1

        Well, maybe this is a good time to plan ahead more and better. I know many shoppers like to touch, pinch, smell, and feel produce and then put it back again for the next shopper to do the same thing again. Would you like to buy avocados, bananas or apples that have been touched by countless strangers before? There are very good apps that take the recipe and list the ingredients as a shopping list but you have to plan the meals for the week. But we shall not inconvenience shoppers, shall we? Least of all, at Alert Level 4.

        • McFlock 13.2.1.1

          For me, it's not really about planning ahead. Seeing the thing reminds me of shit I need, or can do better than what I had actually planned.

          As for poking and prodding, yeah, that's why I tend to wash any produce that doesn't peel anyway.

          • Muttonbird 13.2.1.1.1

            + 1.

            It's not about feeling the fruit, it's about busy culinary minded people wanting to cook for themselves and like to be inspired when looking at produce in the supermarket for the inspiration on a lovely dish for their family.

            Still, at alert level 4 no one is busy, are they? Perhaps we should all just do Ubermarkets instead and be done with any personal creativity?

            • I Feel Love 13.2.1.1.1.1

              Dot a month, we're asked to sacrifice our normal patterns, and we laugh at Trump being bored of his lockdown after a week.

              • McFlock

                We laugh at that fool because otherwise one would cry at the people he's killed through laziness and incompetence. We haven't touched the tip of the iceberg on that one.

            • Incognito 13.2.1.1.1.2

              Pak’nSave allows you 30 min in the shop to get creative.

              • Muttonbird

                But you just said supermarkets should be taking lists.

                Which is it?

                • Incognito

                  You just said you like to be inspired in a supermarket. Well, you’ll have 30 min as off midnight. Knock yourself out with some exotic recipes.

              • Macro

                Gezz 10 mins is long enough for me. 15 mins is too long.

                • Incognito

                  Those were the days when filling up the trolley once a fortnight and be done with it, except for occasional re-stocking milk and fruit & vege. The less time spent in a supermarket, the better.

                  • Macro

                    Actually I don't use a trolley.

                    I have a decent sized carry bag.I also carry my own bags for veg. Knowing what I want, and where it is, I can quickly get around the store, and usually with less than 12 items go to the fast lane and check out.

                  • weka

                    there are people in my family who go to the supermarket every day. Don't get me started.

          • Carolyn_Nth 13.2.1.1.2

            Yes, I did leave off some stuff I would have liked from my Sunday home delivery order. Plus, I didn't think to get something probiotic to counter the antibiotics. But, I will get it sooner or later. The stuff I forgot is more what I like, rather than what I absolutely need.

  14. joe90 14

    Some good stuff in the google doc.

  15. joe90 15

    Despite official figures reporting few to no new domestic Covid-19 cases on the Chinese mainland in recent days, authorities continue to detect more infections, with those in the city at the heart of the country’s outbreak often amounting to more than a dozen a day, Caixin has learned.

    According to a member of the infectious disease prevention and control team in Wuhan, every day the city continues to record “several or more than a dozen asymptomatic infected individuals”, which are people that have tested positive for Covid-19, but do not feel ill and are excluded from published numbers.

    Beware the asymptomatic.

    As of Sunday (March 22), Hubei province, where Wuhan is located, had four consecutive days of zero new “confirmed cases.”

    The person, who asked not to be named, said that these asymptomatic people are found by tracing the contacts of others who are infected and by screening quarantine workers who are at high risk of infection, as opposed to en masse testing.

    “It’s not possible at the moment to tell if transmission has stopped,” the person said.

    https://www.straitstimes.com/asia/east-asia/despite-official-figures-wuhan-continues-to-find-new-asymptomatic-coronavirus-cases

  16. Fireblade 16

    A classic Beatles song with a very clear video from 1966.

    Paperback Writer

  17. Fireblade 17

    Stay home, stay safe, be kind, we will get through this.

    God Defend New Zealand
    Te Reo Māori and English

  18. millsy 18

    It would be interesting to see what the birth rates are 9-10 months from now.

  19. Fireblade 19

    Prince Charles has tested positive for Covid-19.

    He is currently experiencing mild symptoms and is at home in Scotland.

    https://www.stuff.co.nz/national/health/coronavirus/120576564/coronavirus-prince-charles-tests-positive-displaying-mild-symptoms

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • New Zealand Sign Language Week a chance to recognise national taonga
    This week (10 – 16 May 2021) is New Zealand Sign Language Week (NZSL), a nationwide celebration of NZSL as an official language of New Zealand. “We’re recognised as a world leader for our commitment to maintaining and furthering the use of our sign language,” says Minister for Disability Issues ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 hour ago
  • Economic resilience provides more options in Budget 2021
    Securing the recovery and investing in the wellbeing of New Zealanders is the focus of Budget 2021, Grant Robertson told his audience at a pre-budget speech in Auckland this morning. "The economy has proven resilient in response to COVID-19, due to people having confidence in the Government’s health response to ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 hours ago
  • Pre-Budget speech to BNZ-Deloitte Auckland Breakfast Event
    Thank you for the invitation to speak to you today, and to share with you some of the Government’s thinking leading into this year’s budget. This will be my fourth time delivering the annual Budget for the Government, though the events of the past year have thrown out that calculation. ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 hours ago
  • Rotuman Language week affirms language as the key to Pacific wellbeing
    The first Pacific Language Week this year  makes it clear that  language is the key to the wellbeing for all Pacific people said Minister for Pacific Peoples, Aupito William Sio. “This round of language  weeks begin with Rotuman. As I have always  said language is one of the pillars of ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    19 hours ago
  • Budget delivers improved cervical and breast cancer screening
    Budget 2021 funds a more effective cervical screening test to help reduce cervical cancer rates A new breast screening system that can proactively identify and enrol eligible women to reach 271,000 more people who aren’t currently in the programme. Budget 2021 delivers a better cervical screening test and a major ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    23 hours ago
  • NZ-France to co-chair Christchurch Call Leaders’ Summit
    New Zealand and France will jointly convene the Christchurch Call Community for a leaders’ summit, to take stock of progress and develop a new shared priority work plan. Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern and President Emmanuel Macron will co-chair the leaders’ meeting on the 2nd anniversary of the Call, on 14 ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 day ago
  • New South Wales travel pause to be lifted tomorrow
    COVID-19 Response Minister Chris Hipkins says the current travel pause with New South Wales will lift tomorrow – subject to no further significant developments in NSW. “New Zealand health officials met today to conduct a further assessment of the public health risk from the recently identified COVID-19 community cases in Sydney. It has been determined that the risk to public ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 days ago
  • March 15 Collective Impact Board appointed
    The voices of those affected by the March 15 mosque attacks will be heard more effectively with the establishment of a new collective impact board, Associate Minister for Social Development and Employment Priyanca Radhakrishnan announced today. Seven members of the Christchurch Muslim community have been appointed to the newly established Board, ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 days ago
  • More young Kiwis supported with mental health and addiction services
    Nearly quarter of a million more young New Zealanders will have access to mental health and addiction support in their communities as the Government’s youth mental health programme gathers pace. New contracts to expand youth-specific services across the Northland, Waitematā and Auckland District Health Board areas have been confirmed, providing ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 days ago
  • New hospital facilities mean fewer trips to Auckland for Northlanders
    Northlanders will no longer automatically have to go to Auckland for lifesaving heart procedures like angiograms, angioplasty and the insertion of pacemakers, thanks to new operating theatres and a cardiac catheter laboratory opened at Whangārei Hospital by Health Minister Andrew Little today. The two projects – along with a new ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 days ago
  • Fair Pay Agreements to improve pay and conditions for essential workers
    The Government is delivering on its pre-election commitment to implement Fair Pay Agreements which will improve wages and conditions, as well as help support our economic recovery, Workplace Relations and Safety Minister Michael Wood announced today. Fair Pay Agreements will set minimum standards for all employees and employers in an ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 days ago
  • Establishment of the new Māori Health Authority takes first big step
    Sir Mason Durie will lead a Steering Group to provide advice to the Transition Unit on governance arrangements and initial appointments to an interim board to oversee the establishment of the Māori Health Authority. This Group will ensure that Māori shape a vital element of our future health system, Minister ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 days ago
  • Cycle trails move up a gear in Central
    Work on new and upgraded cycle trails in Queenstown, Arrowtown and Central Otago is moving up a gear as two significant projects pass further milestones today. Tourism Minister Stuart Nash has announced new funding for the Queenstown Trails Project, and will also formally open the Lake Dunstan Trail at Bannockburn ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 days ago
  • Picton ferry terminal upgrade consent fast-tracked
    The planned upgrade of the Waitohi Picton Ferry terminal has been approved under the fast-track consenting process.  Environment Minister David Parker today welcomed the decision by the expert consenting panel to approve the Waitohi Picton Ferry Precinct Redevelopment Project.    The project will provide a significant upgrade to the ferry facilities ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    4 days ago
  • Quarantine Free Travel with New South Wales paused
    COVID-19 Response Minister Chris Hipkins has announced his intention to pause Quarantine Free Travel from New South Wales to New Zealand while the source of infection of the two cases announced in Sydney in the last two days is investigated.  Whole genome sequencing has linked the case yesterday to a recent ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    4 days ago
  • Covid-19 immigration powers to be extended
    The passing of a bill to extend temporary COVID-19 immigration powers means continued flexibility to support migrants, manage the border, and help industries facing labour shortages, Immigration Minister Kris Faafoi said. “Over the past year, we’ve made rapid decisions to extend visas, vary visa conditions and waive some application requirements ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    4 days ago
  • “Supporting a Trade-Led Economic Recovery”
    Trade Policy Road Show SpeechManukau, Auckland   Kia ora koutou – nau mai, haere mai ki Manukau, ki Tāmaki.   Good morning everyone, and thank you for this opportunity to discuss with you current global challenges, opportunities and the Government’s strategy in support of a trade-led recovery from the economic ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    4 days ago
  • Building consent numbers at an all-time high
    A record 41,028 new homes have been consented in the year ended March 2021 March 2021 consent numbers the highest since the 1940s Record number of new homes consented in Auckland The number of new homes consented is at an all-time high, showing a strong and increasing pipeline of demand ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    4 days ago
  • Whānau-centred support for parents and tamariki
    Up to 60 whānau in Counties Manukau will be supported through the first three years of their parenthood by a new whānau-centred model of care, said Associate Health Minister, Hon Aupito William Sio. “Providing this support to young parents is something we have to get right. It’s a priority both ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    4 days ago
  • NZ backs moves to improve global access to COVID vaccines
    New Zealand welcomes and strongly supports the announcement made by the United States Trade Representative to work for a waiver of IP protections on COVID-19 vaccines at the WTO, Trade Minister Damien O’Connor said. “New Zealand supports equitable access to COVID vaccines for all. No one is safe from the ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    4 days ago
  • Tourism communities: support, recovery and re-set plan
    TIHEI MAURI ORA Tuia te whakapono Tuia te tumanako Tuia te aroha Tuia te hunga ora Ki te hunga ora Tihei Mauri ora Ka nui te mihi ki a koutou Tena koutou, tena koutou, tena koutou katoa. Thank you, Hilary and thank you, Chris, and everyone at TIA for this ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    4 days ago
  • Support, recovery and re-set plan for tourism communities
    Five South Island tourist communities targeted for specialist support Pressure on Māori tourism operators and Conservation facilities recognised Domestic and international-facing tourism agencies put on more secure footing Long-term plan to re-set tourism with a focus on sustainability, industry standards and regional economic diversification A plan to ensure the immediate ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    4 days ago
  • Speech on NZ Rail Plan
    Check against delivery E ngā mana, e ngā reo, e ngā karanga maha o te wa, tēnā koutou, tēnā koutou, tēnā tātou katoa. Ki ngā mana whenua o Taranaki Whānui anō nei aku mihi ki a koutou. Nōku te hōnore kia haere mai ki te whakanuia tēnei huihuinga whakahirahira. Nō ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    4 days ago
  • Government hits massive milestone in Violence Prevention & Elimination
    Minister for Family and Sexual Violence Marama Davidson announced a major milestone at a hui in South Auckland today, with the launch of the national engagement process on the prevention and elimination of family and sexual violence. “There is no room for violence in our lives – there is no ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    4 days ago
  • Fee waiver extended for conservation tourism businesses
    Tourism businesses operating on public conservation land will have another six months of fees waived to help them adjust to the downturn in international visitors in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic, Acting Minister of Conservation Dr Ayesha Verrall has announced. "We acknowledge it has been a difficult year for ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    4 days ago
  • ‘Lua Wave’ to future-proof Pasifika Festivals in Aotearoa
    Pasifika festival organisers will receive additional support to adapt to the COVID-19 environment thanks to the Government’s newly launched ‘Lua Wave’ component of the Pasifika Festivals Initiative, Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage Carmel Sepuloni announced today. “This initiative has not only been to support festival organisers to recover from ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    4 days ago
  • Crown accounts show confidence in Govt economic plan
    The Government’s financial accounts continue to reflect the resilience of the economy and confidence in the Government’s economic recovery plan. The Crown accounts for the nine months to the end of March 2021 show both OBEGAL and the operating balance remain better than forecast in the Half Year Economic and ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    4 days ago
  • Energy Trusts of NZ Autumn Conference
    It’s a pleasure to be here today. Thank you Karen [Sherry] for the introduction and thanks to the Energy Trusts Executive for inviting me to speak at tonight’s event. It is an exciting time to come to speak to trustees of distribution companies. For many decades the electricity industry was ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    4 days ago
  • New partnership to grow Māori success in STEM
    A new partnership with the Pūhoro STEM Academy will support thousands more rangatahi Māori to participate and succeed in the fields of science, technology, and innovation, Associate Education Minister Kelvin Davis announced today. Since 2016, Pūhoro has worked with Māori students to build their capability and create pathways to employment ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    4 days ago
  • Rail builds platform for economic recovery
    Transport Minister Michael Wood and State-Owned Enterprises Minister Dr David Clark today released the Government’s long term vision for a sustainable rail network that supports our economic recovery. New Zealand Rail Plan lays out how the Government is building a resilient, reliable and safe network, as well as the indicative ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    4 days ago
  • NZ and UK agree to lift the pace of free trade talks
    New Zealand and the United Kingdom have agreed to rapidly lift the tempo of talks, as the two countries enter a new phase in free trade negotiations, Trade and Export Growth Minister Damien O’Connor announced today. “UK Secretary of State for International Trade, Liz Truss, and I spoke today about ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    5 days ago
  • Counter-Terrorism Legislation Bill passes first reading
    The Counter-Terrorism Legislation Bill has passed its first reading and will now be considered by Parliament’s Justice select committee. “The Bill updates and improves New Zealand’s counter-terrorism legislation and ensures that the right legislative tools are available to intervene early and prevent harm,” Minister of Justice Kris Faafoi said. “The ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    5 days ago
  • Statement on The Speaker and Annual Review Debate
    “The serious issue of alleged sexual assault and harassment at Parliament was poorly managed and inappropriately politicised last night. The tone of the debate did not reflect well on Parliament as a whole,” Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern said. “Any investigation of claims of sexual assault should be in a manner ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    5 days ago
  • Govt motoring towards zero-carbon buses and protecting drivers’ conditions
    Transport Minister Michael Wood is seeking feedback on options for the next phase of the Public Transport Operating Model (PTOM) review to better protect bus drivers’ pay conditions, and also achieving the Government’s target of fully decarbonising the public transport bus fleet by 2035. Michael Wood said investing in our ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    5 days ago
  • Drop in unemployment shows Govt economic plan is working
    The Government’s economic recovery plan continues to be reflected in the labour market, with more people in work and unemployment falling. Stats NZ figures show employment rose by 15,000 in the March quarter, with 14,000 more women in work. The unemployment rate fell from 4.9 percent to 4.7 percent. This ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    5 days ago
  • Government sets pay and workforce expectations for the Public Sector
    The Government’s Workforce Policy Statement issued today sets out its expectations for pay and employment relations in the Public Sector, the Minister of Finance and Minister for the Public Service say. “New Zealand has had an exceptionally successful health and economic response to COVID-19. This has been supported by the ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    5 days ago
  • Author Ben Brown is New Zealand’s first Te Awhi Rito Reading Ambassador
    Lyttleton writer Ben Brown (Ngāti Mahuta, Ngāti Koroki, Ngāti Paoa) will be New Zealand’s first Te Awhi Rito Reading Ambassador, promoting the value of reading for children and young people, Internal Affairs Minister Jan Tinetti announced today. A poet and award-winning author, Ben Brown writes books, non-fiction and short stories ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    6 days ago
  • Celebrating New Zealand’s firefighters this International Firefighters’ day
    With two fire stations already complete, and building underway on 16 fire stations around the country, today we celebrate International Firefighters’ Day for the important role firefighters have in keeping communities across the country safe, says Minister of Internal Affairs, Jan Tinetti. The work is progressing due to Government funding ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    6 days ago
  • Ron Brierley knighthood to go
    Ron Brierley has written to the Clerk of the Executive Council to tender his resignation as a Knight Bachelor. The Queen has been informed. The forfeiture follows the Prime Minister initiating the process to remove his Knighthood. The Clerk of the Executive Council wrote to him on 6 April 2021 ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    6 days ago
  • Employment boost for rural communities
    The Government is continuing to create opportunities for at-risk rangatahi overcome barriers to employment, education or training with the next tranche of He Poutama Rangatahi programmes, Minister for Social Development and Employment Carmel Sepuloni announced today. “We’re focused on supporting rangatahi to get what they need to progress in the ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    6 days ago