web analytics

Daily review 26/08/2019

Written By: - Date published: 5:30 pm, August 26th, 2019 - 64 comments
Categories: Daily review - Tags:

 

Daily review is also your post.

This provides Standardistas the opportunity to review events of the day.

The usual rules of good behaviour apply (see the Policy).

Don’t forget to be kind to each other …

64 comments on “Daily review 26/08/2019 ”

  1. Agora 1

    Why is Simon posing with those losers?

    • alwyn 1.1

      "losers"?

      I am sure that there would be any number of New Zealand Prime Ministers who would be jealous of Howard's display. He was in the job for 11 years, second only to Menzies 18. I'm sure Helen Clark would have loved to have lasted that long instead of being kicked out after a mere 9 years. Key of course never lost. He won every election he contested as Party Leader.

      Oh well I suppose you are like all of us. Memory going in your old age I suppose.

      • Andre 1.1.1

        Good point.

        The question really should be, what are they doing being seen with an obvious zero like Simon?

        • alwyn 1.1.1.1

          That is a sensible question although I think a zero is a little harsh. Just a little though.

          On the other hand I think I would prefer a low charisma PM than the fool we have at the moment. Charisma coming out her ears but no knowledge of the world to go with it.

      • woodart 1.1.2

        why dont you finish the story alwyn. when aussies finally woke up, howard lost very badly. even lost his own seat, something that had never happened in aus, so yes, his last parliamentary act was a massive loss.

        • alwyn 1.1.2.1

          You really are a very foolish little chap, or is it chappess?

          You claim "even lost his own seat, something that had never happened in aus".

          As usual you are WRONG. He wasn't the first. Some people really are ignorant aren't you?

  2. adam 2

    Good on Martin at the TDB for this –

    https://thedailyblog.co.nz/2019/08/26/suicide-rate-hits-all-time-record-high/

    Love how this radical far right wing economic experiment keeps rolling on, and the deaths just don't matter. Or how the centre left just do nothing but platitudes, and keep running with this destructive economic theory.

    • alwyn 2.1

      I'm afraid that after almost 2 years in office the current Government is simply going to have to cop any flak that is coming, whether it is fair or, as I think, rather unfair. Can't try the standard line about it all being National's fault though.

      Terrible figures though, aren't they.

      • adam 2.1.1

        National support, and want to extend the far right crazy economics. So national are as bad – indeed probable the reason it so high.

        And as for platitudes, I forgot the right can do it in spades as well…

      • Cinny 2.1.2

        What's not ok is to ignore it.

        What's not ok is to pretend it's someone else's problem to fix.

        A new national Suicide Prevention Strategy and a Suicide Prevention Office are set to be announced within weeks, Health Minister Dr David Clark said.

        He called the figures a sad reminder of the scale of New Zealand's mental health challenge.

        • The Chairman 2.1.2.1

          A new national Suicide Prevention Strategy and a Suicide Prevention Office

          Wouldn't better addressing poverty have far more impact?

          • Ed1 2.1.2.1.1

            The government has already put a lot of effort into mental health services, but it all takes time to become effective; some areas of help were persistently underfunded for the previous 9 years. Poverty can be important, but youth services seem to be quite important too – high youth unemployment, some of it not helped by using immigration to fill employment shortages in some not very skilled areas didn't help either.

            • The Chairman 2.1.2.1.1.1

              Increasing expenditure on mental health services largely overlooks the issues that initially trigger mental health problems, thus is not the solution in itself. So while it may help comfort some currently having problems, it's clear the Government will have to do far more to help prevent more from initially becoming mentally stressed/ill.

              And an area where the Government can do a lot more to have an almost instant impact is better addressing poverty. Which, of course, despite the rhetoric, thus minimal input to date, has largely been deferred. With no date for significant change announced. Which, in itself, is depressing.

          • Cinny 2.1.2.1.2

            No, it's not about poverty it's about feeling worthless.

            • The Chairman 2.1.2.1.2.1

              Living in poverty adds to people losing their self worth, Cinny.

              When you can't afford to participate in society, you no longer feel part of society, thus start thinking what is the point of living.

              • Rosemary McDonald

                When you can't afford to participate in society, you no longer feel part of society, thus start thinking what is the point of living.

                I expect better from you TC. Suicide is not as simple as you purport. Oh, that it were.

                Cinny is correct. It is not about poverty.

                • The Chairman

                  I expected far better understanding from you, Rosemary.

                  Poverty is totally related to people feeling worthless. And in today's consumer based society where people are largely judged upon what they do and how much they earn their feeling of worthlessness and shame is further compounded by the scorn and venom dished upon them by many in the community.

                  Your (and others) lack of understanding of this highlights their feeling of abandonment.

                  Shame on you.

                  [I will try to respond to your other comment(s) in due course but this is the second time you’re pulling this emotional string on another commenter for not agreeing with you (on being anti-Labour) – the first one was Cinny yesterday who, according to you, “seem[ed] easily pleased”. In fact, you tried it with me too today. This is not a good way to debate and argue your case as it changes it from playing the ball to playing the (wo)man – Incognito]

                  • Robert Guyton

                    It's but one aspect. The Chair is trying to force his blunt view on those who know what nuance is. He's doing that so that he can ride his, "Labour's failing the poor" hobby-horse.

                    • Rosemary McDonald

                      Labour is failing the poor (and the ill and the disabled)….

                      …but these are not the people who are taking their own lives.

                      I often agree with The Chairman, but not on this topic.

                    • The Chairman

                      Fuck off clown.

                      I personally know people who have passed away for that exact reason.

                      Nor am I claiming it's the only reason behind suicide. You fricken egg.

                      So direct your uncaring shit elsewhere.

                      [TC, please take a step back before you need to resort to abuse. – weka]

                    • weka []

                      mod note for you Chairman.

                      Maybe everyone consider that suicide is a sensitive topic, and there will be people reading and commenting with histories that we don’t know about so extra care is called for.

                  • Rosemary McDonald

                    If poverty caused such deep feelings of worthlessness in an individual that suicide was the only the sole relief, then the numbers would be much, much higher.

                    Think about it for a second or two…

                    Your lack of willingness to even consider this does indeed add to a sense of abandonment…in those of us 'survivors' who will spend the rest of our lives asking 'why?' How neat and tidy it would be to blame 'poverty', and simply move on.

                    • The Chairman

                      You should know people react differently under pressure, Rosemary.

                      Moreover, as I just told Robert, I’m not claiming poverty is the only reason behind suicide.

                  • Incognito

                    See my Moderation note @ 12:51 PM.

                    • The Chairman

                      Highlighting emotional realities felt by people is nothing like playing the man, Incog.

                      [So, Rosemary should feel ashamed and Cinny should not feel pleased? That’s a rhetorical question, BTW. You have no right to tell others how or what they should or shouldn’t feel. It makes for a poor argument and it makes it personal. It is the same as putting words in people’s mouths. Please don’t do it again and please stop arguing about moderation – Incognito]

                    • Incognito []

                      See my Moderation note @ 2:52 PM.

  3. Lettuce 3

    Howard: "Well you know I wrote that character reference for Cardinal Pell after he'd been convicted of child sexual abuse John. It'd be no trouble at all for me to whip something up that exonerates you from the corruption that's been happening at ANZ lately!"

  4. Rapunzel 4

    Why did no one speak up, and despite a "written" apology James Hardie will not respond to the Herald – I don't care how "high" his "position" is this is sickening. Thankfully it seems the restaurant is standing by their employee, no young hard working and studying NZer shuld have been subject to this.

    Statisics are not good, some young NZers might not have this young woman's sound self awareness and confidence in a situation that she handled property but did severely upset her understandably. Other young NZers are no doubt subject to similar and adversely affected, no wonder the stats for the young are so awful.

    waitress calls for apology after racist abuse
    https://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=12261985

    • Anne 4.1

      She's only 17 but she's already running rings around her philistine detractors. Look at the photo. A lovely, intelligent young Maori woman who wants to become a medical practitioner.

      • Jilly Bee 4.1.1

        Absolutely Anne, watched a wonderful interview with her this evening with Kanoa Lloyd on The Project this evening.

  5. James 5

    https://twitter.com/matthewhootonnz/status/1165880071908818944?s=21

    Rumours (unvalidated obv) that Jacindas dropped to 35% (which I could easily believe). Her trends are really going in the wrong direction.

    Of course it’s not what makes a government- but with NZF gone, greens very close to gone, and National out polling labour – I wouldn’t be so confident about 2020 if I was a labour fan

    Looking for some public polls – esp the first one putting Jacinda in the 20’s. Might have to wait a couple for that however.

    I can see the headlines now “NZ’s PMs support halves”

    • Robert Guyton 5.1

      You got very excited by a rumour issuing forth from Matthew Hooton and decided it was so hot you had to drop it into The Standard as some sort of public service, James?

      You're a wag.

      • James 5.1.1

        It’s a political blog. Seemed like the right place.

        And I find it funny.

      • Fireblade 5.1.2

        Hooton then tweets in reply to a question.

        Broadly, Bridges less popular than a lump of coal but – despite that – his party’s poll numbers are still strong.

        • James 5.1.2.1

          Yep – still our polling labour – even with bridges.

          Would love to know the Green Party figs.

    • alwyn 5.2

      It can't possibly be true James. Labour always leak good results from their polls.

      Let's face it. 35% would be a good result after the last month's news.

      I don't believe your story though. It's a lie. it's a lie. It's a lie. It's a lie. It's a lie. It's a lie.

      Exit, pursued by a bear.

    • Cinny 5.3

      Old hooten is going to be on the Q+A panel tonight.

      • Jilly Bee 5.3.1

        He (Hooten) was his usual pathetic self. Overall the programme was an interesting watch, I was impressed with the interview with Meng Foon – he will (in my humble impression) make a great ambassador for his position.

  6. Cinny 6

    Oh yeah…. now that's what I'm talking about yes

    Justice Minister Andrew Little warns alcohol industry a law review is on the cards

    Laws were introduced in 2012 to reduce harm, but doctors say the legislation has largely been a failure.

    They say the liquor industry is blocking attempts by councils to limit the number of places where alcohol is sold, and the times it can be sold.

    And Little is taking on the issue, telling Newshub he wants a review of our alcohol laws within "one to two years".

    Most excellent news, am thrilled about this. Thanking you Mr Andrew Little, legend!

    https://www.newshub.co.nz/home/politics/2019/08/justice-minister-andrew-little-warns-alcohol-industry-a-law-review-is-on-the-cards.html

    • Just goes to show, a sympathetic journalist can give activists a propaganda platform that industry money just can't buy. Personally, I'm glad the liquor and hospitality industries have a financial stake in standing up to the campaigns of anti-drug activists, because there's no way ordinary citizens have the resources to do it.

    • The Chairman 6.2

      You seem easily pleased, Cinny. Labour will be hoping there is more out there like you.

      Justice Minister Andrew Little warns alcohol industry a law change is going to be raced through under urgency would be a more pleasing headline.

      By the time Little's review is done, National may be in power, thus nothing will come of it.

      Hence, Little squanders the opportunity to take action is how the headline reads to me.

      • Drowsy M. Kram 6.2.1

        The headline I was dreading:

        The "lefty" "more left than most" Chairman back on relentlessly soggy form.

        "Labour will be hoping there is more out there like you."

        "law change is going to be raced through under urgency" [because that's what Labour does]

        "nothing will come of it"

        "Little squanders the opportunity to take action"

        It's like you never 'left' laugh

        • The Chairman 6.2.1.1

          It's the Government's response that is once again "soggy" hence lacking substance. I'm merely the one here highlighting it.

          Thus, regardless if I'm posting here or not, it's clear they aren't in a hurry to change.

          Perhaps if more called them out on their piss poor efforts (rather than cheering them along) they may actually up their game.

          • Psycho Milt 6.2.1.1.1

            This government's soft on drugs, huh? It's not cracking down hard enough on the people peddling this poison to our kids! Any other conservative talking points while you're at it?

            • The Chairman 6.2.1.1.1.1

              This government's soft on drugs.

              Not really. Take the use of medicinal cannabis. It's not being very soft on that.

              This Government, like a true right wing Government tends to favour. thus is far more softer on corporations involved in drugs.

              • Good luck having no corporations involved in medicinal cannabis.

                • The Chairman

                  If we can win that up and coming referendum, we'll be all good in that respect. Which I hear the gangs and corporations oppose. Seems your with them.

                  • Arse about face. You're the one promoting a tough-on-drugs approach, not me. If I ever do start hand-wringing about the government not cracking down hard enough on recreational drug use the way you are on this thread, feel free to call me a hypocrite.

                    • The Chairman

                      I'm not calling for alcohol to be banned or consumers of it to be criminalised, merely calling for tighter regulations on the sale of it.

                      Therefore, it's a far cry from your accusation of taking a tough-on-drugs approach.

      • Cinny 6.2.2

        Easily pleased…. dang, I've seen so much damage and death as a result of alcohol. That's why I'm thrilled.

        • Incognito 6.2.2.1

          Well said, Cinny. To the dismay of The Chairman, you’re not breaking out into an anti-Labour rant chant.

          • The Chairman 6.2.2.1.1

            Don't be another detractor, Incog. Unite with me and help pressure them to up their game. That, is of course, if you want them too.

            Lets see if we (all of us united together) can make better use of this site. Let’s see if we can make this a site actually work to produce change for the better.

            Now that would be something to behold, would it not?

            Alternatively, we can continue on to squabble amongst ourselves.

        • The Chairman 6.2.2.2

          I've seen so much damage and death as a result of alcohol

          Ditto. Which is why I'm not thrilled about their piss poor effort.

          And now that Little has appeased you by merely announcing a review (and in his mind hopefully others) his job is done knowing he's got your (and others) vote. Meanwhile, the carnage continues on unabated.

          • Cinny 6.2.2.2.1

            Akshully the medical professionals have come out saying that the 2012 review has done bugger all to help and the Minister is listening and is taking action.

            TC, how do you feel the 2012 review has worked out?

            • The Chairman 6.2.2.2.1.1

              Little isn't taking action, he's merely called for another review, squandering the opportunity to take real action.

              Evidently, the implementations of the 2012 review were/are a failure to sufficiently address the problem.

    • Drowsy M. Kram 6.3

      Thanks for that hopeful news Cinny – review/reform looong overdue if the research and advocacy of these "anti-drug activists" is anything to go by. You can lead the National party towards alcohol law reform, but you cannot make them drink.

      "If anyone was wondering why the [National-led] government has not brought in reforms to put an end to ultra-cheap alcohol or dismantle the relentless promotion of alcohol through advertising and sponsorship deals they now know the reason."
      http://www.scoop.co.nz/stories/PO1208/S00534/national-mp-admits-about-alcohol-industry.htm

      "We could, perhaps, start with a short history lesson – though most readers will be pretty familiar with how New Zealand has gotten itself into such a pickle and pickled state in terms of how we drink."
      https://www.drugfoundation.org.nz/matters-of-substance/may-2016/alcohol-law-reform/

      Abstract

      Aim
      The study examined the impact of alcohol use on lifestyle and wellbeing among adults accessing New Zealand community alcohol and other drug (AOD) services, and practice implications.

      Results
      In total, 598 people reported alcohol as their main substance of concern. The largest improvements in lifestyle and wellbeing were observed for mental health, social relationships and physical health. Change in days of alcohol use significantly contributed to the prediction of change in lifestyle and wellbeing issues experienced (model R2=20%, adjusted R2=19%, p<.001). Results were similar for amount and total volume.

      Conclusion
      Reduced alcohol use positively impacts on people’s lifestyle and wellbeing. Findings have implications for increasing awareness of the benefits for people’s lives, even small reductions in alcohol use. The need to strengthen routine ADOM collection in AOD services is highlighted, as well as the availability of vocational rehabilitation to support people’s wellbeing.

      https://www.nzma.org.nz/journal/read-the-journal/all-issues/2010-2019/2019/vol-132-no-1495-17-may-2019/7885

      https://www.alcohol.org.nz/

      https://www.actionpoint.org.nz/alcohol-harm-in-new-zealand

      https://www.northlanddhb.org.nz/your-health/healthy-lifestyles/health-promotion/alcohol-and-other-drugs/

      https://www.cph.co.nz/your-health/alcohol/

  7. Sacha 7

    Respected local government journo Todd Niall thinks the right's latest poodle is not taking the Auckland mayoral race seriously: https://www.stuff.co.nz/auckland/115290201/auckland-mayoral-election-has-john-tamihere-shaken-it-up-too-much

    Tamihere's camp at the start of his campaign talked of his prowess as a chief executive, yet the budget-busting policy appears to have no business basis.

    Tamihere's campaign strategy so far makes sense in the classic political way, if you're focussed on making a splash, getting noticed, and trying to make over-simplistic slogans look like carefully-crafted policy. Tamihere hates his style being compared with that of US President Donald Trump, but the campaign parallels are hard to ignore.

  8. Robert Guyton 8

    "Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern has not ruled out New Zealand's help in dealing with Amazon rainforest fires.

    It follows reports that leaders of the G7 nations were preparing to help Brazil fight the fires and nearing an agreement about what support to offer, which would involve both technical and financial mechanisms.

    Record fires are raging, with more than 2500 fires currently burning and collectively emitting huge amounts of carbon, with smoke plumes visible thousands of kilometres away."

    https://www.stuff.co.nz/national/politics/115294401/prime-minister-jacinda-ardern-concern-over-amazon-rainforest-fires–nz-may-help

Recent Comments

Recent Posts

  • Fast-tracked Northland water project will accelerate economic recovery
    The Government has welcomed the decision to approve a new water storage reservoir in Northland, the first of a number of infrastructure projects earmarked for a speedy consenting process that aims to accelerate New Zealand’s economic recovery from Covid-19.  The Matawii Water Storage Reservoir will provide drinking water for Kaikohe, ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 day ago
  • Tokelau Language Week reminds us to stay united and strong
    Staying strong in the face of challenges and being true to our heritage and languages are key to preserving our cultural identity and wellbeing, is the focus of the 2020 Tokelau Language Week. Minister for Pacific Peoples, Aupito William Sio, says this year’s theme, ‘Apoapo tau foe, i nā tāfea ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    6 days ago
  • NZ announces a third P-3 deployment in support of UN sanctions
    The Government has deployed a Royal New Zealand Air Force P-3K2 Orion (P-3) maritime patrol aircraft to support the implementation of United Nations Security Council (UNSC) resolutions imposing sanctions against North Korea, announced Minister of Foreign Affairs Winston Peters and Minister of Defence Ron Mark. “New Zealand has long supported ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    1 week ago
  • Pacific trade and development agreement a reality
    Pacific regional trade and development agreement PACER Plus will enter into force in 60 days now that the required eight countries have ratified it. Trade and Export Growth Minister David Parker welcomed the announcement that the Cook Islands is the eighth nation to ratify this landmark agreement. “The agreement represents ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Securing a pipeline of teachers
    The Government is changing its approach to teacher recruitment as COVID-19 travel restrictions continue, by boosting a range of initiatives to get more Kiwis into teaching. “When we came into Government, we were faced with a teacher supply crisis,” Education Minister Chris Hipkins said. “Over the past three years, we ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Border exceptions for a small number of international students with visas
    The Government has established a new category that will allow 250 international PhD and postgraduate students to enter New Zealand and continue their studies, in the latest set of border exceptions. “The health, safety and wellbeing of people in New Zealand remains the Government’s top priority. Tight border restrictions remain ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • First COVID-19 vaccine purchase agreement signed
    The Government has signed an agreement to purchase 1.5 million COVID-19 vaccines – enough for 750,000 people – from Pfizer and BioNTech, subject to the vaccine successfully completing all clinical trials and passing regulatory approvals in New Zealand, say Research, Science and Innovation Minister Megan Woods and Health Minister Chris Hipkins. ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • International statement – End-to-end encryption and public safety
    We, the undersigned, support strong encryption, which plays a crucial role in protecting personal data, privacy, intellectual property, trade secrets and cyber security.  It also serves a vital purpose in repressive states to protect journalists, human rights defenders and other vulnerable people, as stated in the 2017 resolution of the ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • Ministry of Defence Biodefence Assessment released
    The Ministry of Defence has today released a Defence Assessment examining Defence’s role across the spectrum of biological hazards and threats facing New Zealand. Biodefence: Preparing for a New Era of Biological Hazards and Threats looks at how the NZDF supports other agencies’ biodefence activities, and considers the context of ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    2 weeks ago
  • New Approaches to Economic Challenges: Confronting Planetary Emergencies: OECD 9 October 2020
    New Approaches to Economic Challenges: Confronting Planetary Emergencies: OECD 9 October 2020 Hon David Parker’s response following Thomas Piketty and Esther Duflo. Good morning, good afternoon, and good evening, wherever in the world you might be. I first acknowledge the excellent thought provoking speeches of Thomas Piketty and Esther ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago
  • Kaipara Moana restoration takes next step
    A Memorandum of Understanding has been signed today at Waihāua Marae between the Crown, local iwi and councils to protect, restore and enhance the mauri of Kaipara Moana in Northland. Environment Minister David Parker signed the document on behalf of the Crown along with representatives from Ngā Maunga Whakahī, Ngāti ...
    BeehiveBy beehive.govt.nz
    3 weeks ago